In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Havana Alma de Cuba

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Book a Table

Date

Time

Party Size

Book a Table

Business Details

13

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
Tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of the West Village, Havana Alma de Cuba exudes the warmth and flavor of an authentic Cuban restaurant. The rhythmic palpitations of salsa and merengue, and the extraordinary scents of exotic dishes permeates the air. More Information: info@havananyc.com
Extra Phones:

Phone: (212) 242-5871

Phone: (212) 242-3196

Primary Phone: (212) 242-8080

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
all major credit cards
Neighborhoods:
Downtown Manhattan, West Village
AKA:

Cuban Restaurant

Categories:
Cuban Restaurants, Latin American Restaurants, Caribbean Restaurants, Caterers, Spanish Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information:

Parking: Street

Wi-Fi: No

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Casual

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish, Mediterranean, Caribbean, Latin American, European, Tapas, Continental

Alcohol: Full Bar

Takes Reservations: Yes

Outdoor Seating: Yes

Price Range : Average

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

stephbot

Posted: 3/9/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Worst Service in History of Restaurants!

I want to give this place NO Stars, but the system requires at least one. I went with a group of friends to this place and we've been long time patrons, not regulars but occasionally for celebrations. We go especially for birthdays, and it was for a friend's birthday this time as well. It was the birthday boys first time there but it ended being the worst experience. We made a reservation for a group of 5. We arrived on time and was told that our table should be ready in a few minutes, that they were waiting for a group to leave soon. That was fine. Then came 2 other groups who clearly did not have reservations and were seated before us. The host's reply was that they were groups of 4's and we are getting a table for 5. So we waited some more. Half hour later, they finally seated us...at a cramped corner cleary for 4 people to sit!!! If we had to wait for this, then why didn't we get seated before the other group? The host clearly seeing that we were outraged, tried to appease us by giving us free desert wine while we waited for a better table. Finally seated at a proper table that fit us, we decided to not let that get to us and move on. At the end of the meal, the waiter comes over to give us the check and as we're getting ready to leave comes back to demand more tip. We definitely gave enough tip, especially for how we were treated in the beginning. We were practically getting over how the night started, but he had to go and ruin it all over again. This is so unprofessional and a disgrace. This once beloved place that we enjoyed our meals at and shared laughter at is now a place we all agree to boycott! And all our friends will be telling their friends. The service is not the same as before. Maybe it was because we were Asians and the other two groups who came in after us were hispanic and they got the royal treatment and we didn't. If this isn't true, they sure made us feel that way. Don't go to Havana Alma de Cuba. Plenty of other better restaurants around town. Ones that actually respect and appreciate all patrons.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
eugene1234

Posted: 2/14/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Worst Valentine's Day Dinner!

Went for a Valentines Day dinner and expected a normal menu as provided by their website. However, upon entering the only option given was a $60 per person Valentines Day menu consisting of a few bland meals. The food was not to par with the cost. There were three appetizers available and just four or five entrees. The desert consisted of a choice of two dishes. The service was mediocre. The $60 course also included a choice of drinks of either a sangria, mojito, or a bottle of wine. We elected to try the sangria. I must say that the sangria was well made, and that was all that was well made. The food was average and was no in way worth the outrageous and unpredicted cost. Had the restaurant warned their guests of their specific Valentines Day menu I would not have went there. This is not my first time attending Valentines day dinners, but it is certainly my last time at the Havana Alma de Cuba. Furthermore, for the same $120.00 + tax + tip meal you can easily find yourself at a much better restaurant and certainly with better food.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
ariellazp

Posted: 11/8/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Fun Restaurant - Great Music

Fun and cozy restaurant. Since it was our first time in New York, and being aware of the limited space in most places, I made reservations. Even though we were seated in the comforatable private area, we asked to be seated in the front of the restaurant where the live music could be appreciated. The wait staff was very friendly and accomodating. The staff was overall very attentive; the manager was very nice and realizing that we were first time visitors in the city, recommended a few other places to visit. So nice of him! The musicians were nothing less than awesome! Just the type of live music we were looking for! Performed so skillfully ..... We enjoyed visiting with the manager and the musicians. We had so much fun!
Great food and drinks; we liked the pomagranate in the cebiche; the ""pollo camaguey"" was delicious, and the dessert (chocolate cake with coconut ice cream) was to die for.... we were also served a cocktail with a banana flavor to it that was just amazing. Dinner for two was about $125. What a fun way to spend our first night in New York! I definitely recommend it. Havana staff: Keep up the good work and customer service level!! Truly enjoyed it!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Boobooboo

Posted: 10/29/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Are you kidding?

Are you kidding? After I paid the bill, by the way over $100.00, we were asked to leave as they needed the table. My dinner was not even two hours long, they hovered over us to clean away and wipe the last grains from our lips before we swallowed our food. By the way, there were two other empty tables, but they needed our little two person table. So, I highly recommend you don't go here as they are rude, overcharging for drinks so be careful, check the bill if you do. And if you do go, remember eat fast because you will get thrown out! After you pay the bill!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
ciasy

Posted: 9/18/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Cuban food with style and fun

Great garden, good for a party! The guy preparing cigar, good food preparation! It's definitely a coming back! Not really happy with the service, but overall great!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
RZrty

Posted: 8/16/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Go for it!

I didn't really get a chance to be too daring with the menu, as I didn't understand some of the names. I must admit, I played it safe and enjoyed not rolling the dice!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Vannessa

Posted: 5/28/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Awesome

This place is amazing! The restaurant is really nice and romantic, and the food is delicious!!!!
Great Mojitos!!!

I would definitively recommand this restaurant.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
hweed

Posted: 5/7/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
EXCELLENT FOOD BUT MANAGMENT THINK IS A FASTFOOD RESTAURANT

Very small very intimated.Nice place only bad thing THIS PEOPLE THINK THEY ARE THE ONLY RESTAURANT IN TOWN NEED TO CHECK the reality and realized the way this economic is.Great food,BAD HOST.I asked to change my table cause I didnt want to seat next to the bathroom.She got an ATTITUD with me.SMALL TINY TABLES my husband 6""2 was very incomfortable seating.This people rush you to get out from the restaurant .Thats what happen with some couple seating next to us.The manager came in approched this people and told them if they are done cause they need the table for another couple.I told my husband great food but someone else will get my money very RUDE all overall.The waiter was standing next to almost evryone .Cause I soon they see you stop eating they come and pick up your plate.I told the waiter IM not done this is not a fastfood restaurant.very slow service and when your food come they want to rush you to get you out this was on friday nite.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
efeefeoglu

Posted: 3/16/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
what am i doing

i am just looking around

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
roifield

Posted: 3/11/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Loved it

Visited Havana Alma de Cuba, last night and had an amazing time. Cuban food is not as renown as its music but last night it was its equal.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Havana Alma de Cuba

94 Christopher StNew YorkNY 10014

(212) 242-3800

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Havana Alma de Cuba

94 Christopher StNew YorkNY 10014

(212) 242-3800

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback