More Info

General Info
The areas largest Asian automotive specialists since 1983 are GT Japanese Automotive Inc. We provide dependable service built on trust and quality. We are the experts for all of your automotive needs for Honda, Acura, Nissan, Subaru, Lexus, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Infinity autos. We employ ASE Certified technicians who are professional, qualified, and trained to provide expert service and repairs for today's modern automobiles. We utilize all the latest tools and equipment such as Sun and Snap-On computer diagnostic scopes and scanners, Sun battery and charging system testers, Hunter computerized alignment systems, MotorVac technologies injection and intake cleaners, and Ammco brake lathes. We are equipped and certified to repair all AC systems using the latest recyclable and diagnostic equipment. We provide itemized receipts, computerized record keeping, frequent service discounts, service reminders, and provide 12-month, 12,000-mile warranties on most repairs. We use the Mitchell and Napatech Information Systems to access all necessary specifications and bulletins. We are also open on the 1st and 3rd Saturdays of the month, 8am-2pm. Call for an appointment today!
Extra Phones

Fax: (732) 985-1687

Brands
Acura, Lexus, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru, Toyota
Payment method
visa, discover, mastercard, amex
Categories

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
What do you rate this business?First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
DO
Damon O.

07/20/2022

Overall
Expertise
Professionalism
Promptness

GT Japanese Automotive

If your like me looking for a good and honest mechanic, let me inform you about GT Japanese Automotive.
I have a 95 Acura Legend Coupe I search and search with no luck finding a mechanic to fix my issues, after searching for months I found GT Japanese Automotive.
GT is located in Edison New Jersey and I reside in the Bronx.

GT was able to recognize the problem after I explain when driving over the speeds of 50 to 55 mph my staring wheel starts to shake also my check engine light was on plus my ABS break light.
GT was able to fix thee shaky staring wheel and informed me of the piece I would need to fix the check engine light.
After I found the piece ( valve assembly) Kun and his team was able to install it and problem solved. There was one more problem to fix which was the ABS pump brake light.
Kun knew I was desperately trying to fix my coupe, finding a ABS Pump was time consuming but Kun and the GT Japanese Automotive was professionally patient with me going above and beyond to resolve the issue. I would order ABS pump online and send it to GT they would send me video of them showing me the status of this ABS pump as I order a few because the one brought online were not working, they hung in there with me. I command GT for there service, patients and understanding of what I was trying to accomplish with my car. The prices for service are accurate down to the penny.

Kun and his team are amazing and more than professional.
I recommend anyone to GT once you meet Kun and his team you will understand my story and may you have a better story to tell.
Thank you GT Japanese Automotive

5 star is good but they really deserve 5 planet 🌍 🌎 🌎 🌍 🌏

WG
William G.

02/25/2015

Overall

As the owner of Gt I would like to write a rebuttal. He claims that he brought his car in for a minor repair & then somehow was "hit" with a major repair bill. Not possible. While working on his "old" car if we found something that needed repair we would have discussed this with the owner and estimated the repair cost before continuing with the work. He could always say no. As far as sabotage, that is so ridiculous it doesn't deserve a response. We have over 50 customers with cars over 200k, some over 300k and in every case when the car needs the inevitable work we discuss the options with the customer first. It is always a big decision whether to keep an old car running or replace it and since 1983 we always try to help with that decision in every way we can knowing that with an old car anything can break at any time.

Bill

lizatpolo

12/05/2013

Provided by Superpages
Overall

I have been going to GT for over 20yrs. I have been very satisfied with the work performed on my car.They take the time to explain what needs to be done and tell you upfront what the charges will be without any pressuring. They are a very honest, and reliable business and take pride in their work. If work is not needed to be done on your car, they tell you so and don't do it. I am so trusting of them that I will have no one else work on my car. When my former car broke down several years ago, I had it towed to GT so they could perform the repairs. I feel that sometimes auto repair shops and other types of businesses tend to take advantage of women. This is not the case with GT!!! It is such a comfortable feeling knowing that I can take my car to GT and not get ripped off. I will continue taking my car to GT-it has 170,000 mi on it. With continued servicing by GT, I plan on making the 200,000 club!! You can't go wrong with GT- I say this is from my own experience!!

philsk

04/29/2013

Provided by Superpages
Overall

I have been coming to GT Automotive for service and repairs on my cars for over 25 years. All the estimates I have received have been accurate with fair pricing for all repairs and parts. Most work is completed in one day, if the work will be more comprehensive you will be notified of the amount of time to complete the repairs. I have made some unusual repair requests and Bill has worked with me to solve the repair problems in the most expedient and cost efficient methods available. I have had my current car (1990 Civic Si) serviced and repaired when necessary at GT for the last 20 years and now have over 359,000 miles on the car and it is still running great. If you are looking for honest repairs or service at fair pricing you cannot find a better facility then GT Automotive.

jim.creamer.94

04/07/2013

Overall
GT Automotive used to be a goo...

GT Automotive used to be a good place to bring your Japanese car for repair. Now they pad their repair bills with questionable repairs. Brought my old car in for a minor repair and was hit with a major repair bill that I would not have authorized if I knew that the car really didn't need the repairs anytime soon. I would have sold my car first before allowing GT Automotive to preform the work. I also suspect that GT Automotive sabotaged my car the previous time so I would return for more repair work they performed this time. I will never let GT Automotive touch a car of mine again!



Mr. Gill is more concerned with paying his kid's college tuition and planning his retirement fund than worrying about being honest about your car repairs.

jules.l

10/14/2012

Overall
Just wanted to leave some posi...

Just wanted to leave some positive reviews for GT Japanese Auto. I’ve been a loyal customer of GT since I moved from NY to NJ back in 1996. Bill has worked on my 1992 Nissan Stanza, 2001 Toyota Avalon, 2001 & 2006 Honda Odyssey. I’ve always trusted Bill and his ASA certified mechanics with my vehicles. Bill is very knowledgeable with Japanese automobiles – old and new. A few things that I love about Bill and GT Japanese are, 1) He is very honest when it comes to replacing a part. He will tell you upfront if the part REALLY needs to be replaced or if the part can go on for a few more ticks on the odo. Never do you feel that he wants to replace a part just to pad his bottom line. 2) His work is very thorough. 3) If you want to save some money, he will allow you to bring your parts for them to install. 4) He uses OEM parts. 5) His service cost is competitive and last, I know any service done to my car will be done right. Great work Bill & Lynn!

jules.l

10/13/2012

Provided by Superpages
Overall

Just wanted to leave some positive reviews for GT Japanese Auto. Ive been a loyal customer of GT since I moved from NY to NJ back in 1996. Bill has worked on my 1992 Nissan Stanza, 2001 Toyota Avalon, 2001 & 2006 Honda Odyssey. Ive always trusted Bill and his ASA certified mechanics with my vehicles. Bill is very knowledgeable with Japanese automobiles old and new. A few things that I love about Bill and GT Japanese are, 1) He is very honest when it comes to replacing a part. He will tell you upfront if the part REALLY needs to be replaced or if the part can go on for a few more ticks on the odo. Never do you feel that he wants to replace a part just to pad his bottom line. 2) His work is very thorough. 3) If you want to save some money, he will allow you to bring your parts for them to install. 4) He uses OEM parts. 5) His service cost is competitive and last, I know any service done to my car will be done right. Great work Bill & Lynn!

mkoskuli

10/02/2012

Overall
I have been to GT Automotive o...

I have been to GT Automotive on three occasions. On the first visit I had them install a catalytic converter I had purchased and I was very satisfied with everything about the service. I felt that I had an affordable and trustworthy place to bring my car to for repairs. However on the last two visits, I felt very deceived.



I have no major problems with the quality of the work they performed, however I have a problem with how they can be deceptive in the additional charges they surprise you with when you pick up your car. I think that when you get an estimate, it should include all of the charges that they know are required to perform the job. On my second visit I got my timing belt and water pumped changed using parts I purchased, and in the estimate they failed to include coolant, tacking on $14 when I pay the bill. No big deal, I just don't appreciate how they are not forthcoming with the known details of the estimate since replacing the coolant is a necessary part of the job.



When I had the timing belt along with my A/C belt changed, my A/C stopped working after I picked up my car. When I brought this up to them, they were very defensive about it not being their fault. The clutch on the A/C had broken, and I can't say for sure if it is related to how they changed the belt, but I didn't appreciate how they made no effort to resolve it. I would have really appreciated some discount on the cost to replace the A/C, even if it was small.



So I had to take my car in for a third a time to replace the A/C compressor. When I got an estimate for the repair over the phone, I specifically asked if they were going to charge me for the refrigerant. Their answer was that they will recycle the refrigerant that is already in my system, leading me to believe that I would not be charged. They failed to tell me that if my system is not fully charged, they would charge me for the refrigerant at their fairly expensive rate. So again when I pick up my car, I am surprised with another charge for 15oz. of refrigerant. It’s surprising the system needed this much since the level was checked by another mechanic a few weeks earlier who said it was only a little low, not 3/4 empty.



Although I really liked this place at first, I am not satisfied with GT Automotive anymore. I doubt I would take my car here again, and I will need to look elsewhere for my car repairs. I suggest that you do the same.

claimed iconBusiness Response10/02/2012

As the owner of GT I would like to write a rebuttal. I am not "dishonest" when I quote price estimates. He wanted "labor only" price quote because he was going to supply all the parts. he did not supply the antifreeze with the new water pump & we has to use ours to finish the job. He was charged exactly the labor price quoted. The a/c compressor was seizing. We got it working by tapping on it. This is due to the high mileage and age of the car,(2000 civic 213k) not from installing a new belt. Again we quoted "labor only" to install the compressor supplied by him. My exact words with reguard to the freon "as long as your system is full we will capture and reuse your freon & you won't need any more" In fact he knew it was low and never said anything. Again he was quoted "labor only" and was charged exactly what we quoted. He did not supply any freon so to fill the system we had to use ours to finish the job. He says it's "no big deal" then he posted a bad review all over the net. I have been here for almost 30 yrs and have earned a excellent reputation & would like to keep it that way. Bill

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
mkoskuli

10/01/2012

Provided by Superpages
Overall

I have been to GT Automotive on a few occasions. I really loved them after my first visit, however the other visits I felt very deceived. On my second visit I got my timing belt and water pumped changed and in the estimate they failed to include coolant, tacking on $14 when I pay the bill. No big deal, I just don't appreciate how they are not forthcoming with known parts of the bill. I was particularly upset with them on the third visit when I had them replace the A/C compressor. When I got an estimate for the repair over the phone I specifically asked if they were going to charge me for the refrigerant. Their answer was that they will recycle the refrigerant that is already in my system, leading me to believe that I wouldn't be charged. They failed to tell me that if my system is not fully charged they would charge me for the refrigerant at their fairly expensive rate. So again they surprise me with another charge for refrigerant when I pick up my car. GT you lost a customer.

ryanpre

03/03/2012

Overall
Today was my third visit to GT...

Today was my third visit to GT Automotive. The first time was with an Infiniti G35 and the last two with a Honda Prelude. Each time they have been extremely honest and straightforward with the work needed. As an example, I came in today requesting that they investigate a rattle in the front end and also to check the brakes and shocks/struts (which I knew were fine). They advised the brakes, shocks and struts were good and gave me the remaining pad life on the brakes. After diagnosing the rattle, they found it was just a loose headlight and tightened up for me. Only charged me for 1/2 hour of labor ($47.50) and no charge to check everything else. While checking out they offered me a loyalty card where I can eventually earn a free oil change. They were very courteous and professional. I am extremely happy with GT and will keep coming back!

fredhertrich9

01/13/2012

Provided by Superpages
Overall

Integrity ... responsibility ... honesty ... respect ... professionalism ... straight-talking ... fair ... Each of these words in today's complicated world often seem to no longer apply .... to individuals and, even more so, to businesses. And yet, as one who has owned several Japanese autos simultaneously for over a quarter century, each of these terms perfectly describe GT JAPANESE AUTOMOTIVE, INC.- from its' owner, Bill Gill, through EACH AND EVERY member of the GT Team. From the very beginning when Bill Gill and Bill Tucker first opened the business (the origin of the name, GT), GT AUTOMOTIVE is the only service center who I will allow to service my vehicles .... for GT offers me the unblemished confidence - always - to insure that the most precious things in my life - my spouse, my children, my grandchildren - will travel in as safe and properly maintained a vehicle as is possible, as I am ALWAYS cared for in a fair and complete way. GT is simply the best! Fred

anonymous

11/17/2011

Provided by Superpages
Overall

I went to this place for check engine light , my car can not pass the State of new Jersey inspection , until the check engine light is Fixed i went to this place , the Guy told me , it will take a 622 $ to fix the check engine light , and pass the inspection the guy did the repairs , give me my car back , next day the check engine light came back again , i went back to this place the guy wanted another 1000$ to fix the car again , he refused to honor his repairs that he has done a day before My advice is stay away from GT Automotive. Do not trust them

anonymous

11/17/2011

Provided by Superpages
Overall

I went to this place for check engine light , my car can not pass the State of new Jersey inspection , until the check engine light is Fixed i went to this place , the Guy told me , it will take a 622 $ to fix the check engine light , and pass the inspection the guy did the repairs , give me my car back , next day the check engine light came back again , i went back to this place the guy wanted another 1000$ to fix the car again , he refused to honor his repairs that he has done a day before My advice is stay away from GT Automotive. Do not trust them

reviewr

10/31/2011

Overall
I went there to get brakes don...

I went there to get brakes done at GT Automotive. I was waiting in the waiting area. After some time a mechanic came and told the owner "While I was working on the breaks, XYZ broke. Sorry about that!" After some time, the owner tells me that your XYZ is broken and it will cost me $80 to fix it. They have to get the new part. I was so mad. These people have no shame. I heard mechanic said "Sorry about that". If you break something, then you fix it without asking customer to pay for it. You don't ask customer to pay for it for your mistake. They also replaced the rotors instead of resurfacing them. I checked the rotors after they were removed and they were in perfect conditions. They did not even need to be resurfaced but they replaced them to get more money. My advice is stay away from GT Automotive. Do not trust them. [[ I did not want to reveal myself, therefore XYZ is used instead of real part name ]]

anonymous

09/29/2011

Provided by Superpages
Overall

Honest. Use quality and original parts only. Great mechanics. Thanks!

anonymous

06/29/2011

Provided by Superpages
Overall

My Honda Civic failed the emission inspection, I took it to GT Japanese Automotive Inc. for repair. They found out something wrong with the cat. convertor, & needed to be replaced. They fixed & reinspected the car for me without any charges because it was still under warranty (they installed the cat.convertor for my car 5 months ago). I really appreciated GT's customer services, its honesty & reliability. It is not easy to find an honest auto-mechanic nowadays, but I found GT.

tsauriemma

10/19/2010

Provided by Superpages
Overall

One early evening on a Friday, my vehicle broke down about 8 miles away from GT Japanese Automotive Inc. I called the shop and the owner (Bill) arranged for a tow truck to pick-up my stranded vehicle and me. He stayed after hours to wait for me and provided me with a rental vehicle to drive for the weekend. One of his shop mechanics had my car fixed by Monday afternoon. Bill and his staff made a stressful situation pleasant. Five stars for GT Automotive Inc.

Details

Phone: (732) 985-1760

Address: 1816 Woodbridge Ave, Edison, NJ 08817

Website: http://www.gtjapanese.com

People Also Viewed