In mybook® Home Collection (edit)

Added to your home collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Sponsored Links
Do you know the hours for this business?
Extra Phones

Phone: (561) 266-3451

Primary Phone: (561) 266-3451


Custom Truss

Trusses Construction-Wholesale & Manufacturers


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Nancy H.
Edited: 01/09/2018

I would never recommend Custom Truss. Based on Custom Trusses failure to acknowledge our stamped permitted plans were not followed causing a disastrous altering in the design of the trusses and roof, their rude unprofessional treatment, no interest to explain or resolve issues & the General Contractor knew there was a permanent mistake without disclosing it to me. The GC neglected to disclose Custom Truss's wrong truss plan and that plan was never reviewed, approved or stamped by me, the Engineer of Record or the City of West Palm Beach. My stamped permitted plans were ignored. As a result of the wrong trusses, our house looks like a mistake devaluing our home. The only way to fix it is to take off the roof & start all over again.

The contractor we hired should be responsible. Custom Truss should also be accountable for not following the stamped permitted plans. I was told there was a meeting where Custom Truss attended and per the Architecht, he advised to the GC & Custom Truss that "they got it wrong". Custom Truss & the GC did not make the corrections & proceeded with the wrong trusses & "the new altered truss plan" was never reviewed, approved or stamped by the Engineer of Record or The City of West Palm Beach. The contractor never disclosed that he ordered & signed off on the wrong trusses, but it was obvious there was a problem when our low sloping modern flat looking roof had wrong elevations, peaks, waviness, different thickness profiles and is crooked along with the wrong size and material drip edge. Everyone who comes to the house always says, who would build something like that, was your contractor licensed? Our architect refers to it as the “goofy looking roof".

After months of begging the GC to fix the roof, the GC told me and our architect and put in writing that "he would pay and correct it", but instead, he abandoned the project. The GC said we passed inspections, but I learned when I took over the project that we failed inspections. Per the City, "the trusses do not match our plans.” The City and I uncovered the abandoned truss plan that Custom Truss and the GC made, but never bothered to disclose that they were changing my plans and it was never submitted to me, the Engineer of Record or to the City Plan Review BEFORE they made and installed the trusses and roof.

Before I obtained control of the property I was not made aware there was a different truss plan. I emailed Custom Truss for assistance with copies of the plans, select snapshots of elevations showing the intent of the roof, photos of what was built and requested if Russ/Josh or the Truss Engineer could walk me through the plans to understand what went wrong and to assist me to understand why the trusses failed inspection and how I could pass inspection. I received no response from Truss Engineer and was finally put in touch with someone by the name of Russ or Josh who was disrespectful and rude. Russ/Josh told me that I am not the client, the contractor is his client and if I want answers, I need to call the GC. I explained the GC abandoned the project and my only goal at this point is to understand why my roof doesn’t match the plan design and to pass inspection. I commented that I am also technically the client because my house is listed as the “project” on their truss plan & I overpaid the bill. Russ/Josh said he gave the GC truss letters & if I wanted copies, I would have to pay him $350.00. Russ/Josh would not discuss if the truss letters addressed the difference between what was built compared to the plans and if paying $350.00 would guaranty that we pass inspection. When I proceeded to ask questions, Russ/Josh yelled at me & told me that I was wasting his time & hung up on me. I paid close to $10,000.00 for not per plan trusses. I have sued the GC for building everything not per plan.

Sponsored Links