In mybook® Shopping Collection (edit)

Added to your shopping collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your shopping collection.

Hours

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Phone: (410) 734-7776

Services/Products
  • Bangles
  • Chains
  • Coins
  • Currency
  • Diamonds
  • Earrings
  • Gold
  • Gold Coins
  • Insurance Available
  • Jewelry
  • Metal Art
  • Metal Beds
  • Platinum
  • Rings
  • Sales
  • Scrap Gold
  • Silver
  • Silver Coins
  • Sports Cards
  • Sportscards
AKA

First State Coin Co.

Categories
Stamp Dealers, Hobby & Model Shops, Coin Dealers & Supplies, Sports Cards & Memorabilia, Gold, Silver & Platinum Buyers & Dealers, Jewelers, Jewelry Buyers, Metal Detecting Equipment, Banks, Collectibles

COUPONS & DEALS

No coupons available

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Overall

I have had occasion to visit them several times to sell some coins. They were very friendly & helpful, and their prices were in line with what the "books" stated. I found them to be very professional.

rfractrman

09/24/2013

Overall

I have dealt with this business since its days in the blue hen mall back in the 80's. They have always been fair and always been friendly. They are always willing to help and find special things for people. Great people to deal with.

falcon56

07/05/2013

Overall

I lived in the Dover area from 1988 to 2004 and went into their store a few times and always got good service. Came back to the area in late 2011 and I have been in there two or three times, again, no problems. They answered the questions I had and seemed to know what they were doing. I was a little disappointed to find out that they only buy vintage (1950's and earlier) sports cards, but I found out a long time ago that it's a lot easier to buy a sports card than it is to sell it.

I found it a little odd that the Feb 2013 reviewer mentions, in a negative fashion, that there was money laying all around their main desk. Um, it is a coin shop, and they do have a large inventory of coins and paper money. Also, there is apparently some Delaware law that you cannot use a debit card to buy precious metals, I went in last year to buy a couple of one-ounce silver rounds and ended up paying cash, so that might have something to do with it.

Everyone has different experiences, but I have been treated well the few times I have been in the store.

darkman1000

02/01/2013

Overall

They are rude, selfish and not interested in helping new collectors. They treat me awfully, and I felt discriminated and ignored. Do not go there, Go some where else, at this place they do not care ABOUT YOU or give you advise, they just care if you bring them money. Plus the place looks dirty and like a Mafioso table they have money laying around their main desk. Do not give them your money, or sell them anything.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/13/2013

Hi, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience at the store. Is it possible that we were busier than normal during your visit? Sometimes we find it difficult to give each customer our full attention if there are more customers than employees in the store (only 3 of us are full time). We're always working on organizing, but that's something else that falls by the wayside when we get busy. I'd like to get to the bottom of why you had a poor experience while you were here, if possible. Please contact me at our business email or phone number, and ask for Pat. I'll be happy to try to help in any way I can.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Feedback