In mybook® Services Collection (edit)

Added to your services collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your services collection.

J. W. Freeman Property Management

Map & Directions
(8 Reviews)

2112 Trawood Dr Ste A-1, El Paso, TX 79935

(915) 591-8845

Today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tomorrow: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.


Regular Hours

Extra Phones

New Genesis Realty: (915) 534-4222

Payment method
visa, master card, discover, debit, check, diners club, carte blanche, travelers checks
Vista Del Sol West, Vista Hills Park
Real Estate Rental Service


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Mike R.



well if i could do a negative rating i would give this place a -5. worst place to rent, renters beware. Worst in customer service, no professionalism, and extremely rude.

Robert R.



I have used J.W. Freeman Property Management for the majority of the past ten years for management of multiple properties. Further, I have been involved with owning rental properties dating back to May of 1981 as well as have had experience as a tenant, so I have first hand experience with other Property Management companies to use for comparison.

Without exception, J. W. Freeman Property Management is the very best Property Management company that I have ever dealt with. I would recommend J. W. Freeman Property Management with the highest honors.

Reading what few negative posts there are, it is very apparent that the poster is blaming the Property Management Company for owner issues, and further either has no concept of how property management works, or else is just venting sour grapes; they don't like the reality of how the world works so they will write a negative review.

As I said, I have multiple properties under Mr. Freeman's management, my properties get rented, I receive my rent on time whenever possible (which is most of the time due to a true screening policy, as opposed to renting to whoever walks in the door), and repairs are handled in a timely manner. Even better, the repairs are of a high quality while being generally much more affordable than I could have contracted for them to be done myself.

Mr. Freeman has a vested interest in seeing that the repairs are done, so to suggest that those repairs are not being done due to his management skills is laughable. You might as well suggest that the man is adverse to making money. More probable, either the repair is not necessary (while not adverse to making money, Mr. Freeman is not a con artist), the owner will not pay for the repair, or the owner has explicitly refused to make the repair. Mr. Freeman has no say in the matter to override the owner if the owner will not pay for or authorize the repair.

The best advice for anyone looking to rent a property is to see the property, be aware of what your responsibilities are (i.e., having your utilities turned on and dealing with the utility companies), and understand that simply because the management company is the only entity involved that you can write a review of does not mean that everything that happens to you in life is their fault.

I have dealt with bad property managers and good property managers through the years, both as a tenant and as an owner, and can solidly and honestly attest to the fact that J. W. Freeman Property Management is the best I have ever had the opportunity to work with.




I have never had any major issues with this place. Every time i have called for someone to come out they would be there the same day or the next morning. I have had issues with them coming out saying they will be back the next day and not coming back. Other than that They have been great. They even worked with me on getting a house while i was out of state.



I would strongly recommend tha...

I would strongly recommend that no one rent from this property management company nor have their property managed by this company. I moved to the State of Texas as an employee of the Department of Defense. I chose the property based on a great location in El Paso, TX. When agreeing to lease this property, I informed them that I expected a thorough walk through upon my arrival. The day of signing my lease, I met Mr. Freeman who portrayed himself as being an honest and helpful business man as well as being retired from the military. I was told during the lease signing that my deposit will be given to me when I move out with the expectation that the house is given back in the condition it was given to me. Yet again, I informed them that I expect a walk through which they agreed. I was told that an unusual cold front was coming in and that lucky for me the Gas will be on in time. Mr. Freeman pulls me aside during that visit and states "If the lady who owns the house comes by, please notify me immediately". That should have been a Red Flag for me. I arrived at the home just to find a doorbell not working, a fire alarm going off every one minute "indicating low batteries, low batteries", the water account established but the management company did not turn on the water which the apparatus is located in the alley in the ground in preparation for my arrival, lightbulbs that were either working or blown from the front of the house to the back, once water established leaks from two places in the house (bathroom and washer unit) and a bathtub with the stopper pulled out (broken and laid on the bathtub). But the the beautiful part was that come to find out the Furnace was not up to code according to gas company and would not be able to come back out for 5 days still after that requiring a Heating and Cooling Company to come out. So during this cold front I would not have heat, oven and/or warm/hot water. My place was inhabitable with the temperature indoors at night hovering 20-30 degrees in this mountainous area with windows not insulated (older home). I informed Mr. Freeman that this place was inhabitable and that I will be going to a hotel and will deduct from the rent. He stated "Please do not do that because you know how rich people are about their money". He stated "you go put yourself up in a hotel and bring me the bill and I will take care of it". Needless to say, upon check out his office was notified of the amount with no response. I personally went to his office with the bill 10 days later and his response was while throwing the bill on the desk "I am not paying this, you will just have to take me to court". He went on to say that it was unreasonable and the conversation that took place between he and I did not. As for the property management I have put in requests for the above items to be repaired several times receiving attitude from some of the employess there when I do call.I have had two appointments where they showed (and said they would be back) and three no shows from maintenance without even a courtesy call. And again no walk through after being on this property for three weeks. When asking Mr. Freeman the name of the Property owner he replied "that name cannot be released and by Texas law it is illegal (funny it is a matter of public record down at the City Clerk office and online). I asked him to provide me with a detailed list of his companies responsibilities to this property and he ignored. As of today, I obtained in his handwriting the remaining repairs that needed to be performed along with a date and time he will show up to attempt repair of them. I WOULD STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT YOU STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!

claimed iconBusiness Response10/28/2012

I am acutely aware of this incident. It is true that this tenant arrived at a time when El Paso was experiencing extremely low temperatures. It should be noted that neither J. W. Freeman, nor property owners, pay for or turn on utilities for the tenant. That is a tenant responsibility. It should also be noted that J. W. Freeman Property Management is a management company, not a builder or inspector. With that said, I herby point out that the property in discussion was previously managed by the owner. Immediately upon the departure of the previous tenants, the property was painted and cleaned inside and out. All utilities were on at that time, however, once the cleaning and painting were completed, they were turned off. The new tenant arrived just prior to the weekend. The gas company stated that there was something wrong with the water heater and refused to turn on the gas. A maintenance person was immediately dispatched and repairs affected, but the gas company refused to com back on that date. Although I do not believe my company was at fault, I agreed that the cold was untenable. In efforts to be fair to the tenant, I agreed to compensate the tenant for reasonable hotel/motel fees for the weekend. The tenant secured a room at, I believe, Hawthorne Suites for 3-days and brought in a bill exceeding $800. I refused to pay over $45.00 per day. The confusion brought about by this tenant caused the owner to become involved end with owner buying out my one-year lease and my relinquishing the property. These are the facts of this situation. It is unfortunate that some people choose to distort facts in their attempts to gain public favor and defame another's character because of their failed attempts at extortion.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Worst company EVER. I have ha...

Worst company EVER. I have had so many things go wrong with this property. We're looking for a new place right now...this is ridiculous. They came and fix one thing and then another thing breaks and then they have the nerve to tell us to call housing. I am going to make a HUGE stink over this. Retired major, whatever! Do not use this company or rent under their management team.

claimed iconBusiness Response10/28/2012

It is quite possible that things went wrong with the property that this alleged tenant rented. Unfortunately, things do happen and repairs must be made. As a Property Manager, my job is to work for both the owner and the tenant. In fact, I often find myself in a position of disadvantage because I use my personal funds to affect repairs, rather than await arrival of funds from the owner, as I should. I am a soldier and will be one until the day I die. Though I do not discriminate, soldiers remain in a position of highest esteem. I am not, however, dumb enough to think that all soldiers are perfect, nor am I. Soldiers are a sampling of society and I judge each on his or her own merits. I only ask the same. Any call to my company for repair is formally logged and action is taken to respond to that repair. I challenge anyone to identify a time when a repair was not completed in a timely manner due to negligence or a lackadaisical attitude. I am not perfect, but I will continue to strive for that title.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


The absolute worst management ...

The absolute worst management company I've ever dealt with, by far. Absolute lies from day one. House not clean when we moved in. No walk-through with the management company upon move-in. Several big problems with house upon move-in that weren't addressed for over a week, forcing us to spend a ton of extra money on eating out because we couldn't eat at home. When you call, you get the 13 year old son of one of the employees who knows nothing except how to say "someone will call you back in a few minutes," which they never do. Mr. Freeman prides himself on his "honesty and integrity" and loves to mention that he retired an Army Major. Well, I'm prior military as well and the service didn't teach me to lie, cheat or steal from other people. I guess things were different when he served. Their only saving grace is that we absolutely love the house we live in (which has nothing to do with JW Freeman, it was prepared by the homeowner and JW Freeman just manages it....poorly). We'll renew at the end of the year if they want us to, but not because we want to have anything to do with JW Freeman, just because we love the house. I own homes as well, and rent and manage them myself. It's not rocket science. A monkey could manage a rental property. Not sure what that means regarding a retired Army Major, but I'm sure you'll come the the same conclusion I did if you deal with this business. Bottom line, avoid this business at all costs! Any review you read online will tell you the same thing. And if you do deal with them, have an attorney ready. Thank God I have several in my family.

claimed iconBusiness Response10/28/2012

I have read this evaluation over and over, but I am unable to determine its validity. There is one thing that was said that I can attest to. I am a retired Army Major and regard my honesty and integrity as my highest assets. I will not compromise either. I do not now, nor I ever had an employee with a 13 year old child who answers my phones. Also, no home that I rent has ever been let without prior cleaning My standards for cleanliness are quite high, and I will never rent a home that I myself would not live in. Additionally, if a property that I was renting was as bad as described by this alleged tenant, nothing on this earth could ever cause me to renew a lease my company. Further, theTexas Property Code strongly favors the tenant. Violations noted herein would constitute gross negligence and if the allegations are true, the should have been presented before a judicial forum. My company has always striven to be the best, and we will continue to do so.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.