In mybook® Services Collection (edit)

Added to your services collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your services collection.

General Info
We specilized in Dominican blowout and Doobie (Wrapping the hair). A Dominican blowout is a very good choice for when you want to grow out a perm or relaxer. Very little product is used during the blowout process which helps your hair maintain lots of movement and bounce. When a Dominican blowout is done right, the hair is shiny, smooth, bouncy, and feels very light. Benefits to our Dominican Hair Salon Benefit is the use of our natural hair products as well as the deep conditioning that every customer has on every visit. The price to go to our salon is also very competitive in comparison to traditional hair salons. You can get our famous doobie for $25 to $35 depending on the length of the hair and a relaxer for $60 to $70 depending on the length of the hair. The final benefit I'd like to share with you is that we have stylists THAT can make a head full of new growth straight. Hair comes out just as sikly and bouncy as if it were freshly relaxed!
BBB Rating
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Sat:
Extra Phones

(704) 345-2890

Payment method
all major credit cards, amex, carte blanche, company card, diners club, discover, jcb, mastercard, visa
Location
We are located In The Northern Plaza On Concord Parkway. We specialized in all types of hair.
Categories
Beauty Salons, Barbers, Hair Stylists

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Tiahvia' T.

04/17/2018

Overall
Atmosphere
Expertise
Service

I went in and they had a hard time understanding me at first but I finally I got seated. When (I don’t know who) started to wash my hair she was talking and got water all over my clothes. So I was soaking wet for most of the day. When she was blow drying my hair she burnt me multiple times! And was like you’re fine like umm. So I’m sitting there and as I was getting my hair blown I asked to make sure it was $30 and she said yes. So I’m like okay as she got done blow drying she told me my ends needed clipping. She has a degree so I’m like okay. NO NOT OKAY!! She cut uneven jags of hair it looked so stupid. And when I was done she churches me $40. Honestly not worth it. Go to Harrisburg way better service!

Danielle R.

09/14/2016

Overall
Atmosphere
Expertise
Service

Never let Anybody but Judy do your eye brows unless you want the shape completely messed up! Judy will take her time and focus on your specific eyebrows or hair no matter what.

Brittany M.

12/07/2015

Overall

I went in Monday around 10:30. I was told to go right to the back for my hair to be washed. I feel asleep the hair washing and conditioning process is sooo relaxing. I spoke briefly with the woman washing my hair who was very sweet. I told her I spoke Spanish and my dad is Dominican and shared brief conversation. After I was put in Ana's chair. She is incredible I did not get burned like most salons and she was very quick. She did not trim my ends but my hair came out soooo beautiful. It was bouncy soft and felt light. The shop is small but cozy and I enjoy listening to the ladies chatting in spanish and giggling to myself. I will be going back every few weeks for my wash and blow. I watched the other ladys Judy and Daisy do hair and I must say they are very talented as well. So glad I decided to come here new customer from here on out.

Overall
satisfied

I've been going to Dominican innovation for a long time. I've watch the girls are talented. No has ever cheated me and they're willing to work with you and meet your needs to make sure you leave happy. I go no where else to get my hair done...I'm satisfied when I leave and tip on the way out..no ones a cheat at the shop.

taylor_86

03/09/2013

Overall

2/16/13 was my first time trying this salon out, not to mention I drove two hours on a wing and a prayer. When I arrived at eleven they were pretty busy and nice to me. I am trying to go natural without the drama and they seemed to embrace that which made me feel like I was in NY, I lucked up and ended up with Marilyn doing my hair, I loved it and my blow out lasted a whole month which allows me to be able to atleast take a trip once every month for her to properly treat my hair. It felt so healthy and nice and she was very sweet and made me feel like a customer should, I have had so many people want to try her out- just the distance causes reluctance ...I loved the spanish atmosphere and it kinda made me feel like I was in New York all over again, see you soon, and Thanks Marilyn !! you kind of make it hard for me to want to try out any of the other girls because I am afraid my hair wont be the same!

alc1326

02/17/2013

Overall

My first visit was in 2010 Maria H. Did an AMAZING JOB then. She is so gentle with your hair. No hard blow drying and careful not to burn you with the heat of the dryer or iron. I recently relocated back to the Charlotte area and was struggling to find a stylist. I called DI and Marilyn met me at 7:30am to get me started. Maria H. finished me up and nothing has changed. My hair feels like silk. The deep conditioner (8) is a must. I believe I have found my permanent stylist. And I have been through 3 since October 2012.

sarbeth

01/19/2013

Overall

They need to get into the 20th century (not even the 21st century). Unorganized would be the understatement of the year! My daughter had a 2:00 appointment and it is 4:08 before someone even washed her hair! I know there is an expected wait when going to a Dominican Hair Salon but that is why we made the appointment AND still the TWO hair wait. Walk-ins were being helped and walked out prior to my daughter. When I packed up to walk out it was like a shock to them. They jumped right to my daughter. One stylist (the one she had the appointment with) told me they would finish her up right away. I looked back and she was in another person's chair. Luckily for them my daughter's hair was dripping wet and it is winter so I let them finish it up. I am still here and I can tell you once we walk through the doors to leave, we will NEVER walk back through them!



If I could give negative stars I would.

tnp_21

10/01/2012

Overall
VERY UPSET! I've been going t...

UPDATE: Marlyn promptly reached out and apologized for the damage done to my hair. As promised, she has started and continued with hair monitoring at no cost. I'm very please with Marlyn, her work, and passion for what she does. In just 3 short weeks, my hair looks and feels healthier. I still have a long way to go but I'm confident Marlyn can remedy the mishap. At the end of the monitoring period (if things continue to go well), my one star rating will definitely change to a 5 star rating. Thanks again, Marlyn!





VERY UPSET! I've been going to a Dominican Salon in Winston Salem since January 2012. We recently moved and after some research, Dominican Innovation Hair Salon seemed to be a good pick (even though it's a 45 minute drive from my home). I made an appointment with Marlyn but upon arrival, I was given the option (by Marlyn) to see another stylist so I wouldn't have to wait. Trusting her judgement, I agreed to let Maria C relax my hair. It took Maria 45 minutes (no exaggeration) to put a relaxer in my hair. I wasn't even upset about that, annoyed but not upset. I finally went through the process and got in her chair to be styled. Since I hadn't had a TRIM since my last relaxer (3 months ago) I decided to let her TRIM my hair. NO, not only did she cut several inches off but my hair is chopped all to pieces. It's jagged, uneven, and short. I'm so upset and have no idea what to do with my hair now. Pretty upset I paid $70 to come out with hair like this. If you go...DO NOT allow Maria C to do your hair. PERIOD!

claimed iconBusiness Response09/14/2012

Good Afternoon, I Really sorry for this problem. Please give me a call if you can so that I can take care of you and your Hair. I didn't want you to wait for a long time. That was the only reason I had someone else do your hair. I remembered asking you if you liked your are and you said yes it was great. I'm sorry you had such a bad experience but give me a call so that I can fixed this and make sure you have treatment in your hair and continuous hair monitoring with no charge to you for two months. Please call me at (704) 345-2890. I guarantee you free service from now weekly service from now until 11/14/2012. I'm extremely sorry, please let me corrected this. Thanks, Marlyn

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
alexsandria

09/20/2012

Overall
Radiantly Beautiful!!!

I've been a customer at Dominican Innovation(Concord) for almost 2 years. I am a walking billboard for what wonders they can do on your hair. My stylist is Judy and in my opinion she is the BEST!!! She's always on time, and I always leave with a smile on my face. Those days of sitting in salons all day long are over for me. My hair has never been healthier, or longer than it currently is. Im often asked by friends and even strangers who does my hair...i always respond the same way "Judy at Dominican Innovation". But overall i enjoy the entire staff...everyone is friendly and shares a common goal to ensure your satisfaction! The selfish part of me wants to keep Judy to myself, but it's not fair to the rest of you :)

vansa1

08/02/2012

Overall
I have been going to Dominican...

I have been going to Dominican Innovation for more than 3 years.

Marlyn is awesome, I keep my hair natural and it grows so fast and beautiful! Once I colored my hair myself and what a disaster I did, and Marlyn took care of it the NEXT DAY!!! Talk about fast and great service. She is amazing! I recommend anyone to go get their hair done, call & make an appointment with Marlyn and you will be happy!

The environment is so family oriented, the staff is great and you will feel comfortable...5 stars for me!!!



For those that were not happy, Call Marlyn the owner and she will take care of you. Sometimes it may be communicating what you really want, and if you are unhappy let them know then and there ...don't leave dis-satisfied. As a customer you want to be happy especially for what you are paying for. Again 5 stars for me!!!

h5alive

07/13/2012

Overall
I love Dominican Innovations! ...

I love Dominican Innovations! I started with them a year and a half ago. They are fast, courteous and great with my hair. My hair has grown at least 3-5 inches. My daughter also goes regularly and her hair is healthy and vibrant. No perm, no flat iron. Judy is the best and Maria is excellent as well.



I went in with damaged hair and high expectations - if you stick with them they will turn your hair around.



The family is always kind and accommodating...

melissia

07/07/2012

Overall
I have been going to Dominican...

I have been going to Dominican Innovations for about 6 months and the services has been great. My stylist Marlyn has transitioned my hair from damaged to a healthy head of hair. I highly recommended the salon and all of the stylist are great. As far as the negative comments, patrons should communicate exactly what type of service they want and their expectations.

nicole99rich

07/05/2012

Overall
I have been going to Dominican...

I have been going to Dominican Innovation for more than 3 years. I have been seen Marlyn the Owner of the shop since. She is an Excellent Beautician. She has help me transition from perm to natural. It has been a great transition. Marlyn is all about healthy hair, she always recommends product to make my hair healthy and stronger. I would recommend her to all my friends and family. I love going to the salon is a great atmosphere. Marlyn is also very flexible with my schedule; she normally works in the afternoon after 3:00 which works great with my daily schedule.

raqib.hood

07/04/2012

Overall
Hi my name is, Wendy and I jus...

Hi my name is, Wendy and I just want to send a big hello and thank you! Maria H. one of the stylist at Dominican innovations hair salon. Who I have chosen for my personal, stylists for her patients in care with her clients and their needs. For me it has been difficult, to find a good stylist that I was comfortable with when it comes down to my hair. But Maria H. makes you feel at ease with a warm smile, and her attentiveness and rendering good service with a smile. I would recommend others to her, and I have done so and they had nothing but positive things to say after the experience at the salon with her! Language and communications was no barrier, and did not affect the above-mentioned service. Thank you Maria H. I think you're the best, and the overall warmth of the salon I would say is infectious. Your client Wendy :) see you soon !!

ccowandrewery

06/15/2012

Overall
I love going here and having m...

I love going here and having my blowouts done. The first time I went I had gotten a blowout done and my ends trimmed by Yasmin and she did awesome and has my hair growing back quicker than ever. I love her, she does not burn me and she likes to have some small talk going which makes me feel better knowing that she wants to know who I am. I would highly recommend this place to any and everyone and especially recommend Yasmin (not saying the others are not just as great).

meishawilkes

03/29/2012

Overall
Bad first experience! My fi...

Bad first experience!



My first time coming here was on Tuesday and it was not a good experience even though I been there once with my friend and her experience was great! I went there to get a bob (first time ever cutting my hair) and the stylist ( who i later figured out don't even speak English) said she couldn't do it so I asked just to get my ends clipped. Well she ended up cutting more than my ends, it was uneven and gave me bangs which I did not ask for or even want. My back was to the mirror when she was cutting my hair so I didn't even notice all this til after the fact. The only thing that turned out good was the blow out she gave me it made my hair really soft and bouncy. I was very very disappointed and upset about everything else and ended up crying in the car. Worst first experience ever! I want to go back there but I'm nervous about it.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/15/2012

I'm very sorry that this happen. an you please call me. I believed I spoke to you and we fixed this. If not please call me at (704) 345-2890

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
mrs.snow

03/06/2012

Overall
I truly love going here I don'...

I truly love going here I don't get a chance to go quite as often as I'd would like because of my schedule.I can say the times I have went were great I see Judy she sees me right away and she is very fast.I usually get a blow out once I leave out my hair is just silky and easy to maintain.I will definatley refer this salon to many others I know.The atmosphere is great and everyone is friendly for me that is a big plus!!!

cancerfree312

01/11/2012

Overall
I really love this salon and w...

My Daughter had a bad experience..........I really love this salon and will probably go back, however my daughter had a bad experience. I as asked if her sylist could trim her hair but actually cut over 2.5 inches or more off her hair. After going back I found out the actual stylist does not even speak english so I am not sure if there was a misunderstanding when I was asked by the other sylist. My daughter has not been back since. I am trying to build her confidence back up to return because overall it is a quality salon, I jsut hate this happen to my daughter.

claimed iconBusiness Response02/03/2012

Hey sorry to hear this. Please when you come by let me speak to you. This is unacceptable at the Salon. Thanks, Marilyn

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
nurseejones

10/31/2011

Overall
Love the outcome!!! my hair LO...

Love the outcome!!! my hair LOVES Judy!!!! the others are great too!!! Hair feels great when I leave and very manageable!