In mybook® Food Collection (edit)

Added to your food collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Sponsored Links

Regular Hours

Payment method
Price Range
Academy of the Holy Names, Southwest Tampa

The Colonnade Restaurant

The Colonnade

Colonnade Restaurant & Lounge

Family Style Restaurants, Bars, Bar & Grills, Steak Houses, Seafood Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information

Cuisines: Family Style, Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar & Grills

Price Range : Average


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

S W.



Family has enjoyed this restaurant for years. Located in the middle of a neighborhood overlooking the water. Every meal with my parents I get to hear a "Nade" story about their high school days and when it was a drivie-in. Food is always fresh and they have a huge menu. We love the grouper and my kids love the fried shrimp.




Special fish on the menu was good. Everything else was bad. Cooked my steak wrong twice and gave me my glass of wine for free. I am not really picky about my steak but I can not eat it medium well or rare and that is what i got. My shrimp I ate, but they were overcooked and dry. The shrimp was supposed to be marinated, but they simply had a sauce poured over part of them after they were over grilled!



Provided by Citysearch - 
The food here is one step above

The food here is one step above McDonald's and three steps below Red Lobster. I've had the prime rib and filet here before, every time I had to send it back because they would cook it until it's bone dry.

Tonight they didn't even have steak because they were ""sold out"" so I tried some fish and scallops. You would think a place next to the water would have fresh fish but it's not. The seafood here tastes prepackaged and frozen.

The appetizers came at the same time as the entree which was also annoying and an example of how mismanaged the kitchen staff is. Nothing worse than having your entree get cold because you're still on the appetizers.

Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. The only people that eat here are ones that don't have any taste buds. I really can't see how this place has been in business all these years.



Provided by Citysearch - 
A Hair of a Tale.

My wife and I were in the Tampa area for a long weekend and chose the Colonade for its seafood expertiese. First off don't consider going without a reservation, very busy! We opted to sit at the bar, (open seating) we were told. We were treated very promptly. Here in lies the problem. There was a HAIR in my stuffed shrimp. I am not one to complain. My wife insisted I bring it to the waitresses attention. My apetitie was stifled by this time. She offered to get me more stuffed shrimp, I declined. She offered free desert, I declined. She finally removed my entree from the bill. The food was good, hot. I still tipped the waitress on the full amount before my entree was removed. I wear my hair in a very short military style, I wish that long curly lock was mine!



Provided by Citysearch - 
Bad food

Worst sea food, everything is fried and the broiled snapper was flavor whatsoever...cook needs to go back to culinary school...bad choice and very embarrassing for relatives that took me there as I was visiting Tampa..



Provided by Citysearch - 
The worst food we've ever eaten

The view from the Colonnade cannot make up for the terrible food it serves. My parents were visiting us from up north and for my mom's birthday, we decided to take her to the Colonnade after reading a write up about it and because we bike ride past it every night and see it jammed. We were greatly disappointed for the following reasons: my husband's beer was flat and later charged for it even though he sent it back, the conch chowder tasted like BBQ sauce out of a bottle, the scallops on our Captain's Platter tasted three weeks old and sent back for a couple of oysters, the fries served with our platter were cold, my dad's fish tasted like the cheapest fish you can buy at the grocery store, the grouper dish my mom ordered tasted like they poured salt over the top and had to be sent back and by the time she got it, we were done eating our food. For all the trouble, I think the manager should have taken care of something on the bill and apologized for the bad food. The waiter apologized many times and he was very nice (Patrick). A few days earlier we took my parents to the small restaurant on Ballast Point Pier (The Taste of Boston) and everyone was happy - the food was excellent (as always), reasonably priced, great view and location. I feel sorry for the people that eat at the Colonnade and think their getting good food. Obviously the Colonnade is under poor management :(



Provided by Citysearch - 
Avoid - Very disappointing

This past Saturday (11/11/06), while visiting Tampa, my wife and I decided to dine at the Colonnade. Upon arriving, the people in front of us were about to be seated. We were told to tag along and someone would seat us; not our idea of a proper seating. We were never asked if we would like to sit in a booth by the window overlooking the water, of which a few were vacant, instead we were out at a wobbly table in the middle of the room. Here we waited and waited for our waitress, being told several times by another waitress that ours would be right over. Seeing that our waitress still hadn't come to our table the before mentioned waitress said she would take our drink order. Five minutes later our waitress finally came over and said she would take our drink order. We told her we had already placed it with another waitress. At that our waitress became miffed and was quite rude to us and instead of taking our dinner order, went on a quest to find out who took our drink order. This made us a bit uncomfortable. Some more time past, our drinks having arrived, and a waiter appeared to take our dinner order. Now our anxiety grew believing we would get yelled at again if our waitress should decide to come over to take our order. As it turned out she ignored us the rest of the time. My wife's grouper was excellent however my fried shrimp with your own special coating was nothing to write home about; indeed it was tasteless and somewhat greasy. We were mostly ignored through dinner and it wasn't until I finally asked to have my water glass refilled that I was able to get more. Then, without asking if we wanted dessert, our bill was thrown down on the table. My wife asked if we might have some coffee; which we got but still weren't asked if we wanted dessert. Now that we are ready to leave, we can't get our bill and had to wait awhile for it. All in all, on our future trips to Tampa, we will NOT be dining at the Colonnade.



Provided by Citysearch - 

The few times I've been there the food has either been good or terrible. The last time I was there was for my baptism and the wait for the food was over an hour, and the food was poor as well. I will go there occaisionally but it is not my favorite place to go.



Provided by Citysearch - 

I have been to almost every restaurant in the bay area, and by far the best for lunch and dinner is The Colonnade. They have the best consistent service, great prices and generous meal portions. Don't visit without trying the crunchy chicken breast- there's nothing like it! The waiters aren't hard on the eyes either :)

Sponsored Links