In mybookPets Collection (edit)
Added to your pets collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Tails R Waggin

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

Hours:

Regular Hours

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
amex, mastercard, visa, discover
Categories:
Dog & Cat Grooming & Supplies, Dog Day Care, Pet Food, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Dog Training
Other Information:

Parking: On Site

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Posted: 6/5/2015

Overall

I have used this place several times when our family goes out of town, and I have used it for daycare when I hosted an open house and couldn't have my dogs running around barking as people came and went. The only other kennel I have ever used was a pet store chain, so I don't have a broad basis of comparison. With that said, I have had generally good experiences here and have returned for that reason. We have brought them 2 large boxers (one is no longer living). Our dogs have always come back clean. One time one dog came back seeming a little under the weather (she slept in an out of the way corner for a day), but did not vomit or need to go to the vet. I chalked it up to one of those things that happen when you get exposed to the public, kind of like when you send human kids to daycare. We have not had any other problems. Opportunities for them to improve- I do wish that they would provide some kind of a puppy report card so that I would know if my dog played well with others, and how much she ate from day to day. It would also be nice if they had a live webcam of the play area and/or kennel area. I am basing my rating on the overall experience that I had, the services that they provide.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 10/1/2013

Overall

I have used Tails r waggin for years. I've been a dog owner for over 30 years. I always had large labs and 2 at a time. My dogs come home exhausted because they have so much fun. If we happen to pick them up when they are in the yard, you can see what fun they are having. What stinks about online review sites is that happy customers are too busy to bother to post. You can't please all of the people but some of the complaints here are ridiculous! The only problem is that it is so good and so popular, reservations need to be made way in advance. Tails R Waggin is GREAT!

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 3/15/2013

Overall

After receiving a glowing review from friends about this facility I was a little taken aback to be told when I called, simply asked about boarding and was told" We're full" . I was NOT asked when I wanted to board or if I just wanted information about boarding. I thanked her and hung up. I would have expected to be asked when I wanted to board and for how long before being told that they were full! They must be booked for all eternity . . .

claimed iconBusiness Response08/06/2013

We so apologize if this happened. I am sure the receptionist confused your request for that time > We were in a holiday peak time. You posted this at spring break time and we fill up 2 months in advance. If the receptionist asumed. We are so sorry . We just stared a new one at the beginning of March. OUr privious one we had for 4.5 years, got a great opportunity to learn a Vet Tech/assist job under an awesome vet. Our new one came in at a very busy time. Id love to give you a free day of daycare for the inconvienence. If you would like to take us up on this offer call and ask for Dawn or ELise the owners. Thanks Tails R Waggin Management

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?Flag

Posted: 1/3/2012

Overall
I just love the staff at Tails...

I just love the staff at Tails r waggin. they are all so nice. i feel so welcome when i arrive and my dog casey is so excited!! she cannot wait to get in and play! its always so clean and smells good! i get a warm home feeling when i leave my dog with them! i feel like she is loved as i love her witch is the most important thing to me! The fact that she comes home ready to sleep is so helpful!

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 1/2/2012

Overall
i have been bringing my dog to...

i have been bringing my dog to tails since right after they opened. I had tried a couple other places before that and when it came time to leave in the morning my dog wouldnt get in the car. Since coming to Tails R Waggin; he is very happy and in fact goes and gets his leash to have me take him to tails for daycare. His bitt starts wiggling before we even turn on 152nd. The only problem is when I go to pick him up; he doesnt want to leave. I guess that is a good problem for Tails staff to have but hard on my feelings.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 12/21/2011

Overall
Tails r waggin has been so goo...

Tails r waggin has been so good to my two dogs. im not sure what i would do with out them. I thought i would have to find new homes do to the seperation issues with one of my babies. they helped me so much by keeping him durning the day so that i can work! its been so nice to have a service like this where you feel comfortable leaving them while you work. I love that its an affordable price and they always have specials to help you out. The $10 days are my Favorite! When you have to come five days a week any little bit helps!! The staff there always has a smile on their face and is excited to see my dogs. When i sit at the light on metcalf my car starts shaking with excitement. They cant wait to play another day at Tails R waggin

Helpful?(1)Flag

Posted: 9/9/2009

Overall
above and beyond

My dog boarded at Tails R Waggin in the past week, he has cancer and was very sick while staying at Tails R Waggin.
The owners there along with all the staff went ABOVE AND BEYOND the call of duty. they all cared for Jack as if he was their own dog. Took him back and forth to the vet for treatments for me. hand fed him when he wasnt eating, even cooked boiled chicken rice and eggs at home. One of the owners even sat with him in his suite untill late at night and then the overnight took him into the employee suite for some extra one on one attention at no extra charge. i want to personally thank tails r waggin for the excellent customer service skills and treatment that they gave to my Jack. I fear if he had been left alone and went down hill; then he might not be home with us today! Thank you Tails R Waggin! We will never go anywhere else!!

