In mybook® Home Collection (edit)

Added to your home collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Sponsored Links

Regular Hours

Payment method
visa, mastercard, all major credit cards, check
Scioto Trace, Northwest Columbus
Other Email

Apartments, Apartment Finder & Rental Service


No deals available. Claim this business to add deals.
Claim this business


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!


Absolutely Horrible. The original owners were a lot nicer but the company that has since purchased the property has been absolutely horrible. Sure they fixed the outside of the buildings but not the insides (Until after you moved out or agree to pay a significant rent increase). Do not expect any sort courtesy at all. Their deadlines for things like moving out and being notified of the price increase when you go to renew your lease is crazy. They didn't tell me what it was until the day before I had to renew my lease giving me in day to make a decision. I accidentally gave them the wrong address when I moved out and they called me 3 days prior to it going to collection to tell me the move out costs need to be paid in 3 days. And even though they were getting new carpet put in anyway they still charged me for damage to the carpet that they were paying to replace anyway. Sure, I understand it was my fault and if they were keeping the carpet I would understand but if your going to be replacing all the carpet regardless then why are you charging people for it? They also never repaired the roof that was damaged last year by a storm and also never fixed the door frame which had a gap at the top letting all the air conditioning out.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Rude, Rude, Rude

Sadly, I really did enjoy my 2.5 years of living at River Oaks and wish I could recommend this complex. The issues I had at move-in were a non-working AC (in August!) and getting an apartment that had pee stains from the previous owner's pet when I had SPECIFICALLY mentioned that I wanted a non-pet apartment.

One year later, I put a new washer/dryer in only to almost electrocute myself and my boyfriend, as the labels on the breaker box were MISLABELED.

Aside from those issues, I didn't have any other problems within my apartment. Dealing with the office staff, however, was only pleasant when I was there to pick up a package to get out of their way. The tone and demeanor with which the office staff speaks to its renters is highly condescending and rude. When I moved out, I was pro-rated for 10 days' worth of rent. I was given a very outrageous estimate for my rent ($500+). When asked for clarification of how she came up with that number, I was told, ""This is what the machine spit out at me, it's right."" I was called back 2 minutes later with a much lower, and much more accurate, pro-rated rent ($200s), without so much as an apology.

If the office manager was nice to her renters, I would totally recommend this complex. However, dealing with her has left such a bad taste in my mouth, that I have told my friends who are looking to move to look elsewhere. So sad.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Based on previous reviews, not much has changed...

I lived there for one year and couldn't take anymore. The office staff is horrible, in particular, this one girl who looks like she is still a student and yet her condescending tone and demeanor will instantly ruin your mood. The maintenance, although are very nice people, they do not get the work done properly. While I lived there, the rent was increased and the price for value was not worth it at all. Now to top it all off, I received a letter stating all the damages reported after I moved out. More than half the things on this list I had already called and talked to maintenance about during the time I lived there and maintenance told me I wouldn't get charged for the damaged. Ok, maybe I should not have trusted the maintenance guys to guarantee anything, but what am I supposed to do when I did not see the property owner/manager even once during the time I lived there?! I would suggest that you DO NOT LIVE HERE UNTIL YOU HEAR ABOUT SIGNIFICANT CHANGES!



Provided by Citysearch - 

In my profession, I often have to move from city to city. I have a lot of experience with leasing agencies, and I must tell you that my experience with River Oaks was by far the worst of these. During my stay at River Oaks I faced constant maintenance problems. These problems include zero water pressure, backed up toilets, broken air conditioning, broken dishwasher, and torn outside screens. I can't tell you how many times I woke up in the morning and was unable to take a shower because the water pressure (for reasons still unknown) had dropped to virtually nothing. As a matter of fact, most mornings I had to shower at my gym. On another occasion I returned from a business trip to find both toilets in my apartment backed up and overflowing. Aside from this problem, none of the other maintenance issues were ever addressed or properly repaired. My biggest disappointment with River Oaks occured after I moved out. It took over three months for the leasing agency to address my security deposit. When I finally received a letter from them it was to inform me that I actually owed them money. They had adjusted my rent (I was only on a four month lease) without informing me. After learning of this I advised friends of mine to call the leasing agency to see if the same thing had happened to them without their notice. It was not suprising to learn that many of them were now in the same situation I was. Of course the property manager had a whole string of lies to tell me when I called to complain. In the end the property manager simply threatened to turn me into the credit bureau for not paying my final bill. Since I have a little more space here, I will quickly mention the delapidated gym, dirty pool, and thoroughly disgusting pool of bacteria they call a hot tub. The only time I was foolish enough to use the hot tub I broke out in a rash almost immediately afterwards. In closing, River Oaks may be the worst place to rent in Cbus



Provided by Citysearch - 

I have lived in this community for almost 3 years and have seen the management do a 180. The old staff was a little ""slow"" but were nice and attampted to be helpful when they had a clue. The new staff however, most of all the rude, pretentious, self loving community manager, leave much to be desired. I imagine that you would get better service living in Section 8 housing than you do living in this ""Luxury"" community.

I once called in with a service request, only to have to call back again a week later to find out why the work hadn't been completed. Manager's reply ""Oh yeah, we lost the keys to your apartment, so we didn't do the work."" me ""did you think to call and tell me this?"" him ""uh, well, uh"".

The staff act as if they are doing you a favor and have no bussiness in the customer service industry. I doubt any of them could even cut it working for the goverment, and that's saying a lot. I have heard from others that have moved out that they will keep your security deposit and refuse to provide pictures or documentation of work that will need to be complete.

When I moved in I was promised one address that had been ""renovated"" (meaning flood damage repaired) with new carpet, only to show up on move in day and have the little leasing girl tell me my apartment wasn't ready, again, did she think to call? When apt the moved me into was not renovated, and I can't wait to see how they screw me when I move out.

Because of the close proximity to campus, this community is now an extension of campus. Would you like to see a group ""make-out session"", look out your windows on any given Friday/Saturday night during the summer to see an eye full in the hot tub! Love seeing used contraceptives and ciggarette butts among other things in your front yard.... this place is for you!

Avoid this place at all cost, if you can afford just a little more, go down the street.... trust me, I wish I had!

Sponsored Links
We just redesigned! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!