In mybook® Shopping Collection (edit)

Added to your shopping collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your shopping collection.

North River Outfitter

Map & Directions
(33 Reviews)

126 Charles St, Boston, MA 02114

(855) 588-5155

CLOSED NOW
Today: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Tomorrow: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Hours

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Phone: (617) 742-0082

Phone: (617) 742-0089

Neighborhood
Beacon Hill
Categories
Clothing Stores, Women's Clothing

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

bootmachine
Edited: 06/02/2017
Overall
Had the worst online shopping ...

Had the worst online shopping experience ever with NRO, and trust me, I thought I've experienced it all prior to this. There are eBay sellers with less than 70% feedback who have better customer service and a more efficient logistics system than this place.

Here's what happened: I ordered an item from their site, got a tracking number a week later after inquiring about my order. The tracking number was not valid. I kept emailing NRO for the next 3 weeks, never got a response. I finally submitted a dispute with my bank and they finally responded and said UPS lost the package. This could not be true because the tracking number said the package was not even picked up by UPS.

Save yourself the trouble and shop somewhere else.

martin1895
Edited: 06/02/2017
Overall

Do not order from Northriveroutfitter.com. I can't speak to their performance as a retail store front, but as an online retailer they fail on almost every level except having a good price. It is not worth saving a couple dollars to deal with the poor customer service.

Similar to other customers, I had a troubling experience. It began when I chose to order from this site because the jacket I wanted was about $10 cheaper than other sites. I ordered the jacket and 1.5 weeks later it still hadn't arrived. I called customer service multiple times and left messages but didn't get any response. I emailed multiple times and didn't get any response. At this point, the online tracking link they sent said "awaiting shipment" but didn't provide any additional details on whether the item was out of stock, an estimated ship date, etc. The jacket finally arrived but didn't fit as advertised, so I attempted to return it using the return procedures provided. I followed the steps to getting an RMA number, and then paid to overnight the jacket back because they have a very tight return policy. When my package arrived at the address they provided there was apparently no one there to receive it. I called and emailed again to find out how to get this package picked up, and again got no response. Ultimately the jacket got sent back to me. I'm now stuck with this item which cost about $400 and also got to pay a now unnecessary overnight shipping charge.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/27/2013

Dear customer, we always have someone accepting packages 10-7pm from UPS. We get packages daily, and the issue may have been a wrong address. Regardless, our general manager is always available at gm@northriveroutfitter.com, and please don't hesitate to communicate any questions or concerns you may have. Best Regards, North River Outfitter

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Joe M.

03/09/2017

Overall
Selection
Service

Great selection and first class service. Highly recommend. I visited their store on Charles Street and loved it.

Amber W.

01/26/2017

Overall

This is the worst company ever AND the worst customer service ever. How has the Better Business Bureau not been contacted yet?! That is what my next step will be. I placed an order almost TWO MONTHS ago and for weeks the status of my order said "awaiting shipment," now the status says "disputed." Customer Service is IMPOSSIBLE to reach - no one ever answers when you call, no one makes a return call after a message is left, no one responds to e-mails after they are sent. HOW IS THIS PLACE STILL IN BUSINESS?!!? They take money and don't send products?! I called the Boston store and the employee there said they don't even get to speak to online customer service, they have to send an e-mail to. Do yourself a favor and DON'T make any purchases from this store.

Rick R.

07/26/2016

Overall

They've taken my money online, but never shipped my order. A year has gone by. No response to email or phone inquiries.

Annie C.

07/22/2016

Overall
Selection
Service

If I could give zero stars - I would. We placed an order for a belt last month and still haven't received it. A few weeks ago, we spoke with an NRO rep. Told them we were "awaiting shipment" on an item (as per the email we received), and without even pulling up our order history, they said another belt would be drop-shipped from the manufacturer and received in 2 days. Needless to say - that never happened. Since then, I have called, emailed, left messages and have attempted chat sessions (not surprisingly, their chat option never works). Incredibly frustrating. However, they have managed to charge our card for the merchandise we never received. Oh, and if you call the number next to the charge on the credit card - you're connected with one of their retail stores - but they're very quick to tell you that they can't help you. So, if you're even considering placing an order with this company - forget it. Now, please excuse me while I go and dispute the NRO charge to my credit card...

Deborah B.

02/26/2016

Overall

Worst online shopping experience ever! Emails go unresponsive, online chat never works, nobody answers phone.

Mark F.

01/28/2016

Overall

ZERO STARS: I placed an order online for merchandise that was "in stock". NRO had charged my credit card at the time of purchase and showed the status as "awaiting shipment". I sent two messages to their customer service department requesting a status without any reply. Called today and spoke to some rude employee (who I believe works out of his mom's basement) and he notified me that the item was on backorder and he didn't know when it would be available. This was eight (8) days after placing the initial order!!! He then became an ignorant buffoon (I'm keeping it G-Rated) and I told him to cancel the order and he said "gladly". STAY AWAY FROM THESE SLEAZEBAGS AT ALL COST

Jim L.

04/29/2014

Overall

The only time I ever had to call my credit card company to file a claim to get my money back ever was with the on-line transaction with NRO.



NRO sent me the wrong item then expected me to pay the shipping fee for the return. Then their customer service representative accuses me saying I ordered wrong even though the order receipt clearly stated what I ordered. When finally they paid for the shipping return label, I returned the item and no refund. After 1 week I called and then NRO said they agreed to pay for the shipping return because I agreed that I would exchange for the correct item! I did not agree to this, I have returned the their mis-sent item, and still no refund. Then they said if I do not agree for the exchange then they will deduct the return shipping fee (from the order they messed up on originally) from my refund!



Thank you NRO for being the worst customer experience experience ever and thank you for being the first ever credit card claim I ever filed.

zachem

09/24/2013

Overall

At NRO there are often more options for Barbour than at the Barbour store. The best thing is that I can do all of my shopping in one locale on Charles Street without having to deal with the tourists and students on Newbury. They've expanded and I always find gifts for my sister's kids at NRO Kids and now I can get all of my gear at NRO Sport across the street. The ladies that work in the stores are always really helpful.

Maggie O.

09/24/2013

Overall

I have been to their store on Nantucket and decided to check out the website because I heard they have tons of outerwear. The selection was amazing, I got myself a new Barbour and I'm going to back to check out the ski stuff. My jacket came quickly, and they helped with sizing. So many brands!

mnnice11

05/02/2013

Overall

North River Outfitter was awesome. Got my order perfect, shipped it quickly, and provided tracking information. Couldn't have asked for better service and quality. I will definitely order online from North River Outfitter again.

jennyt87

03/15/2013

Overall

Worth the wait. I ordered a winter jacket on sale, and it took a week to ship, but i got it over 50% off. would definitely shop here again.

jgm1980

03/15/2013

Overall

Had a great experience...unlike others? Got my Alden's super fast and they shipped free and even threw in free shoe trees without asking! I would certainly recommend and be back for more!!

toothpuller

03/06/2013

Overall

Wow! I have never had a more disappointing customer service experience. I ordered a $650 pair of shoes almost a year ago and have yet to see them let alone have any contact from customer support despite repeated attempts at phone calls, emails and online chat. I am not even sure that this company is legitimate. I order hundreds of items a year online and have never had an experience like this! Avoid this company at all costs! In all of my purchases, I have never felt compelled to even take the time to get online and write a review. I am also reporting them to the Better Business Bureau as I have been ignored on multiple attempts at contact and they have my money and won't give it back.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/14/2013

Dear customer, we are sorry you have had such a disappointing experience. We are a legitimate business, and we would like to answer your questions and make sure you receive the product you purchased. Our general manager is always available at gm@northriveroutfitter.com, and please don't hesitate to communicate with any questions or concerns you may have. Best Regards, North River Outfitter

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
zenitramekim

02/12/2013

Overall

Horrible customer service...Vague. Ordered something two weeks ago and have heard nothing after initial confirmation after repeated attempts to contact via email and "phone number" which always goes to voice mail. AVOID AVOID AVOID

claimed iconBusiness Response03/14/2013

Dear Unsatisfied Customer, We apologize for the previous service you received from our customer service team. We have recently hired additional staff. In addition, we are in the process of changing our phone and answering system to help you, the customer, as effectively as possible. Our general manager is always available at gm@northriveroutfitter.com, and please don't hesitate to communicate any questions or concerns you may have. Best Regards, North River Outfitter

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
ameliainct

01/03/2013

Overall
Would award zero stars if I c...

Would award zero stars if I could. Disgusting customer service. Purchased a patagonia pullover well over a month ago, was charged for said item shortly thereafter, and have yet to receive it, or even so much as a shipping notification. Calls to both the store and online customer service line have resulted in repeated re-routing to voicemail, and to top it all of, when I posted the above on their facebook page, they deleted it ! Now I am out my $120-dollar item and cannot reach anyone to even complain or demand a refund !

angiebryson

12/11/2012

Overall
I ordered and paid for Tecnica...

I ordered and paid for Tecnica Montana boots at the beginning of Sept. 2012. It is now Dec. 2012 and still no boots. They are now not responding to e-mails. I live in Scotland so can't visit the store. My advice is not to deal with this store and certainly don't pay in advance!!

kenbru

12/07/2012

Overall
Very Deceptive Transaction -- ...

Very Deceptive Transaction -- their website shows "new arrivals" for Alden shoes. So I placed an order and NRO processed payment. Only after inquiring several days later did they say the shoes aren't even in stock and it would be 10 week wait. Nowhere in the ordering process did they reveal they'd be holding my money for several months. When I demanded a full refund, they replied they were sorry I was confused by the ordering process and shifted blame to delays in Alden's production. I will be writing Alden re this retailer and happily point out how NRO shifted blame to Alden's production. There are more capable retailers out there.