In mybook® Car Collection (edit)

Added to your car collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Johnson's Automotive

Map & Directions
(10 Reviews)

301 N Calumet Rd, Chesterton, IN 46304

(219) 926-1900

Today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.

Regular Hours

Payment method
master card, visa
Tire Dealers, Auto Repair & Service, Automobile Parts & Supplies, Brake Repair, Automobile Accessories, Towing


No coupons available


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Article E.



This is a great old-school, small-town Shop. I like the fact that they work on everything from old Classics, to Hot-Rods, to Muscle Cars, and Newer Models ! :-)

Andrea M.
Edited: 08/28/2017

I went there today needed a good used tire great people
I had limited cash and they took care of me very happy will be back

Yellow P.



Bob Johnson and his crew are the most trustworthy bunch that I have met for a LONG time ! This Shop provides great personalized service that is uncommon these days. This is a long-time local business and is highly recommended.

Shelley M.



Terrible experience! Very unprofessional! I will never go back there and would recommend you take your business somewhere where it is appreciated!

Ralph W.



Used tires, OK. But anything else, forget it. There's tires stacked up all over the place. The owners keep two yip dogs around that make the place smell like a kennel with tires. The shop is the dirtiest I've ever seen.

Jai M.



My son took his vehicle in for a rebuild of the motors top end due to a faulty lifter. The cost of the repair was more than the estimate. The motor lasted 45 days then blew the head gasket. The response from the Johnson's staff was an explanation of an important step they failed to perform during the rebuild that resulted in the failure. No refund,no repairs,not their problem. They only warranty a motor for 30 days. I would NOT even recommend getting free air for your tires here. Terrible customer service, awful mechanic work, and failure to back their product. I only gave them 1 star because no stars was not an option.




I took my old car in for brake repairs and Bob advised me that is was going to cost me over $2000. Then he advised me that my car had other problems that were going to need to be repaired and that my car was very old and that my money would probably be better spent getting a newer used car. I followed his advise and did not put any more money into that old car. This garage is a very honest place to deal with. He could have taken my money and had me coming back repeatedly taking my money on a car that wasn't worth it. Thank you Bob for your honesty and great service.

Sharon R.



This place gives great service. Last fall when BP sold bad gas they came to my house to get my car started for me and when I got my car to their garage they checked it out on a computer and advised me that I was going to need to take it to the dealership. They did not charge me a dime.



I had a leak under the hood of...

I had a leak under the hood of my ford Taurus! So Bob the owner says O leave your vehicle here and I will get around to it tomorrow... Ugh...... being a single Mother and NOT knowing much about vehicles I said I better get er done because I was worried. Day 2.... I call him he says O your car is ready! I asked what was wrong with my car and how much is the bill? "$230.00 dollars". I asked for WHAT? come on.. I didn't authorize anything nothing I asked him to call me before he did any kind of work on my car at all. O now my car is leaking again now what? O they didn't answer the telephone at 4:30 p.m.? um...... I would never ever go there again and i still have a leak under the hood! WTF



Provided by Citysearch - 

I would strongly recommend NOT ever taking a car to this place. They replaced a part that I knew needed to be replaced in addition to other work. I offered to let them do the extra work if they gave me a good price and so I left the car with them overnight until they could get a quote. I finally called them late the next morning(they never called me) and the mechanic said he had put the old part on just to see if the problem was still there? Anyway, I told him I didn't want the old part on and he told me they wouldn't do the other work(it was out of their ability to do) but he would put back on the new part before I got there to get the car(I had already paid for the work). When I arrived they had a bill waiting for it being done again!!! No lie. When I complained the owner freaked out(because somone didn't want to pay for the same job twice) and told me I would never get my car back, who was I to complain in their store?!?!?! I had to call the Chesterton Police Dept. to come and oversee the exchange. I am currently having the BBB and Attorney General look into the matter. Whatever you do, don't use these guys. Total crooks!