In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Las Vacas Gordas Argentine Steak House

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

20

years

in Business

BBB Rating:
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours:

Regular Hours

Sponsored Links
Payment method:
all major credit cards, visa, master card
Neighborhoods:
Normandy Isle, Isle of Normandy Ocean Side
Categories:
Steak Houses, Take Out Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information:

Cuisines: Latin American, Steakhouse, Omelets

Wi-Fi: No

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Alcohol: Beer, Wine

Parking: Street

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Casual

Takes Reservations: No

Outdoor Seating: Yes

Specialties: Argentinian

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

puraf

Posted: 6/27/2012Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Editorial review from Citysearch

BEWARE!!! They steal tips!!! I took my best friend to this restaurant for her birthday last week. We have been there before a few years ago before they expanded the restaurant and remember the steak was very tasty so we went back. Although the food was good it was overpriced and on top of that they add the gratuity to the bill and the service wasn't the best. If you decide to go here for a meal BEWARE.. the tip is already added yet the server decided to give herself an additional tip withouth my authorization. No matter what you do make sure you check that bill CAREFULLY before you walk out so that you don't fall victim to this scam. I called the restaurant as soon as I noticed and was given the run around for 3 days. After 3 days I finally spoke to the manager or owner Rosie who DID NOT bother to apologize for the incident and only made exscuses for the server and on top of that had an attitude. I guess the days of the customer is always right are long gone. I am just sorry I am out an additional $18.00 in stolen tips.

Below is the uncaring and nasty response from the owner.

***********************
THE APOLOGIZE!
FROM:Rosie G
LAS VACAS GORDAS has been in business for more than 16 years and we always add the gratuity to our checks. This is explained clearly on all our menus as well as the checks. The customers have always the option to take or add additional tips. I apologized for this inconvenience several times and I requested the information of the credit card (since we do not keep record of any cc) to do the refund right away. After several emails back and forth I never received this information. In addition, my ""excuses"" were only explanations on what might have happened, and the attitude that I might had have was only a reflection of yours. We do our best but sometimes it's hard to please everyone.

Rosie G.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Updated: 6/11/2015

Posted: 2/11/2012

Overall
WORST DINNER EVER, 1.30 HR TO ...

WORST DINNER EVER, 1.30 HR TO GET THE FILET MIGNON, AND THEN WAS OVERCOOKED. SENT IT BACK..STILL NOT COOKED RIGHT. AND WE HAD TO WAIT ANOTHER 30 MIN. OVERCHARGED FOR THE BOTTLE OF REDWINE $10.00..
MGR ARROGANT AND COULD NOT CARE LESS ABOUT OUR COMPLAINT..JUST TOLD US WHERE THE DOOR WAS...I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A BAD EXPERIENCE BEFORE AND THE BILL WAS $200.00 WE ACTUALLY DID NOT EAT, BUT TOOK THE FILET MIGNON HOME TO COOK. NEVER AGAIN.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
solenskinner

Posted: 2/10/2012Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
STAY AWAY HORRIBLE ARROGANT MGR AND SERVICE

Worst dinner ever.
waited 1.30 hr for the filet mignon. asked for medium rare..was well done. sent it back..waited another 30 min and this time was only seared extremely rare..how difficult can it be to prepare a filte mignon medium rare ? to top it we were overcharged for our bottle of redwine.
Arrogant mgr, did not even feel like apologizing and never went to our table. Very arrogant when i complained on our way out..just showed me where the door was..
i have never been treated so poorly in a restaurant. and our dinner was $200.00. We left hungry and angry.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Yamille

Posted: 1/30/2012Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Las Vacas Gordas

I would not go again to this restaurant again because 1. The waiter was clearly trying to upsell 2. We asked for well done and got bloody meat... had to return again and then burnt our meat!!! what outrage !!! 3. Its was way too pricy for what your getting, Its soo disappointing when you pay so much money a restaurant and get the worst in Food and srvice return...

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
kjaimes4321

Posted: 11/1/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Servicio= Horripilante

Mi nombre es Kenia Sofia, NUNCA, NUNCA yo volvere a ese Restaurante por el horrible servicio que dan. El Domingo 30 de Octubre qu estaba lloviendo incontrolable fui con mi familia a cenar para celebrar el cumpleanos de mi Padre. Nunca en mi vida me habian tratado tan mal como ese dia. Eramos 6 adultos y tres ninos uno de los ninos era un recien nacido solamente 3 semanas. Mi Madre entro y pidio una mesa. primero le dijeron que era una espera de 1 Hr. despues le dijeron que unas de las mesa que esta desocupada para sentarnos ahi teniamos que comprar 2 botellas de vino y cada una era 250.00. Desidimos esperar la hora. despues dijo que teniamos que esperar afuera porque eran las reglas del restaurante. y arriba de eso el coche de la recien nacida no podia estar en el restaurante. Que tristesa que traten a un cliente tan mal. Voy a mandar un mensage por Facebook a todas mis amigos que nunca NUNCA vayan a ese lugar es muy mal servicio. No Gasten su Dinero al ir a ese restaurante. comida caricima y servicio HORRIBLE.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
jdjdjdj

Posted: 10/22/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
SERVICE = EPITOMY OF HORRIBLE

I am a Miami Beach native and I have been going to Las Vacas Gorda since I was a little kid with my parents. I am now 30 years old and I AM NEVER GOING BACK! The food is good but the service is the epitomy of the word HORRIBLE. Ever since they expanded to what you see now the service has really taken a hit. The straw that broke the camels back for me was tonight. I waited for 30 minutes (no problem). They then sat us and gave us the menues. We then waited another 25 minutes without even a glass of water. Suddenly they sit a couple next to us and a waitress comes within 3 minutes and ask them if they were ready to order. I NEVER write reviews but the service there is bad enough to give you indigestion. If you want good food AND good service then this is not the place for you.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
kjfpolitical

Posted: 1/22/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
DISASTER! AVOID THIS PLACE!

AVOID THIS ESTABLISHMENT!! RUDE, OBNOXIOUS WAITERS & MANAGEMENT! I am not one to complain, but this place is a disaster. We showed up for our reservation on time, but were told we'd have a very short wait. We were a larger party of 9, so we understood. After 1/2 hour, we noticed an empty table of 10 which was going unused so we inquired about being seated at this table. We were told we could only sit there if we agreed to purchase 2 bottles of wine priced over $150 each! We declined. After waiting another 45 minutes, we asked the hostess and owner when we might be seated. We explained that we had a reservation but had waited over an hour to which the owner rudely responded, ""Well, I have been here for over six hours!!"" I was stunned when the manager started rudely yelling at other parties who were also waiting for tables. Finally, we were seated and had the worst experience ever with the obnoxious (bald headed, middle-aged male) waiter who badgered each of us to order the VERY overpriced KOBE beef rather than the steaks we were selecting. When I tried to order one of the less expensive Malbecs under $50/bottle he said they were ""sold out"" and kept pointing me to the $250 bottle! I am not making this up! At every turn, he kept rudely insisting that we order more expensive items than we wanted to order. Once we ordered our wine, he kept opening new bottles and pouring them, without first asking if we cared for another bottle. (We drank over six bottles, in the end.) They immediately started pouring bottled water without asking if we wanted ice water and the waiter responded, ""That will take some time because I will need to get a pitcher and fill it with ice!"" Frankly, we thought this was some kind of joke. The food was mediocre at best. Others were also complaining as they left the restaurant. To top it off, when we received the bill, an 18% tip was added which they refused to adjust downward. Oh, and they never did seat anyone at the empty table of 10 with the minimum 2 $150+ bottle requirement! These people are frauds!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
angry customres

Posted: 9/26/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
DON'T GO THERE.TRUST ME..

The service SUCKS, the Owner has NO respect for the customers, he sucks too. Food is VERY expensive.I 'd to called the Police, that men is out of control! We 've never been treated so wrong in a Restaurant before in my life.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Gastolfo

Posted: 6/6/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Best Argentinian Steak House in Miami Beach

I have been visiting las vacas gordas with my wife for the last two years, and every time we come, we feel better, more familiar, and in consequence better service. the food is great, my favorite is enrrollada, and my wife loves the bife de chorizo. the new decor is simply beautiful and the place is bigger and very comfortable.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
tricities

Posted: 3/21/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Boy! I was wrong!!!

I was hesitant when my husband wanted to go here?he remembered this place from 5 years ago and I read reviews stating the service was ?terrible??well I had to write because this place was great. The service, wine selection and atmosphere was outstanding. It was reasonably priced and the meat was done to perfection. A little GEM! And off the beaten path of south beach but well worth it?music was set at a perfect level and the staff didn?t rush you to eat, it was relaxed I would certainly return.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Las Vacas Gordas Argentine Steak House

933 Normandy DrMiami BeachFL 33141

(305) 867-1717

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Las Vacas Gordas Argentine Steak House

933 Normandy DrMiami BeachFL 33141

(305) 867-1717

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback