In mybook® Other Collection (edit)

Added to your other collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your other collection.

OK Feed & Supply

Map & Directions
(17 Reviews)

3701 E Fort Lowell Rd, Tucson, AZ 85716

(520) 325-0122

OPEN NOW
Today: 8:30 am - 6:00 pm
35
YEARS
IN BUSINESS
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

General Info
OK Feed & Pet Supply carries the best alfalfa, straw, and natural holistic pet food that is nutritional for your pet throughout the Tucson area. We are your one stop shop for all your pet food, treats, and pet supply needs. No matter what your needs are for pet nutrition, we have what you need. Call or stop by today. We look forward to working with you on all your pet needs.
Hours
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Sat:
Extra Phones

Phone: (520) 318-9323

Fax: (520) 318-9323

Fax Number: (520) 318-9323

TollFree: (800) 552-7583

Brands
Nutro
Payment method
discover, amex, master card, visa, apple pay
Categories
Feed Dealers, Farm Equipment, Farms, Feed-Wholesale & Manufacturers, Fence-Sales, Service & Contractors, Grain Dealers, Horse Equipment & Services, Pet Food, Pet Stores

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

STEVEN123

05/20/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
GREAT REVIEW

IVE DEALT WITH OK FEED FOR YEARS AND I TELL YOU THEY HAVE GREATLY INFORMED EMPLOYEES AND THEY TREAT YOU RIGHT,GET YOU WITH THE CORRECT PRODUCT FOR YOUR PETS PRODUCT AND THEY KNOW EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW. EX.MY DOG GOT PARVO BAD SHAPE CALLED OKF SAID THEY HAD A PRODUCT CALLED PARV-AID FROM AMBER PRODUCTS WE BOUGHT IT THAT WAS THREE YEARS AGO.ANGEL IS HAPPY AND HEALTHY . THANK YOU OKF YOUR GREAT

AJohnson43

04/23/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
NOT OK Feed and Supply

How the manager of this questionable place keeps his position as manager makes me wonder (how this place stays in business makes me wonder, too).

Apparently his name is KIP. He's the tall, ill-natured, old guy behind the counter that looks like he hasn't had a good BM in over a month.

I don't want to write a long story of what took place with ol' KIP but in short he out-right refused to exchange a product, purchased the day before, that turned out to be defective. KIP claimed that the package had been opened so he could not take it back (yes, I know - how are you supposed to know it's defective if you don't open it). I didn't want my money back; I just wanted to exchange the product for one that was not defective - to get what I paid for. No dice. And KIP wasn't nice about it. It was so bizarre that I thought he was joking at first - but he wasn't.

I'm no doctor but either this guy has something seriously wrong with his mind or he's just a plain old, miserable, hateful person.

Either way he's sick and he has no right to treat people so badly.

I will NEVER set foot in that god-forsaken place again. Their items are way over-priced anyway - and the staff isn't all that helpful or friendly.

Spend your hard-earned money with a store that appreciates their customers, not one that is abusive and hateful.

caseyrocs

04/18/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
UNCARING, INHUMANE, INSENSITIVE MANAGER KIP

First, let me say I have NEVER written a negative review like this before. I tend to work very well with people, and even if we have different views, usually seem to be able to work things out. NOT THE CASE with KIP at OK Feeds. We had a HORRIBLE experience at OK feed this week. We purchased 2 baby turkeys, and even though we have started many baby chicks/turkeys with great success, it became clear one was ill. She wouldn't eat/drink from the time we brought her home, and even though we gave her the usual heatlamp/water/food/quiet space with just the other tukeyy, she died w/i 12 hours. When I called the store to explain what happened and ask to exchange her, I was routed to KIP, who was as cold and insensitive as they come! He just kept repeating, as soon as you walk out the door, we have no further responsibility. No apologies, No sorry your turkey died, NOTHING! I asked if they would consider an exception since we are experienced baby bird folks and felt we did everything as needed...a big NO WAY!

I called several other feed stores in town and all assured me they either have a conditional policy if bird dies in first day or so, or even if they have a no return policy, they will make exceptions in cases such as this.

Unfortunately, no one in town has baby turkeys right now, and it is best to have them in pairs. SO, while we NEVER plan to shop there after this, we went back this afternoon to get a companion for our other turkey.When we got there, and my daughter told the one clerk what happened, he said he knew exactly which bird it was (we purchased 4 total: 2 turkeys, 2 chicks). WHY would he sell a bird he could predict wasn't doing well???

We'll see how this one does. So far the new turkey looks pretty depleted_ shaking and hovering, not eating or drinking. I'm concerned the birds have been overly stressed in their environment there and we are suffering the effects.. We noted they had dead birds in their cages, and their attitude towards the birds is pretty rough. We also bought some chickens in their larger bird area, and they were quite rough with the big net they used to catch 4-5 at a time, then fished out the one we wanted. All in all, I am disgusted with their attitude, as well as their treatment, of their birds.

I have worked as an RN for 28 years. I'm used to working with all types of people, and caring for people. Our family is big into animals: horses, goats, chickens, dogs, cats, etc. I am saddened that the coarse, indifferent attitude of one person such as KIP, can be so toxic.

I encourage you to take your business elsewhere. There are many great, caring feed stores around Tucson. I know, we buy a lot of FEED!

Sankirtan

04/09/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Too HIgh Prices

They chare more than double for their supplys than a store liek Home Depot charges. I am all for making some profit but that is gouging. They say they are there for hte benift of animals but I see they are there for themselves.

JIVH

03/29/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
No Thank You

I agree with the comments that the atmosphere of OK Feed & Supply is callous. I take my business elsewhere and appreciate that there are plenty of resources for natural pet food & supplies.

Jennifer Figueroa

11/15/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great Customer service, great employees!!!

I really take cannot understand the need to be so vengeful towards a local business. I have been a customer for close to 18 years...and I have never been treated poorly. I may have come in sometimes when the business has been slammed, and they do not have time to chat, much less, to hardly get the phone, but they are always professional and nice. I recently placed a call to discuss my dog food of choice with a wonderful employee, Rachel, and she was genuinely concerned with answering my ?'s truthfully, and patiently. At not time did I feel that I was not a valued customer. She gave me the name of some other food I will research, and I will say I will continue to stick with O.K. Feed. Many thanks, Rachel is an asset to your name!!!

buster22

05/05/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
long-time customer

Some of the employees at Okay Feed are very arrogant with know it all attitudes, the owner, Doug, has always been very nice and accommodating, and I love Kip, although he is not the owner, he is the one employee that I really really like. The employees that I refer to are sometimes totally rude, ignoring the customers that have been coming there for years, like the others, if there was another choice, Pet Club might be one, I would be there in a second!!!!!!!!!!!!! no way to treat long-time customers, we are ready to mutiny!!!!!!

CitizenofTucson

09/26/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
My Experience @ OK Feeds

I just started shopping at OK Feeds about 2 months ago. I've only really dealt with Jade. She is extremely helpful, patient, and nice. A few of the other employees said a few words to me and they too were nice, helpful, and even humorous. From what I've read, I hope I never meet or have to deal with the owner. All these people can't be wrong. I wish the best to everyone. Thank you.

Animal crazy

09/19/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Ok Feed is rude to its customers, shop at Paws ans Claws !

I have read a few of the comments and have read that some people would like to take their business else where, but dont know where else to go. Well if you are looking for Good Quality Dog/ Cat food, supplies, and treats, go to Paws and Claws at Ft Lowell and Campbel in the Blockbuster / Baggins Plaza. The owner is very friendly, the prices are way better then the feed stores , you will be shocked at how much cheaper Paws -n-Claws is. Paws carries everything from Raw food and bones, bully's, another great food that ok feed doesnt carry is Fromm and, a large variety of cans. Also, if there is something you want on a regular basis and the owner doesnt carry it, most of the time she will order it for you and start to carry it. The owners name is Pam and she has a great personality, very friendly. Check it out- you wont be disappointed. I use to go to the feed store on a regular basis now I only go to Paws-n- Claws..

MelindaS

05/13/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
OK Feeds sells sick livestock

This is the second time I have tried to purchase livestock from OK feeds and the second time I have had dead animals within 4 days. This time the entire crop was dead within 3 days. We contacted them to tell them this and the owner refused to refund us any money saying that ""Even if you are one foot off the property"" they do not stand behind the health of their animals. I thought the first time was just bad luck, but it is obvious now that this is just the level of care they put into their products.
Anytime we have purchased from any other supplier we have had zero problems. OK feeds sells sick livestock and does not stand behind the health or quality of their product. Unless you have money and time to burn go to another supplier.

JessicaShuman

01/18/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Holistic food, Bad practices...

While the range of products (especially of high quality pet foods) is excellent and, yes, there are diamonds amongst the rough and gruff ...... I really wish they had some local competition because I would love to give my business elsewhere.

As an animal lover devoted to animal welfare issues, some of their practices appall me. I'm not going to list the many occasions, but some that immediately come to mind include: the giving of a breeder's card by a lead employee to a customer inquiring about purchasing a rabbit while knowing we have local rabbit rescue desperate for homes, and their tri-annual giving away of day old kittens to inexperienced (though well-intentioned people) from feral cats that live on their property that need to be spayed and neutered. C'mon! They rent traps to the public and are a block away from the Humane Soc. S/N clinic. When addressing these concerns or even offering to assist, I have been met with the same response as others have reported in their reviews. And by the way, it IS against the law to leave an animal unattended in a vehicle.

Thankfully, OK Feed no longer sells birds.

elgue

10/20/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
TERRIBLE OWNER RESPONSES

Terrible owner responses to a frequent customer.
I shopped at OK feed regularly, but now I can not shop in a store when the owner is impolite.
The store owner said, ?we don?t own a web site, so you can?t write a review (on the store quality). And I wouldn?t know how to read one ...anyway?.
We had bought a small chicken which died 1 hours later? ""no foul play""....Owner had no concerns.
See Arizona feeds for chickens.

innengr

10/20/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
RUDE, DISCOURTEOUS, DISRESPECTFULL owner!!!

Rude discourteous disrespectful owner.
Nice helpful staff, but the owner is A WINNER!! NOT..

I had an issue with a product, so I wanted to talk to the manager.
The owner came to talk with me.
He had an irritated attitude, and made the matters worst.
As a regular customer, I WILL NO LONGER SHOP AT? OK FEED!!!

dalvara

09/27/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Best feed/supply store

I have been shopping at OK Feeds for several years. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. The employees are friendly and knowledgeable. OK stocks a large variety of supplies and feed for a variety of animals, as well as beautiful, healthy parrots and other birds. I would recommend OK to anyone that loves their companion animals. Definetly worth the drive across town!

duncana

07/20/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
shocking disregard for dogs

I've been a loyal customer at OK Feed for YEARS. I always loved it. However, today that all changed. In the parking lot I saw the car next to me had left their dog in the car. In the middle of July, close to noon. I went inside and told the girl at the cash register that someone had left their dog in the car. The employee said that it wasn't her concern, she wasn't going to do anything about it. A few minutes later I saw her again and said that I didn't appreciate her attitude towards me regarding the dog in the car. After some back and forth, she decided I needed to speak to her manager instead. He came out all aggressive and angry. he informed me, and I quote, ""I don't care if 10 people leave 10 dogs in cars out there. it's not my concern and I'm not going to do anything about it. It's not illegal and I'm not going to play a cop."" I was shocked. Floored. Their attitude was callous--and I will never return to their business again.

azshopper

12/28/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Very Accomodating Staff

Good selection of products for all types of animals/pets. Very accomodating staff. A real western atmosphere but not intimidating to walk into for us city slickers. I travel quite a ways to get there but they have the specialty food i need, so I'm happy to make the trip. Closed Sundays, but can't have everything!

sweetbay

07/22/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Above & Beyond

They are always willing to help and listen! If you want a down home feel here in the city, you'll find it at OK feed. The service is outstanding. I go many miles out of my way to shop there. They are FAR superior to any 'pet-place' chain in Tucson. A++ in my book! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!