In mybook® Car Collection (edit)

Added to your car collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Midas

Map & Directions
(2 Reviews)

3120 W Pioneer Pkwy, Arlington, TX 76013

(817) 522-1611

CLOSED NOW
Today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tomorrow: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
33
YEARS
IN BUSINESS
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

TRUST THE MIDAS TOUCH.

General Info
Midas is one of the world's largest providers of auto repair services, including brakes, oil change, tires, maintenance, steering, and exhaust services. Visit your Arlington Midas for additional services.
Hours
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Sat:
SunClosed
Payment method
amex, discover, master card, visa
Neighborhoods
West Arlington, Dalworthington Gardens
Other Email

Categories
Auto Repair & Service, Auto Oil & Lube, Auto Transmission, Automobile Accessories, Automobile Air Conditioning Equipment-Service & Repair, Automobile Parts & Supplies, Brake Repair, Brake Service Equipment, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment-Frame & Axle Servicing-Automotive, Wheels-Aligning & Balancing
Provided by

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

amy1973

07/31/2013

Overall

This Midas went under new management in 2009 and I have been taking my car to them since. They are by far the most honest shop in Arlington. I had a a/c repair done in early 2010 and the a/c worked great for over two years. I took it back to them in 2013 and they a/c compressor had went out. This was no fault of theirs but they worked with me on the repair even though it was completely out of their warranty. Worked with Brian the owner and am completely satisfied with everything they do. Take care of not only my car but all my families cars. Great, Great shop!!!

scarlisle

07/29/2008

Overall
Worst Service Ever

I took my car to this Midas, managed by Bobby Wortman and told him what was wrong with the car. He said he needed to run a diagnostic but that it sounded like it was going to be pricey. I asked him if the diagnostic was free. He said no, it's 39.99. I asked him if that money would be taken off the balance if I chose to let him fix the car. He said, yeah I can do that. He ran the diagnostic and came back with something's misfiring, but the computer isn't telling me what it is so I don't know. He did an estimate on his computer that showed me a balance of 375.05 and said the next step he would do is a compression check and that costs 66.74. I asked what the compression check would tell him and he explained. I told him to go and do the check. He came back and said the compression check was ok, lets replace the crank-shaft sensor (which wasn't even on the estimate and it didn't show up as 'bad' on the diagnostic). I asked why he wanted to replace something that wasn't bad. He said it could fix the problem, based on another car he fixed that morning that was having the same issues. At this point I called my dad and while discussing with him whether or not to allow Bobby to do another check that was going to cost another 75.00 Bobby made the executive decision to take the sensor out on his own. Now I've been there for 4 hours already and Bobby tells me he's going to replace the sensor at no charge. When I asked why he told me he had gone ahead and tried to pull the old one out and it broke off in the engine. The shop was only open for another 2 hours so I waited to see if they could get the sensor out of the engine before close. He couldn't! By close on Saturday they were dripping oil onto the piece to try and loosen it up. Bobby calls me on Monday afternoon at 5 pm to tell me he replaced the sensor but the car still wasn't fixed. I was on my way home from work so I told him I would call him back. I called my sister and asked her to handle it and I would talk to her when I got home. When I got home she informed me that Bobby wasn't going to fix the car, we owed him 106.73 and he wanted the car off his lot first thing Tuesday morning or he was going to start charging 85.50 an hour for storage. Now I have been without my car for 3 days. When my sister went to pick up the car it began smoking, wouldn't accelerate over 15 mph and we had to have the car towed for the second time.



Bobby tried to fix a part he had not gotten permission to fix, broke it, replaced it, then refused to touch the car any further. The car now has problems it didn't have when I took it to Midas. Does that sound ethical to anyone?

claimed iconBusiness Response09/05/2008

This customer and her boyfriend brought this car to my shop after her boyfriend had tried to fix it himself. They had had it cheched at auto zone. The boyfriend had purchased a camshaft sensor from auto zone and did not have the ability to install it him self. We agreed to install it for him. Due to rust, the installation was very difficultand when finished the car did not run any better. She was advised that additional performanc tests would have to be done in order to identify what was wrong. She said she couldn't afford to spend any additional money on the car. She was charged 106.00 for time spend. The next day she complained and to the above unfounded story. I gave her a complete refund. I have been in business for over 22 years and I pride myself on having happy customers.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.