In mybook® Pets Collection (edit)

Added to your pets collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Sponsored Links

Specializing In Small Breeds

General Info
Welcome to the no-kill rescue for man's best friend. We are a non-profit 501(c)3 rescue and shelter for abused, surrendered and abandoned canine companions. We strive to find homes for unwanted canines and give them a second chance at life in good forever homes. We pull from high kill shelters and give these wonderful dogs the vetting and medical attention they need. Most of all, we give them love and a safe place until we find the family for them. We have purebreds, mixes, large, small and in between. All are temperament evaluated. Rescued pets are so grateful for a loving family and they show it every day. We hold adopt-a-thons at Tractors Supply on the south side of Parkersburg on a monthly basis. Call us for more information. Also Visit Ellen's Rescue on Facebook.
Do you know the hours for this business?
Payment method
Animal Shelters


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Lack of Care to "Rescued Dogs"...

Lack of Care to "Rescued Dogs".

My husband, myself, and our dog anxiously drove over two hours to adopt a pup from Ellen. After disucssions and her "nervousness" about the situation, we agreed on a meeting time and date. Before signing the agreement, I was informed the pup had all of its shots, heartworm was negative, and it had been to the vet, but couldnt provide any vet records which I feel is unprofessional. Upon bringing the dog home, we discovered an INFESTATION of fleas. Not one of two, but an army of fleas. Within less that 24 hours, we have given the dog, 3 flea baths and have now have to watch for fleas on our other dog as well because they rode together for over 2 hours on the way home. We also, had to purchase deordorizor and flea killer to spray on our carpet and funiture because her fleas were so bad. After 3 baths, she still has a terrible odor and fleas! I have to schedule a vet appointment because I need to see for myself her condition and to ensure her health. I do not feel she was treated and cared for in the way a "rescue" should care for their animals. Afterall, Ellen was nervous about sending her home with my husband, myself, and our dog to a warm cozy home where our dog sleep in a comfortable bed, get spoiled with toys, and get professional groomed. perhaps she needs to rethinking her situation, because ITS THE PEOPLE WHO should be nervous about adopting pets from her home. I am just thankful we got the pup out of that situation. Who knows how long it would have been before she would have iched and biten off multiple areas of her skin due to this INFESTATION!

- In response to your response Ellen, the shelter was a no kill shelter we returned the beagle to and the beagle was very aggressive toward Ody. As responsible people, we prevented a situation from happening, therefore I would hope you would get your facts straight prior to posting false information about people. I explained this situation to you in your email and you falsified it. Also, those who responded above my post are surely people very close to you. There is no excuse to receive the Klara in the condition we did. You knew were were coming days in advance and couldnt even bath her??? Also if you do treat your dogs with flea treaments, I WOULD RECOMMEND YOU CHANGE BRANDS BECAUSE IT DOESNT WORK!! Ridiculous!!

-Ody came from the Dog Warden...yes a dog warden who catches and kills dogs. Not a rescue who wants to save and protect dogs. Big difference. Ody had no fleas when we got him from the dog warden and wasnt as dirty as Klara was. Also, in response to "anyone who has dogs would know fleas are bad because of the mild winter"? -NOT TRUE. Sorry my pets are kept inside a house and have never had fleas.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/05/2012

We take care of our animals as over 500 have been adopted rom our rescue with very few complaints. All our completely vetted and chipped. Our Main Vet does not give us records he faxes them to the adopters vet.She was given Comfortis a 30 day flea preventative plus Heartguard for Hw prevention. I am sorry we had a medical emergency for one of our new intakes that could not wait till we groomed the pet. We do all we can as an ongoing flea program on a regular basis the fleas have been awful this year as we had a mild winter last year. I am sure the shelter you got Ody from did not groom or vet him with all his vaccinations worming or chip. Yes I was nervous about adopting to you as you returned a beagle to a kill shelter because after a few days he did not respond to Ody the way you wanted him to. As I said in my e-mails to you bring her back the contract says if you are not happy you are to bring the canine back to me.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


I have personally adopted a do...

I have personally adopted a dog and my mother adopted a dog from this rescue. Both dogs were healthy and well taken care of. They both were free from any parasites, fleas, or sickness. Both were house broken and very well mannered. I would definitely adopt from Ellen's Rescue for my dog instead of buying from a pet shop or out of a newspaper, or adopting from any Humane Society.

I'm an adopter from this rescu...

I'm an adopter from this rescue of 4 dogs one recently passed away this summer from old age. I know personaly that this is a great rescue and she treats all of her animals with love and care. I adopted my first one from her and then went back for more. Have also sent friends to her and they have had no problems. We all have had a bad time with fleas this year because of the mild winter and anybody that has pets should know that. Ask your vet if you dont believe me about the fleas! Since i have the same vet as Ellen i know he doesn't give out paperwork unless you ask for it.



I commend those that have the ...

I commend those that have the time, patience, and funds to raise a sickly puppy/dog. I however, with 3 children did not. I expected to receive a healthy puppy when we called about a beagle that was advertised by Ellen. We drove a little over 2 hours to get our puppy and bring her home. Our kids were so excited, so were we!

On the ride home, it started, the dog had diarrhea all over my lap and it continued the whole ride home and for the next 3 days straight. She was refusing to eat or drink anything. I was worried she was going to die, I have never seen a dog so sick before. On the third day, the diarrhea was also bloody, so I took her in the middle of the night, to a MedVet, which was a costly $400. She had roundworms, hookworms, clostridium, and coccidia. They explained to me that she was a very sick puppy, she was in poor condition, but once she got better she would be a great dog.

It took our beagle puppy about 3 months to get completely better, we struggled with getting her to eat and maintain her weight. She is a great dog, we love and adore her, however if we had it to do again, we would not.

Aside from all of the health issues with our puppy, we also had her spayed as we agreed to and were supposed to receive $50 of our donation back. We typed a letter and showed proof of spaying, but no refund. We wouldn't have even requested the refund, as it is a rescue shelter, except we felt it was due after all of the money we spent. I think Ellen is too overloaded with animals and not able to properly care for all of them. And, I definitely would not recommend Ellen's Rescue to anyone.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/05/2012

Never received of spaying puppy left with Health certificate from vet which is required before sending to another State.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


As your website refused to all...

As your website refused to allow me a response to the libelous review by Ms Winiski, I am posting this as a new review.

I have been to Ellen's Rescue on numerous occasions (including in her home) and have yet to observe any of the conditions stated in Ms. Winiski's review.

What her agenda is in concocting such vile accusations is anyone's best guess.

Ellen's sole focus and concern is the welfare of the dogs in her care until such time as they are placed in responsible homes.

I am familiar with her veterinarian and am well aware that all of her dogs are completely vetted. However, as in any rescue, some dogs may not arrive in the best of condition and require some time to recover. In this case, one can hardly hold

Mrs. Miller responsible for the poor care of previous owners. In addition, Ellen's Rescue does provide long term care for some disabled and elderly animals.

As a board member of Close2Home Animal Rescue, Ms Winiski should be very well aware that not all dogs, unless one picks and chooses only those without any problems. arrive in the best of health.

I fail to understand the spiteful attitude which must have prompted her vicious attack upon Mrs. Miller.

Sponsored Links