Saved to Favorites

Please contact the business for updated hours/services due to the COVID-19 advisory.

24/7 On Call Veterinarians

General Info

At Bayside Kennels, we treat every animal as if it were our very own. With over 40 years of service to the Hampton Roads area, we remain committed to giving you and your pets the best care and service available. Bayside Kennels is owned by Peter G. Fisher, DVM, and operated by Danielle Fuentes. Pet Care Veterinary Hospital is directly adjacent to the kennel where a veterinarian is always on call.

BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Extra Phones

Fax: (757) 499-0669


Bayside Kennels is your one stop for pet boarding, grooming, daycare and pet supplies located on Virginia Beach Boulevard in Virginia Beach, Virginia. We are just minutes from our Chesapeake, Norfolk and Portsmouth. ? Our temperature controlled facility features spacious indoor/outdoor runs for dogs, condos and townhouses for cats, and secluded boarding for exotics and geriatric pets. Pet Care Veterinary Hospital is located right next door, where a veterinarian is on call. Bayside Kennels also features a recreational facility for daycare, day boarding and playtime. Our full service grooming department is available for both walk ins and boarding pets.  ? Feel free to stop in any time for a tour of our facility or give us a call to book your pet's boarding stay or grooming appointment!

Barkworth Gourmet Dog cookies, Lupine leashes and collars, Pet Odor Exterminator products, Tuffy's dog toys
Payment method
check, debit, visa, amex, discover, cash, master card

Located on Virginia Beach blvd. between Witchduck and Newtown roads. (Closest to Witchduck)

  • Pet boarding
  • All breed grooming
  • Daycare and Day Boarding
  • Pet supplies
Pet Boarding & Kennels, Kennels, Pet Grooming, Pet Services, Veterinarians, Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals
Other Information

Parking: Lot


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Jennifer E.



We've taken our dogs to a number of kennels & daycares in the area over the 16 years we've been here, including having sitters stay over. Bayside Kennels has been our facility of choice since 2012. Our old lady dog was having more medical problems, and being affiliated with the veterinary practice next door put our minds at ease. When I was pregnant with our son, I needed a same day induction, and Bayside Kennels took our three dogs that morning; no questions asked and for as long as we needed. Finally, one of our girls is a little neurotic & needs some extra TLC when she's dropped off, which I deeply appreciate. Great facility, wonderful staff!

Christi F.



Been bringing my dog here for years and the girls up front know us by name. My dog is 13 yrs old now and gets nervous in any new surroundings, but not when I drop her off here. The extra special care Michelle gives her makes her feel at ease and comfortable while she is being cared for and groomed. I recommend all my family, friends & neighbors to Bayside Kennels!



my dog loves it there

Even though we only travel a few times a year my dog gets so excited when we pull into the parking lot. The board fees are budget friendly which allows us to spend a little extra on play sessions and special snacks during his vacation. We booked his room for christmas last month because I would hate to have to find another place!



Awesome affordable care!

My fiancé and I used Bayside for the first time over spring break to board our 2 big crazy lab retrievers. They were there for a week, had play sessions every day and baths and their nails clipped and our bill was only around $350. We didn't even have to bring food from home! I'm not sure how the last reviewer paid $900? Our dogs did not need to see the vet since they had all the required shots to stay there so maybe that is why their stay was so much.. Both dogs came home happy and smelling great and their stay didn't break the bank. Charlie and Boomer will be back for Christmas!




I am so disappointed!! We wet out of town for a little over a week and our total bill came to $900!!!! They did not tell us everything they were going to do with our dog or the prices! we asked JUST for some shots that they needed in order to be boarded! Just be aware and make sure you ask them exactly how much everything will cost! It was OUTRAGEOUS! I can board my dog at the kennel that we normally go to and it will cost 700 for a MONTH! not a week! They even called us in the middle of our vacation to ask US how our dogs were!! We told them that they are Still at the kennel and they had to go check and make sure! Very irresponsible! We were so worried that our dogs wouldn't be there when we got home! I truly wished that the kennel we normally take our dogs to wouldn't have been full.. They are loved on and treated so much better at the other kennel! Will NEVER take our dogs here again! $900!!! I still cringe at that price! I have never paid so much for them! And with how they didn't even know of my dogs were still there or not.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/10/2013

We are very sorry you are dissatisfied with your experience with us. As a courtesy, we allow pet owners to have expired vaccinations updated by our veterinarian while their pets are boarding instead of turning them away at check-in. The total cost for boarding your dogs for 10 nights came to just $432.00 which included all of their meals. The remaining charges were for services performed by Pet Care Veterinary Hospital per owner's authorization. (In this case the veterinarian provided five vaccinations, two physical exams, two fecal exams, two heartworm tests and heartworm preventative for a total of $438.41)The veterinarian always follows up with a phone call to the owner if examinations are done while pets are boarded. This allows them to address any concerns or answer any question the owner may have as they were not present during the physical exam. In this case, the departure date was extended for boarding, and the veterinarian doing the follow-up call was not notified of the change. We deeply apologize for the confusion this may have caused. Please feel free to contact the office manager at Bayside Kennels at (757)499-7697 or Pet Care Veterinary Hospital at (757)473-0111 if you have any questions regarding your bills. Thank you!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


We LOVE Bayside Kennels!

My dog loves doggie daycare so much that he puts me on a guilt trip to take him every morning when I leave for work now. At the end of the day he comes home tired which is nice because he's a giant ball of energy! The only problem is that he acts like he'd rather stay there when I pick him up even after "having a sleepover" for a few days. LOL!

Paula S.


Do not use this facility for g...

Do not use this facility for grooming!!!!!!!!!! The groomer skinned my dog under both eyes - he then was diagnosed with conjunctivitis which drained into the irritated areas under the eyes causing the skin to become reddened, inflamed, and obviously sore. Bayside talked me into seeing their vet (which I have since found out the vet owns Bayside Kennels) with the assurance that if the grooming contributed to the problem there would be no charge. No surprise - the vet protected the groomer by saying he couldn't commit one way or another as to whether the grooming had anything to do with this issue. He charged me and said see ya. Only gave me eye drops and nothing for the pain or potential infection in the sore areas under his eyes. They took me for a financial ride and I saw NO concern for my pet at all. Here's an update on my pet - the vet misdiagnosed his eye problem - he has a herniated cornea and NOT conjunctivitis. This can come from a scratch such as hair in the eye although I believe that clippers got way tooooooo close to his eyes. The vet also had him on steroid eye drops which were totally the wrong eye drops to have him on - he should have been on non steroid eye drops - the eye became worse instead of better. My vet is now taking care of my pet. And yes it did take me less then 2 weeks to get him in but I thought that his face was just sore from being scalped and would take time to heal but when he could no longer open the eye I then knew more was going on. So use this groomer and vet at your own peril. And they are still refusing to talk to me so I will see them in court. NEVER, NEVER, NEVER would I recommend this facility. Bad grooming job - misdiagnosis by the vet - you do the math.

claimed iconBusiness Response01/06/2012

I am the owner of Bayside Kennels and the veterinarian that examined this client's dogs skin problem. The dog was groomed two weeks prior to the owner making a claim that the grooming caused the problem. The dog presented with facial fold dermatitis which occurs when eye drainage collects in facial folds on breeds with short faces such as shizus and bulldogs. This chronically inflamed skin then results in bacterial infection and subsequent hair loss. If I truly thought this was related to being groomed at my facilty I would have acknowledged this immediately and emphatically. I run a very professional business.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Really Good Place

I had a really good experience with this facility. People are really nice and smells clean. My dog came back happy. The groomer did an excellent job on the groom and overall, prices were extremely reasonable. I'll be back.