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 6/19/2009

Overall
Unbeilevable Facility

Ive tourned many "kennels" this is not a kennel. This is as close to home as I have seen. The layout and colors are warm & fuzzy. Very clean. Even on busy days. The staff is very knowledgable and the owners are working owners and you can tell their knowledge and passion for the pets is genuine & true. I won't trust anyone else with Rudy and Paige. Thanks for finally allowing me to be non stressed when leaving town. Steve

Helpful?(1)Flag

Posted: 6/3/2009

Overall
Best in KC metro

We have used multiple facilities in the KC metro area and toured even more. We now use “Tails” as our exclusive care provider for both day care and long term boarding. We were an early customer right after they opened and had an experience that left some to be desired but that was more in human interaction than dog care. Since then they have consistently provided superb care and have been nothing but friendly and overly accommodating. As to the comment in the last review regarding dog location the dogs behind the desk are in an area fenced from the rest of the lobby and get more constant interaction with the other dogs given that opportunity and staff. I would prefer this over being secluded in a kennel. I, for one, really enjoy seeing my dog getting this attention in addition to the regular and frequent play time. We are extremely sensitive about the amount activity provided our pets. This facility has more group play, more potty breaks and more interaction than any other in the area outside of hiring or paying for continuous one on one supervision. We have a dog subject to separation anxiety who recently experienced long term boarding without any discernable effects unlike our experiences at other facilities. I would and have highly recommended this business to family and friends. No offense intended but some of the other negative comments appear to have been posted by person with little or no other experience dog care facilities, especially the comment about the food. This facility, unlike many others, allows you to provide your own food and have it administered per your directions. I do not make a habit of rating things on the net (this is actually my first), but frankly I saw the criticisms in the posted reviews and found all my experiences with this business in the last year to be just the opposite and/or that they were really unfair.

Helpful?(2)Flag

Posted: 5/28/2009

Overall
I'd Go Elsewhere

My husband and I are trying to choose a boarding facility for our dog Golden Lab, Sammy. We walked in and promptly walked right out. The first thing we noticed were dogs lying around the front. The lady working there didn't seem like she wanted to be there either. Not someone I want looking after my dog. Shocking to say the least. Isn't this is a dog-boarding facility!? Why in the world are the dogs hanging around the front desk? Shouldn't they be in a play room with toys and an adult supervisor? We are not about to give them our hard-earned money for our dog to sit up front by the front desk while the employees try and work at the same time. That is completely inappropriate. Moreso, it's an inexpensive way for them to try and save money. That's not what we are paying for. And if other dog owners want "Human intercation" then the employees should be playing with them in a facility that is appropriate. Anyway, we found a great place down the road for our Sammy to stay at.

claimed iconBusiness Response08/19/2009

We are sorry that you view the dogs out front as not human interaction and not wanting to play with them. We have countless number of customers who disagree and come here just for that. The reasons we do this is for many reasons. 1. we try to do cageless grooming. so when they are done instead of being stuck in a small cage they get to run around, as long as they are dog friendly. 2. We have some small customers whom arent ready for daycare or may not want to be in a big daycare group. THis allows the dog to socialize with a smaller group and still get interaction. 3. we have owners who just want their dog to have human interaction, so they hang out in front. I cant image the person up front not being friendly. Our Receptionist is the best and our customers cant agree more. The owners are truley animals lovers with more experience in animal care than just about anyone in the city, besides a Vet. We are sorry about your experience and would love to offer you a free day of daycare to prove to you this was just a mis- interpretation. However if you don't agree with our philosophy as to why we allow dogs up front , then maybe we arent the facility for you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?Flag
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Tails R Waggin

6976 W 152nd TerOverland ParkKS 66223

(913) 685-9246

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Tails R Waggin

6976 W 152nd TerOverland ParkKS 66223

(913) 685-9246

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback