In mybook® Services Collection (edit)

Added to your services collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your services collection.

Braids by Yinka and Beauty Supplies Inc

(15 Reviews)

6010 Charlotte Pike, Nashville, TN 37209

(615) 353-9655

CLOSED NOW
Today: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tomorrow: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
10
YEARS
IN BUSINESS
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Sponsored Links

One Stop Salon & Hair Supply

General Info
All kinds of braids, micro braids, tree braids, singles, cornrow, locs, sew-ins, perm, color, cuts, kinky twists, micro twists, etc. We carry quality hair extensions and products like, Femi brand, Zury, ModelModel, Clairol, Taaliah Wajid natural hair care products, Design Essential, Wigs, drawstring ponytails lace front wigs, and much more.
Hours

Regular Hours

SunClosed

Brands
Design Essentials, Eon hair, Remy hair., taliah wajjid natural hair
Payment method
debit, master card, visa, cash
Accreditation

TN state license

Categories
Hair Braiding, Beauty Salons, Beauty Supplies & Equipment
Other Information

Parking: Lot

COUPONS & DEALS

No coupons available

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Kara H.

04/22/2015

Overall

She is wonderful. I am so grateful. Yinka is very creative and she braided my hair exactly the way I asked. She will not braid too tight and pull your hair out around the edges. She is professional, polite, and quick about sitting you in the chair and getting you out of the chair to enjoy the rest of your day!!!

Yinka A.

04/10/2013

Overall
I got my Senegalese twists don...

I got my Senegalese twists done by Yinka. I was very pleased. She was very professional, educated, and she really do care about the health of my hair. I bought my hair at her shop, very convenient. I will definitely go back.

claimed iconBusiness Response09/10/2012

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. Hope to see you soon.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
nataliejtaylor

04/03/2013

Overall

I had tree braids done today for the 1st time ever & I am in LOVE with my finish style & look...I got the best advice on styles & color that I was over whelmed with gratitude. I felt so knowable about how to maintain my braids before I left. I came almost 2 hours to get my hair done & I will be back in 8 weeks!!!!!!

shyma21

02/18/2013

Overall
Great work

This is the second time I've had my hair braided here. Everyone was friendly and professional. My hair looks great and it's not too tight.

lovemybraids

01/16/2013

Overall
Outstanding and professional service

I have been wearing braids for last spring. I was fortunate to find Braids by Yinka. She runs a very professional shop. I trust her for guidance on braid styles. If I listen I know what styles will work best for me. As she is braiding,she ask if the braids feel too tight,gives tips on caring for my braids and is reasonable priced. I have not been surprised by the prices since she provides upfront pricing. I have found helpful hair care tips on the website www.braidsbyinka.com. I appreciate her professionalism and love wearing my braids.

legendlime

11/23/2012

Overall
Very pleased with my Tree Braids

Yinka flawlessly executed the braid style that I have been seeking for several months. She is very professional and has a calm environment. Her pricing is consistent with what I have found elsewhere. I was a little caught off guard by having to pay for a service before it was performed. I would have liked to have known that ahead of time, but all is well since I am pleased with the end result.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/02/2012

Thank you. Trust me, we have very good reasons for collecting money upfront. It was not an easy decision to make, but a necessary one. You can always visit our website to see our work before making an appointment. If you like what you see, then you can come and get your hair done. We are professionals who are passionate about hair and we always give the best. Our website is www.braidsbyyinka.com. Thank you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
karenm

11/22/2012

Overall
GREAT PLACE!!! I just want ev...

GREAT PLACE!!!

I just want everybody to know about this place. They do great braids. Unlike other braiding places, there is no waiting in this salon. You get in the chair immediately you get to the salon. They are warm and friendly. They greet you at the door, help you choose the right hair and then give you beautiful braids.I found that they do sew in weaves too. I'm just happy to find a salon where I'm treated with respect and not as a number. Thank you Yinka and your nice stylist Christina.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/02/2012

Thank you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
notaxes

11/04/2012

Overall
expensive- charged taxes on personal beauty services-illegal in Tn

I had my daughter's hair braided. I have never been to a salon who expected payment for services upfront before even starting on the job. They also charged sales tax on the salon services which is illegal. TN law states that they are allowed to collect sales taxes on hair products such as hair used for braiding but not on the service provided by the stylist such as twists and braids. Also one price quoted but charged a higher price.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/02/2012

Hi, I'm sorry to hear about the tax charged on your service. I talked with the stylist who served you about this and she told me must have forgotten to press the "no tax " button on my register when she ranged you up that day. If you still have your receipt you can bring it and I will refund the tax charged. I wish you had called and talked to me about this before posting here. I know the law and I do NOT charge taxes on my services only on my retail. This is an error made by my stylist and I have since re-trained her so that there's no repeat. Thank you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
earthweilder.

10/21/2012

Overall
Very professional, calm, knowl...

Very professional, calm, knowledgeable, neat, and she knows what she's doing when it comes to natural hair. I have been to many African braiding shops especially those on Jefferson street... (Never again.)

Braids by Yinka is quite different. I will never go to any other braiding shop as long as I reside in Nashville. Yinka always do a great job on my braids. She goes above and beyond because she's passionate about what she does.

In her shop, you are not a dollar sign, you are a person and she treats you with respect. I am her client for life!

claimed iconBusiness Response12/02/2012

Thank you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
gingerbread2

08/31/2012

Overall
Yinka has been my stylist for ...

Yinka has been my stylist for 4 years. I've never been disappointed by her work. I've had all kinds of braids done by her including a full sew in, Micros, tree braids, Spring, Nubian, and Kinky twists. I got a lot of compliments each time she did my hair. Her shop is always clean, peaceful, no drama, and very relaxing. She is very knowledgeable about hair and she does care about her clients. I have referred many people to her and will continue to.

claimed iconBusiness Response09/10/2012

Thank you Ginger. I appreciate your business.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
yrwaller

07/21/2012

Overall
Okay so today was the first ti...

Okay so today was the first time I got my braids done by Yinka. I wanted Spring Twist. I had a picture of the style that I wanted. She seemed confident she could do that but she could not. My braids looked horrible. I could have yelled and screamed but I didn't. It was nothing like what I wanted and when I expressed that she blamed it on my hair and continued to explain to me why the hairstyle did not turn out right. She kept saying I don't know what to do.; So I asked if she could either give a refund or if she could re-do my hair at another time. I paid two hundred and twenty four dollars, that's including hair. She only gave me back $100 stating that it wasn't all her fault. If I was the beautician it could done the braids myself but I decided to come to someone who I thought was a professional. Guess I was wrong. I guess my hair told her what to do and what she couldn't. She is not a good business woman at all! SHE CAN NOT DO SPRING TWIST!

So later on I went Sisters braids and they told me Yinka used the wrong type of hair for the braids. The style is called Nubian Twist not Spring twist. Wow! So I called her back and told and she still did not care at all. Sometimes when your customer is not satisfied saying I'm Sorry really matters I told her. She refused to apologize for messing my braids up. So after being calm I finally got pissed and curse her out. Needless to say I'll will not be returning to someone so unprofessional.

claimed iconBusiness Response09/10/2012

Sorry you felt the need to personally attack me about this. Seems likes it best for all involved that you’ve sworn to never return. I choose to let my work speak for itself. www.braidsbyyinka.com

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
pamelab31

07/06/2012

Overall
Excellent

I found this salon on here, went to their site and called them the next morning. My daughter was having some major issues with her curly hair. Yinka switched her schedule around and got my daughter in that same day and did a wonderful wonderful wonderful job with her hair. Her demeanor, the place, the inventory, the people, the whole experience was a delight. AND I learned a few tips for my daughter's hair care. Super impressed.

claimed iconBusiness Response09/09/2012

Thank you. We are glad we could help.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
nclark04

03/09/2010

Overall
Rude

Very, very rude and can't do braids.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/16/2012

85% of our clients are from referrals. We do everything we can to accommodate all our clients and we stand by our work 100%. However, we do not tolerate foul mouthed and disruptive clients. Our place of place of business is a professional, peaceful, and relaxing place. We want to keep it that way. Please visit our website to view our work, www.braidsbyyinka.com. Thank you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Sponsored Links
Feedback