In mybook® Home Collection (edit)

Added to your home collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Do you know the hours for this business?
Extra Phones

Phone: (512) 750-0523

TollFree: (888) 553-1318

General, Platinum Paint Shop
Payment method
amex, discover, master card, visa

Holden Roofing Inc

Roof Trusses, General Contractors, Home Builders, Roofing Contractors, Roofing Equipment & Supplies


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Sydney D.



Horrible business practices. I was informed today that it is their "standard practice" to threaten collections even when they know the insurance company owes money. When they estimated the roof, one of the selling points was they worked with the insurance company to "make sure" the insured received the money for the work. My original estimate was for $7,400 then they made a "mistake" and billed me for $7,900. This was corrected by billing me for $7,600. Once again this "mistake" was corrected to a $7,500 amount. They have done nothing but send collections letters until I finally called the adjustor and insurance agent to discover that I was indeed owed money. Holden Roofing does NOT work with the insurance agent to "make sure" that you get the money you are covered for. You have to do that all on your own. What they will do is threaten to take you to collections knowing your insurance company owes money.

Edited: 12/10/2016
Terrible Company

We signed a contract with Holden Roofing to replace our damaged roof after Hurricane Ike. In the contract it is stated that we would purchase Laminate Shingles, that 90 lb felt would be used on all valleys in the roof, that deteriorated decking would be replaced at $30/a sheet, 30 lb felt would be laid on top of the decking, six nails would be used in every shingle, and the drip edge would be replaced around the entire house and garage.
Upon completion of their work...we discovered that they had used cheaper three tab shingles that they cut to look like laminate shingles in certain areas of the roof. They did not replace all of the drip edge around the house, they used only three nails per shingle and failed to replace several areas of rotten decking.
We called them back out and they attempted to fix all the areas that we complained about. However upon further investigation, we discovered soft spots on the roof. We called them out again and they stated that they were not responsible for replacing soft wood - because that is not considered "rotten". They cannot guarantee that they used felt under every shingle.
And the worst part - is they didn't even so much as apologize for all the errors in their crew's workmanships or how they tried to cheat us out of what we were paying for. In addition, the roof is still not up to code and Holden Roofing is only willing to do the comestic repairs that are needed.

If you need a new roof - DON'T uses this company!! I guess they stopped caring about their work ethics since they are rolling in the money now!! Before the storm they were a wonderful company. It's really TOO bad!! I should have used Friendswood Roofing - I've heard they still give a damn about their customers!!!

claimed iconBusiness Response03/29/2009

We take every complaint very seriously. This one is no exception. We have very specific codes that we go by when roofing in high wind zones. The state requires either a state wind inspector or and state certified engineer to perform and sign off on each roof we do in order for us to be able to roof in any wind zone areas. If we do not meet those strict guidelines and pass every inspection we can not roof in those areas. Most companies use the free state provided inspectors to look at their roofs. We take it one step further and pay a state certified engineering firm to access our roofs to help ensure that our quality is maintained. In this complaint they stated we only used 3 nails per shingle - That is incorrect!! In wind code we are required to put in 6 nails per shingle and that was done - otherwise we would not have passed our wind inspection. It was also stated that we "used cheaper three tab shingles" and cut them to look like laminate shingles. Anyone that has roofed before or done any research would know and understand that 3-tab shingles are used on 99% of all roofs and it is industry standard to use 3-tab shingles as ridge cap and starter. They are cut and used as both starter and ridge cap (the only time a 3-tab shingle is not used for ridge is when a customer upgrades to a high profile ridge cap). This is easy to research - just contact any local roofing supply house or manufacturer and ask what the industry standards are. Once a roof has passed the inspection the wind certificate is posted online on the state web site. Mr. Rogers certificate is on the state site (you can contact us for further verification) In response to the "soft decking," we only replace decking that is rotten unless specifically told to do otherwise. Our decision to replace a sheet of plywood is determined by whether or not the plywood would provide a solid nailable surface. If the roof has not had a leak, soft plywood is usually a result of the thickness of plywood that was installed by the builder. It would be unfair and costly to the homeowner to go and replace this plywood because it is not necessary to maintain the integrity of his roofing system and would e a waste of money. Keep in mind we have to honor a warranty on every roof we do, that being said, we are not only going to act in the interest of the homeowner but also ourselves. Mr. Rogers said also that we can not guarantee that we used felt under every shingle - We install new felt on every roof we do. Again we would not pass our inspection if we did not do everything that was required by the strict wind codes. Since the Ike storm we have roofed well over 3000 roofs. We have had only a few issues and have resolved every single issue. Our complaint ratio is less than .01% of the work we do and that has been the case since the companies inception in 1961. Feel free to contact our office at any time to discuss this issue or for general questions. We respect Mr. Rogers and regret his discontent.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Edited: 12/10/2016
Service and Results

After being denied by my insurance company, I read the reviews and checked with the BBB. Many roofing companies that I looked researched had only been in business for a short period of time (less than 3 years). Surprised that Holden has been in business for nearly 50 years, I gave them a call. Their staff was very courteous and a salesman called me back promptly to make an appointment. After informing him of our situation, we called my insurance company and scheduled another inspection (this time with Holden). Long story short, this time the insurance company agreed that I had damage and agreed to replace my roof. Removing and installing the roof only took ONE DAY! Do yourself a favor and call Holden.



Holden Roofing is my Hero! Dur...

Holden Roofing is my Hero! During the early morning hours, when Hurricane Ike roared through Tomball, TX, two very, very large and old trees fell through my roof. Rain poured thorough the holes in the roof. I started calling roofing companies, leaving messages as to the severity of the damage. I even called a roofing company that had previously done work for me. I made dozens of calls but there were not any callbacks. Then Holden Roofing called. I explained my situation. “We will be out later today,” they told me. It was getting dark, I doubted they were coming and then, there they were. They covered the holes with tarps, working by the light of flashlights. They assured me they would get the job done and they did. From that point on Rudy worked closely with me, picking out the roofing, color, etc. and scheduling the installation (at my convenience). When conflicts arose with my claims adjuster it was Holden Roofing who went to the bat for me. Rudy spoke directly to my claims adjuster, sent pictures of the roof, and explaining discrepancies. I also had structural damage in the support beams. Holden Roofing handled this for me too. When the crew came to put the new roof on they did a great job and their clean up was terrific too. Everything about my experience with Holden Roofing was positive and professional. They went above and beyond in their service. I have a beautiful, quality roof now and Holden roofing is my roofer!



After hurrican Ike, like most ...

After hurrican Ike, like most people, we needed to replace our roof. I did a lot of research, it took me over two weeks. I had 5 written estimates. Holden Roofing was far better in price for the quality of materials and labor they offered. I wanted a white color or lightest color shingles available in the state of Texas. First Colony HOA - they are about 20 years behind time, they did not want to approve my roofing job.

they only allowed dark brown or dark gray. But Holden Roofing came throught for me. they got it all approved for me. I love my new roof. We are very comfortable in this hotest summer ever with a very low electric bill. Thank you, Holden Rooging!!!



Our Holden representative went...

Our Holden representative went above and beyond the call of duty when it came to customer service including but not limited to being extremely knowledgeable about the product, explaining how the whole insurance claims process will work (this was our first roof replacement,) and exercising punctuality and great communication.

I found Holden employees to be professional, knowledgeable, communicate clearly, and had great follow up/follow through with us. We will certainly recommend Holden to any friends or neighbors who might also be in need of a new roof or roof repairs. Holden Roofing was a pleasure to work with.



Holden quickly responded after...

Holden quickly responded after a hail storm hit our area. Our representative came out and shared with us the options they provide and answered all questions and concerns both while he was at our house and after he left. The crew that came to install the new roof was very courteous and worked hard to keep the yard clear of debris, including our fish pond. When the install was completed and the crew left, the only way you could tell they had been there was the beautiful new roof.



Holden Roofing came to our hom...

Holden Roofing came to our home as a result of hail damage which we had not noticed. They insepected our roof, met with the adjuster and finalized a deal to replace our roof.

They were professional and did an excellent job. When they left, the site was completely cleaned and all debris was removed.

We can recommend them without resevation.



Stay away from Holden Roofing....

Stay away from Holden Roofing. YOU WILL NOT be given true information. There are many local roofing companies. ... really local, not becoming local after a storm. Holden Roofing are STORM CHASERS. Their representative was dishonest with us and NONE of their management would even communicate with us. WARN your friends. Support your local economy NOT out of town people that have NO ties to the community and no obligation or natural instinct to be honest. Wish we would have read reviews before we had anything to do with Holden Roofing.



Holden Roofers

Holden roofing in rosenberg texas is a company that storm chases with convicted felons knocking on your door to get business. Not to mention most employes cant pass a drug test.... If they even required one with all the illegals, felons and drug addicts.



Storm Chasers

We recently had a hail storm our neighborhood in San Antonio. These guys are like flies on crap. They come out of no where...They ask to get on your roof for a "free estimate"...(BTW....majority of roofing companies give free its not like they are giving you something you can't get)...and then they want to put a yard sign to advertise their business and to handle the insurance claim (again..something any local company will do for you as well)....THE BIG THING IS....THEY ARE STORM CHASERS...they are NOT LOCAL! They must be hurting for business to have to leave their city to come here. They don't live here...they don't contribute to our city....and then when you need them...POOF...they will be gone as fast as they appeared. Do your research...stay with a local company that is licensed in San Antonio and has an office in San Antonio. Heaven forbid you have an issue with your in the world will you get them back to fix the problem. I refused their service..and they got upset and pushy. Again....are they hurting that bad??? They aren't the only ones...I have Quick Roofing and Remedy Roofing doing the same thing....all Storm Chasers...not local....



Thanks for putting a roof over my head!

After the recent hail storm, I found myself in need of a new roof. I contacted my insurance company and one of their adjusters came out, looked at my roof and said he did not see any damage. I knew this could not be right because all of my neighbors were having roofs put on! I got the number to Holden Roofing from a sign in my neighbor’s yard and gave them a call. Chad from Holden came out that evening to look at my roof. He met another insurance representative at my home and got my claim approved. Thanks a million Chad and Holden Roofing!



Holden is the Best Roofer I have ever used

Holden put a new roof on my house 4 months before Ike and I live in West Houston. I did not so much as have a bent shingle after the storm. During the process of looking for a roofer, Holden had the best response, they were on time or early to every appointment and had the best service and price. I walked my yard and driveway for a couple weeks looking for nails and have yet to find any. Since then they have done 6 of my friends and families roofs and they are all thrilled and giving out Holden refferrals. DON'T LET ANYONE ELSE TOUCH YOUR ROOF EXCEPT HOLDEN.



The worst company I have ever done business with.

The worst experience of my life in dealing with a contractor. Not only did they do a bad job on my roof. When I complained and wanted them to make the corrections to the roof that were found when I paid for a third party inspector, there salesman threatened me and spoke to me more rudely than I have ever been spoken to in my life. There were problems with the shingles that were not properly installed, a screen that they put a hole in by tossing shingles off the roof into the side of my house, roofing materials that were touching the flues and I wanted fair compensation for the hours I spent cleaning up the mess their crew had left which included hundreds of nails all over my front, back and side yards. When I wanted them to correct their mistakes before payment the salesman started threatening me with putting a lean on our house, and telling me how big of a favor he had done for me by selling me a $15,000 roof. The inspector I hired informed me of how badly I was overcharged and suggested that I contact the Attorney General of Texas because there company had charged me double the amount they should have for the roof I purchased. I wish I would have done my homework instead of choosing this company. I would never again make this mistake again. And I would never recommend them to anyone.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/29/2009

We regret that we could not please this homeowner. We had our inspector go over this roof and the roof was done correctly. Any re-roof job poses challenges. Our history in re-roofing goes back to 1961. For every 1 dissatisfied customer we have thousands of customers that appreciate our company and quality. We are a preferred contractor with Owens Corning one of the top manufacturers in the industry. You only achieve this status by maintaining a consistent level of quality. The homeowner stated that they had to pick up nail. We have our crews roll magnet bars or use magnet sweepers on each job. We take the clean up very seriously. It is not uncommon to find a handful of nails after a reroof as we are removing on average 100 lbs of nails as well as installing the same. It is not the responsibility of the homeowner to ever clean up after one of our crews. A simple call into the office resolves this issue. We do not tolerate any sale rep every treating a homeowner with disrespect. We spoke with the representative and were informed that this homeowner was talking very rudely to him and after all issue were addressed. The homeowner did not give us the opportunity to go and do the clean-up and was being unrealistic with the compensation request. The price we charge is determined by the size of the roof, the steepness & wether or not the roof is 2-story or not. An inspector is not typically a roofer. I do not know the qualifications of the inspector and we were not invited to the inspection to verify his qualification. As far as the price that was charged, we have a standard price guide we go by which is based on the current market price for labor and material. We literally had our price for both nearly double since the Ike storm. The insurance companies do not over pay claims!! They approved our price because it is there obligation to pay fair market value. Please feel free to contact our our and address any concerns. Thank you

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.