In mybook® Car Collection (edit)

Added to your car collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Mark's Body Shop

Map & Directions
(4 Reviews)

4025 Mortimer Ave, Baltimore, MD 21215

(410) 358-5155

Today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

BBB Rating
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.

Regular Hours

acura, bmw, jeep, volkswagen
Payment method
all major credit cards, amex, cash, check, master card, visa
Northwestern Baltimore, Glen
Automobile Body Repairing & Painting, Auto Repair & Service


Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Ashley E.



I had my VW Beetle repaired at Marks Auto Body after a pretty bad accident on 295. They really helped restore my car to it's original state and really did a great job.

Leona C.



DO NOT go to Mark's Auto Body unless you don't mind making him wealthy by overcharging clients on insurance claims. He consistently charges beyond industry standard rates and plays it off as the insurance companies ripping you off. Recently had a no-fault insurance claim on a higher end vehicle and went to Mark’s because they are “CERTIFIED but, what a MISTAKE!! Mark's tried to charge me over 30% out of pocket expenses outside of the insurance claim. Mark's Auto Body would not guarantee a simple paint match for a fender replacement and required a waiver accepting a possible non match in paint finishes. Dishonest and greedy guys. If you don't believe me, check out their reviews on Yelp.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/26/2017

Hi Leona, We’re very sorry if this is the experience you had at Mark’s Body Shop. We would like to address the specifics of your claim, but we do not have you on record as a customer. If it was under another name, please call our office so we can discuss it directly with you. Insurance adjusters will often portray certain operations and parts as “overcharging” compared to “prevailing rates in the market.” In practice, this means skipping necessary procedures, required by the manufacturer, to ensure the safety of your vehicle in the event of a subsequent accident. Your insurer usually wants to pay you, the claimant, the lowest possible settlement, and portraying parts and procedures necessary to safety (which many shops shortcut) is part of his way to pressure you into accepting a repair that could possibly ruin the performance of your vehicle, decrease your vehicle’s resale value significantly and, most importantly, reduce your cars safety ratings. We do give our customers the option of using cheaper methods, as we totally sympathize with you if your insurance company absolutely refuses to cover repairs to your car following manufacturer standards. As a certified shop, unfortunately, we are required to have those procedures accompanied by a hold-harmless which specifies that you have requested this lower quality procedure. This is a tough situation to be in if you’re looking for a lifetime warranty, and we do receive negative feedback as a result. We have to do this, however, because repairs that do not follow the correct manufacturer guidelines cannot be called “Certified” repairs, lest we run the risk of losing our certified status. Our policy is to be as transparent and honest about the reasons for these situations, and the options available for our customers. We are truly sorry if you did not, at least, come away from your experience seeing this was the case, and we are investigating this right now. Unfortunately, we cannot find your name on record, so it would be a great help if you could provide the exact name associated with the repair so that we can see where our communication with you broke down. Sincerely, Mark Schaech, Owner

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Martina E.



BEWARE! Marks Body Shop was unethical, unprofessional and downright nasty. I wish I'd never taken my car there.

On Friday, September 18, 2015, I dropped my BMW off at Mark's to repair two small dents. I gave the insurance company's estimate. The following Tuesday, Mark's returned an estimate for more than double the insurance co's. It added costs for "final car wash" and "protection of vehicle parts", that other shops don't charge for. It was also a day late and the insurance co. refused to pay. I called and told Mark Jr. I didn't want him to do any repairs on my car.

On Thursday morning, Mark, Jr. emailed me that they're charging me $60 per day from the date I first brought my car in although the contract states I have 7 days after notification before I incur storage fees. I emailed again demanding return of my car in it's original condition. Late that night, he emailed a bill for $754.40, $254.00 labor and $500.00 "parts".

On Friday, I arrived at 2:50PM and Mark refused my credit card and demanded "cash only" although the contract said they "accept all major credit cards". But he refused to discuss it and ran into his office. I left and returned at 4:30 PM with the $754.40 cash.

After a wait, Mark pulled my car out. It was totally DISMANTLED and UNRECOGNIZABLE. Mark and his guys put my bumper, door panel, rear lights, trunk, door handle and several other parts all on the ground. They put the screws in plastic baggies all over my trunk. I requested an itemized list of the $500 "parts" and Mark said, "That's all we're giving you," closed up and left me there without a tow, my parts all over the ground.

I waited outside Mark's until the tow truck arrived and dropped it off at a new shop. On Monday, they informed me Mark's kept a part costing $800. Moreover, Mark's charged me $254.00 labor in part to re-install parts but it refused to. They spitefully returned my car in pieces. I'll tell everyone NEVER use Marks Body Shop or recommend them.

Gov M.
Edited: 12/04/2016

It is worst body shop that I ever seen. No professional attitude, Rude, Bias, Racist, Blindly argue with the client.
I have given my Porsche for replacing front bumper. I have gone couple of times to pick up my vehicle after repair is completed but none of the time I came out with no issues. First time I have found little marks, paint is popped out in some places on bumper. Second time I have found that plastic layer is hanging down behind the grill in bumper & there are still some marks on bumper. It’s totally proves that they have not done work properly and shows their inexperience in handling premium vehicles (for that matter they are not suitable for other cars too). Also it raises the question in mind that how they are certified by PORSCHE and other agencies. It seems like they have cheated these agencies to get certification. Chosen this BS only coz its certified by PORSCHE. There is a person called "Jason" and he blindly argued that above mentioned issues are just concerns only.