In mybook® Pets Collection (edit)

Added to your pets collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Caring For Your Friend

Contact Us

Emergency - Dental - Boarding - Grooming & More!

General Info
The Golden Standard elevates the average veterinary experience by delivering the highest level of veterinary care for your pet combined with superior customer service for your entire family. We understand veterinary care can be stressful. We aim to reduce stress by providing an outstanding experience at every visit.
BBB Rating
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours

Regular Hours

Services/Products
  • Preventive Care
  • Boarding
  • Geriatric Wellness
  • Laboratory
  • Radiology
  • Dental
  • Nutrition
  • Dog Training
  • PAWSS Plans (Health Plans offer incredible Savings & Convenience) – our members receive peace of mind from our excellent pet care with an incredible savings.
  • Examinations
  • Hospitalization
  • Grooming
  • Surgery
  • Pharmacy
Neighborhoods
Far North Central, Churchill Estates
Other Email

Categories
Pet Specialty Services, Veterinarians, Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals, Veterinary Labs, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Pet Services
Other Information

Parking: Lot

Banner

COUPONS & DEALS

No coupons available

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

eljohnson

05/07/2012

Overall
I bought a puppy from PetLand ...

I bought a puppy from PetLand and in order to activate the warranty, I had to take the puppy to Smith and Shedd for an initial exam. After reading the reviews for Smith and Shedd, I have to say I was a little weary about this place. I work at a doctors office so i know the power the reviews have on a business. First off, the facility is BEAUTIFUL. Kudos to the designer! Overall my experience was very nice. I'd take my puppy back if I lived closer to their facility and I wasn't already happy with another vet I've used on my other dogs. I met Dr. Smith who was VERY nice and accommodating. He answered all the questions we had. The tech explained things nicely as well. The only thing we had to pay for was the flea/tick treatment.

As for the bad reviews, I feel for the consumer, but like I said, I work for a doctor's office so I do feel for the vet's office as well. Some places go through growing pains when it comes to employees. As for pricing, it's the same for a vet's office (I think lol) as it is for a doctor's office. There are pay scales based on the location of the facility. Based on my experience with them, I'd recommend them to a friend.

tnewsom

09/11/2011

Overall
I have been using Smith & Shed...

I have been using Smith & Shedd for about 3 yrs and, there are two other vet clinics much closer to where I live. I thought I had made my first appt at the clinic across the st from me, but it turned out it was Smith & Shedd. I went ahead and kept the appt at Smith & Shedd thinking that once my Pug was okay this time, I would make my next appt at the 'right' clinic. However, I was so pleased with the professionalism and care given at this clinic that, I drive just to keep seeing the Smith & Shedd team.



One example I can give is, my Pug was not able to urinate (due to struvyte crystals) at one point--Dr. Smith was very caring and listened to what I had to say, kept me updated and, eventually referred me to a specialist that in conjunction with Dr. Smith...saved my puggie! If you have a pug, this is a great place to bring him. Another example is, my boyfriend attracts kittys that are hurt and abandoned, and the staff has worked with me, reasonably, so that I can help these poor babies!



Lastly, especially with this being Sep 11th , I also want to add that I appreciate that they have a military discount!

maiadab

08/17/2011

Overall
Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hospt...

Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hosptial is a WONDERFUL vet. We actually stumbled across this vet by accident but am extremely grateful we did.



The office staff is always friendly and helpful. The vet we have worked with, Dr. Shedd, has always been very kind and has never made me feel rushed. We also have worked with the office manager when we had concerns about setting up a payment plan and she was very helpful and easy to work with. Their facilities are very nice as well. The ENTIRE staff is also very compassionate and you can tell they all truly love animals.



The best part about this vet is that I have never had to wait more than 10 mins to be seen. They always seem to keep to their appointment schedule very well.



Their pricing matches other local vets or is slightly lower.

Maiadab

08/17/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Wonderful Vet!!! Highly Recommend!

Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hosptial is a WONDERFUL vet. We actually stumbled across this vet by accident but am extremely grateful we did.

The office staff is always friendly and helpful. The vet we have worked with, Dr. Shedd, has always been very kind and has never made me feel rushed. We also have worked with the office manager when we had concerns about setting up a payment plan and she was very helpful and easy to work with. Their facilities and very nice as well. The ENTIRE staff is also very compassionate and you can tell they all truly love animals.

The best part about this vet is that I have never had to wait more than 10 mins to be seen. They always seem to keep to their appointment schedule very well.

Their pricing matches other local vets or is slightly lower.

cat-lover

08/04/2011

Overall
My husband and I adopted three...

My husband and I adopted three adorable sibling kittens that needed all the works as new clients and when we called Smith & Shedd to set up an appointment. Receptionist, Donna, was very friendly and knowledgable about what would need for our initial visit. The most impressing aspect was that they e-mailed me an estimate before we arrived for our apointme. The doctor we saw was Dr. Smith and I have to say that he was very thorough with the exams as well as explaining everything that the kittens had received, from vaccines, fecal tests, and the whole wellness exam. When we arrived at the counter to check-out I paid the exact amount quoted on our estimate. So, I have happily found the vet that is a perfect fit for our family and even better, Smith & Shedd is a family owned practice. I have even received a follow-up call to see how our little ones were doing. Don't see the reason for the previous postings that clearly are defaming their character as a clinic which was soooooooo far from the truth. So, if you need a compassionate vet and live in San Antonio then I would not hesitate to give Smith & Shedd a call.

SATeacher

05/17/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Worst Hospital Ever! Watch for unauthorized charges

I received a rather large bill from this place for tests that I did not authorize. When I complained to one of the 'doctors,' she passed me to an office manager that was rather deficient in social skills. Classic bait and switch. I will never return to these un-professionals. Poor clinical skills and poor ethics.

Sara Cathey

04/23/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Worst Pet Hosptial Ever!

I have a Labrador Retriever and had seen Smith & Shedd for about a year or 2 however; I was very displeased with the service I received every time I called or was in the clinic. For example, when I would call to make an appointment or call to ask a question I would be placed on call for long period's of time instead of someone just getting my number and calling me back. Same thing when I would come in I would wait sometimes 2 hours to see the doctor. They would tell me her medication is ready for pick-up and I would drive over and they would be closed from 12-3 for a meeting but when I had spoken to them earlier they never mentioned that on the phone. So, it was a waste of my time and money to drive over there while all I needed was some communication of please do not come by at this time because we will not be here and we do not want to inconvenience you. What really sent me over the edge was when my dog was having problems with worms in her stool and I took her in for treatment and tests. When I checked out I paid - like I do every time and that was it. 6 months later I received a bill for $45 which is not a big deal but I called to ask what it was for and they said tests and I said what tests? They said tests to see what was going on with your dog and I said oh well what are the results? I never heard about this and why didn't they tell me about this bill when I checked out or why not call or send a letter regarding the results? No comment on their end. I told them I was not going to pay for something that I was not aware of nor did I receive results on. I never heard from the doctor its 6 months later and now I am getting a bill! You know what they did? They sent me to collections!!!!! For $45, can you believe that. How stupid. SO, then we had to meet with the doctor/owner to explain how unhappy we have been and why we did not want to pay. You would think since it is a 'Family' owned business he would have put the customer first or at least put his self in our shoes of how we had been treated but nope he acted haughty toward us. Long story short after another hour with him he finally dropped our then the $90 bill (because now it had fees on it) that again we had no communication about any kind of test that was going to be done- which would have been fine we just want to know about it. We are done with that place and have been for about 2 years now. In fact the person that referred me to our new Vet went to Smith & Shedd too and had Very similar experiences and that is why they no longer go there as well. I would never refer any one to Smith & Shedd. I told the Dr. Smith & Dr. Shedd that they should really work on their communication skills with the entire office.

Overall
Smith & Shedd & Why Not To Take Your Pet There

They are excellent if your pet has flees, an upset stomach, or something small like that, however, if you pet breaks a leg or has any other major emergency I wouldn't advise going to them. My puppy had broken his leg Thursday night, I called their after hours line. It was useless. They told us to take him to a 24 hour animal hospital. After getting him a splint and some pain medication there we called the after hours line back. The tech told us to bring him in at 2pm on Friday. We did, there were no vets there so he had to stay the night. I called again on Saturday at 11am. I was told they hadn't even looked at him yet but they would call us. Saturday, no call. Sunday, no call. Monday I called them and I was told everyone was too busy to speak with me about my dog. I then had my husband call from work and finally someone spoke with him. Shortly after Dr. Smith called my cell phone. I asked him why my dog had been there so long and why no one had contacted us. He didn't give me a straight answer and he claimed that when I had called on Saturday I could have just gone and picked him up. I then asked if they had just been keeping him in a kennel the whole time. He said yes. We have a kennel at home so I told him if that was all they did we could have just kept him here where he would have been constantly loved and looked after. Dr. Smith then basically called my a liar and was VERY rude with me to the point where I began to cry. The best part is while he was in their care his leg was not in a splint and still isn't. His leg is still very broken and hasn't received any kind of treatment other than pain medication. The only thing they did was cause us problems and find us an orthopedic vet surgeon who can operate on it. I can honestly say I will never be taking my puppy or my cat there ever again.

claimed iconBusiness Response08/04/2011

Treatment for a severe break requiring orthepedic surgery is cage rest and pain meds until the surgery can be scheduled. Since that type of surgery is best performed by a specialist, we make the patient as comfortable as possible until the surgeon can fit the patient in for surgery. I regret to say that the story the pet owners gave was not consistent with the type of break, however, we could not prove anything. They had it repaired by the surgeon as advised, and unfortunately came back to us only two months later with ANOTHER break on the same leg. Again, their story of how the dog was injured was not consistent with the break, and because it was going to require another surgery, they opted to euthanize the dog instead. We convinced them to sign over ownership to our hospital, and with the help of staff, the specialty clinic, and the new owner, we paid for another orthepedic repair. The surgeon concluded that the injury was consistent with a kick to the leg, confirming that there was likey animal abuse taking place. We are happy to inform you that the dog is doing well and is happy in a new home.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
sarose1

07/01/2009

Overall
Smart Docs, Compassionate

Very professional and compassionate. Figured out what was wrong with my Ralphie after two other vets couldn't.



Prices seemed inline and comparable to our prior vets.

txwldr

02/19/2009

Overall
The way every vet should be

We took our two year old Maltese to Smith & Shedd, after her vet of two years couldn't figure out what her digestive problems were caused by. After literally spending over three thousand dollars at her old vet, we still had no idea what was causing Minkie to vomit and have loose stool sporadically. Her prior vet actually said "sorry, there's nothing else that we can do...she's a dog. Dog's are always getting into things. You need to make sure she's not getting into things." Getting into things? After spending three thousand dollars? Ridiculous!!!



Smith & Shedd came highly recommended from a friend, so with apprehension, we decided to give them a try.



Our first impression was how genuinely sincere the front staff and technicians were. Dr. Smith was also very sincere, and had our baby's problem narrowed down to two possibilities, just by examining her and reading over her piror records. We had to fast Minkie that night. The following morning, they took blood samples, and by the next afternoon we had the results. We had spent thousands at her prior vet, and now with less than two hundred dollars and one visit, we had her diagnosis.



Minkie had an unusual disease called a liver shunt. Next they used their ultrasound to diagnose where the shunt was located. Thankfully, hers was of a type that could be fixed surgically. Now it's been over six months since her surgery, and Minkie is the picture of perfect health - her coat is no longer dull, she's put on over two pounds, she is much more energetic, and most importantly, she hasn't had any diarrhea or vomiting since the surgery.



Seldom have I had such a wonderful experience with any professional, including mine and my husband's own doctors, that could compare with that of Smith & Shedd. I would recommend them highly to anyone with an animal family member!

engdyn

02/09/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
NOT Impressed

I started taking my dog to S&S when she was a pup. While the office staff are very friendly, the Doctors have never been very helpful to me. My dog has had some skin problems, and they were never able to tell me what was wrong, but just started prescribing different medications to see if any would help. I even had one doctor who actually told me that there was nothing he could prescribe for her skin issue, but it looked as though my dog had a case of anxiety, and maybe I should put her on medication for that! For the cost of this vet, I have never had a good experience. I have boarded my pup there, and they lost all the toys I gave them for her. When they cut her nails they almost always cut her to the quick, and they never call back when they say they will. My dog also had an issue with her leg/hip, and after a lot of x-rays (very expensive) they still had no idea what was causing her limp. I am not expecting one vet to know everything, but between the three doctors there, all of which saw my dog, no one knew what was up. I think the high cost of this vet is due to the location and all the fancy equipment they have, but I wish they would spend more making a connection with their patients. The cost of this vet is not worth what you get. They are nice people but don't perform to the standard that they should.

Andrew210

02/27/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Questionable practice

I would not recommend Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hospital for any reason. From the very beginning we had a bad experience. The receptionist staff was inexperienced, unfriendly and could not effectively communicate our needs to the vets. The vet techs seemed knowledgeable; however once again there was significant dysfunction in communication between the front staff and the vet staff. Finally, when we came to pick up our dog the vets were not there to discuss the results of a major surgery. If this is the way that they conduct business in the front of the house, I'm scared to think about the level of medical care that they provide.
Yes the office might be fancy if that is what concerns you; however, I strongly question their level of expertise.

mulansmom2004

10/19/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
excellent services and whole staff is courteous and friendly

this is probably the best place in san antonio, where the vets really love animals and treat the whole family well, kind compassionate and knowledgeable as well. and a great staff
ty s and s
dmt

Feedback