In mybook® Other Collection (edit)

Added to your other collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your other collection.

Classic Imports

Map & Directions
(3 Reviews)

18777 Us Highway 12, New Buffalo, MI 49117

(269) 469-2007

Today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tomorrow: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

General Info
Located in New Buffalo, MI our full service automotive facility has been repairing customer's cars since 1991. We service everyday cars like Chevy, Honda, Mercedes and BMW to classics, such as split-window Corvette, Jaguar XK 120, Lincoln Zephyr and Ferrari to obscure brands like Marcos, Jowett Jupiter, Facel Vega, etc. Our technicians have over 80 years of combined experience. When customers enter the reception area, they receive a warm greeting and are given preferential treatment, including a complimentary shuttle ride to wherever they need to go locally, be it home or work, the train, the beach, a restaurant or coffee shop or wherever they choose while we repair their vehicle. If they choose to stay in our waiting area, they have access to free Wi-Fi for their computers and hand-held devices and complimentary beverages. We strive to provide the best service in the area, including the customer amenities.
BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Sat - SunClosed
Alpha Rameo, Audi, Bmw, Bosch, Jaguar, Mercedes, Porsche, Saab, Volvo, acura, audi, bmw, buick, cadillac, chevrolet, chrysler, cooper, corvette, dodge, ferrari, ford, honda, hyundai, jeep, kia, lexus, lincoln, mercury, nissan, subaru, volkswagen, volvo
Payment method
all major credit cards, check, debit, visa, mastercard, discover
1) Located 2 miles from the Indiana/Michigan boarder on U.S Highway 12. 2) The building is grey 3) Classic Imports sign is black,blue,white & yellow
Bosch Service Center
Importers, Auto Engine Rebuilding, Auto Engines Installation & Exchange, Auto Oil & Lube, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Transmission, Automobile Air Conditioning Equipment-Service & Repair, Automobile Customizing, Automobile Detailing, Automobile Diagnostic Equipment, Automobile Diagnostic Service, Automobile Electric Service, Automobile Inspection Stations & Services, Automobile Parts & Supplies, Automobile Restoration-Antique & Classic, Automobile Storage, Automotive Roadside Service, Automotive Tune Up Service, Brake Repair, Car Wash, Dent Removal, Fuel Injection Repair, Lubricating Service, Steering Systems & Equipment
Other Information

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Specialties: Imports, European

Parking: Lot, Free


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Angelynn H.



Do NOT take any of your vehicles here! They charge much more than what is customary. I was charged $700 plus for one wheel bearing to be changed on my '07 Range Rover. Also, they changed my front brakes, rotors and pads and 8 months later and less than 6,000 miles they need to be changed again, but yet they will not honor THEIR 12,000 miles/12 months warranty. They have mechanics in training working on the vehicles so BEWARE!

claimed iconBusiness Response11/14/2016

At Classic Imports, we strive to provide each customer with the highest quality (not the cheapest) parts and service available. The vehicle in question is a Range Rover, which was diagnosed at a local shop that the severe brake shake was caused by faulty front brakes, which is a common cause of brakes shaking. Since we had replaced the brakes, the customer brought the vehicle to us to warranty the brakes. However, during our inspection, we discovered an extremely dangerous and unsafe loose right front wheel bearing, which was the cause of the severe shake while braking. We informed the customer that his/her front brakes were fine, but that the loose wheel bearing was causing the shake. Our prior wheel bearing repair was to replace the left front bearing only as at that time the right front bearing was neither loose nor was it noisy. We informed the customer that the rear brakes were due for replacement and we also promised to investigate the front brakes again after the wheel bearing had been replaced if there was still a brake shake. The customer declined the repair on the basis that he/she thought we were not honest with him/her and were trying to sell them work that was not needed. We are confident that if any other reputable shop trained in Range Rover repairs were to investigate this problem, our diagnosis would be verified. We have attached a link to the Range Rover video in question taken while it was on our lift. The video shows us using a micrometer gauge mounted on a fixed surface as we turned each hub by hand to prove that none of the brake rotors were warped but rather that the wheel bearing was severely loose and was causing the shake in question. Check it out for yourself. (Copy either of the links into your search bar then click on the 2007 Range Rover Video) _______________________________________ _______________________________________

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.



Classic Imports recently worked on my Mercedes roadster and did a fine job at a fair price. Because we were pleased, we brought our college aged son's Older Toyota Camry in for a thorough inspection; a basic 120,000 mile check. They found numerous issues and rectified them for over $1,500. When paying, I asked a few basic questions about the oil change, fluid levels, tire condition...and was shocked to learn they never even changed the oil, despite the fact that it hadn't been done for over 5,000 miles- clearly obvious from the sticker on the windshield. That really made me nervous about the rest of the service. What else did they forget? To add insult to injury, they charged me an additional $68 (!!!) to perform this service.

Definitely no substitute for a thorough dealer service check.



Big jobs are to big for them

I have been taking my car to them for a while and the small items, they are no problems with. However when it comes to larger items, tune-ups, engine rebuilt, they do not have the expertise. After having an engine rebuilt through them, and going back countless times stating the engine is not running right and list everything it does, the owner just throws out ideas, well it is this, or this, lets replace it and see. Yea at a cost of my money and they don't even take the time to investigate. Some problems I had to solve myself and bring it to their attention. Basically after skirting around the issue of the engine and saying other items were to blame, and I am still putting in 2 quarts of oil a month, they said I should take it to a dealer, I am out of warranty. They have lost my business and my respect.

claimed iconBusiness Response01/31/2012

This customer was a good customer, albeit a very discriminating customer. He came in at the time of the problem repair with a bad head gasket and decided he also wanted to "freshen up" the motor as it had around 200,000 miles on it. The head gasket leak had caused some pitting and etching in several of the cylinder walls. We provided him with several options as we always do for every customer. The first option was a rebuild, custom performed and completed by us here at Classic Imports, Inc. It would have increased performance and all work except machining would have been done by our own professional staff. It was by far the most expensive estimate. The second option was a rebuild with all the engine work and parts supplied by one of the local machine shops. We would perform the engine removal and replacement only. The third option was the installation of a used motor of either a stock replacement specification or upgrading to a more modern variable valve timing 2JZ engine. Scott realy wanted the conversion to the 2JZ motor with a turbo, but he chose the low cost rebuild for the time being as money was tight for him. The job seemed to go well and the car was finished mostly on schedule. Soon after the car was delivered, Scott started complaining that the car hesitated and ran rough at times, Something it did not do when it was new... 200,000 miles ago. We performed several repairs and corrected those issues by replacing new sensors and a distributor. Then it began leaking coolant. We repaired some leaks that were caused by machine shop. Several times more the car came back with issues caused by the machine shop (we do not indulge in trashing other establishments, so the name will not appear here). The machine shop left us out to dry. We had to cover the repairs on our own. (As a consequence, we do not use that machine shop any more.) Eventually, Scott was disheartened by the whole job as any of us would have been. Scott was also looking at the fact that now he was in a better position to consider actually installing the 2JZ engine he had always wanted. Eventually, we refunded him all the money that he spent on the engine - $2,500 in cash. We had over the period of time he was unhappy, warranted $5,000 in repairs trying to make the vehicle perform as it had when he bought it "new". The combined amount refunded in cash plus the value of warrantied work to address the problems caused by the machine shop's negligent work amounts to MORE than the total Scott paid for the whole engine rebuild repair order. In all, we warranted and refunded over half the total money he had spent with us in the 15 years he had been a customer. We hope that with the $2,500 we refunded him, he was able to purchase the 2JZ engine he always wanted, and wish him well. He did love that car. Mikail Pinette, Owner

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.