In mybook® Health Collection (edit)

Added to your health collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your health collection.

VivaSmiles

Map & Directions
(33 Reviews)

141 N Meramec Ave Ste 217, Saint Louis, MO 63105

(314) 533-8482

CLOSED NOW
Today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tomorrow: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
21
YEARS
IN BUSINESS
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Accepted Insurance

VivaSmiles has not yet specified accepted insurance plans.

Specialties

Additional Specialties: Impactions

About

Biography
The staff at VivaSmiles puts themselves in your chair: the dentist's chair! Our goal is to make your visit to VivaSmiles a pleasant and positive experience. After all, you'll be gaining a whole new outlook on life through a radiant smile, healthy teeth and gums, and for many, relief from chronic pain, whether it's from the teeth, gums or the jaw. VivaSmiles offers a comforting atmosphere of relaxation with beautifully modern treatment rooms. We respect your time and pride ourselves on being on time for you! But we'll take the time to consult with you first, with educational DVDs to explain every procedure we offer. We'll find out what your needs are and what your dreams are for looking and feeling your best. Once we've agreed on a personalized treatment package for you, we'll make sure your visits are as stress free as possible. VivaSmiles offers the ultimate in patient comfort. Specialties General Dentistry, Dental Crowns, Teeth Whitening, Zoom Whitening, Tooth Extraction Areas The Greater St. Louis Area

Services

Brands
zoom

Location & Hours

Main Location

141 N Meramec Ave Ste 217

Saint Louis, MO 63105

Hours

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Phone: (314) 400-7790

Neighborhoods
West Bemiston, Clayton

Payment

Payment Method
all major credit cards, check, debit, financing available, insurance

Other Information

Category
Dentists
Other Information

Specialties: Impactions

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Sue F.

06/03/2014

Overall

I have been going to Dr Gomez for about 3 years and have never been happier. I had previously been with a family practice in Kirkwood and felt I was being overcharged . It seemed as if they were trying to sell crowns. I was refered to Dr. Gomez and she x-rayed my teeth and did fillings - saving me money. She's also very attentive to my fear of pain. I really appreciate the honest dental work and her attention to detail. Highly recommended.

Overall

I suffered from headaches, dizziness, limited neck movement, ringing in my ears,….even my scalp hurt. Visits to my doctor, an ear specialist, and a chiropractor all resulted in the same diagnosis of TMJ. After treating only the symptoms with little relief, I researched TMJ and found Dr. Gomes. Within a few visits my pain disappeared. I’ll admit initial skepticism in neuromuscular dentistry..but now I’m a believer.

a30centsolution

03/04/2014

Overall
No more fear!

I hate going to the dentist. That said, Dr Gomes made my experience bearable and even enjoyable. Their very friendly and knowledgable staff and a comfortable setting changed my perspective regarding dental visits. They are my only choice for dental work from now on.

owend141

12/11/2012

Overall
I am so thankful to have found...

I am so thankful to have found VivaSmiles. Dr. Gomes and her wonderful staff make you feel completely at ease. Before coming here I would be very anxious and think about the upcoming dental appointment so by the time I reached the appt I was a total wreck. Vivasmiles does a great job at explaining the technical process of Neuromuscular Dentistry and how it all works. I am thankful for the time that they all took to spend with me to make me feel more at ease. I now look forward to coming to the office for my treatments

cherylj750

06/11/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Despite how pretty the waiting room

Despite how pretty the waiting room looks, BEWARE of high pressure sales tactics, billing discrepencies, misinformation, unwanted work done while you are in the chair for something completely different, a different staff everytime you visit, etc. etc. VIVA SMILES and Dr. Gomes are a SCAM! RUN AWAY, QUICKLY!!!

LennieM947

06/05/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Before you enlist with Dr. Gomes, get a

Before you enlist with Dr. Gomes, get a second opinion. I spent thousands here but had to go another oral surgeon where I had to spend my savings to fix the problems. Bottom line, this was a nearly two year nightmare and a very costly one at that. I can't comment on anyone else here so this only pertains to Dr. Ruth Gomes!

notinthisplace

06/02/2012

Overall
Do not use this Dentist. She f...

Do not use this Dentist. She filed for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy! The fact is she will drain you of your insurance and wallet. Find a reputable Dentist and don't be fooled by Dr. Gomes. I have a suit against her for the egregious work she did. All this is public record!

LennieM947

06/01/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
If you use this Dentist, you are taking

If you use this Dentist, you are taking an enormous risk. Dr. Gomes only sees $ signs when you walk through the door. I spent thousands and two years later, had to find a ""qualified"" oral surgeon for a makeover because everything she did was so POORLY done! She just filed for Bankruptcy so evidently she does not pay her debts but bet she lives large. I finally had to file a law suit against her but appears her BANKRUPTCY filing may impact that suit. In other reviews the people cite she owed them refunds but they won't see them. I asked for a refund and she told me I would have to sue her, so I did! Her filing is public record and so is the suit I filed so do your homework before you leap into her chair.

LennieM947

05/31/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Please beware of Dr. Ruth Gomes. I

Please beware of Dr. Ruth Gomes. I spent two years in her care but had to find another oral surgeon to remove and replace her work. I spent thousands in insurance and out of pocket. Review all public records, ask other dentists what they know of her. I tried to put a review on her web site but couldn't. All you will see are the gloating reviews and not the ones that seem to give rise to reasonable concerns a patient should see. If I could give zero stars, I would...

Rosalind Thomas

02/02/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
This is the worst dental office in Missouri.

They are always late on your appointment. They want payment on the date of service but not refund your money in a timely manner. I have been requesting a refund for the last month and half and still to this date they can not tell me when it will come. They keep refer me to Dr Ruth Gomes and she is never available.

My daughter had a partial done there and they lost the imprint. She had to come back in and get the temp removed and they made another imprint and wait another 3 or 4 weeks for it to made. They started work on her without a pain shot and when she scream in pain she was told to be quiet.

This is the worst dentist office in the state of Missouri.

builttolast

01/20/2012

Overall
Don't go here. I can't give t...

Don't go here. I can't give this place a low enough rating.



I signed a financing agreement for planned work with this dental office, and was told when I signed that I could cancel the agreement at any time. After a substantial portion of the work, I asked to cancel the agreement, and asked the office to return only the unused portion of the money to the finance company, so that I wouldn't have to make payments on services I didn't receive. The dental office didn't return numerous messages I left, and even went as far as to tell me they don't know how to cancel the agreement.



The financing company has confirmed that they only need a fax from Viva Smiles to cancel it, and that this is a common event - people change their minds.



It's common sense that you shouldn't have to pay for work or services you didn't receive, but this dental office has been unresponsive to my request to cancel the agreement and have the unused money returned to me - for months. It's a lot of money.



Find another dentist.

builttolast

01/20/2012

Overall
I signed a financing agreement...

I would seriously caution anyone from doing business here. I signed a financing agreement for planned work with this dental office, and was told when I signed that I could cancel the agreement at any time. After a substantial portion of the work, I asked to cancel the agreement, and asked the office to return only the unused portion of the money to the finance company, so that I wouldn't have to make payments on services I didn't receive. The dental office didn't return numerous messages I left, and even went as far as to tell me they don't know how to cancel the agreement.



The financing company has confirmed that they only need a fax from Viva Smiles to cancel it, and that this is a common event - people change their minds.



It's common sense that you shouldn't have to pay for work or services you didn't receive, but this dental office has been unresponsive to my request to cancel the agreement and have the unused money returned to me - for months. It's a lot of money.



Find another dentist. This business is very poorly run, they have run their business at my considerable expense and are not taking action to correct the problem. At all.

builttolast

01/20/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
I wouldn't wish the experience I had on anyone.

I have spent a lot of time and energy trying to get a refund for unused financing from Viva Smiles, and it's still not refunding the money.

I signed a financing agreement for planned work with this dental office, and was told when I signed that I could cancel the agreement at any time. After a substantial portion of the work, I asked to cancel the agreement, and asked the office to return only the unused portion of the money to the finance company, so that I wouldn't have to make payments on services I didn't receive. The dental office didn't return numerous messages I left, and even went as far as to tell me they don't know how to cancel the agreement.

The financing company has confirmed that they only need a fax from Viva Smiles to cancel it, and that this is a common event - people change their minds.

It's common sense that you shouldn't have to pay for work or services you didn't receive, but this dental office has been unresponsive to my request to cancel the agreement and have the unused money returned to me - for months. It's a lot of money.

Find another dentist.

builttolast

01/20/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
I would caution anyone against doing business here.

I signed a financial agreement with this office for planned work, which I was told could be cancelled at anytime. I asked to cancel, and asked them to refund only the unused portion of the money to the finance company so I wouldn't have to make payments on services I didn't receive. The finance company just needs a fax from the dental office, but its been months and they haven't returned the unused money.

The standard business practice is to return the unused portion, and the finance company has confirmed this, but Viva Smiles is not returning the unused money. It's quite a lot of money.

All of my requests have been made courteously, I wouldn't recommend this business to anyone. If I could rate it with a negative 5 stars, I would have done that.

kb1109

05/02/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Would not recommend to anyone!!!

Went to Viva Smiles looking for a new dentist and thank goodness someone told me to get a second opinion. They told me I had a bunch of cavities and told me the work would cost over $3400. I wasn't thrilled with the dentist anyway so I decided to get another opinion. Come to find out I don't have any cavities the only thing I need is to replace an old filling. Would not recommend this place to anyone!!!! My new dentist was shocked at all the stuff they said I needed done!!

akproctor

11/15/2010

Overall
New patient, Great Dentist!

The Hygenist - Joanna and Dentist - Dr. O'Brian were very informative and broke down what they were doing and why they were doing it. I didn't experience any pain or discomfort and never was accidentally nicked on my gums which has happened before - not a pleasant feeling. They have a great teeth whitening program that I'm taking full advantage of which is completely free. . . . I'd recommend them to anyone!

EZY

11/13/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
I am not satisfied with their service

I did not get the quality of services they claimed. Be careful, they are good at advertising rather than services. If you don't have a super insurance, don't go there.

ronaldo123

05/17/2010

Overall
mediocre & overpriced service

This is not your ordinary dentist - it is a dentist glued together to a money machine to bilk your insurance and yourself. The business model they follow is to promise on the front very low cost and fees, implying these would be paid by insurance. If you choose to go there, make sure that they give you written estimates BEFORE they do any work - even though they would still try (and mostly likely succeed) at squeezing extra funds from you.



As per the quality of dentistry - it suffice to say that they had to fit my crown over a two week period. The quality is poor, the price is high. If you want to waste your money (i.e., to gift these to the owners of the practice), go ahead. If however you would want to find a more reasonable (and reliable) practice - I would recommend Premier Dental Partners.

claimed iconBusiness Response01/25/2011

We apologize that you are not satisfied; however, this review is inaccurate. All patients sign a written estimate before undergoing treatment at VivaSmiles in order to prevent these types of misunderstandings. Your confusion over the cost of treatment most likely was the result of your insurance denying a claim, over which VivaSmiles has no control. We do the best we can to estimate insurance benefits, but occasionally the insurance company simply does not pay. Because we process insurance as a convenience to the patient, per standard medical industry practice the patient may sometimes be responsible for the unreimbursed portion of dental work. All patients are informed of this during their first visit. We are disappointed that you were also dissatisfied with treatment itself. We have thousands of happy patients that have experienced truly life-changing results. As evident in our other reviews, we strive for the greatest quality in all of our work, and want to make sure you are satisfied with it as well. Please call your treatment coordinator to discuss your concerns so that we can address them.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Raphael M

03/12/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
My Favorite Dentist.

Everybody who has tended to me did so in such a fashion, that I have zero concerns or complaints. Going to the dentist has never been high on my list of things that I like to do, but so far, my visits have truly been relatively stress free. Thank you VIVA SMILES

cutekat4

02/22/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Very impressive.

I was very impressed with the quality of service I received. It was more thorough than what my regular physician would ask. The staff was outstanding in every way.