In mybook® Pets Collection (edit)

Added to your pets collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Quality Veterinary Medical Care, Professional Compassionate Staff , Family Friendly Atmosphere

Serving Charlotte and the Surrounding Areas

BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.

Regular Hours


  • Climate Controlled
  • Climate Controlled Boarding
  • Food
  • Pet Food
  • Veterinary Supplies
Payment method
mastercard, discover, amex, visa
Echo Hills
Other Email

Social Links
Pet Services, Veterinarians, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Pet Stores, Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals, Kennels, Veterinarian Emergency Services
Other Information

Parking: Lot

Specialties: Mammals




Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!



I recheck everything when it c...

I recheck everything when it comes to my girls. Dr. Widay is great. Dr. Davis, not so much.



My family and I have been usin...

My family and I have been using this animal hospital since 2008. The staff is wonderful and the vets are the best. They have 2 late nights so we can come in after work if need be. The prices are within reason and a little lower in comparison to some other vets we have tried in the past. Most important, you call tell that the entire staff really cares about the animals. They also have a boarding kennel right beside the hospital. We also love their Facebook page posts!



Provided by Citysearch - 

My cats have gone to MRAH since their stray mother had them outside our apartment seven years ago. When we brought the litter in, they were all tested for feline leukemia and AIDS (momma kitty tested positive but the kittens were all negative). These were very expensive tests, especially for cats we planned to place. The doctors at MRAH gave us a discount since we rescued the kittens and were fostering them until we could find them homes. Today, we still have three of the five kittens and a relative has the very healthy and happy mom cat. Over the years we have had varying degrees of costly vet trips, from annual checkups and vaccinations to life-threatening illnesses. The staff has always been kind, accommodating, and willing to work with us on the bill. Yes, it can get expensive, but I know that they are very thorough in their treatment. Now we face new challenges as we move to Raleigh. Finding a new vet that is as great as MRAH is one of the biggest ones.



Provided by Citysearch - 
MRAH Response to Money Hungry

It is hard to address a complaint that is so complex and seemingly personal in nature. One only needs to look around at all the small businesses that have closed to understand that the current economic situation we are facing is real. Regarding the ""sweet vet"" no longer here due to the economy, she was an associate veterinarian who happened to do acupuncture in addition to regular services. Regarding the ""fishy"" comment. Monroe Road Animal Hospital has not ""hired a new one"". We currently have an independant acupuncture veterinarian who uses our facility once a week to perform acupuncture on patients for clients who choose that form of treatment for their pets. At Monroe Road Hospital we make recommendations to our clients, it is ultimatley up to the client to choose what they want for their pet. We understand that each pet owners needs differ and make every effort to accomodate each need and budget. We sincerely apologize if this was construed as being pushy or ""money hungry."" Regarding 3 year shot rotations, we have many clients with older pets who are on this schedule and are happy to accomodate, however we do like to educate our clients on the pros and cons, as well as the cost effectivness of 3 year rotations. Regarding the stray program, Monroe Road Animal Hospital has had an active stray program for over 20 years that has placed thousands of animals that would have been euthanized otherwise. Unfortunately our program can only hold so many animals at one time. Once we are full we must place the animals we have before accepting more into the program. We do not keep pets from clients that cannot pay their bills. This would be a loose loose situation, as we would be forced to house, feed and supply medical care indefinately for these pets. Regarding our receptionists or any other staff members: We pride ourselves as having a professional and friendly staff. Any issues a client may have regardng an empployee at this animal hospital are taken very seriously and acted on immediately if that client brings their concern to the management of this facility. However, under these circumstances it is very difficult to know the real nature of the complaint, therefore it is complicated to resolve such issues. We regret that your experience here was less than perfect, as we do strive for perfection with every visit. We also invite you to contact us directly if you are interested in resolving this issue.



Provided by Citysearch - 
Money Hungry

Everytime I've been to this hospital I've been sadly disappointed (needless to say I will not be returning for future disappointment.)

First off, they are great over the phone to make appointments or get information on prices, but once you get there the receptionist is rude. The one I seem to get ""stuck with"" (Deliah) is always short, rude, and talks down to everyone she speaks with.

I've never had a problem with the nurses, they are always friendly, somewhat pushy but I guess you have to expect that working for money hungry bosses.

There used to be a really sweet vet there named Dr. Cramer, but she is no longer there due to ""the economy"" but something is fishy about that because she was their accupuncture vet and right after she left they hired a new one. hmmmm

The other two vets want to push everything under the sun on you no matter what. My senior dog was in for routine shots and they wanted me to do $200 worth of bloodwork ""just becasue of his age."" He is healthy! Not overweight, not too skinny, and barely considered a senior. They also made me feel bad for saying I didn't want to do the bloodwork and also for asking about doing a three year rotation on the yearly shots (which i read the AVMA even recommends.)

I've even been checking out upfront and heard them threaten to keep a lady's cat because she didn't want to pay her bill because she was quoted one price but was charged a lot more. I think that's illegal.

The adoption/stray program is a joke too. I had two 6 week old kittens that I was going to give a large donation for and they wouldn't take them. Guess who has two new cats because I couldn't find a home for them

Love this place

I dont agree with the other crappy review here. Ive known the place for years and I completely trust them with my baby.

claimed iconBusiness Response02/19/2011

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to continuing to care for your pets in the future:)

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Provided by Citysearch - 
nickel & dime ripoff!

My cat was throwing up and I went there to see if her teeth were decayed.
They said to prepare for sadation for that so it would be $45 plus $65. By the time she was sleeping, the bill had reached $415 and they were still adding things on at that point.
I didn't have alot of choices at the point where my cat was unconcious on the table and they were making me feel like a heel if I denied her the treatments they were pushing.
I was fighting tears because I was already $200 into my household utility money and the vet was guilting me, no, hard court pressing me into a rabies shot.
She was saying I was illegal if I didn't do it and I didn't have the money .
But on the bill she had added $20.60 for pepsid (for upset stomach) which you can buy at the store.
I felt they were in it to pad their pockets and had no concern for my inability to pay for unneeded addons.
That vet, Widay looked at me like trash for not giving my cat the rabies shot.
All she had to do was sit down with me prior to the time my cat was sleeping on the table and say I needed it and reset the priorities for the other erronious charges.
In the end, my cat tested normal on everything and I only went there so they could look in her mouth.
I paid $357. and today I'm trying to sort out how to pay my bills.
I love my cat and I try to do right by her.