In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Chaya Venice

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Book a Table

Date

Time

Party Size

Book a Table

Business Details

25

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
The Chaya restaurant family originated when Hikage Chaya opened in Hayama, Japan. From this initial tea house, that opened 390 years ago, the Tsunoda family has expanded into French bistros and pastry shops throughout Japan and introduced the brand to the U.S. in 1984 with the opening of Chaya Brasserie in Beverly Hills. Since then, Chaya has opened locations in Venice, San Francisco, Downtown Los Angeles, and LAX. The cuisine at each restaurants can best be described as modern Japanese though each restaurant has a distinct personality reflecting their different locations. Corporate Executive Chef, Shigefume Tachibe is best known for pioneering modern Japanese cuisine and his contributions to the Asian-Fusion movement. His chef coat and knife are in permanent display in the Smithsonian. The most important tenet of Chaya's philosophy is high-level omotenashi (hospitality), bringing the Japanese teahouse tradition of warm and personal service to each guest.
Extra Phones:

Phone: (310) 450-1653

Fax Number: (310) 450-1653

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
travelers checks, all major credit cards, amex, diners club, master card, visa
Neighborhoods:
Venice, West Los Angeles, Ocean Park
Categories:
Japanese Restaurants, Take Out Restaurants, Caterers, Italian Restaurants, Sushi Bars, Bar & Grills, American Restaurants, Seafood Restaurants, Asian Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information:

Parking: Street, Validated, Valet

Wi-Fi: Free

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Casual

Good For Groups: Yes

Good for Kids: No

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Take Out: Yes

Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Mediterranean, American, Sushi, Italian, Seafood, European, Pan Asian, Continental

Alcohol: Yes, No, Full Bar

Takes Reservations: Yes

Outdoor Seating: No

More »

Less »

Reviews

YP Insider badge
Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

alovrien

Posted: 1/6/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
The Hostess Is Evil

We've been to Chaya 5 or 6 times and just had an experience that will prevent us from ever going again. We checked in early (so unLA) and let the hostess know that we were ready and waiting and at the bar when a table opened up. 45 minutes later we checked in and she blamed us (finger pointing with her fake blonde ringlet hair) and said that we were late and could have been seated earlier. We took her abuse and sat down. Waitor then saw we had drinks already and had no interest in serving us until we were empty despite many requests for service with ""excuse me"". Finally we were served....(get the peppercorn steak). A friend came in, pulled up a chair, and sat with us after the restaurant was mostly quiet....until he hostess, once again, looking to find something better in her life to do...told us we were making the restaurant look ""messy"" by having a seat pulled up. A very nice waitor named Patrick came and apologized to us and made up for much of the damage....but it was a little too little too late. Amanda/Whatmitta....whatever the girl with the sweater that looked like it had been shred by a cat....she was awful and made the establishment look less than professional. I have never written a review, and a big fan of citysearch so I felt I was obligated.

Helpful?Flag
dmenkes

Posted: 11/13/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Way overpriced, mediocre food

I've been here a few times and can honestly say the best part about it are their desserts. I have yet to have a good lunch or dinner here. It's every bad stereotype about LA restaurants: self-important underdressed wannabe crowd mixed with expensive, terrible food. With so many excellent restaurants availble, even nearby, I don't understand this place. It's expensive because it looks expensive. It's trendy because people don't know better. I've even found better places to get creme brulee than this. I won't come back unless a friend is treating that night or something.

Helpful?Flag
lucky801

Posted: 11/6/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
so much fun

this is a great date place...the food was amazing. This location is much better than the one in Beverly Hills. I had the sea bass and it melts in your mouth

Helpful?Flag
aurorarichard

Posted: 9/13/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Very Good all around

I had the sea bass and it was devine, my friend had the red snapper that was really good as well. The service was good. I cannot wait to go back!!

Helpful?Flag
slemmens

Posted: 8/28/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Horrible service, mediocre food!!!

The service at this place is absolutely awful... not only did we wait 20 minutes for our drinks, but our food took over an hour to get. We had to ask the bus boys to check on our food since our waitress didn't bother to check on our table. I had the miso flavored sea bass, it was okay but not great. The place is overpriced for what it is and it's a bit of a touristy crowd there. For the price, you can go somewhere much nicer with better service.

Helpful?Flag
ninaemkin

Posted: 7/7/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
fun atmosphere, tasty food

My meal here was pretty impressive: a yummy, big goat cheese salad and then some kind of a Cajun-marinated fish. I thought it was all tasty (but I'm glad I wasn't paying). The desserts, though, where the best part, particularly the banana one. AMAZING. I thought the decor was a little silly (stupid sculptures...) and I was bummed out at how loud the place was, particularly around 9 30, when we were wrapping up. But it was tasty, our waitress was helpful, I love the neighborhood, great for an after dinner stroll. It's a fun restaurant.

Helpful?Flag
luvsfood

Posted: 2/20/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Can't wait to go back to Chaya~

Great drinks, great crowd, great atmosphere and most importantly FANTASTIC FOOD! Lobster enchiladas for an appetizer is a great way to start it off! So far I have ordered callops wrapped in new york steak, paella, and salmon, which were all great. I have tried the filet, nothing so rant and rave over. Typical filet. Looking forward to trying other items on the menu. By the way, might want to skip the banana banana banana for dessert, it was dry and nothing special at all about it.

Helpful?Flag
eric90293

Posted: 1/18/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Ok Sushi but mostly a scene

I went here for the first time for the happy hour sushi on a Monday night. It was very crowded, considering it was a Monday and if you come here with more then 2 people you will be waiting awhile. The sushi happy hour list is very small and consists mainly of the most common sushi rolls most sushi goers are familiar with. Amazingly the happy hour ONLY applies to this small sushi roll selection and not to any other part of the menu including and especially NO drink specials. They have some nice cocktail concoctions but the savings you get on the food will quickly be lost on the drinks. It seemed that Chaya Venice is mainly for people trying to make the scene a more style then substance kind of place.

Helpful?Flag
mariahrc

Posted: 10/10/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Best Restaurant in LA!

Everything about this restaurant is excellent: The food, ambience, service! Certainly the place to go for any special occasion.

Helpful?Flag
bluegazer

Posted: 8/26/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
not so much

A first timer and severely under-whelmed. Four minutes late at Chaya and the 5 of us were made to feel like we needed to seek penance. In sharp contrast, a recent visit to another high-visibility, high-end restaurant everyone from the entire bus to waitstaff were happy to see us and glad we stopped in (even without a reservation). Chaya's space itself was very nice and filled-up quickly. I wondered why, because it certainly wasnt the food. The signature fish dish done to death; the sauce though pretty in appearance was tasteless; and they left the garlic out of the garlic-mashed potatoes. Several sushi items did not taste fresh. Perhaps it was an off night, but more likely it is just another LA-place to be seen and not eaten at. Sigh, so many restaurants and now another one I can take off my list.

Helpful?Flag
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Chaya Venice

110 Navy St Ste 1VeniceCA 90291

(310) 396-1179

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Chaya Venice

110 Navy St Ste 1VeniceCA 90291

(310) 396-1179

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback