Write a Review

In mybook® Food Collection (edit)

Added to your food collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Sponsored Links
Hours

Regular Hours

TueClosed

Extra Phones

Phone: (415) 752-3056

Fax: (415) 752-3056

Payment method
visa, mastercard, discover, amex
Price Range
$$$
Neighborhoods
Northwest San Francisco, Outer Richmond
AKA

Aziza Restaurant

Categories
African Restaurants, Mediterranean Restaurants, Middle Eastern Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information

Parking: Street, Valet

Wi-Fi: No

Bike Parking: No

Attire: Casual

Good For Groups: Yes

Cuisines: African, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern

Alcohol: Full Bar

Takes Reservations: Yes

Outdoor Seating: No

Coupons

No deals available. Claim this business to add deals.
Claim this business

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

10/08/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Go for the entrees, skip dessert.

Pros: Great ambiance and decor. The waitstaff was professional, friendly, and very efficient. The presentation, taste, and quality of the entrees were excellent - my friend and I had the stewed lamb w/eggplant and beef stew, both of which were very flavorful with super tender meat. I saw many tables ordering the lamb shanks, which looked really good. House cocktails also a plus.

Cons: Appetizers - both taste and portion size - were average. The mushrooms in phyllo were good, but the beet salad was miniscule. I would go with the basteeya next time. We only tried the brioche bread pudding for dessert, which was very disappointing.

09/02/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
My Favorite

I've eaten all over the world and my Dad is a French chef. My point: I know food. This is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is well done and the service is great. What else do you need?

08/06/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great Bar & Food

We stopped in sort of late night on saturday (around 10:30) and were happy to find the bar and kitchen still open. The bar is beautiful (small) and well-stocked with a nice & unique wine list. The waitstaff was also very friendly. The house cocktails stellar. We shared appetizers and desserts. Even that late in the night, every dish came out perfectly presented.

Great place for dinner or a drink with friends or a date. Romantic, social, casual or even fine dining.

05/23/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Top of the List!

This may be my favorite restaurant in the city! The food is amazing, the service is friendly and knowledgeable, the atmosphere is fun, and the cocktails are original and out of this world. I have been here a few times and they never fail. Parking in the neighborhood is terrible but they have valet (hallelujah!).

Try the Blood Orange Smash cocktail, the scallop appetizer, and any couscous and you will not be diappointed.

01/23/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Consistently Great Moroccan Food!

My wife and I have been to Aziza over five times now. It is by far the most consistent restaurant we've ever been to that continues to improve with each visit. We've tried to vary the food with each visit, but definitely have our favorites (Mediterranean Spreads, Wild Mushrooms in Phyllo, Sesame Crusted Goat Cheese, Couscous Aziza, Fennel Crusted Yellowfin Tuna). The food is always perfectly spiced and not overpowering. The best part is that you always get what you pay for and then some. Strongly recommended and if Chef Mourad Lahlou reads this post, thank you for the fantastic overall dining experience!!

11/24/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Yawn

My wife & I tried this place after reading so many good reviews here, but we were disappointed. We received our appetizers quickly but it was downhill from there. At 60 minutes, our waiter said it was up next. At the 90 minute mark, we couldn't wait any longer and asked our waiter if he could check again. We told him if it wasn't ready, we'd like to cancel it. He came out 10 minutes later and said they hadn't even started yet!

Now we're pretty understanding people, but this was ridiculous. We paid the check and nobody made any concession or sincere apology for anything. We calmly and quietly left in this weird atmosphere of their unspoken ""Yeah, we know we screwed up...oh well..""

We eat out all of the time and there are too many good restaurants in SF to waste time with a place like this.

10/21/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
very good (mostly) morrocan cuisine

Wife and i split seafood wrapped in phyllo dough for appetizer. Very well made,flaky, phyllo. Had lamb shank w/ couscous, also excellent. moist, meaty shank, good sauce (w/ apricot and prune in it - very good). Nicely seasoned couscous. Also had the berber tagine. Total w/ 1 glass wine came to about 50.00 + tip. Considered it good value for the money, and have been to several other morrocan places around this country and in Morrocco.. I strongly recommend it. Our service was excellent. The guy was good at describing everything and didnt try to foist off anything on us. Even asked how my wifes wine (a dry rose) went with the meal, as he hadn't tried that pairing before. Didn't try the desserts (were too full), but some appeared interesting.

09/17/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Excellent dining experience!

Between 5 of us, we ordered several of the small plates/ appetizers (recommended: mediterranean spreads, sausages, keftas, spinach & feta fingers), basteeya, and 3 entrees to share, instead of each getting their own entree. Almost every thing we ordered was fantastic. The guinea hen entree was a bit too salty for a couple of us, but the rest of the group seemed not to mind. The vegetable tagine was quite bland.
Our server was very attentive and her recommendations were all very good.
They have some unusual cocktails on the menu... be sure to try the ""cilantro kaffir lime-ade"" and ""ginger & pear"".

09/02/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Food OK - but way overpriced

Spent approx $120 not including tip two of us. Ordered several cocktails and a glass or two of wine apiece - but even so - we should have only payed about $60. They charge twice as much as they should for EVERYTHING. Only willing to cough up money for the exotic cocktails which were EXCELLENT! A half glass of wine in a full size goblet costs $8. Ordered 3 different appetizers - two were puny. One was a teeny goat cheese in tomato sauce deal. The other was 3 little phyllo dough things. Each cost $8. Ordered basteya - which was good but cost $16. These folks'll survive on special events tourist trade since the neighborhood isn't trendy. It was Saturday night and no one was at the bar. Also having foot traffic behind you while seated at the bar is unattractive, uncomfortable, cumbersome and annoying.

08/02/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great Place

This place doesn't miss a beat. The food is good and so is the service. They even have valet parking..Make sure to make reservations.

Sponsored Links
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback