In mybook® Services Collection (edit)

Added to your services collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your services collection.

Kenneth Clayton Salon

Map & Directions
(69 Reviews)

3411 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243

(205) 408-8744

Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

I believe roots are great for flowers not your hair.

General Info
From a natural look to heart-stopping makeovers, I specialize in color, color correction, foil highlights/lowlights, block color and multi-dimensional foils. Relax in my professional salon while I create a precision cut and customized color just for you.
Regular Hours
Tue - Thu:
Avachi, L'oreal Professional colors Dialight and Majirel, Matrix, Redken color camo for men, Tressa Watercolors
Payment method
amex, discover, visa, all major credit cards, mastercard, debit
I'm located in Salon Suites in the Colonnade location, Room 6. Salon Suites is located to the right of Black Market Bar and Grill.

Convenient Location,Extended Service Hours,Competitive Pricing,Relaxed Atmosphere,


Cheri Tate-Howell is a Master Cosmetologist that specializes in color and color correction.

I'm a Master Cosmetologist with 20 years of hair experiences.
Beauty Salons


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!



Great experience

I purchased a groupon before I read reviews and then got really nervous about my appt because of some of the reviews. My stylist was Arlese and she did a great job! She did exactly what I asked for and I love my hair color and cut. I also have naturally curly hair but wear it straight most of the time and she was able to straighten without using a straightener so it still has body. I love it!!



Never again

I bought their Living Social deal in hopes of finding a stylist/salon I could use on a regular basis. I spent extra for the highlights package so I could look good for our vacation. What a disaster. They were not very accommodating with appointment times and I spoke to the answering machine more than I did a person. Then the woman who did my hair did a horrible job on the cut- she didn't even ask how much to take off or what style I wanted. The highlights were done so poorly you couldn't even tell it was highlighted! It was so chunky, it looked like I bleached my hair. Then I was hustled out the door fast because apparently they'd overbooked. I felt like I was an imposition because I used a coupon. No thank you, no request for repeat business, heck the stylist didn't even ask my name! Poorly done and if you don't want new business, DON'T run a Living Social deal.

claimed iconBusiness Response12/10/2011

I'm very sorry your hair wasn't what you wanted. I was completely unaware of this situation. We can only offer appointment times that are open. We do stay late Tues.-Thurs. to accommodate clients. We don't overbook, we pride ourselves on taking our time with each client, from consultation to blow dry. That's why sometimes were not able to answer the phone but, we will call you back. We promise. I apologize if you felt rushed or like an imposition because we are always ready to help new clients. No matter where you have your hair done if your ever not satisfied please make sure to let your stylist or the management know what your concerns are. We cannot help you if we don't know that there's a problem. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Whether they're good or bad we want honesty.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


I bought a living social deal ...

I bought a living social deal for highlights and a cut. The cut was fine. The highlights were the worst I have ever had. They were chunky and predictable. The worst part was that the girl that did them didn't get the color all the way to the root of my hair and I ended up leaving the salon looking like I needed to have my highlights redone. I was furious. This had to be done out of inexperience or purposefully done to get me back to the salon faster to spend more money. Either way, I had to find another salon to fix this and will NEVER go back to Kenneth Clayton ever again.

claimed iconBusiness Response10/19/2011

Our goal is to always make sure the client is completely satisfied with their service. I'm very sorry you're service wasn't what you wanted. Please understand I'm unable to correct a problem if I'm unaware of it. I really wish you would've allowed us to address your concerns. I would've made sure you were happy. Again, I'm very sorry. Thank you for your review.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


I tried to color my own hair a...

I tried to color my own hair and it did not turn out well. I went in the Salon upset but left feeling wonderful. Dana was able to fix my hair looks awesome! Dana listens and knows exactly what to do. She has an excellent work ethic and I am extremely pleased with my hair. It is such a relaxing and peaceful experience to come to this salon. Both Dana and Cheri are very accommodating and professional. I highly recommend this salon.



Love My Color!

I went to Kenneth Clayton Salon for the first time after being referred by a friend. Boy am I glad I did! Cherie did an amazing job on my color. I have fine dark brown hair, but I like to have some foils for added dimension and texture. At other salons, no matter how many times I beg for highlights that are NOT blonde, I end up with blonde. I do understand that over time all color will fade, but let me tell you....whatever Cherie did to my hair, it was AMAZING. It was exactly what I have always wanted it to look like. And after almost 4 months, it did not fade out to blonde. Cherie was very professional and walked me thorough every step of the process to make sure I was comfortable with our decisions. I would recommend KCS to anyone looking for a great salon experience.



Dana is the lady to see!

I bought a living social deal for KCS and I'm very glad I did. Dana listened to everything I said and my hair turned out absolutely perfect. I got highlights, a cut and a wax . It was just amazing. I'll definitely be going back to see her.



Complete disaster:(

I went to Kenneth Clayton salon, after receiving a living social deal which cost me 65.00 the stylist name was Cheri. Highlights was included in the deal, she told me I would need coloring or my hair wouldn't look right , so I said, ok, this ended up costing me another $90.00. I told her I wanted to keep my length, she cut my hair way too short, the highlights looked awful to say the least, I told her at the end I wasn't happy with it at all! She hurried me out the door her next appt was there:( it was the worst experience I have ever had:(

claimed iconBusiness Response02/23/2011

I cannot express how sorry I am that you were not satisfied with your hair. We absolutely want each client to be happy with their final outcome. We ALWAYS stand behind our services. If I'm remembering correctly you had previously used box color (Dark Brown Permanent color) numerous times on your hair prior to coming to us. The reason we needed to do a 2nd color for your foil is because I didn't want you to look striped with a very dark brown base and a 1 color highlight. We had no choice but to tone/gloss the highlight because it's impossible to achieve the color we discussed in one step because of the dark brown (box color) base color we were starting with. There was a charge for the second foil color and the toner/gloss. If there are going to be extra charges we ALWAYS explain them during the consultation, prior to service. We ask "Is this what you want to do?" The final decision is yours. Clients are consulted each time they come in not just the first time. We discuss ideas and or concerns, if any, about the condition of your hair and the final outcome wanted. Many times one visit cannot correct color that has been applied many times, especially box color. It usually takes 3 full foils to completely correct the current color, if correction is needed or wanted. We would never make you leave after expressing your displeasure about your service. I'm very sorry you felt rushed out the door. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to change/correct your current color. This would be at no charge. Again, I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with your service. We strive to understand, through a complete and through consultation, the needs and wants of each client. We will in the future make sure communication is clear for both parties. Thank you for your review.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.



I got a fabulous new do from KCS. The stylist really understood what I was going for, and also threw in some creative tips of her own. I'll definitely be returning to KCS next time I need to get my roots done.



Lovin' my color

I had never put any type of color or highligts in my hair even though I had gray because I liked my natural color and highlights...if I could just get the gray out. I went to see Kylie at Kenneth Clayton and told her my fears of color; I was terrified but getting desperate. She spent time with me examining my hair and talking about colors, then I made the plunge -permanent color with highligts added in to "copy" my natural look but get the gray out. She did a fabulous job, so fabulous that my husband of 20 years and my mother and my son did not notice; only my daughter and she said I looked 10 years younger! Exactly what I gray, same color!! I'm thrilled!!! Thanks Kylie!



Wonderful Experience!

I had not been to a salon in over a year after a disappointing experience with another Birmingham hairdresser when I made my appointment at Kenneth Clayton. When I told Cherie about my reservations, she wanted to know immediately what had displeased me at the other salon, and assured me that she and her stylists would listen to all my wishes and try to give me exactly what I wanted. (She even gave me directions when my GPS abandoned me!) She and my wonderful stylist, Kylie, listened to every desire I had for my new look, and made sure I was happy with each step before proceeding. I was completely relaxed, my hair turned out gorgeous, and even the cost of my visit turned out to be far less than I had expected! I can't wait to go back!



I'll be back

After reading all the reviews, I knew this was where I needed to go. I was right! I went in with hair I just wasn't happy with and left thrilled. Cherie fixed my color - amazing! Seriously I went from drab to fabulous. She also gave me a great style that is easy and looks great. I couldn't ask for anything more. I never do this but I went ahead and booked for my next appointment. I definitely will be back.



Luv, Luv, Luv service from Katie!

Katie, you make me proud to wear your talents on a daily basis. You gave me a new style and I can actually style it the same way you do, maybe not as good, but close. It is a versitle cut that can be worn in different styles, for example : it can be worn up, flat ironed or an updated buffont style. The glaze is amazing, I luv the shine and I get a lot of compliments. I will always return to you Katie, you are my stylist.

Thank you for making my hair look good and updated.





I moved here from Anniston and was having a hard time finding a good place and was driving back to Anniston to get my hair done until I found Cheri. She is wonderful! She takes care of you from start to finish no shampoo girls or tech! Professional all the way!!! She is a expert in color and she makes you feel comfort and special!!!! I recommend this shop and Cheri to everybody!!



Excellent Personal Touch

I've known Cheri since she worked at Studio21 and she has always provide excellent customer services with a personal touch.

It is nice to go to a high quality salon and get the latest expertise in hair color and cuts but still have that individual attention and care.

I have recommended Kenneth Clayton to several who have complimented on my hair style and provided business cards to Cheri's salon.

Kenneth Clayton is true to their results.



Great Salon

I moved to Birmingham two years ago and bopped around from salon to salon until I found this one. Cherie is great and always has good input. She is willing to work with my aversion to using products and never pushes anything on me. The rates are reasonable and it's a very pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it.



Relaxing Experience

Kenneth Clayton Salon is a wonderful place to experience. Cheri is a wonderful stylist and colorist who really

cares about you being satisfied. She tries to understand what you like and want. From the array of soft drinks

and coffee to even a snack and a sofa you can nap on, this salon is great! Cheri has been doing my hair for about

5 - 6 years now and I am very happy! They also have heated towels to wrap around your neck after your shampoo and

she does a fantastic eyebrow wax! The salon is quite and relaxing and you are made to feel at home.



Cheri is great!

Cheri does a GREAT job on color and cuts! I get compliments all the time!!!



Cheri knows HAIR!

Cheri knows hair!! I have my hair highlighted and trimmed by Cheri and always get compliments (even strangers)! Nice relaxed atmosphere.



Truly exceptional!

This salon really aims to pamper you - from heated towels to fully stocked mini-frig to gourmet coffee!

This was my first visit to KCS and it was very enjoyable. All of the employees are friendly and helpful. You are made to feel right at home the minute you walk in.

Even tho I wasn't delighted with the hair color, I was delighted with the condition of my hair after coloring. I know it takes a few visits for a new beautician to get a color down pat. I plan to visit again and again.




My whole family goes to Kenneth Clayton Salon. Cherri is a very talented stylist and colorist; she gives her honest oppenion and won't steer you wrong when trying something new. The customer service is exceptional; my appointment time has never been double booked and I always feel that I'm seen as the most important individual during my appointment. The salon is exceptionally clean and inviting with overstuffed couches in the waiting area. I've been going to Cherri for ten years now and have never been displeased!