In mybook® Services Collection (edit)

Added to your services collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your services collection.

Klos Real Estate Svc Inc

Map & Directions
(21 Reviews)

1742 N Pearl St, Denver, CO 80203

(303) 860-7500

Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tomorrow: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Sponsored Links
BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.

Regular Hours

Downtown Denver, North Capitol Hill, Central Denver
Other Email

Real Estate Referral & Information Service, Real Estate Buyer Brokers, Real Estate Consultants


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Gabriel B.



I rented through Klos Real Estate and there is only a few words to describe this company; Unprofessional, Greedy, and Rude. I read reviews before I moved here and saw that there were only a few bad reviews for this company so I ignored it and proceeded to work with them. DO NOT WHAT I DID. If you ask for help, they say they will follow up with you but they won't. If you ask for a way to work with them while being extremely professional and patient, you will be considered a bother to the business if you follow up after they promise to contact you about something you needed help with. I will say, there are two members of this company that we're helpful and offered to help. But it is evident that they have no control of the things done by this company, instead it is ran by unprofessional management. Good luck in your search

Nora B.



I cannot express how impressed I have been with Tim and Mitsy Kloss over the past 4-5 years. They have managed two of my rentals with the utmost professionalism, diligence, and relief of me having to pay any attention to them except to cash my rental checks. If there is ever a problem, they come to me with solutions. At the end of the year, they ask if there is anything else they can do for me, or if any of their statements are unclear - and they never are! Now that I'm selling one, they are right there with assistance on getting it prepped in just the right ways to get the best price possible. I highly recommend Tim, Mitsy and their team to support your property management and real estate needs. You will not regret it!




I'll make this short and sweet.

KLOS took over my apartment complex that is full of working students and artists.

I have some really bad things happen to me financially and I realize I will be late on rent.

I call KLOS and speak with a women who is very helpful and we come to an agreement on how much they will charge me in fees if I pay my rent by a set day.

That set day comes, I call KLOS to make sure I get the money order for the correct amount, and all of a sudden no one remembers speaking to me just 3 days earlier.

The lady on the phone makes me feel like a liar, and a con artist trying to get out a late fee. I try to gather my senses while she makes me feel horrible, and she tells me that they put out a 3 day eviction order so I can pay or find a new place to rent. All of this after speaking with one of them just a few days earlier and thinking that we had come to an agreement. I end up having to pay double the late fee, and I discover that KLOS is even scummier then the company before them, and that's a feat.

claimed iconBusiness Response09/05/2013

This tenant is now a former tenant on a property that we only managed for one month of his tenancy. We contacted this tenant and spoke with his (then) roommate, who is still a resident. The roommate indicated she had no knowledge of this posted review. In contacting the tenant by hand delivering a note it was requested if h would like to discuss and resolve his statements to please contact us. Unfortunately we have not heard from him so below you will find our response. This is in response to your recent Yellow Pages posted review. We would like to begin and say we are sorry you feel you have been wronged. We take great pride in our company and consistently do our best to work with all tenants. I am responding to this review as I am the one you spoke with and are referring to most in your post. To be clear your statements are incorrect. This was a brand new management account for us and as expected, the principal is adamant that we follow the guidelines of the signed lease agreements. We respectfully request that you remove this posting as it is inaccurate. Please review the below as it will be our response to your review, which we will post on August 21st. Ryan, upon our initial conversation of July 2nd at 11:00am (1 day late per the lease agreement), as you mentioned in your post. At that time the agreement had been made regarding late rent as I understood your financial struggles. This being a new management account for us we did our best to be lenient and understanding with the first months rental payments. During this conversation you (Ryan) indicated “rent would be dropped off by the 4th”. At which time I waived the late fee. Upon checking our rent drop box, on the 4th, no payment had been received. A notice was hand delivered on July 8th, 4 days after agreed payment date, providing per a courtesy, more time to pay. On July 9th at 2:45pm you spoke with me again, indicating you had no knowledge of who you had spoken with previously. Having hundreds of tenants (including 90 picked up July 1) we are sure you understand it is difficult to remember every single tenants personal situation, this is why we keep detailed notes. After locating the initial agreement, we again came to another agreement that payment was going to be mailed and postmarked July12th with an included, reduced late fee of $35.00. Payment was hand delivered to our drop box on July 15th in the amount of $630.00. You were charged pursuant to your lease agreement $540.00 for Julys rent and $90.00 for accrued late fees. Because the original agreements had not been met, all late fees were assessed according to the original lease agreement. Your statement is simply false, we did not charge you “double” late fee. For the past 25+ years of business we have always prided ourselves on supportive customer service. Always approaching situations with an open mind and understandings that, “life happens”. All it takes is a simple phone call and common courtesy. I would be happy to meet with you at any time so this can be amicably resolved. Sincerely, Alexandra Klos Associate Broker KLOS REAL ESTATE SERVICES, INC

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
BED BUGS. I was living at the ...

BED BUGS. I was living at the la joya managed by KLOS for one year and while I was living there I got bed bugs, I had to go in to the office crying and show them how bad my reaction was to them to finally get them to send sopmeone to spray, the problem was never taken care of. I had to throw out my bed and spend hundrends of dollars drying my clothes and other cloths at the laundry mat each week. When I finally moved out I had to pay $550 to have my things heated to kill the eggs, so I would not bring them to my new apartment. I learned after moving out that the person who rented my apartment asked the person showing the apetment if there had ever been a bed bug problem and she said no, while she was standing in my apt and knew that I in fact was dealing with them at that time. I ended up know the person and confirmed to him that I had bed bugs while there and that is why I moved out. I also recieved an email from them saying that the issue had infact been taken care of. All lies. I also know that another renter on different floor wasgiven bed bugs and then blamed by the KLOS as bring them into the apartment. If you DONT want bed bugs then DONT RENT FROM KLOS! I will never be the same the person because the bed bugs, that Klos gave me.



I will begin my posting with t...

I will begin my posting with this note: I, too, was a bit wary of the negative online reviews for Klos Realty when I was considering renting one of their properties. However, I decided to give them the benefit of doubt and concluded that surely not all of the bad reviews could have been accurate.

Boy, was I wrong. I know now that any positive online reviews for this company have been made up by their own staff - they are that horrible.

I should have known that I had made a bad decision when not even a month into our lease with Klos, we provided them with a laundry list of things that needed improvement or repair. To start, Klos refused to do anything about the dirt yard that came with our unit. We had to pay out of our pocket to put grass in. Immediately upon move-in, the screens in the doors had come loose and were gaping open, a shelf in the fridge was being propped up by a nail, the bathtub drain was building up a clog, a bolt at the bottom of the toilet was missing causing it to wobble, the window screens in the apartment had holes and were rusty – and not all of the windows could be opened. This would not have been such a big deal if the apartment had come with a/c or central air; it does NOT, contrary to what their website states for this rental. Klos only ended up fixing the fridge shelve and the clogged bathtub drain, by the way…they would have nothing to do with the windows and claimed that screens for the screen doors were “too expensive”. Klos took it upon themselves to replace the linoleum in the kitchen, but their team ended up warping and ripping a corner that is currently under the fridge. Attempts to notify Klos of this went unanswered. As time went on, things in the apartment kept needing repair or adjustment. The shower surround had to be caulked a few times, but the caulk kept pulling up and allowing water in. Mold accumulates in the bathroom due to lack of a fan. There is a window in the bathroom, but no screen, and besides…the window had practically rusted shut since it is right in the shower. Klos advised that we would need to be sure to clean and maintain this window in order to make sure it could be opened to prevent the mold from growing on the bathroom walls. During the winter, condensation would accumulate on all of the very old, un-insulated windows in the apartment. Puddles of water would collect on the window sill and would literally drip down the walls. We spent an entire winter keeping everything away from the windows. When Tim came to inspect this, he noted that he wouldn’t be doing anything about it. We also had a mouse problem. Klos had a rodent expert give us a call, but attempts to connect with him went unanswered. It seemed that Klos had changed their mind on this which became apparent when they dumped mouse traps and mouse bait at our front porch.

During the entire year that I lived at this particular apartment, Klos replaced exactly three items: the faucet in the bathroom, the ceiling fan in one of the bedrooms, and the linoleum on the kitchen floor.

With Klos, you get what you pay for, and even then, what they charge per month is just insane considering the quality of their buildings. I can’t help but laugh at how much they have raised the rent on this unit, and I certainly feel for the next person who rents this place.

Regardless, for those of you who care about your home and who like things to be maintained and updated, PLEASE take my advice and do not rent from this company. They take the cheapest avenues they can to make their buildings look presentable, while they are literally falling apart underneath. Klos Realty only cares about money and could care less about their tenants. Over time, I can guarantee you will experience exactly what I and so many others have.



Provided by Citysearch - 
The Klos Family has been wonderful to

The Klos Family has been wonderful to rent from and I currently am renewing my lease for another year. They welcomed me warmly when I moved in, express consistent concern for my comfort as a tenant. It is very rare these days to find a Family-run business and the Klos Family is it. When I call, either Mitzi, Tim or their Daughter answer the phone adn they respond to my requests in a timely and considerate manner. They are not invasive whatsoever, but are there when I need them - to fix or repair or update something in my lovely apartment. I love renting from the Klos Family and consider myself a small part of their extended family. I would reccomend them to anyone looking for charming rentals managed by an even more charming Family.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Do not rent! Will take you for all you're worth!

No matter the location or how cheap this place will seem, do not rent from this company. They are rude and uncomprimising, especially the owner. After three phone conversations with the company discussing a month early release from our lease after being good renters for two yearswe took them at thier word and moved out. We were then served with eviction notices and ""past due rent owed"". We called them to confirm what we had preciously talked about, they agreed, and my roommate and I thought every thing was taken care of. Then we were served with another eviction notice via email. These were sited as the cause for why we did not get ANY of our deposit back, even though we left the house with improvments and in considerably better condition than when we left it. This company will take you for all you are worth. Avoid at any and all costs; a ""cheap price"" and good location is not near worth it.




I lived at KLOS apartments for almost 3 years. Only because they were cheap. Everything in a KLOS apartment, from doors to refrigerators to stoves, are the cheapest junk they could buy in bulk. This means that none of it works. I never had a stove that would stay on, or a shower that had more water come out of the shower head than the bath spigot (this resulted in an ankle bath every time).

I was never late on rent, even offered for a larger deposit if they could fix the place up a little. All they care about is incoming money. If you tell them you're moving out, they turn into a whole new kind of beast. The first time I moved out, I was getting deployed. Instead of bolting like I am legally allowed to do under the soldier and sailors relief act, I decided to do the right thing and go month to month before leaving. They IMMEDIATELY jacked up my rent because, "I was not going to sign a new lease!"

Next, it turns out there was a reason they have such a low deposit, and more than anywhere else you have to document EVERYTHING. They just bill for damages instead of using the damage deposit as a buffer. This allows them to sue you first and mess with your credit instead of you suing them for not returning the deposit.

Because they are bringing in crap, like scratched up doors, you better take pictures because they will try to make you pay for "damages." Also, I had a horrible ant problem. Because, in the second place I lived, they didn't clean up at all from the person before me. By not cleanup, this meant there was an ant colony in and under the stove and fridge. I was still finding cat poop two weeks after moving in! They left me a bottle of ant spray with a note to take care of it myself. This meant I had to move the stove and fridge to get to the ants. Turns out this is because they knew moving those appliances would damage the floor as the fridge was missing feet pieces.

We had rampant break ins near the end of my stay at their pear st location because they couldn't get the front and back doors to close correctly. They're wanna be slum lords that think their tenants don't have the capacity or wherewithal to obtain legal counsel or representation after moving out.

Bottom line, don't rent from them. Find a legitimate company that does a proper before and after walk through and installs real, functional appliances.

For example, across the street from 42 pearl st turned out to be the same price and space but none of the problems.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Great Management

I have lived with Klos for almost three years now and have always had great experiences with them. They have answered my questions and concerns quickly and without making me feel dumb. This was the first apartment i had ever rented on my own and they helped to make sure i was in the right place and understood all of what was going on. I have since moved to three different properties that they have and they were always helpful with making the transition easy and hassle free! Great place to rent from!



Provided by Citysearch - 

I lived in one of their units for a few years and ALWAYS paid my rent on time and was respectful of the building and other tenants. As I was moving out, they threatened to keep my diposit for any reason they could think of.

As I lived there, many great tenants were moving out as they could not stand the disrespect from management. Once I began to deal with conflict from KLOS, I understand what they were saying all along. I would reccomend others to stay away!!!



Provided by Citysearch - 

Very rude, arrogant and just plain a**.

He will say one thing and then go back on it.

He will keep your deposit and charge you for anything and everything that he can.

I rented for 6 months and got out my year contract because I could not deal with them any more.

they never returned calls, do not fix stuff and threatened me.


At first they all seem nice but this guy is shaddy and will rip you off.

He pays people to write good reviews!



Provided by Citysearch - 
Horrible - Stole money - RIP OFF

I moved in with 2 other people. we went months with problems with the sink, the toliet and many other things.
the Toliet got so bad that it started leaking make the carpet show horrible black and brown spots. We rent carpet cleaner after carpet clean to keep it clean enough to walk on. Then he claimed that we caused the damage from a pet. It was a 6 ft by 4 ft square of carpet NO idea how in the heck a pet could urinate that much especially when it lead right up to the base of toliet and smelled like sewer.

He was rude, mean and very disrespectful. He cused and ranted and raved. Then he came in and inspected the apt. said that all was clear and that nothing was wrong so we moved out. Never recieved my deposit so I called took weeks to get a call back and he says well we replace the carpet with tile - which is illegal by the way.
carpet must be replaced with carpet and any carpet over 7 years old is worth nothing and you can not be charged even if you did damage it. (which we didn't and it was well over 7 years old) he tried to charge us to re-carpet the whole house! finally I got a lawyer and then he changed his tune sayng that they finall got the stains out from numerous cleanings... what BS he knew he was going to have to give our deposits back if we went to court..

all this company does is try to intimidate you and make you pay for stuff you didnt' do.

Other employees are nice and cheerful but you dont' get to deal with them after you sign a lease its only with Tim.


DO NOT BUY OR RENT from these people. I know an ex-employee who says he pays ppl and friend to write good reviews!




Provided by Citysearch - 
Awful must really be your name GET A LIFE

I laugh at other comments must have been losers that didn't pay your bills. I rented with Klos for 5 years maintenance was very prompt. All staff was very respectful to my needs even helped me to buy my own home SINGLE MOTHER!!!!!!! Apparently review above must have been a TOTAL LOSER for Tim to be rude....... I would recommend 100% very caring company



Provided by Citysearch - 
Klos Management

I've lived in a house managed by Klos for 3 years. I had sold my house 3 years ago and was leary about moving into a house that was managed by a property management company- since in the past I had always rented from private parties. As it turns out, Klos has been very easy to work with. I live in an older house that has needed occasional maintenance. They have always responded within 24 hours for any maintenance I have needed. I just had a problem with the swamp cooler and their repair man was on my roof within a few hours of my call.



Provided by Citysearch - 
nice clean living

Klos Real estate was very good and attentive to all my needs. very helpful when I fell on tough times. Responded quickly to all my maintenance requests. would recommend to a friend!!!!!!!!!!



Provided by Citysearch - 

They are an absolutely awful management company. Employees are rude over the phone, and never have I met people in a service industry with so little concern for the well being of others--the only thing they care about is money. Awful people. Awful service. Awful company. Do not rent with Klos.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Worst Landlord EVER

I rented a unit from Klos real estate. The place constantly needed maintenance work. Klos would send the worst contractors in the city to do the jobs, and within days or weeks, the jobs would need to be re-done. I have lived in eight or nine affordable (500-700) rentals over the years and this was by far the worst service from any of them. DO NOT RENT FROM KLOS. PS TIM KLOS IS A SELFISH, HEARTLESS, MAN



Provided by Citysearch - 
Ask around and you will find mostly happy tenants

I am an independent contractor who has done work for Klos over the last several years and I am also a Klos tenant. In that time I have gotten a good feeling for how they do business and how their tenants respond. It has to be a very high percentage of tenants who are more than satisfied with Klos management considering the size of their portfolio, and that amount of satisfied customers is impressive for any business. There are very few tenants who complain. Klos manages many different properties from new condos and homes to turn-of-the-century apartment buildings and converted mansions. The majority of their product is owned by other investors who use Klos for property management. You can imagine the maintenance required for a structure that has stood for over 100 years through conversions (sometimes several back and forth), weather, hundreds of tenants, and simply age in general. It is incredible that many of these buildings in Denver are still inhabitable and Klos not only pulls it off, but also keeps them especially safe and comfortable. These wonderfully historical structures are usually the most desired rentals by Denverites and that is also the attraction for Klos. They have pride in what they do for both for residents and for Denver neighborhoods in general.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Disrespectful Management Comany

Please do not waste your time with this disrespectful, horrible management company. Tim Klos is extremely rude and only cares about ""getting paid."" I once called him to tell him that our oven was making a strange noise (soon came to find out it was VERY dangerous and could have blown up our place) ANYWAYS, all he said to me on the phone was ""well, at least you aren't there when the place bl0ws to hell."" He would say one thing and then say something completely opposite and go back on his word. Tried to charge us $300 because one of my roomates was a ""b*tch"" according to him. Maintenance repairs took weeks to be completed. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY!



Provided by Citysearch - 
The worst management I have ever experienced

This is the worst management I have ever experienced in my life. Tim Klos was disrespectful and rude to me and all other roomates. It took WEEKS, sometimes months for things to get fixed. We went for a week with only one working toilet because we were continuously lied to that someone was coming to fix it. We ended up moving out because it was unbearable. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT COMPANY!!!!

Sponsored Links