In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Tamarine Restaurant

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

15

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
Tamarine is a contemporary Vietnamese restaurant that features the light but flavor-intensive culinary delicacies of Vietnam. The restaurant offers a menu based on small plates, promoting the Vietnamese tradition of the 'shared' meal in which food is shared and enjoyed with those close. Tamarine's small plate entrees are enjoyed with the pairing of a variety of aromatic, flavor infused rice, designed to be mixed and matched to create a truly unique flavor experience. Along with culinary delicacies of Vietnam, the restaurant showcases the works of emerging artists from Vietnam and other Southeast Asian countries. Semi-annual exhibits will close with a cocktail event to auction the art. Proceeds will be donated to La Maison Chance, an orphanage in Saigon, Vietnam.
Extra Phones:

Phone: (650) 433-9056

Phone: (650) 325-8504

Phone: (650) 566-1179

Fax: (650) 325-8504

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
amex, discover, mastercard, visa
Neighborhood:
University South
Categories:
Asian Restaurants, Family Style Restaurants, Vietnamese Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information:

Parking: Street

Wi-Fi: No

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Dressy

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian, Family Style, Pan Asian

Alcohol: Full Bar

Takes Reservations: Yes

Outdoor Seating: No

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

06/29/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Nice but the price

Given I'm from South East Asia, I'm a bit critical of the restaurant. I thought the ambience was nice. Food is good but not great.

It's probably a nice place for business trip, if you go there for food, I will go to some other South East Asian restaurants that offer that offer the same thing for a fraction of the price. Will go there on business only.

07/10/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Good food, Shady business practice

Had a prepaid group function at the restaurant for work, which tends to mean that opened but unconsumed wine gets taken home by guests or hosts, as they have been paid for. When the party was over, 1 server claimed that the restaurant had a policy of not giving the wine out?! Another server claimed that there were no partially consumed bottles left. I had just seen one that was about half full, and there were no other guests around, so I knew that to be false. Having had multiple such events at other venues, there are ALWAYS partially consumed bottles left. The server also seemed to have an attitude and didn't seem to appreciate my request. I am inclined to think that either the servers get to take the wine home, or the restaurant gets additional revenues by essentially re-selling the wine.
The pros would be that food was quite tasty, and the ambiance nice. The cons are that it is a bit pricey and the restaurant and/or staff were of questionable integrity.

05/22/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Poor customer service; poor management response; ill prepared staff

I have been going to Tamarine and Bongsu (both owned by the same people) entertaining clients. At a client lunch today, we experienced something that you never believe would happen to you. One of my guests, choked on a piece of meat and would have died, had it not been for a wonderful gentleman diner who was also having lunch. The hostess who looks miserable and treats every guests dreadfully just looked at us as if we had inconvenienced her yet again. The waiter came to find me handing me the bill worried I might run out without paying for our bill (hindsight, I should not have left a tip but I did leave a 20% - force of habit). After we left and reflected on the whole experience, we realized how poorly the staff had treated us. I phoned the restaurant to point out the liability of having wait staff that are completely ill prepared in light of a crisis such as the one we experienced and how badly they had addressed the incident. Kevin, the manager of the restaurant calls me to only tell me that they are sorry and that it is nearly impossible to train their staff to learn CPR. I pointed out that learning to dial 911 is an alternative option and not looking at your customers as if they are cramping your style and demanding payment in time of crisis another wonderful resolution. Kevin not only could not articulate a good solution to rectify the matter but also proved to be just as incompetent as the staff he manages.
The quality of workforce at Tamarine does not parallel the price and image that this restaurant is trying to project. Elderly should definitely not go there because if GOD forbid, you choke, you might be meeting your maker as these people would not even know how to dial 911 much less perform CPR.

01/01/2007

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
NYE

What I liked: The ambience, the mushroom soup (vegetarian), tamarine prawns-succulent, sea bass-cooked to perfection, creme brulee, excellent service

What I disliked: Lava cake-tasted like right out of the microwave.

Comments: Received excellent wine recommendation from the bartender. Fixed price menu (3 course-$60/head)-worth the money. For NYE, should have included complimentary glass of champagne.

08/11/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
fantastic Vietnamese fusion cuisine

Our lunch did not start off on the best note. We did not have reservations and the hostess, who we all agreed was snooty, treated us like she was doing us a favour by sitting us at the ""one remaining table in the back room."" As it turned out, there were three other open tables in this very same room and they remained open throughout our entire lunch. What a joke!

Anyway, the food at Tamarine is the real star! This was one of the finest meals we had on our 18 day trip through California. We pretty much followed the recommendations of our very friendly waitress Kristen. Everything was great, except for perhaps the roasted quail, which seemed to just sit there staring at us like a testament to the fact that the Vietnamese will eat just about anything!

At $130 for four, our lunch was not cheap, but it sure was a treat! Highly recommended!

Cheers from Miami.

11/30/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Treat yourself

Very unique food. Great flavors you can't taste elsewhere. Gotta try it.

11/23/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
can't wait to come back here again

I have eaten at this restaurant three times. Everytime I come back, it has always tasted better than the last time. I am looking forward to the next time I get a chance to go there again.

11/01/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Oh Tamarine

It is good for Palo Alto to have an upscale restaurant that ISN'T owned or run by Wolfgang Puck. Tamarine is that upscale restaurant. The service, while faltering at times, is great overall. The food is exceptional. Special dishes include Basil Tofu and Signature Tamarine Prawns. The Vegetable dishes are better than some critics credit them. The menu variety is excellent. Now, for superb Vietnamese, one doesn't have to drive the thirty miles north to ""cisco"" and waste time finding almost nonexistent parking spaces up there.

09/28/2005

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Don't make the same mistake we did

We went to Tamarine for our anniversary because it was listed as ""Romantic"" and got good reviews on the food quality and service. The other reviewers must have gone to a different restaurant than we did!!! The tables in the main dining room are packed in so tightly that I was literally sitting closer to the 2 people on either side of me than to may date- even considering the small cramped size of the table between us! Our server could not even fit in between the tables to serve us the food- which was of average quality and extremely overpriced. The acoustics in the restaurant were terrible- I had to lean over the table and shout to be heard by my date. To make matters worse, our server was neither prompt nor informative, and seemed too inexperienced for a restaurant commanding the prices Tamarine does. Overall- extremely disappointing.

Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
More Like This
Send to Phone
Tamarine Restaurant

546 University AvePalo AltoCA 94301

(650) 325-8500

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Tamarine Restaurant

546 University AvePalo AltoCA 94301

(650) 325-8500

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback