In mybook® Other Collection (edit)

Added to your other collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your other collection.

Sylvan Learning Center

Map & Directions
(37 Reviews)

4 N Park Dr Ste 500, Cockeysville, MD 21030

(800) 214-5264

Tomorrow: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Get started for only $95.

General Info
There's a moment when your child discovers the confidence to do more than she ever imagined. You can make it possible with Sylvan. See why more parents turn to Sylvan than any other tutor. We offer: * Customized Tutoring Designed for Your Child's Unique Needs * Individual Attention from Caring, Certified Teachers * The Convenience of In-Center or Live, Online Tutoring From Home *Confidence That Goes Well Beyond the Classroom

Regular Hours

Sylvan offers: Tutoring Services Math Tutoring Reading Tutoring Writing Tutoring Study Skills Homework Help Summer Camps College Prep Test Preparation SAT Preparation ACT Preparation Online Tutoring
Payment method
amex, check, debit, discover, financing available, mastercard, visa
Call ((866) 667-6870) for local store hours.
Educational Services, Tutoring


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Paula B.
Edited: 01/09/2017
Our daughter went the Sylvan L...

Our daughter went the Sylvan Learning Center in Southbury, CT when she was in 8th grade. At first she needed reading support and they advanced her reading level by 2 years. Then, with her Freshman year she went through the Sylvan Study Skills program. Amy became a completely new student. She learned how to prepare for each class, she became independent and most important, she had the confidence to do well in school.

I honestly believe without Sylvan at this point in her life she would not be graduating from college this year. I can't thank them enough. I ran into the owner, Peter, the other day and he still operates the center in Southbury. If you are reading this and are skeptical, go there and see for yourself. Or, call Peter. They can and will help to the best of their ability and if they can't they will tell you.

Barbara H.



Terrific staff! My grand-daughter is coming along real good. The staff has the patience an knowledge for her to succeed. She looks forward to going to Sylvan. Best decision this grandma made!

Shari V.



Great experience for my son. He went from F to C in one grading period. All he needed was one-on-one help!

Questionable billing practice's

Had my daughter go here for some help. I paid 60hrs upfront. At the end of that time the amount of tutoring she needed did not change yet they kept saying how much she is improving and how well she has done. Agreed to another month have in writing total is $1100. Go to pay for that month and they charged me $1300. Said I'm done no more this is a scam. Daughter did the two week notice which was $480/week. They tried to charge me $1200 for those two weeks. Was asked to leave when I questioned all this differences in quotes and what I was billed for.

Patricia C.



My son attended the Sylvan learning center in Crestwood Missouri. I want to cry when I think of all the money and time I wasted on this worthless program. The cost of his math program was $5000, but I thought, "if this will help him in the long run it will be worth it" I suppose it would have been-IF it had helped him. They showed me all these grafts of how he was progressing. I had to drive him there 3 or 4 times a week. He did not get one bit better in math and still hates it and struggles with it to this day. Don't fall for this. It is worthless.

YPMobile User



First of all, they lied to me on the phone about the pricing. I was told my child's tuition won't cost me more than $250 a month. What they omitted was that $250 is the monthly amount IF BROKEN INTO INSTALLMENTS. Then I faced the actual price - $72+ per hour, the minimum of 2 hours per week. If I bought less than 50 hours, it'd be $75 per hour. Compare this to about $50 for private tutoring in Brooklyn, NY. Throughout the 4 months of studying, my son has been complaining that it was a waste of time and that he was taught stuff a way below his actual level. There has been no improvement in his school grades. What pushed me to leave the appropriate reviews about Sylvan is that they refused to provide me with the tax id (EIN) number, so I've been unable to write off such a huge amount of money. You'll be better off finding a private tutor.




My initial contact with the Sylvan Coral Springs location was very pleasant. I spoke with Vanessa, she took my payment over the phone and let me know exactly where the facility was located. Vanessa explained that the individual evaluation for my son would be 3 - 3 and 1/2 hours long, to pack snacks and enjoy the plaza they were located in. When I arrived, I filled out paper work and my son was shortly taken back (that was at 10:00am) At 1:00pm I go back into the learning center to wait for what I assumed would only be a little while longer since 1:30pm was the projected longest he would be back there. 2:00pm I am still sitting with Kerri and Vanessa continuously looking at me, I call Kerri over to ask how much longer as now we have hit the 4 hour mark. She proceeds to tell me that "you son was being bad and misbehaving with another child that he was paired with, which delayed services and we need another hour to finish the evaluation." I asked why I wasn't called when my son was misbehaving, so that I could redirect him, and also why I paid for an individual evaluation for my son and he was paired with someone, I went on to say he is a 5 year old boy. Kerri's response blew me away, "Your son is 6 years old" So apparently she thinks I don't know how old my child is, no apologies were given for the lack of communication, I asked to speak with the director which conveniently was not in, then leading me back to Vanessa, who I scheduled the initial appointment with. I asked her why she told me 3 hours and she said "It's not my fault, I just say what I'm told." The staff is so poorly trained in simple common courtesy interactions, I would never trust them with my child's academic progress! The director was unapologetic and only kept saying she has never had a complaint about her staff!

Sherri Schriver


Provided by Citysearch - 
I got scammed, too

The same people owned the one in Longmont and I've lost over $8,000 for a school credit class my daughter didn't get credit for.

These people are scammers and Sylvan has a program that makes it condusive for these scammer type people to scam you. They advertise for them through a central website and make guarantess for their program, but when the franchisees screw you over, they claim no responsibility.

How can you guarantee something and then not actually guarantee it? Is it a well-we-sorta-guarantee-it-because-it-sounds-good-and-is-great-for-sales?

At this point in time, they changed their guarantee to raise your child's educational ability by one grade level in 36 hours. After the statement, they Now add : or we'll give you 12 hours free.

They got sued and had to refund $11,000 back to a client for her two kids, and I am assuming they changed the statement after that.

Want to know something scary? Apparently these particular franchisees (Bruce and Sherry Hassan of St. Augustine, FL) are also Officers/Owners of SBH Investments, LLC in St. Augustine FL. Mr. Hassan's name is listed as President of SBH Consulting in a few other states, including MA.

Withdraw your money and run, folks! They'll be vacationing in France with YOUR money, probably. They just used ours for some Florida fun.

Or maybe they used the money to set up the next scam.

Jonathan B.



Sylvan Learning Center is Great! Their prices can be competitive at times but it sure is worth it when you get the grades you always wanted!



Provided by Citysearch - 

The Boulder, Greely and Ft. Collins franchises of Sylvan were owned by H&S Educational Enterprises, Inc. which in turned was owned by Bruce Hassan, Sherry Hassan, and Kristin Smith.

In December of 2009 we prepaid $1800 to the Boulder operation to tutor our daughter. In May of 2010 we were notified by the center director that the center was closing and we were owed over $500. We were also told that Bruce had been “Vacationing” in Florida and drawing a “Large salary” from the company. Both the center director and Sylvan headquarters told us to contact Bruce at bruce@sylvan-fortcollins or 904.940.9084 for a refund. We did and of course never heard back.

9 News ran an article after interviewing Bruce saying “For customers of the Fort Collins, Greeley or Boulder Sylvan Learning centers who want a refund on pre-paid services, contact Bruce, Sherry Hassan or Kristen Smith at 332 Edge of Wood Road St. Augustine, FL 32092 or 904-940-9084. For more information call 1-800-514-1639 or visit www.tutoring.sylvanlearning”

We contacted their corporate office again a week later and after going through a lot of people, electronic menus and waiting for calls back we were finally told:

“Sylvan Learning, Inc. is a separate entity which licensed to Bruce Hassan, Sherry Hassan, and Kristin Smith the right to operate a Sylvan Learning Center. Sylvan did not, and will not, assume any of the Franchisee's liabilities. Therefore, we recommend that you direct refund inquiries to the Franchisees, their attorney, or your own private attorney.”

Shortly after this we received a notice that the company had filed for bankruptcy in Florida. As best as we can tell Sylvan is actually run by Educate Inc. 1001 Fleet St.
Baltimore, MD 21202 / 410-843-8000 /

It was interesting to note that the national web site guaranteed a full grade level improvement. It would be tough to do this if there is nobody to tutor the child. Not exactly the individual learning plan they promoted on their web site. In the end to get our daughter the educational help needed we had to hire a private tutor who seems to provide superior results at a lesser price.

It has been quite a poor experience working with Sylvan. If you chose to go this route it might be wise to do a pay as you go plan. Wiser still to avoid them altogether as when times are good they sell you on the national brand; but when it goes south… well then it seems that no one can step up and do the right thing.



Very helpful for our son's algebra.

Our son has become much more confident not only in algebra but in all of his other subjects as well. We feel very strongly that his time at Sylvan is making him much better prepared for school and beyond.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/02/2010

Hey Karen, Algebra is probably the number one math hang-up we hear about at the Puyallup Sylvan. We always say, if you have good social skills AND you are good at math, then you'll surely go far in life ; ) We're delighted to hear that algebra is now embraced in your household! All our best, Gail & Dave

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Granddaughter's reading improved - Thank you

Katy @ the Lakewood, WA branch has done very well to help my grandaughter with her reading. both the ability to sound out words more frequently before becoming frustrated, as well as reading aloud at home has become more of a joy rather than a chore. I feel that her ability to read better has improved her confidence and that she now reads store signs, street signs etc. for the fun of it. With the increase in the need at the first grade level to be able to read, question and solve problems in math has also improved. Thank you!

claimed iconBusiness Response05/19/2010

Hi Candace, We're thrilled that Katy is bringing out her inner reading diva! She is quite a gal and we are in awe of her new skills ; ) Thanks to her grandma (and our own wonderful Katy) she is getting a head start on 2nd grade! We appreciate the kind words -- all our best, Gail & Dave

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


I am a huge fan of Sylvan

I am a huge fan of Sylvan and the Olympia center has the most wonderful people. Cheree is making a huge difference in Seth's life and Peggy Sue and Stacia are wonderful. Can't say enough good things about this center!!! Shelly

claimed iconBusiness Response05/18/2010

Hi Shelly -- you make us {{blush}}! Thanks very much for your kind words about our staff -- we agree they are truly special folks and love what they do. We are very pleased that you are seeing a difference with your son and we thank you for your business. Cheers, Gail and Dave.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


My Son's teacher is great!

My Son's teacher is great! She is a great fit for him and he has learned so much in the 3 months we have been with Sylvan. We had an excellent report from his school teacher that indicated his testing scores have gone up by 44%! Susie Williams is also great to work with and has done a good job developing a program that works for our son.

claimed iconBusiness Response05/17/2010

Hi Jami, We are so pleased that you are having success at our Bonney Lake location! Your son is a real star and is doing great work. We are "over the moon" that the results are showing up at school in a big way and we know he'll finish this school year with a bang ; ) Thanks for taking the time to review our business, Gail and Dave Smith, Owners, Bonney Lake, WA Sylvan.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Thank You

My son was struggling in 7th grade math. The Sylvan Learning Center of Mattoon, IL taught him the pre algebra stuff I didn't remember. He is getting ready to finish school this year and is in Honors Math in the 8th grade. And he brought home A's in Math since starting Sylvan.




You shut down in Bentonville & Fayetteville with no notice & no refunds last year. Why is this ad still on here? How unprofessional can you get?

claimed iconBusiness Response01/19/2010

Hi Tony. Sylvan Learning, Inc., the franchisor, is saddened by these closings. As a franchise organization, unfortunately, on occasion a franchisee operator determines that he or she is unable to continue operating his or her neighborhood center. That is the case with the centers in Bentonville and Fayetteville. When a Sylvan Learning center closes, Sylvan Learning, Inc. and area franchisees work very hard to identify other educational options for the families within the community which has been served by the closed center. Families who have prepaid for services with the Bentonville or Fayetteville centers in Arkansas will have those prepayments honored through Sylvan Online. Parents should contact Sylvan Online Virtual Learning Center at 1-800-514-1639 to determine whether Sylvan Online is appropriate for their children. I’d be happy to help answer any questions you may have. I can be reached at 410-843-8928. – Jennifer

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.