More Info

General Info
Founded in 1983. Ken's CAR tunes offers a variety of CAR audio and marine electronic systems. It provides a range of system design and installation services. The Company offers products from various manufacturers. Such AS dynamic control of north america. Sony electronics. AUDIOVOX Corporation and alpine electronics of america. Ken's CAR tunes also provides screen cleaners for marine electronic products. The Company offers several IN-CAR navigation solutions. In addition. It provides T-SHIRTS in various sizes and colors. Ken's CAR tunes offers gift certificates of several denominations.
Email
BBB Rating
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Services/Products
Car Stereos.
Brands
Alpine, Audio/Video Systems, Audiocontrol, Audiovox, Automobile Security Systems, Award Winning Boat Systems, Bluetooth Kits, Boston Acoustics Video
Payment method
amex, check, debit, discover, master card, paypal, visa
Neighborhood
Spring Valley
Categories
Other Information

Parking: Lot, Private

Bike Parking: Yes

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
HM
Harriel M.

03/16/2016

Overall

Update: My previous review was done out of angry, meaning that the problem with my stereo would not recreate the problems when Ken's technicians check my car. So I made a video with my phone when the issue arose played it for them and they knew fix the problem which they did no problems since. That was about a month ago good job guys.

HM
H. M.

12/03/2015

Overall

H. May 12/3/2015



I purchase a speaker system for my car and what they call a step down to give me a cleaner sound. What I got was static from my speakers, sometimes radio would not play and a popping sound when I open or close doors and trunk without my key in the ignition. Took my car back to find out what was wrong. First I was told they heard of that happening, second after and a couple of hours they could not find the source of the problem. But with a smile was told if it happens again they'll be happy to look at it. But during this process it was suggested maybe I should consider purchasing a aftermarket head unit; because it would probably clear up my issues. Well sounded pretty sane at the time. So I purchase the aftermarket head unit had the step down removed so I could have control over fading and balance. Now I have an static in the right front door speaker and the volume goes up and down at will. Needlessly to say the problem could not be found and they would not hold me up any longer. Going down Government Blvd. towards the Loop area at Pleasant Valley Rd static in front speaker. But the time I got to the Loop volume fades up and down. Now I read some reviews above the company after I had the installation done. shame on me. My opinion the cost for car stereo system carries a nice price tag especially when its suppose to be professionally done. But when you pay for services and not getting the quality something is wrong. When you bring the item back because something is not up to par; and a professional says they don't know. Something is terrible wrong. If you have to tell someone how experience you have at your craft when your work speaks for itself. Take heed because as a child I was always told two different people will not tell the untruth on you. So at best take a look at workmanship. To you a 2000 dollar install is just business as usual. But to the person who gave it to you, that's a lot of money for something they could have paid a high school student much less to do without the warranty for the gear .

SH
Shawn H.

09/15/2014

Overall

So last November I bought a set of JL Audio TR650-CSi due to my right front speaker in my car was blown. They had a decent sell for black Friday I figured why not. I had the install done a couple of days later which took all day to get my car done and was up there until after close. After I listened to the first song I knew something was wrong it still sounded horrible on both sides now not blown but vibration all throughout the doors. I took it back in multiple times over the next few weeks during these times each taking around 4 hours or more to look at it. Then they played ignorant like they couldn't hear the rattle when my girlfriend was standing right next to me saying she hears it loud and clear from outside the car. So then they made me buy dynamat . So I buy it with a guarantee this will resolve the issue, I'm up there again until a little after close at which point the installer breaks the clip for my driver side door handle and the plastic panel where you grab the door to close it. He uses a zip tie as a (temp) fix until they get the part from Honda. A week later they say they have it, I rush over on my lunch so they can fix it, just to find out they have the wrong part. You would think that would be the first thing you check before telling the customer you have it. Best part of the story is the dynamat did not fix my issue. They finally get my part a couple weeks later installed but never ordered the door panel they broke I guess they *forgot*. So I still have the issue and I go up there and Jerry and the owner I guess is who it was listens to my car. says they can't hear it even though it is very easy to hear and anyone else I let listen to it could hear it instantly throughout every song at some point. They offer me a 50 dollar partial refund and say they will look more into it to try and make me happy. I said well why not at least I get my money back for the dynamat that I shouldn't have had to pay for to begin with. I dealt with them all the way into February. So I leave it alone for a while was going through some life events well in August this year I realized I couldn't hear the tweeters. I look and ya they are not there. Apparently when they installed them if that's what you call it, I say they throw them in and hope for the best, but that's just from experience what do I know. Anyway Jerry confirms they fell inside the dash he gets them out of the dash and I hope properly installed them this time. Now at this point he can hear the vibration coming from the doors. I ask what they are going to do about it because it's not my fault it has the dynamat it was professionally installed by them. He says he doesn't know he has a frequency disc and I don't have a working disc player so he tells me he will try and get it in mp3 format so he can aux it in and find out what frequencies are causing this. He said he will call me in a week that was almost a month ago. I'm tired of this ridiculous situation. The only recommendations they've come up with so far was buy an aftermarket radio and amp and let them clean up the sound. I'm thinking you've got to be out of your mind if you think I'm going to let you do that especially since you would have to touch my dash which I kind of need in one piece, second you have to bypass the factory amp, and third and probably most important that's going to push more power to the speakers meaning more bass = more vibration = the original problem amplified. I had to stop myself from laughing and saying some things I would regret. I just needed a quick fix for a blown speaker which in all actuality I should have just left it that way sounds about the same. Absolutely the worst experience I've had with a company and would not recommend them even to someone I disliked.

kirby4204u

02/26/2012

Overall
a nightmare experience

DO NOT LET KENS CAR TUNES TOUCH ANYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP! !! I own a 1977 Porsche 911 , I took it to Kens to have an off the shelf stereo/ speaker set installed, no problem right?? Well it took 7 hrs , and I was there until they locked the doors...On the trip home, I made it about two miles before my bonnet ,hood, FLEW UP at 45 miles per hour. I managed to avoid being killed, or further damaging the car. The hood was severely damaged and when Jerry arrived ,the first thing he says is WE DIDNT OPEN YOUR BONNET... You must disconnect the battery to install a new radio, dont you? Upon closer inspection the next day I discovered it they had not even attempted to close my hood properly. Personal property was stolen from my car as well, I do not recommend this place for anything. The management seemed indifferent to the damage they had cost to my car and a hazard they had posed to the general public and myself. All which could have been avoided if someone had asked me Is there a trick to closing your hood? Once again I strongly recommend you DO NOTnot use this business! !!

claimed iconBusiness Response02/27/2012

Hello Mr. Gentry. Let us again say how sorry we are that any damage occurred to your vehicle either while, or after it was in our possession. For over 30 years, we have treated every single vehicle that we touch with the utmost respect and care. We also apologize that the install took longer than you expected. As you probably noticed, we were extremely busy on the day of your visit. This is why we always encourage our customers to leave the vehicle with us just in case there are unexpected delays. We made every attempt to handle your situation as quickly as possible. Once we received your repair estimate, we immediately forwarded it to our insurance company and we hope that the repair facility that you chose repaired your vehicle to your satisfaction. The security of our customer’s personal property is extremely important to us. We welcome the opportunity to review this new claim of possible property loss with you as this is the first that we have heard of it. Again we are very sorry that you have had anything but a positive experience doing business with Ken's Car Tunes. Kindest Regards.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
jrrightwing

03/01/2007

Provided by Superpages
Overall
Notably good service experience

When it comes to car stereo then you need to consider Kens Car Tunes for the best car audio and marine electronics.

harveyvickery

02/22/2007

Provided by Citysearch
Overall
Best Car Stereo Place in Mobile!

Best place I have found to buy Car Stereo and marine electronics. Knowledgeable sales people cared about explaining what would work best. Highly recommended.

Details

Phone: (251) 660-0221

Address: 3675 Government Blvd, Mobile, AL 36693

Website: http://kenscartunes.com

People Also Viewed