In mybook® Home Collection (edit)

Added to your home collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Sponsored Links
General Info
 One and two bedroom apartments for rent, all the amenities without all the price, central location with caring management.
BBB Rating
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Essex Place Apartments: (417) 887-7892

Essex Place Apartments: (417) 889-8406

Services/Products
 Apartments with all the amenities with great prices, free cable and wi-fi, fitness center, swimming pool, caring on-site management, pet friendly,  ample off-street parking, close to shopping mall, restaurants, grocery stores & theaters, 24/7 emergency maintenance, 3 floorplans to choose from
Payment method
check
Location
 Located at 1131 W. Battlefield, Springfield, MO., just west of Battlefield & Campbell Streets
Neighborhood
Southeast Springfield
Amenities
 Free cable and wi-fi, fitness center, large swimming pool, tennis courts, sand volleyball, basketball, tanning bed, sauna, state-of-the-art laundry facilities, balconies, off-street parking, children's playground, picnic tables & BBQ grills, andmany other amenities 
Associations
 Member of Springfield Apartment and Housing Association
Category
Apartment Finder & Rental Service
Other Information

Parking: Lot

COUPONS & DEALS

No coupons available

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Ben F.

10/22/2014

Overall

SHOULD BE RENAMED TO BEN-STEAL..



DO NOT EVER RENT FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! It's been 5 years and still fighting them!!! Judy (the sh*tty owner) is NEVER "in town." My lawyer can't get a hold of her, I have tried countless times to call and talk to her but for 5 years she is always out of the country. BAD BUSINESS RIGHT THERE!!! They lie about your move out, they don't document anything but make it a he said/she said fight. A few months ago I did get a response from her (recorded the entire conversation for legal purposes, might even upload it to the internet with a link soon so everyone knows how much of horrible person Judy is), and she did nothing but tell me what was written on a piece of paper from 5 years ago. No proof of the "excessve damage" and is still trying to make us pay $600 for "touch-up paint" but if the place was so trashed why was the "professional cleaning" only $75?!? The entire companty is the stereotype reason why landlords are crooks/ a$$holes.



The Attorney General Office is now breathing down their necks because I have found others that have had similar issues with them and I am making a stronger case to show that this c*nt will do anything to not be a good person. Funy part is, my lawyer is a woman, and Ben-Steele keeps sending letters to the Attorney General about how they have never heard of my lawyer and refer to her as a HIM and even the wrong damn name!!!!!!!!! THEY CAN'T EVEN GET FACTS STRAIGHT LIKE THAT!!! Better Business Bureau is also in talks with me and I will do everything to make this public so the company can fail before anyone else is taken advantage of.



IF YOU RENT FROM THESE PEOPLE, DO A WALK THROUGH AND RECORD THE WHOLE THING!! TAKE PICTURES AFTER YOU MOVE OUT TO SHOW NO DAMAGES OR ANYTHING. SHE WILL TRY TO STEAL YOUR MONEY!!!!

brando4

02/13/2010

Overall
great place essex place

i used to work at essex and would recommend it to anyone clean,affordable and with caring staff you cant go wrong i give it ten stars.

srloveskitties

03/14/2009

Overall
Essex is the Place to be

I've lived here for a couple of years now, and the office staff here is wonderful the manager Paula and Heidi are very helpful and will do anything they can in order to make things better and easier for you. They always notify you in advance should mait need access to your place for some reason, and if your in need of something to be worked on Mait is always there if not the same day at least by the next day. They're very friendly to my cats & the one is the mait man's little helper she just loves helping him out! I wouldn't live anywhere that I thought my cats would be in danger, I feel very safe here & don't worry about things when I leave to go out for awhile. There is a security team who comes through nightly, the neighbors are very friendly & the amneities are wonderful, the apartments and the grounds are very nice, clean and roomy. Many places that are like these and have all these amneities are much higher in price. It's a great place to live, the best thing is to come by and see for yourself.

ozarklife

11/14/2008

Overall
ozarklife

Currently living at essex apt and have been here about a year and half.

like the area(little crime), affordable rent and the manager and assistant are very friendly and helpful when needed.

Quiet area to live at and well maintained and clean.

Have an officer that checks on everything late at night and thats good.

Can't say what its like after moving out cause i haven't moved out yet.



I would recommend checking it out for yourself and living here



M-S

littlemissie8

11/14/2008

Overall
Essex Place Apartments

I have nothing but good things to say about the staff and the complex itself. My daughter and I recently moved in on a referral from a present tenant. The manager Paula and her leasing agent Hiedi went above and beyond to make sure our move was an easy one. Our unit was so clean there wasn't any of the usual cleaning upon move in. Maintence as well responds in a timely manner, though there have only been a few minor instances since we took over occupancy of the unit. I not only feel safe but I feel good about my daughters safety as well. The wide range of other tenants that I have met hve all been friendly. The pool this summer was a life saver, and was always kept cleaned out. I know from months of looking to find an affordable, clean, safe residence you can't go wrong with Essex Place.

rachm234

07/13/2008

Overall
Please do not live in anything owned by Ben Steele

I am currently living at Essex Place, a Ben Steele property. This place should be renamed as hell. There has been three landlord changes in the eight months we have been here. One of them tried to forge our lease to get more money out of us. But most recently, they have come into our apartment and stolen our three kittens, the cat food and litter, and $40 also is missing. Not to mention all the times they have come into our apartment for no reason other than to look around, and of course, without notice of any sort. So unless you like your new baby kittens (that you bottle fed until they could eat solid food) to be stolen right from your LOCKED apartment and taken to animal control to be euthanized, I would NOT LIVE HERE. And just in case you think you might be safe with another property, just know the CEO herself is not helpful as well as incredibly rude. If you ever want out of a lease, they can make you pay as much as they want.

claimed iconBusiness Response11/17/2008

The person who wrote this review was not on a lease at Essex Place therefore she was not even a resident although she was given applications to fill out on several occasions. We were aware of the cats and told the authorized resident that we only allow two cats, that we have a pet agreement which needs to be signed and a pet fee which needs to be paid. He was notified of this on serveral occasions but failed to comply.The co-signer for the applicant put the cats in the hallway and called the management office to come get the cats and to call whoever to dispose of the cats. The hostility about the cat issue should be taken up with the co-signer and not management. The Reviewer states "I Would Not Live Here" so why did she stay at Essex for a year?

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Sponsored Links
Feedback