In mybookCar Collection (edit)
Added to your car collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Econo Car

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

46

years

in Business

40 Years of Serving Our Neighborhood with Great Rates & Service Econo
BBB Rating:
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
Car has been operating in Union & Jersey City area for over 40 years, with one goal in mind. That is to give the best service, with competitive prices with the newest line of vehicles! We feel that with the perfect blend of service and expertise, our customers will leave with the feeling they were treated with respect and care. We hope to gain your trust and to build a great relationship towards all your renting needs! Jersey City Location: 411 Summit Avenue Jersey City, NJ 07305 (201) 434 0254 Business Hours: Monday - 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Tuesday - Thursday - 8:00 a.m. - 5:45 p.m. Friday - 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Saturday - 8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Union Location: 1577 Morris Avenue Union, NJ 07083 (908) 964 4100 Business Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Saturday - 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Sunday - 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Call Today for All Your Car, Van or Truck Rental Needs!
Extra Phones:

Phone: (201) 885-4711

Phone: (908) 964-4100

Sponsored Links
Brands:
* Chevy * Dodge * Ford * Nissan * Toyota
Payment method:
discover, amex, visa, check, master card
AKA:

Econo Car of Jersey City

Categories:
Automobile Leasing, Truck Rental, Car Rental

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

teddybuckley

Posted: 6/2/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
STAY AWAY FROM ECONO-CAR JERSEY CITY

STAY AWAY FROM ECONO-CAR (especially Jersey City Location) if you don't want to get scammed. They charged my credit card several times. When I opened a dispute to my credit card company, they create another contract with a fake signature of mine. After I read the reviews here, I realized that they're doing this all the time.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
hungryDOG

Posted: 5/25/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

They are not honest. They are rude on the phone. They charge you even if you cancel your reservation DAYS in advance. I WOULD NOT USE THESE PEOPLE!!!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
moninam

Posted: 10/11/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Rented twice from them this year -- both good experiences

I've rented twice already this year from this company. I wouldn't have gone back a second time if I wasn't happy with them the first time around. First rental was a weekend in August and the second was an extended weekend in this month (October). Both times they were professional, friendly and efficient. They charged me exactly what they quoted me over the phone when I had made the reservation. I declined their insurance and used my own and had no problems, whatsoever. Their vehicles were in great condition and the service both times was great. I will definitely be renting from them again in the near future.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
alex1970

Posted: 2/9/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Worst car rental company ever

Regular rates was $135. They overcharged my $550 when I returned the car. When I opened a duspute, they provided fake documents to my credit card company and mimic my signature. If you live around Jersey City, please STAY AWAY from these guys.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
mrkibbz

Posted: 10/29/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Overcharge problem

When I signed my contract, I had asked not to have all these add-ons and I was told I won't. Day rate is 42/day, I was charged $85 instead. Needless to say, I called back to dispute and the rep pretty much just admitted to those extra hidden charges saying they're in the contract..Regardless, I told him I had explicitly said I don't want them and to be lied to.. its a different story. There's sly through fine prints and then there's lying - both of them are bad for business and both are happened there. I'll be cautious and use them as a last resort.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
cocacolo73

Posted: 1/22/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Best experience with car rentals

I have experienced the best when i rented a vehicle for a few days from Econo-Car. The customer service and vehicle availability was perfect and i was treated with courtesy and respect at all times.......The billing was accurate and very well explained for the charges incurred.....They are under new ownership and i will recommend this rental company to anyone.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse

Posted: 6/23/2008

Overall
Econo-car

I was scammed by this Econo-car. When we arrived to rent the car, the counter clerk asked "do you want any extra coverage"; we answered NO; the clerk printed out the form and said "initial here, here and sign here"; he then folded the rental agreement, placed it in a folder and we were on our way with our "great deal" of $199.95 per week (Compact Car). Upon returning the car, we were given a computerized receipt for over $400 in the parking lot. I went into the office to ask them why my bill was double what we asked for; the very rude guy stated that we had signed the agreement stating that we accepted LDW; we told him that we had answered "no" to the rental clerk, but he told us it didn't matter what we said, it only mattered what we signed; he was very smug, almost like he had a scripted response; this is obviously one of their more popular scams; he refused to cooperate in anyway, stated that we were responsible for the bill because that's what we signed; we insisted that we said "no", but he just kept on with his smug responses

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.11/08/2008

In responding to SALBROWN'S accusation that my company scammed him he couldn't be further from the truth. First of all were not computerized and we don't sell LDW. Also, looking back at all the rentals during that time period, no one rented by this name or even a rental rate of $199.95 per week. If there was a problem I wish someone would of asked to speak to me and I would of resolved this matter that both parties would of been happy. I just have a bad taste in my mouth when some one likes to go on the internet and make FALSE accusations and write such horrible things. Our company has been servicing JERSEY CITY for over 40 years and sometimes you get a customer who thinks they were ripped off or in this case scammed. I would just hope that our reputation would be better judged by the whole body of work over the last 40 years then some rogue individual who just wants to be heard.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
JillCole79

Posted: 6/22/2008

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Econo-car overcharge problem

There is a difference between the amount the you sign and the one that you see in your statement. If there is a dispute on the transaction, they prepare a fake contract with their adjusted(!) values to prove the transaction .I think this is the way that they make money.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse

Posted: 12/18/2007

Overall
car rental

my husband and I have been renting cars from this family run car rental company for the past two years and would like to tell the world about the great service and quality of cars. Not only was the transaction of renting so easy, but the price and location can't be beat. I can only say that I have the econo car team as my friends for life.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse

Posted: 10/26/2007

Overall
car rental

A throw back company. They have the best customer service not to mention the best and newest line of cars at FANTASTIC prices.Dealing with this company was a great experience. They treat you like family. I will only use them. They also go by the name of ECONO-CAR

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
Sponsored Links
Send to Phone
Econo Car

(201) 434-0254

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Econo Car

(201) 434-0254

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback