In mybook® Car Collection (edit)

Added to your car collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Sponsored Links

40 Years of Serving Our Neighborhood with Great Rates & Service Econo

General Info
Car has been operating in Union & Jersey City area for over 40 years, with one goal in mind. That is to give the best service, with competitive prices with the newest line of vehicles! We feel that with the perfect blend of service and expertise, our customers will leave with the feeling they were treated with respect and care. We hope to gain your trust and to build a great relationship towards all your renting needs! Jersey City Location: 411 Summit Avenue Jersey City, NJ 07305 (201) 434 0254 Business Hours: Monday - 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Tuesday - Thursday - 8:00 a.m. - 5:45 p.m. Friday - 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Saturday - 8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Union Location: 1577 Morris Avenue Union, NJ 07083 (908) 964 4100 Business Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Saturday - 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Sunday - 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Call Today for All Your Car, Van or Truck Rental Needs!
BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Phone: (201) 885-4711

* Chevy * Dodge * Ford * Nissan * Toyota
Payment method
discover, amex, visa, check, master card, cash, debit

Econo Car of Jersey City

Automobile Leasing, Truck Rental, Car Rental


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!



Provided by Citysearch - 

STAY AWAY FROM ECONO-CAR (especially Jersey City Location) if you don't want to get scammed. They charged my credit card several times. When I opened a dispute to my credit card company, they create another contract with a fake signature of mine. After I read the reviews here, I realized that they're doing this all the time.



Provided by Citysearch - 

They are not honest. They are rude on the phone. They charge you even if you cancel your reservation DAYS in advance. I WOULD NOT USE THESE PEOPLE!!!



Provided by Citysearch - 
Rented twice from them this year -- both good experiences

I've rented twice already this year from this company. I wouldn't have gone back a second time if I wasn't happy with them the first time around. First rental was a weekend in August and the second was an extended weekend in this month (October). Both times they were professional, friendly and efficient. They charged me exactly what they quoted me over the phone when I had made the reservation. I declined their insurance and used my own and had no problems, whatsoever. Their vehicles were in great condition and the service both times was great. I will definitely be renting from them again in the near future.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Worst car rental company ever

Regular rates was $135. They overcharged my $550 when I returned the car. When I opened a duspute, they provided fake documents to my credit card company and mimic my signature. If you live around Jersey City, please STAY AWAY from these guys.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Overcharge problem

When I signed my contract, I had asked not to have all these add-ons and I was told I won't. Day rate is 42/day, I was charged $85 instead. Needless to say, I called back to dispute and the rep pretty much just admitted to those extra hidden charges saying they're in the contract..Regardless, I told him I had explicitly said I don't want them and to be lied to.. its a different story. There's sly through fine prints and then there's lying - both of them are bad for business and both are happened there. I'll be cautious and use them as a last resort.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Best experience with car rentals

I have experienced the best when i rented a vehicle for a few days from Econo-Car. The customer service and vehicle availability was perfect and i was treated with courtesy and respect at all times.......The billing was accurate and very well explained for the charges incurred.....They are under new ownership and i will recommend this rental company to anyone.




I was scammed by this Econo-car. When we arrived to rent the car, the counter clerk asked "do you want any extra coverage"; we answered NO; the clerk printed out the form and said "initial here, here and sign here"; he then folded the rental agreement, placed it in a folder and we were on our way with our "great deal" of $199.95 per week (Compact Car). Upon returning the car, we were given a computerized receipt for over $400 in the parking lot. I went into the office to ask them why my bill was double what we asked for; the very rude guy stated that we had signed the agreement stating that we accepted LDW; we told him that we had answered "no" to the rental clerk, but he told us it didn't matter what we said, it only mattered what we signed; he was very smug, almost like he had a scripted response; this is obviously one of their more popular scams; he refused to cooperate in anyway, stated that we were responsible for the bill because that's what we signed; we insisted that we said "no", but he just kept on with his smug responses

claimed iconBusiness Response11/08/2008

In responding to SALBROWN'S accusation that my company scammed him he couldn't be further from the truth. First of all were not computerized and we don't sell LDW. Also, looking back at all the rentals during that time period, no one rented by this name or even a rental rate of $199.95 per week. If there was a problem I wish someone would of asked to speak to me and I would of resolved this matter that both parties would of been happy. I just have a bad taste in my mouth when some one likes to go on the internet and make FALSE accusations and write such horrible things. Our company has been servicing JERSEY CITY for over 40 years and sometimes you get a customer who thinks they were ripped off or in this case scammed. I would just hope that our reputation would be better judged by the whole body of work over the last 40 years then some rogue individual who just wants to be heard.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Provided by Citysearch - 
Econo-car overcharge problem

There is a difference between the amount the you sign and the one that you see in your statement. If there is a dispute on the transaction, they prepare a fake contract with their adjusted(!) values to prove the transaction .I think this is the way that they make money.



car rental

my husband and I have been renting cars from this family run car rental company for the past two years and would like to tell the world about the great service and quality of cars. Not only was the transaction of renting so easy, but the price and location can't be beat. I can only say that I have the econo car team as my friends for life.



car rental

A throw back company. They have the best customer service not to mention the best and newest line of cars at FANTASTIC prices.Dealing with this company was a great experience. They treat you like family. I will only use them. They also go by the name of ECONO-CAR

Sponsored Links