In mybook® Car Collection (edit)

Added to your car collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

A-1 Quality Transmission & Auto service

Map & Directions
(10 Reviews)

8622 N Telegraph Rd, Dearborn Heights, MI 48127

(313) 730-2700

CLOSED NOW
Today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tomorrow: Closed
32
YEARS
IN BUSINESS
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Where Quality and Customer Satisfaction is A-1

Hours
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Sat:
SunClosed
Services/Products
  • Mufflers
  • Towing
  • Auto Electric Service
  • Tires
  • Brakes
  • Wheels
  • Auto Transmissions
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Repairs
  • Tires Used
  • Tires New
  • Brake Service
  • Diagnostic Services
  • Oil Changes
  • Tranmissions
Brands
AAAutoProtection, American Auto Care, CARite, CarShield, Carchex
Payment method
amex, mastercard, visa, discover, all major credit cards, debit, financing available
Location
On North Side of Telegraph just south of joy road
Neighborhood
Dearborn Heights
Amenities
Drop Off Service,Towing Available
Languages
Arabic, English, Spanish
Categories
Auto Transmission, Auto Engine Rebuilding, Auto Repair & Service, Automobile Diagnostic Service, Automotive Roadside Service, Automotive Tune Up Service, Shock Absorbers & Struts, Tire Dealers, Transmissions-Other, Wheels-Aligning & Balancing
Other Information

Specialties: Fleets, Front Wheel Drive, Vans, Domestic, Front-Wheel Drive

COUPONS & DEALS (2)

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Mel N.

12/14/2016

Overall
Expertise
Professionalism
Promptness

Best experience ever! They found the problem right away and fixed it at such an affordable price. They were honest and didn't try to get me to spend more then needed. Great customer service! I would highly recommend them!

carfan2

01/18/2012

Overall
This was not a great way to st...

This was not a great way to start off a new year with my transmission breaking down. However I found a transmission shop that helped me out so much it made the experience O K. They did everything they said they were going to, and helped me make decisions on what to do. My car works better now than ever. Thank You to all the people that work there and do there jobs so well.

amandamclain

12/21/2011

Overall
Its never a good time to have ...

Its never a good time to have a major problem with a car, but I have to say I've never had a repair shop do their best to make it as painless as possible as A 1 Quality Transmissions did. I was broke down on the side of the road, they had a tow truck there in about 25mins.They took me home when I got to the shop, had the Transmission out of my car the next morning and actually called me to come down to look at the transmission so I knew what went bad in the transmission. They charged me a very fair price for the repairs and had me back on the road in three days start to finish, which was very important being a single mom that had to get to work and get my kids back and fourth to school. Being a woman going to a shop to get a car fixed can be a very uneasy thing to do, all I can say is thank you for being honest and an upstanding business. And whats even better is the fact that you do most general repairs so I can have all my repairs done without being concerned about being messed over. Again thank you for everything you do.



Amanda Mc Lain

carlito chasbo

12/05/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP

Lets face it we have all heard horror stories about transmission shops. Well let me tell you this is not one of them. Granted spending money on vehicle repairs is not is not a fun thing, but I could not be happier with the service and honesty of this shop!!!!! Plus I saved BIG MONEY. There are good people out there.

sneaknby

10/07/2010

Overall
I wouldn

Oct. 6, 2010



I took my truck there because I live right around the corner...I believe in keeping money in the community. I wished I never did. My truck decided one day that it was not gonna go backwards...so we took it over to A-1 Transmission shop (12 months ago) I got it back but we only drove it around locally because the trans was slipping when we drove it out of their parking lot. We were told that it was because of the linkage was gonna have to be adjusted? Well ok that means I have to already come back? Ok I'm alright with that no problem! So 2 days later I had to drive to Lapeer County THEY said it should be just fine. Well it was acting up on the way there. But on the way back it was making a noise that was kinda worrying me. Before I could even think twice I hear BAM!!!!!!!!!! I was driving 55 the speed limit on the highway, trying to get over to the shoulder of the rd. from the left lane. I get out of the truck and my drive shaft completely fell off my truck! I call my husband crying because I had my sister, my sisters twins, my 2 yr.old in the truck with me. He calls them (they say it is something I did) OK?? They refused to tow me home, so it cost $270.00 to get the truck back to them. They did refund me to tow money!



I talked to the guy WHO FIXED my truck 2 days before & he says I fixed your truck (he did not remember) then he says Oh i did fix your truck. I must have messed up, then he says he fixed it while he was on the phone??? Now I'm fuming! They were nice and apologetic! So we went on home and waited for them to now fix the drive shaft & the whole rear end now because it froze up!



This time I got smart and took pictures before I gave them my truck back! I get it back drive it down the rd. hop on the freeway & I can't even get it up to 50 mph because it feels like the wheels are gonna fall off! So I go back & the drive shaft wasn't all the way in...of course its slipping, slipping, slipping! LEAKING everywhere (trans fluid) Take it back....Get it back shill SHAKING, SLIPPING, LEAKING...Take it back again...same all thing everytime!!!!!! The transfer case is NOW cracked all over LEAKING fluid so they epoxy my transfer case to death! Moral of the story, they had it so many times (SO many chances to get it right) they REFUSED to fix it PERIOD! Oh and the last time I took it in they had changed their name (SAME OLD PEOPLE THOUGH) Now I refuse to drive it, my husband does and its MY TRUCK! Now we just add trans fluid every couple of days waiting for it to go out so I can take it somewhere else to get another TRANSMISSION put in it. Thanks to them I have leaks from the front to the back of the truck and all over my driveway. THANKS QUALITY TRANSMISSION FOR THE QUALITY WORK YOU DO!!! And you know who I am ;) Just so you know my truck today has just flipped 125,000 miles. Never towed anything in it ever since I bought it brand new. So don't go here and be careful buying a Dodge Ram!

sneakn

10/06/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Inadequate Transmissions

Just wanted to THANK YOU, Q~U~A~L~I~T~Y Transmissions, A-1 Transmission...you should be F-Transmissions you failed, you failed me. How do you sleep at night??


I took my truck there because I live right around the corner...I believe in keeping money in the community. I wished I never did. My truck decided one day that it was not gonna go backwards...so we took it over to A-1 Transmission shop (12 months ago) I got it back but we only drove it around locally because the trans was slipping when we drove it out of their parking lot. We were told that it was because of the linkage was gonna have to be adjusted? Well ok that means I have to already come back? Ok I'm alright with that no problem! So 2 days later I had to drive to Lapeer County THEY said it should be just fine. Well it was acting up on the way there. But on the way back it was making a noise that was kinda worrying me. Before I could even think twice I hear BAM!!!!!!!!!! I was driving 55 the speed limit on the highway, trying to get over to the shoulder of the rd. from the left lane. I get out of the truck and my drive shaft completely fell off my truck! I call my husband crying because I had my sister, my sisters twins, my 2 yr.old in the truck with me. He calls them (they say it is something I did) OK?? They refused to tow me home, so it cost $270.00 to get the truck back to them. They did refund me to tow money!

I talked to the guy WHO FIXED my truck 2 days before & he says I fixed your truck (he did not remember) then he says Oh i did fix your truck. I must have messed up, then he says he fixed it while he was on the phone??? Now I'm fuming! They were nice and apologetic! So we went on home and waited for them to now fix the drive shaft & the whole rear end now because it froze up!

This time I got smart and took pictures before I gave them my truck back! I get it back drive it down the rd. hop on the freeway & I can't even get it up to 50 mph because it feels like the wheels are gonna fall off! So I go back & the drive shaft wasn't all the way in...of course its slipping, slipping, slipping! LEAKING everywhere (trans fluid) Take it back....Get it back shill SHAKING, SLIPPING, LEAKING...Take it back again...same all thing everytime!!!!!! The transfer case is NOW cracked all over LEAKING fluid so they epoxy my transfer case to death! Moral of the story, they had it so many times (SO many chances to get it right) they REFUSED to fix it PERIOD! Oh and the last time I took it in they had changed their name (SAME OLD PEOPLE THOUGH) Now I refuse to drive it, my husband does and its MY TRUCK! Now we just add trans fluid every couple of days waiting for it to go out so I can take it somewhere else to get another TRANSMISSION put in it. Thanks to them I have leaks from the front to the back of the truck and all over my driveway. THANKS QUALITY TRANSMISSION FOR THE QUALITY WORK YOU DO!!! And you know who I am ;) Just so you know my truck today has just flipped 125,000 miles. Never towed anything in it ever since I bought it brand new. So don't go here and be careful buying a Dodge Ram!

Oh after they fixed the drive shaft I picked up my truck and my spare tire under the truck was replaced with a crappy old trailer tire. Never got that back even with pics!

wowreally2

07/07/2010

Overall
Wow

Im a single mom with 3 children. They have had my vehicle on the start of the 3rd week today. I cant get to the grocery store, drs office, i cant get to school. Every day i talk to them its another day b4 i get my car. Again this is going on 3 weeks now. And when i called chuck was not there. The woman that awnsered told me this is how she feeds her kids. Not to tell her to do her job. Very unprofessional. Considering i am unable to get to the store to feed my 3 kids or go to work myself.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/21/2011

This was an unfortunate situation where the shops hands were tied due to vehicle being driven to long after having a problem with the engine. The warranty company did not want to cover repairs stating this was customer abuse. We continued to work on behalf of the customer until we were finally given authorization to repair the vehicle. Otherwise the customer would have had to pay for the repairs.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
abctruck2

03/04/2010

Overall
THANK YOU SAYS IT ALL

JUST WANTED TO SAY THANK YOU FOR THE GREAT SERVICE AND REASONABLE PRICE TO GET MY CAR FIXED.

YOU WORKED WITH ME IN A WAY I KNOW NO ONE ELSE WOULD. IT'S WONDERFUL TO FIND SOMEONE YOU CAN TRUST. THANK YOU AGAIN



J.R. LEONARD

lin c

02/12/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
There name says it all

I've been having trouble with my car for sometime now. I was told it was my transmission & it needed to be replaced. I had 3 different estimates, but never felt very confident in there ability to fix my car. My boyfriend recommended Quality Transmissions on Telegraph Rd. He had recently had his car repaired there & was very happy with the service & price. Being female, I usually get talked down to and ripped off anytime I go to these places. I was treated with respect & felt very comfortable with everyone that worked there. The owner, Chuck took the time to explain to me what was wrong with my transmission, exactly what they were going to do to fix it & kindly answered all my questions. I'm thrilled with the results, Price was good & I couldn't be happier. Plus it was finished quickly & I didn't have to be without my car for a long period of time. I know it's weird to be excited about a Transmission shop, but I can honestly say that after all these years, I'm not dreading taking my car in for any type of repairs. They do everything there, so I know I will be back. I love this shop & everyone who works in it!
My boyfriend recommends you to everyone & so will I. After all, it was one of his co workers that recommended your shop to him. We are both very grateful. I've never written one of these before, but I'm very happy and had to express it.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

eldrytch

04/15/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Bad customer service

We took our car to them the day before Good Friday. As of today 4-15-2009 they still have not finished it. On Friday they said it would be done on Monday or Tuesday. Today is Wen. And still no car.
I was told last night at 4pm that it would be done. They said they would call me back. They never did. This caused me to lose my job.
I understand that things take time but if you tell someone that the job is going to be done, and then you should at least call them and tell them that it would not be ready.
They said that it would be done barring any complications. It seems like there was. They never called and said there were any problems.
I cannot say if the work is done right or not, because I still don't have my car.
As a person that has been in the customer service industry for most of their life I find that this is bad customer service.
When you have someone’s car for 6 days, regardless of it being a holiday or not, is just not acceptable.
I would not recommend to anyone that needs their car back soon.