In mybookCar Collection (edit)
Added to your car collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Mceleveen Economy Cars

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

3

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

SunClosed

Extra Phones:

TollFree: (877) 202-9510

Sponsored Links
Brands:
buick, cadillac, camaro, chevrolet, chrysler, dodge, honda, jeep, lacrosse, lincoln, nissan, sebring
Payment method:
discover, financing available, mastercard, travelers checks, visa
Location:
Across from intersection of Rivers Ave and Murray Dr, between new Dominos and Post Office
AKA:

McElveen Economy Cars

Category:
Used Car Dealers

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Posted: 6/23/2011

Overall
ECONOMY CARS HOOKED ME UP....i...

ECONOMY CARS HOOKED ME UP....i kept dribing by on rivers seeing these nice cars, chargers and 300's and avalanches and couldnt believe they do on lot financing....we went in and ended up riding out in an 08 magnum with 20 inch rims even though my credit was messed ups...derrick my salesperson tightened me up decent...he worked hard to get us done on the car we liked and the other derrick in finance made it happen...they made it easy and theyve by far got the best looking and riding cars in charleston...big ups

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 6/23/2011

Overall
Very satisfied across the boar...

Very satisfied across the board...we came in not sure what to expect as we have had some credit issues in the past, but we were treated right from the beginning...most places make you feel like you shouldnt be there just because youve had some issues in the past, i got laid off three years ago and went through some tough times, but it doesnt mean im a scumbag. we went to toyota and basically got thrown out. we were about to go home when we saw this new place with a huge green sign and pulled in. Our salesperson kendale greeted us and made us feel welcome. he didnt treat us any different when we told him we had some credit issues either. they have a huge selection and kendale helped us find a vehicle that was right for our size and money needs. he helped us work payments out that were affordable and made sure we were happy after the sale. we knew we were buying a used vehicle and werent expecting it to be perfect, but the vehicle was clean and reliable and drives great. kendale called us a couple qweeks later just to make sure everything was still going good with it. his managers, derrick, jason and toby all thanked us on the way out. we sent one of our friends there a week later and they bought alos. kendale called me after that and had a check for me for reffering my buddy. overall great experience highly recomend

claimed iconBusiness Response06/23/2011

thanks for the review. Were glad to have another satisfied customer busting bugs with a green tag on the back of their vehicle.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?(1)Flag

Posted: 5/1/2011

Overall
Please Beware

I wish I was aware and did more research before coming to this place. My husband and I just moved here and I desperately needed a vehicle and we chose this place. I can't go into detail without getting too upset, but the first car we bought as a cash purchase drove for 2 weeks and died. They did try to rectify this after weeks of harrassing, but only to use it to make us come back to purchase another vehicle. Our second vehicle had several problems they tried to ignore and skate around, but the car wouldn't even move off the lot after we signed the papers. We purchased a new battery 2minutes after buying the car, literally. I know used cars dealers have to make a living, but there are used car dealers making it an honest living. Putting people in cars that aren't safe and reliable isn't honest especially people with children. I honestly wish I would have never walked in there. I don't want anyone, even a stranger, going through what we went through and still going through.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/23/2011

The part about the cash purchase is partially correct...what the buyer left out was the fact that my salesperson and myself practically begged the gentleman and his wife NOT to buy the car. It was a very high mileage car that we had just traded in and hadnt been serviced yet. It was explained to the customer that we had not serviced it in any way and had no idea of any issues with the vehicle. We were not intending on selling the vehicle as a retail sale on our lot but rather sending it to auction. The customer would only spend 2000 dollars and was told that unfortunately a 2000 dollar Toyota Camry is the equivalent of about a 500 dollar Dodge as they hold their value. He didnt caqre even after he was told that the vehicle would be AS IS if he purchased it, with us assuming zero responsibilty after the sale. He still purchased it and as we warned him, he had major issues two weeks later. Even though we had told him and had him sign documentation that the vehicle was AS-IS, we still allowed him to trade this vehicle back into us and gave him the full amount even though this vehicle was no longer running. They came in and picked out another vehicle. The vehicle did need a battery and since it was a Hybrid we did not have one on our lot. he asked if he could buy one and have us reimburse him, which we did. He also left out the part about us having to referee between him and his estranged wife as they hemmed out their differences in our dealership and through our salesperson on various phone calls. We sell 65-70 cars a month and unfortunately you will always have some people that blame everyone else for their situation. Hopefully this gentleman will pay his car payments this time, as he has not done in the past. Instead of him being grateful for us herlping him out and getting him financed even though he had credit issues, he comes on here to compalin about a battery which we replaced for him

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?Flag

Posted: 4/12/2011

Overall
Satisfied customer

we drove by the dealership a few times with the big green sign out front on rivers ave and thought it was a buy here pay here lot. We happened to see a nice looking tahoe one day that seemed like it was too nice to be an on lot financing car so called and inquired. we found out that while they do offer buy here pay here they also have financing for people with all types of credit. While our credit is far from perfect it is fair. they sold us the Tahoe at a price much lower than other ones we had looked at with the same miles and options. they also got us a very low interest rate through one of the local credit unions and a very affordable payment. the salesperson, Tim, was fantastic. he bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. Derrick in the finance office was friendly and explained everything in detail. The entire place had a very laid back low pressure feel to it, not like most of the chain car dealerships we were used to. we were actually a little worried about the price being so low thinking maybe something was wrong with the vehicle but after being provided with a carfax they explained that a big part of the reason their prices are lower is that because they are not a franchise store that they arent having to pay toyota or nissan or anyone else to use theie name and sell their products, this made a lot of sense to us. we would recommend them again in a heartbeat. if you are looking for a car i suggest you try economy cars on rivers ave

claimed iconBusiness Response06/23/2011

thanks, glad you were happy!!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?(2)Flag
Updated: 8/4/2013
Overall
Disappointed

Well I will start off by saying..the attitude is pretty good..no complaints, but I will complain about the service.. It's not what we expected being that we was actually purchasing our first car. I thought the business could've been handled more professionally..I won't get into great detail because it will take all day to explain..bottom line.. We was given the run around..had to keep traveling because a deal they messed up on..told us they had a car that we asked for waiting for us but when we got there.. they sold the car days before an tried to sell us something we didn't want..the deal was just pure stressful...an some of the salespersons tell you things, then all of a sudden thing change..We do like the car after they finally found one, but so disappointed with our whole situation..never again!

claimed iconBusiness Response04/12/2011

well I am glad that the customer was happy with my sales staff's attitude and Im sorry that she was unhappy with the service. I am not sure exactly which customer this is but a lot of times a customer will call days or weeks before they actually come in. Since we are selling a fair amount of vehicles monthly it will happen sometimes that a customer calls about a vehicle and it is sold in the days or weeks between the call and visit. We do not know if a customer who calls is definitely going to show up so we can not hold a vehicle without a monetary deposit. As this customer said though we will ALWAYS do whatever we can to locate a vehicle that a customer wants whether that means finding it on another lot or at auction or wherever. We strive to satisfy all of our customers in every aspect and I am sorry this customer was not completely satisfied.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?(1)Flag

Posted: 3/28/2011

Overall
Great deal and service

I purchased a nice, pre owned vehicle with a warranty. My credit was terrible but they worked with me and helped me get approved on a vehicle without a cosignor, when nobody else would even try. they treated me with respect and helped me across the board from beginning to end. I have even brought two more people to buy from them asnd they paid me 100 for each one that bought

Helpful?(1)Flag
Updated: 8/4/2013
Overall
What a joke

Economy Cars with the large neon green sign on Rivers Ave states they can finance everyone well they do but what do you get? I got an suv that was a safety hazard to me and my families life in less than 30 minutes from leaving the lot. I was on my way to the insurance company on Rivers Ave also when the front passenger tire began smoking. I went back to the lot to be told by the sales person that it was nothing. I went McElveen in Summerville to learn that if I had ran over a pot hole or driven at excessive speed of over 70 the front axle could have broken and caused me serve damage. I decided I did not want to purchase the vehicle again and took it back. I have lost trust in the sales person at this time. I go to cancel the insurance and my insurance company request for paper works stating that the vhicle was returned. All I get from Economy Cars is we have no idea what the insurance company is talking about. Then I get several promises that it will be taken care of in the next hour. Well this all took place since February 14, 2011 and today is March 13, 2011 and I still have not gotten anything resolved.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/28/2011

This is not exactly what had happened. When this customer complained of a service issue we sent her to our service department. We also put her in a rental car. She then decided that she no longer wanted to purchase the vehicle so we told her that would not be a problem, returned her down payment and went our seperate ways. As far as the insurance company issue, this would be an issue with her insurance company that we did help her resolve.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?(1)Flag
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Mceleveen Economy Cars

6501 Rivers AveNorth CharlestonSC 29406

(843) 300-3266

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Mceleveen Economy Cars

6501 Rivers AveNorth CharlestonSC 29406

(843) 300-3266

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback