Saved to Favorites

(502) 266-7777Visit WebsiteMap & Directions2710 Holloway Rd Ste 1Louisville, KY 40299Write a Review

More Info

Movers Delivering Professional , Personalized Service

General Info
At A Local Van Moving & Storage our first & foremost objective is customer satisfaction. Our small & tightly run independent organization takes pride in it's personalized service & element of care for your goods. We provide both local & long distance moving, a few boxes or an entire household. We will treat you with the same courteous respect & provide reliable quality service. Get a FREE no obligation quote today.
BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Standards for Trust and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Extra Phones

Fax: (502) 266-7777

SERVICES: Residential Movers Commercial Movers Local Movers Long Distance Movers Apartment Movers Piano Movers Storage Packing Services Packing Boxes Locations and areas that we are proud to service include: Anchorage Movers Bardstown Movers Clarksville, IN Movers Crestwood Movers Elizabethtown Movers Fisherville Movers Fort Knox Movers Goshen Movers Highlands Movers Jeffersontown Movers Jeffersonville, IN Movers La Grange Movers Louisville Movers Mt Washington Movers New Albany, IN Movers Prospect Movers Radcliff Movers Sellersburg, IN Movers Shelbyville Movers Shepherdsville Movers Simpsonville Movers St Matthews Movers Taylorsville Movers
Payment method
debit, check, paypal, all major credit cards, insurance
East Louisville
A Local Van’s #1 client base is our repeat customer. Because... We pay attention to the details. We never change our price. We're fair and upfront. We are licensed & insured. We offer FREE-IN-HOME Estimates. Non-stop service in an exclusive truck.
American Moving & Storage Association,Better Business Bureau

A Local Van Moving and Storage

Other Email

Other Information

Bike Parking: No


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Kathleen P.
Edited: 02/06/2019

From the moment I called for a quote, I felt like this move was going to be a success...the gentleman that I spoke with provided an extremely reasonable and accurate quote over the phone (we underestimated the number of pieces).

We had to move from combined households, had some heavy pieces and tight spaces. The 2 movers that showed up were on time (if not early) friendly, upbeat, and showed a lot of caution and concern for our belongings.

They were quick, and extremely reasonable -- my husband and I would recommend them 100%.

Cathy O.



I have used this company several times and would tell anyone that they can depend on them Never made a mark on any of my walls.

Jeanne G.



The two movers were fabulous! The guys arrived on time and immediately got to work. They were very professional, efficient, and friendly. The two movers cleared out my entire house faster than five guys moving at the same time. I always felt I was in good hands. I give this company my highest rating.

Melodie M.


Moving day

A Local Van was recommended to us and we called them on short notice. They were able to squeeze us in their schedule, gave us a quick estimate of cost over the phone and were very nice. They arrived on time and the movers had AWESOME attitudes!!! They were fun and funny and careful with our furniture and efficient. They were even willing to move a few items we hadn't listed on the original list and maintained their cheerfulness throughout the entire time they moved. We would recommend them 110%!!!

Robert L.



Wonderful experience! A Local Van provided excellent care for all of my belongings and made me feel at ease with an already stressful process. Very efficient and affordable. I highly recommend this company.



This is the second time I have...

This is the second time I have used A Local Van....and they are simply wonderful. Rick is very professional and so was his crew. They made the stress and hassle of moving an easy and stress free experience. I have recommended these guys to several friends and everyone of them have had an awesome experience!! Their prices are reasonable and there service and professionalism is outstanding!!



A Local Van was absolutely awe...

A Local Van was absolutely awesome to deal with. Very professional crew and did not touch a single wall. They even had to move a safe into a tight fit area and were very knowledgeable when it came to determining if it would even fit. I honestly cannot say enough about this moving company, very professional people and nice. I had done most of the packing/taking things apart which worked out great for time purposes. I would recommend them for anyone that is moving. This review is for the Louisville location.



Awesome Service!

Very friendly and professional workforce. Seemed dedicated to the job of moving you in and out, quickly and without (in my case) any damages to our belongings. Would highly recommend them to anyone needing moving services at the right price!.



Great Company. Will do business again!

We used A Local Van for our local move from St. Matthews to Northfield. The crew was excellent. They were very professional and remained in good spirits throughout the two day effort. It rained on the second day but the guys never wavered. The driver was the man in charge and he addressed all of our questions and concerns throughout the process. Even though we were only moving ten minutes away, they exercised great care in pad wrapping each piece of furniture and shrink wrapping other items. I have and will continue to recommend A Local Van to my friends and family.



Horrible Movers!

I used A Local Van this past summer after purchasing a new home. When I called Rick to schedule the move it appeared to be a professional moving company, BUT I was totally wrong! The movers he sent out to my house complained the entire day, their attitudes were awful and one of them even told me that he expected to be tipped. I should have fired them after that comment.

After I finally got them out of my house, I went to inspect my brand new Ethan Allen furniture and was horrified at all of the damage they had caused. To repair all of the gouges and scratches to my furniture it cost me $400, but Rick refused to pay the bill. I will never use them again.

claimed iconBusiness Response02/25/2011

We do understand Leah's frustration. We declined to per her excessive claim for having her items touched up. We offered to send an expert repair service to her home and repair the scratched items. She declined our offer, and used her own repair service. She was advised to contact us and discuss any excess charges before the work was done; she did not. We were not given an opportunity to even inspect the items or have our contractor repair them. Leah just expects us to pay whatever...and now everyone has an awful attitude.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Satisfied customer.

A Local Van helped me move to St. Louis from Louisville. The moving team was very helpful and courteous. The general manager, Rick, was great to deal with. On the day of the move (which was a Saturday) after the movers had already arrived, I realized I needed a few more boxes. Rick personally drove over to my house to deliver some packing boxes. That is great customer service. The moving guys were careful with my stuff and everything delivered in fine condition. I am very happy with my decision to use A Local Van for my move.



Great Service, Thanks Again.

I had two storage units full of heavy furniture, and various other items. The two young men who came out and emptied the storage and moved it all into my new house were fantastic! They were courteous, professional, polite, and well spoken. They arrived on time, and worked quickly, and efficiently. I highly recommend them for any move. Should I ever move again, they would be the ones I want to do it for me. I moved on Sept. 4th, Saturday. Thanks so much.‎






claimed iconBusiness Response06/11/2010

Thanks for the review Nfamous101. Couple things: try our service out this moving season. We have a great group of movers for a reasonable rate. aLocalVan won the Louisville 10 best of Louisville mover award for 2009/2010. No matter if moving locally or statewide, hiring a skilled team from aLocalVan can help to make the entire process as efficient as possible. I agree.. the basis for choosing a licensed mover should not be from reading anonymous reviews. You should as friends for references, check with the BBB, and maybe even visit the offices of the mover. We welcome our perspective customers to come take a look at our equipment and facility at 2710 Holloway Road in the Bluegrass Industrial Park. Meeting the staff in person can really make a difference. A company with a good reputation will not knock the competition in order to look good. Again, cheers and thanks for the review.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Moving Experience with A Local Van

Highly recommend. Easy, reasonable rate showed up early and good friendly communication throughout. I would definitely use these guys again. Thanks!



I couldn't ask for any better service

Wow. I have never experienced a moving crew like this before. They were friendly, efficient, on time, and hard working. I'll never use anyone else. All my stuff was undamaged. Even the order in which they moved everything showed care for my items. Honestly, I'm used to this being really an ordeal, but my stress level dropped as soon as I saw how professional these folks were. They stretched wrapped most of my items inside the house before taking them to the truck. Moving is never easy, but at least I didn't have to worry about any physical damage or any delays. I highly recommend A Local Van.




On March 31st, I was contacted by owner Rick who apologized for the bad experience on the 30th. I told him I had written a bad review and he said that was understandable. I requested some sort of a refund. Several minutes later he called and said he would refund me $100. This was agreeable to me.

Today, April 15th, I phoned Rick to inquire as to the status of that refund. He said he had a "problem" with the review and that he would not refund the money unless I change it. He used the term "blackmail." He said I went balistic, it was not true and that it was unfair. He would not budge on sending a refund before I changed the review. When I told him I would be writing another bad review, he said "let the chips fall where they may."

Specifically, he wants me to amend the comment about travel charges. I will amend that I was informed ahead of time that there would be 1 hour travel and fuel charges, and that the amount charged was in line with his quote.

Rick said he "is a man of his word." I have fulfilled his terms and amended the review, even before he has sent a refund. I highly doubt I will ever see any money, but I will update this review if he lives up to his word.

Also amending that I did have damaged furniture when I unloaded 400 miles later, which I am not being compensated for.




Someone had recommended these guys to me....they had a very good experience and I must say I did as well. They were very professional and everything went smoothly. Moving is a stressful ordeal and they made the whole proccess very pleasurable and stress free!!! I was thankful for that!!! They arrived right on time and the movers were hard working and conscientious of protecting our belongings......I have a lot of nice expensive furniture. Everything arrived in perfect condition and they went above and beyond helping us get everything in the rooms we wanted them. I would HIGHLY recomend A Local Van to anyone.



Just be upfront about your fees

I scheduled a move with these guys and I was told that it would be $74 an hour. When they got here, after nearly half of my items were loaded management called (some guy who said he was part owner of the company) and told them that they needed to charge me $350 for 3 hours. By my math that's only $20 shy of 5 hours of work! The movers (who were extremely nice) suggested that I only take my big furniture (which would have only been maybe 1 1/2 hours of work since I was moving my furniture 5 min. away). The "manager" once again called the movers and told them to charge me $244 once they get my items to the storage bin and. I canceled the move and asked him to have the movers return my furniture back into my apartment and which point he attempted to charge me $74. The manager tried to convince me that he had explained the fees to me when we scheduled the move (but if he did it was under his breath!). I was lucky to get a good crew who kept me informed of the financial roller coaster that the so called owner of this business forced upon me. Be cautious with this company for you may not be as lucky as myself. TRUST ME, RUN THE OTHER WAY!!!!!!

claimed iconBusiness Response02/28/2010

JSWALTO, First, let me say thank you for considering aLocalVan today. With a last minute move, we can dispatch a crew locally with very little notice. Upon our arrival, you explained that you were being evicted. You told our movers that you did not have the amount of money needed to pay the estimated charges to move your household goods to self storage. We tried to authorize a credit card for you but it was declined. You asked our crew if there was anything they could do for you. We all felt extremely bad for you. The driver, Dave, called in to the office to explain the situation. The general manager explained to Dave that maybe we could just move the large pieces for you in good faith and offered to waive the first hour of charges to help keep you within budget. We do understand times are difficult. But, we just couldn’t move all of your items and then add an extra stop on top of it in ninety minutes. We needed to keep you informed of the projected charges so that it was your decision on whether to proceed or not. Moving in Kentucky is regulated and licensed movers must adhere to their posted hourly tariff rates. Regards, aLocalVan

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Great Job -- Professional

I used this company in January to move into our new home in Prospect. They did a really great job. I had planned to move some of the smaller things myself, but these three guys were moving so quickly, I just let them move everything. These guys were friendly and it was obvious they knew what what they were doing.

They were not the cheapest mover I got estimates from; but they had a very competitive hourly rate and their estimator was very realistic with his phone estimate-- and they seemed much more professional than some of the others. I would use them again and I have recommended them to friends.


Phone: (502) 266-7777

Address: 2710 Holloway Rd Ste 1, Louisville, KY 40299

Website: Hassle-free, Affordable relocation.

People Also Viewed