In mybookPets Collection (edit)
Added to your pets collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hospital

CLOSED NOW

Today:7:00 am - 6:00 pm

Tomorrow:7:00 am - 6:00 pm

15714 Huebner Rd Bldg 1,

San Antonio, TX 78248

(210) 812-5211

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

15

years

in Business

Social Links:
Visit Facebook Page
Hours:

Regular Hours

Neighborhoods:
Far North Central, Churchill Estates
Languages:
English, Russian, Spanish
Categories:
Pet Specialty Services, Veterinarians, Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals, Veterinary Labs, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Pet Services
Other Information:

Parking: Lot

More »

Less »

Reviews

Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Updated: 6/11/2015

Posted: 5/7/2012

Overall
I bought a puppy from PetLand ...

I bought a puppy from PetLand and in order to activate the warranty, I had to take the puppy to Smith and Shedd for an initial exam. After reading the reviews for Smith and Shedd, I have to say I was a little weary about this place. I work at a doctors office so i know the power the reviews have on a business. First off, the facility is BEAUTIFUL. Kudos to the designer! Overall my experience was very nice. I'd take my puppy back if I lived closer to their facility and I wasn't already happy with another vet I've used on my other dogs. I met Dr. Smith who was VERY nice and accommodating. He answered all the questions we had. The tech explained things nicely as well. The only thing we had to pay for was the flea/tick treatment. <br>As for the bad reviews, I feel for the consumer, but like I said, I work for a doctor's office so I do feel for the vet's office as well. Some places go through growing pains when it comes to employees. As for pricing, it's the same for a vet's office (I think lol) as it is for a doctor's office. There are pay scales based on the location of the facility. Based on my experience with them, I'd recommend them to a friend.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
Updated: 6/11/2015

Posted: 9/11/2011

Overall
I have been using Smith &amp; Shed...

I have been using Smith &amp; Shedd for about 3 yrs and, there are two other vet clinics much closer to where I live. I thought I had made my first appt at the clinic across the st from me, but it turned out it was Smith &amp; Shedd. I went ahead and kept the appt at Smith &amp; Shedd thinking that once my Pug was okay this time, I would make my next appt at the 'right' clinic. However, I was so pleased with the professionalism and care given at this clinic that, I drive just to keep seeing the Smith &amp; Shedd team. <br> <br>One example I can give is, my Pug was not able to urinate (due to struvyte crystals) at one point--Dr. Smith was very caring and listened to what I had to say, kept me updated and, eventually referred me to a specialist that in conjunction with Dr. Smith...saved my puggie! If you have a pug, this is a great place to bring him. Another example is, my boyfriend attracts kittys that are hurt and abandoned, and the staff has worked with me, reasonably, so that I can help these poor babies! <br> <br>Lastly, especially with this being Sep 11th , I also want to add that I appreciate that they have a military discount!

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
Updated: 6/11/2015

Posted: 8/17/2011

Overall
Smith &amp; Shedd Family Pet Hospt...

Smith &amp; Shedd Family Pet Hosptial is a WONDERFUL vet. We actually stumbled across this vet by accident but am extremely grateful we did. <br> <br>The office staff is always friendly and helpful. The vet we have worked with, Dr. Shedd, has always been very kind and has never made me feel rushed. We also have worked with the office manager when we had concerns about setting up a payment plan and she was very helpful and easy to work with. Their facilities are very nice as well. The ENTIRE staff is also very compassionate and you can tell they all truly love animals. <br> <br>The best part about this vet is that I have never had to wait more than 10 mins to be seen. They always seem to keep to their appointment schedule very well. <br> <br>Their pricing matches other local vets or is slightly lower.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
Updated: 6/11/2015

Posted: 8/4/2011

Overall
My husband and I adopted three...

My husband and I adopted three adorable sibling kittens that needed all the works as new clients and when we called Smith &amp;amp; Shedd to set up an appointment. Receptionist, Donna, was very friendly and knowledgable about what would need for our initial visit. The most impressing aspect was that they e-mailed me an estimate before we arrived for our apointme. The doctor we saw was Dr. Smith and I have to say that he was very thorough with the exams as well as explaining everything that the kittens had received, from vaccines, fecal tests, and the whole wellness exam. When we arrived at the counter to check-out I paid the exact amount quoted on our estimate. So, I have happily found the vet that is a perfect fit for our family and even better, Smith &amp;amp; Shedd is a family owned practice. I have even received a follow-up call to see how our little ones were doing. Don't see the reason for the previous postings that clearly are defaming their character as a clinic which was soooooooo far from the truth. So, if you need a compassionate vet and live in San Antonio then I would not hesitate to give Smith &amp;amp; Shedd a call.

Was this helpful?Yes  (1)
|
Flag Abuse
Updated: 6/11/2015

Posted: 2/7/2011

Overall
Smith &amp; Shedd &amp; Why Not To Take Your Pet There

They are excellent if your pet has flees, an upset stomach, or something small like that, however, if you pet breaks a leg or has any other major emergency I wouldn't advise going to them. My puppy had broken his leg Thursday night, I called their after hours line. It was useless. They told us to take him to a 24 hour animal hospital. After getting him a splint and some pain medication there we called the after hours line back. The tech told us to bring him in at 2pm on Friday. We did, there were no vets there so he had to stay the night. I called again on Saturday at 11am. I was told they hadn't even looked at him yet but they would call us. Saturday, no call. Sunday, no call. Monday I called them and I was told everyone was too busy to speak with me about my dog. I then had my husband call from work and finally someone spoke with him. Shortly after Dr. Smith called my cell phone. I asked him why my dog had been there so long and why no one had contacted us. He didn't give me a straight answer and he claimed that when I had called on Saturday I could have just gone and picked him up. I then asked if they had just been keeping him in a kennel the whole time. He said yes. We have a kennel at home so I told him if that was all they did we could have just kept him here where he would have been constantly loved and looked after. Dr. Smith then basically called my a liar and was VERY rude with me to the point where I began to cry. The best part is while he was in their care his leg was not in a splint and still isn't. His leg is still very broken and hasn't received any kind of treatment other than pain medication. The only thing they did was cause us problems and find us an orthopedic vet surgeon who can operate on it. I can honestly say I will never be taking my puppy or my cat there ever again.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.08/04/2011

Treatment for a severe break requiring orthepedic surgery is cage rest and pain meds until the surgery can be scheduled. Since that type of surgery is best performed by a specialist, we make the patient as comfortable as possible until the surgeon can fit the patient in for surgery. I regret to say that the story the pet owners gave was not consistent with the type of break, however, we could not prove anything. They had it repaired by the surgeon as advised, and unfortunately came back to us only two months later with ANOTHER break on the same leg. Again, their story of how the dog was injured was not consistent with the break, and because it was going to require another surgery, they opted to euthanize the dog instead. We convinced them to sign over ownership to our hospital, and with the help of staff, the specialty clinic, and the new owner, we paid for another orthepedic repair. The surgeon concluded that the injury was consistent with a kick to the leg, confirming that there was likey animal abuse taking place. We are happy to inform you that the dog is doing well and is happy in a new home.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

Posted: 7/1/2009

Overall
Smart Docs, Compassionate

Very professional and compassionate. Figured out what was wrong with my Ralphie after two other vets couldn't. <br> <br>Prices seemed inline and comparable to our prior vets.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse

Posted: 2/19/2009

Overall
The way every vet should be

We took our two year old Maltese to Smith &amp; Shedd, after her vet of two years couldn't figure out what her digestive problems were caused by. After literally spending over three thousand dollars at her old vet, we still had no idea what was causing Minkie to vomit and have loose stool sporadically. Her prior vet actually said &quot;sorry, there's nothing else that we can do...she's a dog. Dog's are always getting into things. You need to make sure she's not getting into things.&quot; Getting into things? After spending three thousand dollars? Ridiculous!!! <br> <br>Smith &amp; Shedd came highly recommended from a friend, so with apprehension, we decided to give them a try. <br> <br>Our first impression was how genuinely sincere the front staff and technicians were. Dr. Smith was also very sincere, and had our baby's problem narrowed down to two possibilities, just by examining her and reading over her piror records. We had to fast Minkie that night. The following morning, they took blood samples, and by the next afternoon we had the results. We had spent thousands at her prior vet, and now with less than two hundred dollars and one visit, we had her diagnosis. <br> <br>Minkie had an unusual disease called a liver shunt. Next they used their ultrasound to diagnose where the shunt was located. Thankfully, hers was of a type that could be fixed surgically. Now it's been over six months since her surgery, and Minkie is the picture of perfect health - her coat is no longer dull, she's put on over two pounds, she is much more energetic, and most importantly, she hasn't had any diarrhea or vomiting since the surgery. <br> <br>Seldom have I had such a wonderful experience with any professional, including mine and my husband's own doctors, that could compare with that of Smith &amp; Shedd. I would recommend them highly to anyone with an animal family member!

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
Send to Phone
Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hospital

15714 Huebner Rd Bldg 1San AntonioTX 78248

(210) 812-5211

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Smith & Shedd Family Pet Hospital

15714 Huebner Rd Bldg 1San AntonioTX 78248

(210) 812-5211

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback