In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Peasant

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Book a Table

Date

Time

Party Size

Book a Table

Business Details

16

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
Peasant Restaurant is a food establishment that offers a range of dining options. Its menu includes pizzas, mozzarella sticks, spaghetti, con mortadella and quaglie farcite. The restaurant serves a variety of wines, such as chardonnay, merlot, pinot noir and cabernet sauvignon. Located in New York City, Peasant Restaurant additionally offers online reservation services.
Extra Phones:

Phone: (646) 329-5148

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
all major credit cards
Neighborhoods:
Downtown Manhattan, NoLita
AKA:

Peasant Restaurant

Peasant New York

Categories:
Italian Restaurants, Bars, Mediterranean Restaurants, Taverns, Bar & Grills, Pizza, Family Style Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information:

Parking: Street

Wi-Fi: No

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Casual

Good For Groups: Yes

Cuisines: Mediterranean, Family Style, Italian, European, Continental, Pizza

Alcohol: Full Bar, No

Takes Reservations: Yes

Outdoor Seating: No

More »

Less »

Reviews

YP Insider badge
Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

brklynlwyr

Posted: 12/3/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
abusive, awful service, and mediocre food

i have never been talked down to by a waitstaff in the manner my friends and family and i were at peasant. perhaps they had a problem with the fact that we were a table of brown people, and they assumed we would just be happy to get a table at all? we were in a celebratory mood, so we quickly ate a few bites of the very bland entrees and left as soon as possible so those horrible rude people would not ruin our night. and when we confronted the manager, we were brushed off. if you are interested in being denigrated and harassed by the people who are supposed to host and serve you, this is the place to go.

Helpful?Flag
madrisc

Posted: 11/17/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
GREAT FOOD...SERVIE RUDE

-- FOOD WAS REALLY GOOD......
--THE GUY AT FRONT WAS SERIOSULY RUDE..AND I NORMALLY WOULDNT SAY THAT (HE WASN'T RUDE TO ME..BUT HE DEFINITELY HAD AN ATTITUDE)...I MEAN REALLY RUDE..THERE WERE ABOUT 2-3 INCIDENTS GOIGN ON ALL AROUND ME ..PEOPLE NOT BEING SERVED AT THE BAR ETC ETC

THEY DO REALLY TRY AND RUSH YOU THROUGH TEH MEAL..

WAITRESS HAD AN ATTITDUE TOO

THAT BEING SAID IT SI NYC AND IT IS SNOTTY SOHO..SO WHAT ARE YOU GONNA DO?

IF YOU GO..GET THE POLENTA..JUST UNREAL..DELICIOUS..

Helpful?Flag
mhr

Posted: 11/13/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Simple, Nice, but...

I really wanted to love this place . Its cozy, romantic and comfortable but I found the food too simple bordering on flavorless and more surprisingly too greasy! I would try this place again in hopes it was just an off night. I did find it a little absurd to have the menu translated.You would hear it numerous times as it was recited over and over again to neighboring tables. I had the Sarde which were too fishy and not in the fresh from the sea kind of way. I thought there was no flavor to the oil in which it arrived . Then I had the duck which was swimming in rendered oils from the duck, the sausage and maybe a big chunk of pancetta? I have little doubt there was probably some olive oil tossed in for good measure, it was so unappetizing I couldn't finish. The plates were well presented very attractively rustic the wine recommended by the server was nice. If the oil hadn't put me off so much I would have liked to try dessert, they sounded excellent. I'd try it again but I'm in no rush.

Helpful?Flag
bklynwineo

Posted: 11/12/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
pizza margarita is heaven

everytime i go to peasant i have to go with a group because i need the pizza margarita. if i go alone i would only eat the pizza and not have room for their other fantastic dishes. the clam pasta, lamb with polenta, the whole chicken (except that feet kinda freak me out), the venizon (!!!!!!!!), pasta with caviar, the baked sardines... i cold just go on and on. only thing is the music. its opera but at least its kept low so that you cant really notice

Helpful?Flag
breezyguy

Posted: 10/24/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Not sure about the fuss

one more thing that I forgot to mention .... dessert was outstanding. I had the ricotta cheescake with pistachio ice cream and wife had flourless choc cake. Both were GREAT!!!!

Helpful?Flag
sucka4service

Posted: 10/13/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Front Door Problems

The maitre d is tall, pretty, well groomed and since it opened 5 years ago I had heard about her demenor. But I did not think she was still there or how true it is - ""you are late, I can sit you but you have to be out by 8. Yeah, you have to be by 8 pm"" - We had a 6 pm reservation on a Sunday night for 3 ppl. We were 16 min. late. We were definately late but the room was pretty empty and never filled up. We stayed, we ate, we paid $300 with tip and as we were leaving the host came up and said, ""We really had to move everything around for you guys, but i hope you enjoyed it"" - There was no thank you when we left, no goodbyes, and few people. Space at the bar. It was just really weird but from reading other reviews and talking with friends - completely accurate for a night out at Peasant.

Helpful?Flag
nycseva

Posted: 9/27/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
trash and bread pudding

When I walked into Peasant I was pleasantly surprised. Nice ambiance, interesting atmosphere and very crowded. Our table was for two and sandwiched very close to our neighboring diners. The menu, composed soley in Italian, had to be translated to us not once, but twice because of the noise. Very frustrating! Then I had to rememeber what dish had what in it. (An allergy sufferers worst nightmare.) Not to mention when I did have questions our server had simply vanished and stayed gone for nearly 20 minutes.
Our first course was terrific; a simple beet salad with greens and gorgonzola. YUM! Our entrees were good, not great. The most incredible part of the evening was dessert. A heavenly decadent warm, white chocolate bread pudding. It was amazing. However, the worst was yet to come.
As I was finishing my dessert I had noticed that the restaurant was still busy and many patrons still enjoying their meals. Just about that time three huge barrels of some of the smelliest trash I've ever smelled were wheeled right through the dining room. I was floored by such a procession of garbage, through a crowded restaurant, while people are still eating. For these prices, the inconvienince of translation and vacant service, the least you could do is wait to take out the trash.
A word to the wise, make an extremely early reservation to avoid the trash parade.

Helpful?Flag
superstovall

Posted: 9/19/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Good not Great

On a recent dinner, the food was at times underwhelming and at other times very satisfying (starting with the Sullivan Street bread). The mozzarella appetizer was mediocre, the rabbit lasagna quite savory although not as heated through as I'd have liked and the oratta well cooked but under-seasoned. The suckling pig with potatoes was exceptional. By-the-glass wines were few but what we had was tasty. As for dessert - flour-less chocolate cake? Why is that on the menu? Overall it was a fine meal, though not much more and I could say the place is approaching ""theme restaurant"". Also worth noting is that the menus are written entirely in Italian. I mention this because having to ask your server to translate 20+ dishes is unnecessary and unpleasant. No surprise then during our stay as each table within earshot got the same unfortunate but necessary ""let me read the menu to you"" as we did. Aside from this tragic (pretentious?) flaw, service was excellent throughout. However, if you are thinking about eating here, I would try Lupa first.

Helpful?Flag
zeecee

Posted: 8/24/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Delicious food, nice menu, pleasant setting

My hesitation comes from having arrived for a 7:30 reservation at 7pm to find the restaurant almost empty only to be told, ""We won't seat you until your party is complete"". My husband was to be arriving imminently so we were seated three minutes later, when he turned up, but we complained that this seemed illogical and unfriendly. The manager's response was, ""That's our policy"". When we asked him to explain it, he refused and said, ""I don't want to fight with you."" To add to our annoyance, another diner had been seated and perhaps ten minutes later, her compaion arrived and joined her. Having said that, the food (sardines, grilled fish, gnocci, salad and dessert) were delicious. The meal was a bit pricey. The olive oil served with the Tuscan bread could be sweeter and tastier. Wine was fine. The selection isn't huge but there are plenty of enticing dishes. Had the attitude been more inviting and pleasant, the experience would have gotten a beter rating.

Helpful?Flag
chantellasfood

Posted: 8/12/2006

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
best food best service best restaurant

Peasant is the best Italian restaurant we have come across in NYC. I highly recommend it to anyone. Our friends have been raving about this restaurant so we decided to give it a try. We just want more. The menus are in Italian but our waiter translated it for us. It was amazing and we just loved his accent. He helped us decided because we just wanted everything. We started off with the octopus, a must have and the mozzerella and oven baked asparagus with cheese. For entrees we had the rissotto YUM, the spagetti with clams, and the chicken, which is the best I ever had. The restaurant itself is so beautiful with an open kitchen and wood fire oven. Service was the best we ever had and we loved our waiter , he made the experience for us so much fun. Thankyou Peasant and we will see you soon

Helpful?Flag
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Peasant

194 Elizabeth St Frnt ANew YorkNY 10012

(212) 965-9511

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Peasant

194 Elizabeth St Frnt ANew YorkNY 10012

(212) 965-9511

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback