Elk Springs Resort
1088 Powdermill Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Was denied access after fully paid confirmed reservation in retaliation for BBB complaint. My problems with this company began in December 2011 when I purchased two Groupon vouchers at $329 each for two nights each. The fine print stated there was an additional fee of $125 for cleaning and insurance per voucher, as well as 12.5% tax. After several days of trying to reach a live person I was able to get a registration clerk who informed me that several of the days I needed were blacked out to Groupon users, as well as certain cabins. This was not listed in the fine print and thus I had to receive a refund on one due to the dates I needed being "blacked out." A few days later I called to book for the second voucher and was informed that the additional fees totaled more than $250. I explained what my voucher said, and that my fees should total $181.75 per the Groupon. The clerk refused to budge and also refused to allow me to speak with a member of management, stating, "the buck stops with me, if you don't want to pay it, get a refund." And hung up on me. I repeatedly tried to call back and as soon as the phone would be picked up it would be hung up. I emailed their website, as well as left comments on the company facebook with the facts I have stated here. Not only did I not receive a response but I was blocked from their facebook. Apparently a glutton for punishment I called once again and got a young man on the phone in their offices and he told me that he would charge my card $189, alot less than $250, but still more than the Groupon states, and that would cover the remaining fees. Imagine my chagrin when I begin receiving "past due" emails from Elk Springs. I replied with the fact that I had provided my card information and did not wish to sit on hold with them or be hung up on yet again. I received a reply asking if I would like a callback, but before I could reply I received another message stating if I "do not want to pay the fees to call Groupon and get a refund." I immediately called the office as soon as I received the message to mhy smartphone, to speak directly with the unprofessional woman I had been corresponding. She of course "was out." No longer having any fight left in me, as this was supposed to be a christmas gift to a friend, I paid $194 to finalize my reservations. Keep in mind that this is the 3rd "additional fee" I had been stated that was different, and still not in line with the Groupon. Now, one week before our trip I finally was able to settle this horrible experience and got a confirmation, paid in full. However, due to the lack of customer service and downright disdain from this company I filed a complaint with the BBB asking that I receive an apology and possibly a small discount after this terrible experience, even before we have arrived. The owner responded by canceling our stay, three days prior to our arrival. I explained to him that it was not my desire to cancel, but that I wanted the lack of service addressed. He refused, stating that he could "do whatever I want." I explained, "yes, you can do whatever you want, however with three days notice and over $550 tied up and yet to be refunded for the lodging, our family cannot find alternative lodging." Further, in the state of TN there are only 3 reasons an innkeeper can refuse access to someone with a confirmed, fully paid reservation, and a BBB complaint is not one of them. Now my family has all taken vacation time and we have to try and secure lodging in the next two days, and I have to use money that was allocated for travel and activities. I am not sure we will be able to have a vacation due to the malice of this business owner. I do intend to seek further legal action. It is a beautiful property, but it is run by the most unprofessional owner and staff I have ever encountered.