In mybook® Pets Collection (edit)

Added to your pets collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.


Regular Hours

Payment method
check, all major credit cards, mastercard, visa, discover
Pet Food, Dog & Cat Grooming & Supplies, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Dog Training, Dog Day Care
Other Information

Parking: On Site


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Josie C.



Beautiful facility, with a staff that is all heart and compassion when it comes to the care if the animals.

Heather K.



I have used this place several times when our family goes out of town, and I have used it for daycare when I hosted an open house and couldn't have my dogs running around barking as people came and went. The only other kennel I have ever used was a pet store chain, so I don't have a broad basis of comparison. With that said, I have had generally good experiences here and have returned for that reason. We have brought them 2 large boxers (one is no longer living). Our dogs have always come back clean. One time one dog came back seeming a little under the weather (she slept in an out of the way corner for a day), but did not vomit or need to go to the vet. I chalked it up to one of those things that happen when you get exposed to the public, kind of like when you send human kids to daycare. We have not had any other problems. Opportunities for them to improve- I do wish that they would provide some kind of a puppy report card so that I would know if my dog played well with others, and how much she ate from day to day. It would also be nice if they had a live webcam of the play area and/or kennel area. I am basing my rating on the overall experience that I had, the services that they provide.




I have used Tails r waggin for years. I've been a dog owner for over 30 years. I always had large labs and 2 at a time. My dogs come home exhausted because they have so much fun. If we happen to pick them up when they are in the yard, you can see what fun they are having. What stinks about online review sites is that happy customers are too busy to bother to post. You can't please all of the people but some of the complaints here are ridiculous! The only problem is that it is so good and so popular, reservations need to be made way in advance. Tails R Waggin is GREAT!




After receiving a glowing review from friends about this facility I was a little taken aback to be told when I called, simply asked about boarding and was told" We're full" . I was NOT asked when I wanted to board or if I just wanted information about boarding. I thanked her and hung up. I would have expected to be asked when I wanted to board and for how long before being told that they were full! They must be booked for all eternity . . .

claimed iconBusiness Response08/06/2013

We so apologize if this happened. I am sure the receptionist confused your request for that time > We were in a holiday peak time. You posted this at spring break time and we fill up 2 months in advance. If the receptionist asumed. We are so sorry . We just stared a new one at the beginning of March. OUr privious one we had for 4.5 years, got a great opportunity to learn a Vet Tech/assist job under an awesome vet. Our new one came in at a very busy time. Id love to give you a free day of daycare for the inconvienence. If you would like to take us up on this offer call and ask for Dawn or ELise the owners. Thanks Tails R Waggin Management

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


I just love the staff at Tails...

I just love the staff at Tails r waggin. they are all so nice. i feel so welcome when i arrive and my dog casey is so excited!! she cannot wait to get in and play! its always so clean and smells good! i get a warm home feeling when i leave my dog with them! i feel like she is loved as i love her witch is the most important thing to me! The fact that she comes home ready to sleep is so helpful!



i have been bringing my dog to...

i have been bringing my dog to tails since right after they opened. I had tried a couple other places before that and when it came time to leave in the morning my dog wouldnt get in the car. Since coming to Tails R Waggin; he is very happy and in fact goes and gets his leash to have me take him to tails for daycare. His bitt starts wiggling before we even turn on 152nd. The only problem is when I go to pick him up; he doesnt want to leave. I guess that is a good problem for Tails staff to have but hard on my feelings.



Tails r waggin has been so goo...

Tails r waggin has been so good to my two dogs. im not sure what i would do with out them. I thought i would have to find new homes do to the seperation issues with one of my babies. they helped me so much by keeping him durning the day so that i can work! its been so nice to have a service like this where you feel comfortable leaving them while you work. I love that its an affordable price and they always have specials to help you out. The $10 days are my Favorite! When you have to come five days a week any little bit helps!! The staff there always has a smile on their face and is excited to see my dogs. When i sit at the light on metcalf my car starts shaking with excitement. They cant wait to play another day at Tails R waggin



above and beyond

My dog boarded at Tails R Waggin in the past week, he has cancer and was very sick while staying at Tails R Waggin.

The owners there along with all the staff went ABOVE AND BEYOND the call of duty. they all cared for Jack as if he was their own dog. Took him back and forth to the vet for treatments for me. hand fed him when he wasnt eating, even cooked boiled chicken rice and eggs at home. One of the owners even sat with him in his suite untill late at night and then the overnight took him into the employee suite for some extra one on one attention at no extra charge. i want to personally thank tails r waggin for the excellent customer service skills and treatment that they gave to my Jack. I fear if he had been left alone and went down hill; then he might not be home with us today! Thank you Tails R Waggin! We will never go anywhere else!!



Unbeilevable Facility

Ive tourned many "kennels" this is not a kennel. This is as close to home as I have seen. The layout and colors are warm & fuzzy. Very clean. Even on busy days. The staff is very knowledgable and the owners are working owners and you can tell their knowledge and passion for the pets is genuine & true. I won't trust anyone else with Rudy and Paige. Thanks for finally allowing me to be non stressed when leaving town. Steve



Best in KC metro

We have used multiple facilities in the KC metro area and toured even more. We now use “Tails” as our exclusive care provider for both day care and long term boarding. We were an early customer right after they opened and had an experience that left some to be desired but that was more in human interaction than dog care. Since then they have consistently provided superb care and have been nothing but friendly and overly accommodating. As to the comment in the last review regarding dog location the dogs behind the desk are in an area fenced from the rest of the lobby and get more constant interaction with the other dogs given that opportunity and staff. I would prefer this over being secluded in a kennel. I, for one, really enjoy seeing my dog getting this attention in addition to the regular and frequent play time. We are extremely sensitive about the amount activity provided our pets. This facility has more group play, more potty breaks and more interaction than any other in the area outside of hiring or paying for continuous one on one supervision. We have a dog subject to separation anxiety who recently experienced long term boarding without any discernable effects unlike our experiences at other facilities. I would and have highly recommended this business to family and friends. No offense intended but some of the other negative comments appear to have been posted by person with little or no other experience dog care facilities, especially the comment about the food. This facility, unlike many others, allows you to provide your own food and have it administered per your directions. I do not make a habit of rating things on the net (this is actually my first), but frankly I saw the criticisms in the posted reviews and found all my experiences with this business in the last year to be just the opposite and/or that they were really unfair.



I'd Go Elsewhere

My husband and I are trying to choose a boarding facility for our dog Golden Lab, Sammy. We walked in and promptly walked right out. The first thing we noticed were dogs lying around the front. The lady working there didn't seem like she wanted to be there either. Not someone I want looking after my dog. Shocking to say the least. Isn't this is a dog-boarding facility!? Why in the world are the dogs hanging around the front desk? Shouldn't they be in a play room with toys and an adult supervisor? We are not about to give them our hard-earned money for our dog to sit up front by the front desk while the employees try and work at the same time. That is completely inappropriate. Moreso, it's an inexpensive way for them to try and save money. That's not what we are paying for. And if other dog owners want "Human intercation" then the employees should be playing with them in a facility that is appropriate. Anyway, we found a great place down the road for our Sammy to stay at.

claimed iconBusiness Response08/19/2009

We are sorry that you view the dogs out front as not human interaction and not wanting to play with them. We have countless number of customers who disagree and come here just for that. The reasons we do this is for many reasons. 1. we try to do cageless grooming. so when they are done instead of being stuck in a small cage they get to run around, as long as they are dog friendly. 2. We have some small customers whom arent ready for daycare or may not want to be in a big daycare group. THis allows the dog to socialize with a smaller group and still get interaction. 3. we have owners who just want their dog to have human interaction, so they hang out in front. I cant image the person up front not being friendly. Our Receptionist is the best and our customers cant agree more. The owners are truley animals lovers with more experience in animal care than just about anyone in the city, besides a Vet. We are sorry about your experience and would love to offer you a free day of daycare to prove to you this was just a mis- interpretation. However if you don't agree with our philosophy as to why we allow dogs up front , then maybe we arent the facility for you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.



I recently visited this establishment and found it unsatisfactory. My pet and I were not greeted when we walked in and was told to sit and fill out paperwork. They took no interest in my pet and it looked like they were not interacting well with the other pets. When I went on a tour I noticed the dogs were laying close to the employees desk and weren't even in a room to play in. The facility is nice but I found the staff to be put out by my questions.

claimed iconBusiness Response05/27/2009

We are very sorry about the experience this person had. We pride ourselves on the service we provide. We would welcome them to call me to discuss this further. We have paperwork to fill out and we routinly suggust them to have a seat to do the paperwork. Anyone can drive by our facility on a daily basis and see from our outdoor playyard that we interact with all our guests and take great interest in them. The dogs that are out around our front desk, are dogs who have been groomed and are waitng for their owners opposed to being in a cage like most facilities. Some of our daycare customers hang with us all day up here. Thats what their owners prefer. They dont like the bigger play groups and they want their pets to have human interaction, so thats what we provide. We try to be accomidating to all customers wanting tours unlike other facilities with only limited hours or access. We do however know at times when it is very busy or nap time we could come across being rushed. We are sorry for that. We have only been open for a year and have over 3000 customer files. We are not perfect but we overall must be doing many things right. That was the goal when we built this facility to offer an experience different from everyone else.. its homey ..pets are treated like their own. We do 5+ potty breaks everyday. Pets are interacted with from 6 am to 11 pm at night...then our overnight person monitors them while they sleep. we would welcome tryng to recifying the situation.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.



WHat a great experience & facility. I tourned them all before choosing them. I had boarded once before somewhere else and it was not a good experience. I was very nervous. Their staff is very knowledgable, friendly and you can tell love the animals. I cant believe how clean it is. Its homey. I cant believe how calm Bailey cane home. They gave him a bath and I even called to check on him. They wee very honest about how he did in daycare and gave me a progress report as the week progressed. I reccommend them to anyone who has to board, you cant get any better than Tails R Waggin,



not coming back

Very poor/rude customer service and very overpriced. No dog toys/treats!

claimed iconBusiness Response05/27/2009

We are very sorry for your experience. We pride ourself on providing a high level of customer service. We would welcome the opportunity to do better by this potential customer. Our prices are very competitive and actually under what many of the facilities are around us. We have toys and treats and that was shortly after christmas and we had a ton. We actually stored a bunch of our left overs for next year. We would appreciate another chance if the customer was willing. Thank you

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


i loved it

Tails R Waggin is the cleanest facility i have ever come across. I had never boarded my pets before and had never considered it before. But I saw the ad in 435 south and just wanted to try it for daycare. My dogs loved it and they came home happy and tired. Now I am hooked; and I bring my dogs to daycare 3 times a week.

Thanks Tails R Waggin for opening here in south Overland Park.



Having a ball !

My dogs just love to go and play and stay at Tails R Waggin ! They have such a beautiful facility. Different choices for the overnight boarding like runs and suites---no cages.

I especially like the outdoor area with the K9 grass--never seen anyplace else with that.

Highly recomend taking your dog or cat there-----( they also have a very nice area reserved just for the kitty cats.)

P. Langdon



I love it!

My "kids" had so much fun there! They were pampered to the max! If you have a dog that just wont tire out then go to Tails R Waggin! The staff made me feel so good about leaving our dogs behind, we could enjoy our vacation with out a worry in mind! The best part was they came home happy, clean and tired!! They got to potty on grass, no concrete or multch! They have sprinklers for the dogs to play in and everytime i have gone i have always seen them have close interaction with the dogs, hugs kisses playing fetch! I will always feel safe and happy with my dogs in the hands of the staff at Tails R waggin!!


As a first time customer to this new business, this was my nightmarish experience: Owners were shockingly rude and arrogant. The rest of the staff was very unorganized and highly unprofessional. They don't fully disclose prices, practices, and paperwork, and they hope you don't pay attention. The first time you drop off you dogs for routine grooming, for example, they hand you 2 lengthy documents and ask you to sign the last page while they whisk your dogs away. One of these documents is a legally binding 16 clause contract that essentially waives all YOUR legal rights as a consumer and gives THE BUSINESS all legal rights in case something goes wrong. The guy who said to just sign the last page laughed and said the paperwork was just in case we decide to sue them. One of the owners said she wrote the document, then said she gave it to an attorney, and then later said she got it from a national kennel association, but what it really boils down to is they are anticipating something will go bad and they want to cover their own tails. Be sure to cover yours, and take your business elsewhere. Oh, and if you saw their ad in the 435 West magazine that hypes up all their amenities and products, like toys and treats, you'll sadly be disappointed in what you see when you walk in. We wished we would have just walked out.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/04/2008

As the other owner of the company I would like to take this opportunity to share our side of the story. This gentleman came in to groom two of his dogs. He was told ahead of time that there would be paper work to fill out. Most service industries especially in our industry, as well as many others have a service agreement, ie vets, boarding and grooming facilities. These agreements clearly state both the owners and the customers responsibility. This protects the interests of both parties. It is not meant to purposily go after someone. We have the responsibilty of a living breathing entitily and you should not leave your pet with someone who does not. This also protects our other customers pets, as we ask behavior and health questions about the pets coming into our facility. This gentleman did not want to sign the paperwork. That is fine.. he has that right and can take his pet to any other facility which will honor the way he wishes to do business. We also have the right to set our own rules which are not unreasonable and again is meant to protect the customer, their pet, other pets in our care and our company. This man caused a scene and was yelling and screaming and being very nasty. He was asked to calm down he would not. We asked him to go outside as he was upsetting other patrons and our staff. He would not. We told him that this was our policy and yes, this was a standard form for our industry. Nothing out of the ordinary and yes we had our lawyer look at it, as would any business owner who asks patrons to sign paper work. The main trade association for our industry also recommends this paperwork. He stated he had been to another facility who did not require the paper work, we suggested he go back there. He then started taking about how he had been sued before and he has sued business before and he wasn't afraid to do so again. He increasenly got violent with his words and behavior and we finally had to call Overland Park Police. The officer as well informed the customer that we have the right to have agreements and ask for paperwork to sign, just as he has the right to go where ever he wants to have his pets groomed. He was advised by the police officier not to return. We at Tails R Waggin are trying to offer the best possibly experience we can and a safe one for every pet entrusted to us. We are talking about pets(animals) and as everyone knows who has one, we can all do our best as responsible pet owners but, we are not perfect. But we strive for that. I also ask for any patron or future patron reading this to think about the paperwork you have filled out for your pet at the vet office or any other boarding or grooming facility. They all have it and it is not unreasonable. We are very willing to take responsibility for any situation which may arise which we feel would be our responsibility. We also ask the pet owner to be responsible for their information that they provide us. We are a boutique we are not a retail store. We offer beds, collars, leashes and high quality foods. We are not Petco and don't claim to be. Anyone with questions or concerns can email me directly or call and ask for me. I think if you take a tour and talk to us and our many already 250+ customers in just 4 weeks time you will see this is a misguided opinion of an angry man. I am sorry he was so upset and we did our best. In the end he allowed my groomer to still groom his dogs. He had the choice to take them and leave and he chose to stay and have them groomed. Dawn Tails R Waggin

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.