In mybookHome Collection (edit)
Added to your home collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Ben Steele Properties

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details



in Business

BBB Rating:
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.

Regular Hours

Sat - SunClosed

General Info:
 One and two bedroom apartments for rent, all the amenities without all the price, central location with caring management.
Extra Phones:

Essex Place Apartments: (417) 887-7892

Essex Place Apartments: (417) 889-8406

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
 Located at 1131 W. Battlefield, Springfield, MO., just west of Battlefield & Campbell Streets
Southeast Springfield
 Free cable and wi-fi, fitness center, large swimming pool, tennis courts, sand volleyball, basketball, tanning bed, sauna, state-of-the-art laundry facilities, balconies, off-street parking, children's playground, picnic tables & BBQ grills, andmany other amenities 
 Member of Springfield Apartment and Housing Association

Essex Place Apartments

Ben-Steele Properties, LLC

Apartment Finder & Rental Service
Other Information:

Parking: Lot

More »

Less »


YP Insider badge
Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Posted: 10/22/2014



DO NOT EVER RENT FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! It's been 5 years and still fighting them!!! Judy (the sh*tty owner) is NEVER "in town." My lawyer can't get a hold of her, I have tried countless times to call and talk to her but for 5 years she is always out of the country. BAD BUSINESS RIGHT THERE!!! They lie about your move out, they don't document anything but make it a he said/she said fight. A few months ago I did get a response from her (recorded the entire conversation for legal purposes, might even upload it to the internet with a link soon so everyone knows how much of horrible person Judy is), and she did nothing but tell me what was written on a piece of paper from 5 years ago. No proof of the "excessve damage" and is still trying to make us pay $600 for "touch-up paint" but if the place was so trashed why was the "professional cleaning" only $75?!? The entire companty is the stereotype reason why landlords are crooks/ a$$holes.

The Attorney General Office is now breathing down their necks because I have found others that have had similar issues with them and I am making a stronger case to show that this c*nt will do anything to not be a good person. Funy part is, my lawyer is a woman, and Ben-Steele keeps sending letters to the Attorney General about how they have never heard of my lawyer and refer to her as a HIM and even the wrong damn name!!!!!!!!! THEY CAN'T EVEN GET FACTS STRAIGHT LIKE THAT!!! Better Business Bureau is also in talks with me and I will do everything to make this public so the company can fail before anyone else is taken advantage of.


Updated: 6/11/2015
great place essex place

i used to work at essex and would recommend it to anyone clean,affordable and with caring staff you cant go wrong i give it ten stars.

Updated: 6/11/2015
Essex is the Place to be

I've lived here for a couple of years now, and the office staff here is wonderful the manager Paula and Heidi are very helpful and will do anything they can in order to make things better and easier for you. They always notify you in advance should mait need access to your place for some reason, and if your in need of something to be worked on Mait is always there if not the same day at least by the next day. They're very friendly to my cats & the one is the mait man's little helper she just loves helping him out! I wouldn't live anywhere that I thought my cats would be in danger, I feel very safe here & don't worry about things when I leave to go out for awhile. There is a security team who comes through nightly, the neighbors are very friendly & the amneities are wonderful, the apartments and the grounds are very nice, clean and roomy. Many places that are like these and have all these amneities are much higher in price. It's a great place to live, the best thing is to come by and see for yourself.

Updated: 6/11/2015

Currently living at essex apt and have been here about a year and half.
like the area(little crime), affordable rent and the manager and assistant are very friendly and helpful when needed.
Quiet area to live at and well maintained and clean.
Have an officer that checks on everything late at night and thats good.
Can't say what its like after moving out cause i haven't moved out yet.

I would recommend checking it out for yourself and living here


Updated: 6/11/2015
Essex Place Apartments

I have nothing but good things to say about the staff and the complex itself. My daughter and I recently moved in on a referral from a present tenant. The manager Paula and her leasing agent Hiedi went above and beyond to make sure our move was an easy one. Our unit was so clean there wasn't any of the usual cleaning upon move in. Maintence as well responds in a timely manner, though there have only been a few minor instances since we took over occupancy of the unit. I not only feel safe but I feel good about my daughters safety as well. The wide range of other tenants that I have met hve all been friendly. The pool this summer was a life saver, and was always kept cleaned out. I know from months of looking to find an affordable, clean, safe residence you can't go wrong with Essex Place.

Updated: 6/11/2015
Please do not live in anything owned by Ben Steele

I am currently living at Essex Place, a Ben Steele property. This place should be renamed as hell. There has been three landlord changes in the eight months we have been here. One of them tried to forge our lease to get more money out of us. But most recently, they have come into our apartment and stolen our three kittens, the cat food and litter, and $40 also is missing. Not to mention all the times they have come into our apartment for no reason other than to look around, and of course, without notice of any sort. So unless you like your new baby kittens (that you bottle fed until they could eat solid food) to be stolen right from your LOCKED apartment and taken to animal control to be euthanized, I would NOT LIVE HERE. And just in case you think you might be safe with another property, just know the CEO herself is not helpful as well as incredibly rude. If you ever want out of a lease, they can make you pay as much as they want.

claimed iconBusiness Response11/17/2008

The person who wrote this review was not on a lease at Essex Place therefore she was not even a resident although she was given applications to fill out on several occasions. We were aware of the cats and told the authorized resident that we only allow two cats, that we have a pet agreement which needs to be signed and a pet fee which needs to be paid. He was notified of this on serveral occasions but failed to comply.The co-signer for the applicant put the cats in the hallway and called the management office to come get the cats and to call whoever to dispose of the cats. The hostility about the cat issue should be taken up with the co-signer and not management. The Reviewer states "I Would Not Live Here" so why did she stay at Essex for a year?

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Ben Steele Properties

2200 E Sunshine StSpringfieldMO 65804

(417) 882-0690

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.


Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

Message Business

What would you like to know?



We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Ben Steele Properties

2200 E Sunshine StSpringfieldMO 65804

(417) 882-0690

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

We just redesigned! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!