In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Chaya Venice

(42)
$$$
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Book a Table

Date

Time

Party Size

Book a Table

Business Details

25

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
Created more than 10 years ago, Chaya Brasserie, a part of the 350-year old Chaya Restaurant family of Hayama, Japan, is a gourmet restaurant featuring Japanese-accented French cuisine. The restaurant s lunch menu features a full array of appetizers, salads, light entrees and deserts. Its dinner menu offers sushi items, hot and cold appetizers, pasta and vegetarian entrees, meat and fish entrees, a special Tuscan-inspired array of entrees and a number of gourmet deserts. The restaurant also offers a late supper menu featuring several salads and various sushi rolls. Chaya Brasserie also offers complete catering services. The Chaya Brasserie is located in Venice,C alif., and has additional operations in San Francisco, and Los Angeles.
Extra Phones:

Phone: (310) 450-1653

Fax Number: (310) 450-1653

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
amex, diners club, master card, travelers checks, visa, all major credit cards
Neighborhoods:
Venice, West Los Angeles, Ocean Park
Categories:
Sushi Bars, Japanese Restaurants, Bar & Grills, Take Out Restaurants, Caterers, Restaurants
Other Information:

Parking: Street, Validated, Valet

Wi-Fi: Free

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Casual

Good For Groups: Yes

Good for Kids: No

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Take Out: Yes

Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Mediterranean, Sushi, Italian, European, Continental

Alcohol: Yes, No, Full Bar

Takes Reservations: Yes

Outdoor Seating: No

More »

Less »

Gallery

Chaya Venice

Reviews

Review this business:Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

foodloversarah
02/17/2008
trendy and fun

This place is very trendy more so in santa monica than venice I would say. Our waiter was very attentive, but his suggestions were not that great, but when we told him that we weren't happy with one of his choices for an appetizer he took it off of our bill which is something that wouldn't happen in every restaurant especially in the LA area. Great sushi bar which hopefully I can take advantage of later, but easily could make a meal with drinks and appetizers from this place. Trendy lo...view moreoking inside and VERY busy with lots of people watching, and the waiter never rushed us from our table. We could have stayed all night, so service is a priority here.view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
kmh1124
02/16/2008
losing it's luster

Serious time for a menu revamp! Sushi quality has gone south and the service - snot and a half. Flippant server, Safeway brand filet and hostess with no appreciation for customer service whatsoever. My mashers tasted as if they came from from a bag, unagi naggy spoils and did you ever hear of another Stella? I was bummed. What used to be such a rockin' joint just petered out! I never talk to a manger as I am one myself but this was BAD! Sacreligious even.Go to Chinois or Josie.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
oceanpark
11/09/2007
Trust me, you could find much better in this town

To be completely honest, it was not the food that turned me off of this place, but the rude hostesses and servers. I have been here many times before and tried to give it a second chance more than once now and I don't think I will be back. Basically, they act like they don't need your service so do them a favor and go somewhere else. Maybe get take-out since the rolls are good.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
fflterror
08/03/2007
Great Lunch Spot

With no previous knowledge of Chaya, I stopped in for lunch with colleagues from out of town and we all had a great lunch. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. I had the Ahi Tuna Burger and my colleagues had the Bento box and spicy tuna rolls. We work in the beverage business and were quite impressed with the non-alcholic strawberry ginger mojitos. I am adding Chaya to my list of recommended places for friends and family.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
divineconnoisseur
07/21/2007
ONE OF THE BEST HAPPY HOURS IN LA NO CONTEST!

Chaya is a great place to have a romantic dinner but, perfect for a tasty happy hour...vibrant and classy but, still low key and fun. Friendly service but, be prepared for the rush! The rolls are delicious and the alaskan king crab is extra sweet. If you sit at the sushi bar feel free to request custom rolls the chefs are extremely accomodating...they made several rolls for me that were not on the menu...it's best to get there before the big rush to avoid the wait since it is a popul...view morear place for the trendy Venice crowd. Highly reccommend for happy hour if you are looking to spend $ or for dinner if you are looking to spend $$$. I don't think I will ever tire of the Pineapple infusion and litchi martinis... :Dview less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
njrfilms
07/17/2007
Good happy hour

The sushi during happy hour is a steal and always good. Once it bumps up to full price it isn't as worth it, as better sushi awaits elsewhere. Never tried the full menu.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
chudjr
06/17/2007
Okay food. Trendy hot spot.

The food is just okay. Nothing amazing. The sea bass was good, the rib eye steak average, and the crispy butterfish okay. The place is loud. Lots of attractive people eat here. It took a long time to get our food. I don't think I will go again.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
notesman
03/05/2007
Raspberry Mojitos Rock--friendly service

I had not been to Chaya in a while, but decided to give it a try again after finding the recommendation online from City Search! I didn't have a reservation and didn't get in right away--as expected at any popular restaurant, but I decided to wait in the bar for a table in the restaurant--great mojitos, not too tart. I got seated pretty easily after a small wait and the girls in front were very sweet to us which was refreshing. I ordered a mixed variety of sushi as an appetizer and dec...view moreided on a vegan item on the menu as an entree. It was really tasty! Lively fun crowd which I needed that night. Parking was reasonable-$3 I believe with validation. I was surprised at 1 reviewers negative comments about people working there because I got a cool vibe--but obviously reviewer was negative about women and feeling a little threatened...hmm. All in all--thumbs up!view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
elisehwall
02/08/2007
Eclectic Menu, Great Service

We headed here with a group and no reservation, and were still seated in 30 minutes. Our server was very patient with us (being that we already had a few drinks in our systems) and he was quick. He did not mind that we handed 5 credit cards at the end of the meal!! All of us wanted something different (Japanese, Italian, American) and we were all pleased. The calamari was amazing with its curry sauce, nice twist. The room is rather crowded and the acoustics could be a little better. Th...view moree interiors are also a bit dated, but that doesn't seem to bother anyone because the bar and restaurant were packed!view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
martinikitty13
01/21/2007
Great Vibe & Drinks

It's been a while since I've been to Chaya Venice, and I have to say that little has changed - the place is still very crowded, loud and fun (when you are in the mood for that). I've never been particularly excited about the food here, but the drinks and happy hour bites do not disappoint (actually the food gets better after a few cocktails)... service is inconsistent, sometimes quite good, other times snooty and even bordering upon the rude. However, I still recommend this spot simp...view morely because it's a great place to hang with your friends (but for a date, the noise level can be quite distracting). There's a lot adjacent to the restaurant with valet but it's not too clear if you've never been here before (they should have better signs).view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Chaya Venice

110 Navy St # 1VeniceCA 90291

(310) 396-1179

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Chaya Venice

110 Navy St # 1VeniceCA 90291

(310) 396-1179

  • Photos should be clear and in focus
  • Photos should be of the business, product or service, not an illustration or clip art
  • Photos should not be an advertisment or include contact information
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback