In mybook® Food Collection (edit)

Added to your food collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Date

Time

Party Size

Book a Table
Sponsored Links
Business Description
The Chaya restaurant family originated when Hikage Chaya opened in Hayama, Japan. From this initial tea house, that opened 390 years ago, the Tsunoda family has expanded into French bistros and pastry shops throughout Japan and introduced the brand to the U.S. in 1984 with the opening of Chaya Brasserie in Beverly Hills. Since then, Chaya has opened locations in Venice, San Francisco, Downtown Los Angeles, and LAX. The cuisine at each restaurants can best be described as modern Japanese though each restaurant has a distinct personality reflecting their different locations. Corporate Executive Chef, Shigefume Tachibe is best known for pioneering modern Japanese cuisine and his contributions to the Asian-Fusion movement. His chef coat and knife are in permanent display in the Smithsonian. The most important tenet of Chaya's philosophy is high-level omotenashi (hospitality), bringing the Japanese teahouse tradition of warm and personal service to each guest.
Hours

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Phone: (310) 450-1653

Fax Number: (310) 450-1653

Payment method
travelers checks, diners club, master card, visa, all major credit cards, amex
Price Range
$$
Neighborhoods
Venice, West Los Angeles, Venice Beach, Ocean Park
Other Email

Categories
Japanese Restaurants, Italian Restaurants, Sushi Bars, Bar & Grills, American Restaurants, Seafood Restaurants, Asian Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information

Good For Groups: Yes

Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, American, Sushi, Italian, European, Seafood, Continental, Bar & Grills

Alcohol: Yes, No

COUPONS & DEALS

No coupons available

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

foodloversarah

02/18/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
trendy and fun

This place is very trendy more so in santa monica than venice I would say. Our waiter was very attentive, but his suggestions were not that great, but when we told him that we weren't happy with one of his choices for an appetizer he took it off of our bill which is something that wouldn't happen in every restaurant especially in the LA area. Great sushi bar which hopefully I can take advantage of later, but easily could make a meal with drinks and appetizers from this place. Trendy looking inside and VERY busy with lots of people watching, and the waiter never rushed us from our table. We could have stayed all night, so service is a priority here.

kmh1124

02/17/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
losing it's luster

Serious time for a menu revamp! Sushi quality has gone south and the service - snot and a half. Flippant server, Safeway brand filet and hostess with no appreciation for customer service whatsoever. My mashers tasted as if they came from from a bag, unagi naggy spoils and did you ever hear of another Stella? I was bummed. What used to be such a rockin' joint just petered out! I never talk to a manger as I am one myself but this was BAD! Sacreligious even.Go to Chinois or Josie.

oceanpark

11/10/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Trust me, you could find much better in this town

To be completely honest, it was not the food that turned me off of this place, but the rude hostesses and servers. I have been here many times before and tried to give it a second chance more than once now and I don't think I will be back. Basically, they act like they don't need your service so do them a favor and go somewhere else. Maybe get take-out since the rolls are good.

fflterror

08/04/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great Lunch Spot

With no previous knowledge of Chaya, I stopped in for lunch with colleagues from out of town and we all had a great lunch. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. I had the Ahi Tuna Burger and my colleagues had the Bento box and spicy tuna rolls. We work in the beverage business and were quite impressed with the non-alcholic strawberry ginger mojitos. I am adding Chaya to my list of recommended places for friends and family.

divineconnoisseur

07/22/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
ONE OF THE BEST HAPPY HOURS IN LA NO CONTEST!

Chaya is a great place to have a romantic dinner but, perfect for a tasty happy hour...vibrant and classy but, still low key and fun. Friendly service but, be prepared for the rush! The rolls are delicious and the alaskan king crab is extra sweet. If you sit at the sushi bar feel free to request custom rolls the chefs are extremely accomodating...they made several rolls for me that were not on the menu...it's best to get there before the big rush to avoid the wait since it is a popular place for the trendy Venice crowd. Highly reccommend for happy hour if you are looking to spend $ or for dinner if you are looking to spend $$$. I don't think I will ever tire of the Pineapple infusion and litchi martinis... :D

njrfilms

07/18/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Good happy hour

The sushi during happy hour is a steal and always good. Once it bumps up to full price it isn't as worth it, as better sushi awaits elsewhere. Never tried the full menu.

chudjr

06/18/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Okay food. Trendy hot spot.

The food is just okay. Nothing amazing. The sea bass was good, the rib eye steak average, and the crispy butterfish okay. The place is loud. Lots of attractive people eat here. It took a long time to get our food. I don't think I will go again.

notesman

03/06/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Raspberry Mojitos Rock--friendly service

I had not been to Chaya in a while, but decided to give it a try again after finding the recommendation online from City Search! I didn't have a reservation and didn't get in right away--as expected at any popular restaurant, but I decided to wait in the bar for a table in the restaurant--great mojitos, not too tart. I got seated pretty easily after a small wait and the girls in front were very sweet to us which was refreshing. I ordered a mixed variety of sushi as an appetizer and decided on a vegan item on the menu as an entree. It was really tasty! Lively fun crowd which I needed that night. Parking was reasonable-$3 I believe with validation. I was surprised at 1 reviewers negative comments about people working there because I got a cool vibe--but obviously reviewer was negative about women and feeling a little threatened...hmm. All in all--thumbs up!

elisehwall

02/09/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Eclectic Menu, Great Service

We headed here with a group and no reservation, and were still seated in 30 minutes. Our server was very patient with us (being that we already had a few drinks in our systems) and he was quick. He did not mind that we handed 5 credit cards at the end of the meal!! All of us wanted something different (Japanese, Italian, American) and we were all pleased. The calamari was amazing with its curry sauce, nice twist. The room is rather crowded and the acoustics could be a little better. The interiors are also a bit dated, but that doesn't seem to bother anyone because the bar and restaurant were packed!

martinikitty13

01/22/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great Vibe & Drinks

It's been a while since I've been to Chaya Venice, and I have to say that little has changed - the place is still very crowded, loud and fun (when you are in the mood for that). I've never been particularly excited about the food here, but the drinks and happy hour bites do not disappoint (actually the food gets better after a few cocktails)... service is inconsistent, sometimes quite good, other times snooty and even bordering upon the rude. However, I still recommend this spot simply because it's a great place to hang with your friends (but for a date, the noise level can be quite distracting). There's a lot adjacent to the restaurant with valet but it's not too clear if you've never been here before (they should have better signs).

Sponsored Links
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback