In mybook® Food Collection (edit)

Added to your food collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

This business has CLOSED(report as open?)
Sponsored Links
Hours
Mon: closed Tue: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9pm Wed: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9pm Thur: 11am-2pm, 5pm-9pm (Happy Hour 5pm-7pm) Fri: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9:30pm Sat: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9:30pm Sun: 11am-2:30pm, 5pm-9pm
Price Range
$$
Neighborhoods
Central Houston, Neartown - Montrose
AKA

Daily Review Cafe, LLC

Categories
Coffee Shops, Steak Houses, American Restaurants, Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information

Cuisines: American, Cafeterias, Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch, Steakhouse

Price Range : Average

COUPONS & DEALS

No coupons available

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Choisy

05/08/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Too Busy to Seat Us

I love the Daily Review for its relaxing outdoor patio and I know it can get crowded. That's why we made a reservation for dinner Saturday night.

When we showed up, we stood patiently at the door for 5 minutes before anyone even acknowledged our existence. Finally, a woman yelled at us from behind the bar that she'd be with us. In the meantime, she prepared silverware, answered the phone, and served customers sitting at the bar. After standing for close to 15 minutes, waiting to sit at one of the many tables labeled ""reserved"" - we gave up and left.

On the car ride home, we called back to cancel our reservation and we were put on hold for another 5 minutes.

We are a pretty laid back couple, and really don't mind waiting for good food. Houston is such a hot bed for great food - we couldn't justify spending our money at a place restaurant that clearly didn't have time for our reservation.

FYI - We drove to Branchwater Tavern, where we were greeted and seated immediately. All three courses were phenomenal.

DavRee

02/05/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
I'll be back

Houston is filled with wonderful restaurants, and Daily Review is definitely one. As a single man, this is one of my favorite spots to take a woman I'm really into. The atmosphere is casual, yet intimate. The food has a lot of flavor, is fresh and not doused in heavy sauces like you get at some places. Great spot.

jab _1999

09/04/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Fantastic Casual Dinner

We went there last night before heading to the movies and we had a fantastic dinner. We sat on the patio and it was gorgeous. I had a house salad to start with and my partner had the vegetarian black bean chili. Both were flavorful and fantastic. For entrees I had the Steak Frites, which was cooked to perfection and my partner had the mushroom Ravioli. Both were so good, we were sad when we came to the end. We ate everything on our plates.

As for service, it was wonderful. Our tea and water glasses never went empty. We were checked on several times. Our waiter was knowledgeable about menu items, especially which ones were best for vegetarians. I can't wait to go back.

food snobs

06/07/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Is our waiter on something?

The food was okay from what I remember, but the service was AWFUL. I think the waiter was on drugs, as he was all over the place. I know we went with another couple, and they tried to order a Jack and Coke, but were told there was no Jack. The creme brulee was sent back because it was cold and no taste, and the glasses definately stayed empty. It's unfortunate because I liked the menu selection and the location.

If you read the other reviews, they all say the same. The place used to be great, but now the service has ruined it. I will let know if we dare to venture there again...

Markc

02/05/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
shocking

We went there very often because i is just cross street from where I am living.
We have same problem like others had. The empty water glasses and poor service.
I was shocking how the manager slap the check on our table after several times waving and trying to get their attention while they all stood around bar chatting.
We have to speak load enough to get our check. She was very rude and didn't seem care about the customers.

Will never go back again.

Mongol

02/05/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Pool service and rude manager

We were there with small group of friends for my wife birthday. The service was bad and they also charge us for $1.5 cutting cake fee and other 18% tip on top that.

kp1923

11/28/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great outdoor brunch

I went for the first time last Sunday and I took my mother and we both loved it. The staff was very polite, great service and food. I wish they had served just a little more food on the plate. We sat outside and it was beautiful - it was like a mini-jungle but really nice. I definitely would go again.
Thanks.

b.martin7

05/30/2009

Overall
B. Martin

This is a great place to eat. Food and service were excellant! It is a casual setting. Eat outside if you like. I always enjoy going there to eat.

endame

03/06/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
great patio dining

i have driven by daily review cafe many times on my way home and finally decided to have dinner there. simply amazing,relaxed atmosphere and food was great. i had the mussels, filet and peach creme brulee. my friend had the fried goat cheese salad and grilled shrimp entree. i look forward to my next visit there and want to try the sunday brunch. go, you won't be disappointed!

MEDavis

01/01/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great restaurant

My husband and I are from California and we visited friends in Houston during the holidays. They took us to this fabulous restaurant! We are retired and travel quite a bit and we were very impressed with the food and service. The steaks were absolutely some of the best we have ever had, extremely tender and juicy. Everything we had from our salads to dessert was excellent. It was a lovely way to celebrate the holidays with friends. We loved the ambiance of this restaurant and we will definitely return the next time we are in town.

dyrjnn

12/19/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Wonderful!

We have eaten at the DRC for many years and have never had a bad meal or poor service. I just don' t get the bad reviews. Every single brunch, lunch or dinner we have ever had has been excellent. We especially enjoy Sunday evenings on the patio, listening to the live jazz. Give this wonderful restaurant a try, you'll love it!

rb246

12/09/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
What a find

My husband and I recently were driving up the down the streets in the River Oaks area to look at all the Holiday lights. When we stumbled across this little cafe for dinner. When we first walked in, we noticed the lovely holiday decorations that seems to give this restaurant a warm and cozy feel to it. Which we like very much.We were greeted by the friendly staff and seated right away. Amazingly, since it was crowded. After looking at the delicious menu it was time to make up our minds. I started with the baked goat cheese salad. A little bigger than I expected, but so tasty I ate the whole thing. The combination of the grilled apples, spiced pecans and an entire bulb of roasted garlic made this salad my new favorite. My husband had the tortilla crusted shrimp. YUM!! Crisp shrimp, savory sauce. What else could you ask for. Our waiter suggested a great bottle of wine to go with our entrees. He seemed knowledgable enough so we went with it. I had the Beef tenderloin. It was great, tender, and very tasty. My husband had the Lamb chops. They were cooked to perfection. I believe they were marinaded in honey and cumin so when grilled, the honey kind of caramelized which made for a burst of flavor in each bite. The pumpkin creme brulee was to die for. This little cafe is a treat to find. The food was great. Service very good and the atmosphere cozy and quaint. I will difinately recommend this restaurant to all my friends. Cant wait to go back!

NewtoHouston711

11/03/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Raw Shrimp on the French Toast?? Gross!!

I went here with a couple of friends for Sunday brunch. We didn't have reservations, so we asked to be put on the list. After the host stared at us for what seemed like a few minutes he stuttered that it would be until 1:00 before we could be seated (Keep in mind that it is only 10:45am).However, he then quickly changed his mind and said a table would be opening up shortly if we wanted to wait at the bar. As we were about to walk up to the bar a member of the waitstaff walked up to the people who had walked in after us (also without reservations) and offered the same table to them while we were still standing there.The girl behind us had to tell him ""Actually they were here before us."" To which he just walked off with no response. So we were seated after about 5 minutes (so much for 1:00).The waiter finally came over.He was completely inattentive and ""out-of-it"" throughout the entire meal.He did not know the soup of the day (I was a server, this is an important thing to memorize).They didn't offer any kind of ""bottomless"" mimosa specials like so many other brunch restaurants and the Mimosa's were small, expensive ($4) and weak.The bloody mary tasted like sucking on the end of a poorly seasoned crawfish (disgusting).When we finally got our food I noticed something shiny on my French Toast.Upon closer inspection I discovered that it was a piece (nickel-sized) of raw shrimp!!Gross! I informed some random guy because I hadn't seen the waiter in quite some time.He didn't say anything just took it back to the kitchen.Finally the waiter came back and I told him about the shrimp expecting some kind of reaction to this horribly gross situation and he just said ""Oh"".I am horrified, this is a dangerous health code violation.I'm pretty sure all the kitchen did was scrape the shrimp off and cook it a little more because it came back in 3 minutes but now burned on the outside.He then mixed up all our credit cards and charged one of them twice-incompetent.We'll never go back.

Tuper

10/06/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
beautiful garden, average food, terrible service

I love dining outside, and the garden at the DRC is very nice. The service is terrible: we called ahead and made a reservation, but they lost our reservation and we were lucky to get seated. The waiter was friendly, but forgot to bring us water and forgot the dessert menu, so we skipped that. DRC had very few tables outside, and no one was seated inside when we were there, but the wait staff seemed so overwhelmed with the tables outside that they are either really understaffed or incompetent. The food is nothing memorable, just average, so in my opinion overpriced for what you get. I ordered the scallop entree ($28.50): the scallops and grilled polenta were ok, but I only got 5 or six small scallops for $28.50! The baby carrots it came with were strangely undercooked, so they were between raw and steamed. The sauce drizzled inbetween was strange and I have no idea what it was. The heirloom tomatoes were gritty and flavorless. I would not recommend this place- way too much money for below average quality. The garden is beautiful, so coming for just a drink with friends might be ok, but I am not sure it's worth putting up with the bad service and difficult parking. Most likely, I will not come back.

BClark38

09/06/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Poor Service

Too much credit for too much money. We arrived at 7:30 (had a reservation). They were out of wine glasses, so we had to drink our wine out of champagne glasses. They presented the orders incorrectly, twice, the waiter disappeared, the scallops were tasteless, the waiter poured wine on our feet because he missed the glasses. No wonder we had not returned in many years. Again, too much money for too little service and taste.

Customer1273

08/18/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Wonderful food and atomsphere

A friend and I went for restaurant week on 8/17/2008 for the first time. My girlfriend and I did not know what to expect as we had gone to a higher end restaurant the previous night. We were pleasantly surprised. This tiny, little hidden bistro was fantastic! Complimentary valet parking, great service, the food was delicious and the atomosphere was amazing. There was also live jazz music and singing.

I had the flat iron steak and the black bean chili and it was delicious. The steak was cooked to perfection! The steak was served with this fried cheese and bacon and potato filled mini burritos (can't think of the proper name for them!) but they were yummy! The wait staff was attentive and answered all of our questions, he even suggested the perfect wine to accompany our meal. This place would make a wonderful romantic date location. I will definately patronize this place over and over

kaybeeTX

08/17/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Used to be good...not anymore

When I moved to Houston 6+ years ago The Daily Review was a gem and a great find. We took anyone who came to visit to this restaurant for either brunch or dinner. A few years ago we noticed a significant change in the quality of food. We stopped going after way too many bad meals.

Recently we decided to give it one more try. Maybe new ownership? or new management?? One can at least hope. But alas it seems to have gotten even worse. Eggs Benedict couldn't even be made correctly. One egg was perfect, the second ""hard boiled."" My simple breakfast of eggs and biscuit was inedible. The waiter didn't seem concerned or even want to be bothered by our problems. I mourn the loss of my most favorite restaurant and wish it would return to its former glory.

Travlguy

08/13/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great choice - day or night

I've been here several times over the years and always have enjoyed it. Great place for weekend lunch in pretty garden amongst the many trees and flowers. And a great place in the evening for a romantic candlelit dinner on the lovely patio. Great food, great service, great ambiance.....

brmx

07/22/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Reception Success

I had to plan a farewell slash reception party in a very short time. I was very nervous about booking a place, catering etc. A friend of mine suggested I have our party in a restaurant. So, I looked around for those with a banquet room and open date. My husband and I chose the Review after visiting it once. Our party turned out to be a huge success due in large part to the restaurants' staff and food. Lee and Richard were both exptremely helpful and even comforting about my nerves. However, the food was the biggest treat. We chose our own menu, which included a chicken, beef and salmon plate. I had the chicken and it was great. My husband had the beef and said it was cooked to perfection. This means a lot, considering my husband is Brazilian and used to eating a lot of good, well-cooked beef. My mother had the salmon and she too was extremely pleased. Luckily, everyone else I asked was just as happy with their food. Finally, the waitstaff was wonderful. They were catering, polite and very professional. They were even patient and kind to the half dozen kids in attendance. Honestly, it was a fabulous night. I would recommend this place not just for a brief meal but for a celebration in the Green Room. They do not disappoint.

lovegooditalianfood

07/17/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Greasy and salty food

My friend and I went to this place as we drove by and noticed the patio. I was enchanted. Walked in and VERY quickly were helped to be sited. Almost as if the servers were fighting for customers. ? Not a good impression. The patio was not clean. It looked much better from the outside. THAT BAD. It took FOR EVER to get our cocktails... yet, it?s alright cus in other places it takes a while too. The food...poor! Big deception. Either too salty, too greasy, too unappealing. Keep the unclean patio for yourselves... and the poor food. We are not coming back.

Sponsored Links
Feedback