In mybookHome Collection (edit)
Added to your home collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Activity

88,215
Approximate number of views of this business profile
Number of people that like this business on Facebook
4
Number of people that have checked into this location
9
Number of YP reviews

Business Details

46

years

in Business

YP Qualified

Don't Make A Move Without Us
Hours:

Regular Hours

SunClosed

General Info:
With everything you have on your mind, why not let "The Movers That Care" handle your move. Johnnie T. Melia Moving and Storage has been moving families like yours in Houston with care since 1969. Call us, and we'll dispatch a consultant to arrange the details of your move from start to finish. Johnnie T. Melia Moving and Storage is a full service moving company that is family owned and operated. We are a moving company that specializes in local moves, long distance moves, commercial moves and international moves. Pleasing our customers is our number one priority. Talk to the Houston movers that have been moving families and businesses in the greater Houston area including the suburbs like Sugarland, The Woodlands, Kingwood, Conroe, Montgomery, Katy, Willowbrook, Bellaire, Tomball, Galveston, Pearland, Pasadena, Missouri City, Cypress, Baytown, New Caney, Humble and as far as Spring since 1969. No job is too small or too big for us. If you need storage as well as a mover in Houston we can be the mover and the storage facility to accommodate your needs.
Services/Products:
Moving and storage services, Local & Long Distance Moving, International Moving,Packing and unpacking services, Packing material available to self-packers, Delivery of unlimited items to any location, Warehouse facilities for receiving and delivery of new products, Houston storage facilities for any length of time, Crating services for shipping of products to other locations via truck, air or sea, Free estimates for residential and commercial moves, Estimates are done on location, Any size vehicle necessary-10 Bobtail trucks, 2 Tractor Trailer units, International moving services-from packing to delivery to unpacking, Self-Haul capabilities, Loading and unloading of PODS (Portable On-Demand Storage)
Payment method:
debit, discover, visa, master card, check, cash
Neighborhoods:
Fairway Park, Northwest Houston, Spring Branch East
Amenities:
Free Estimates for Residential and Commercial moves. Estimates are done on location. Video Surveillanced storage warehouse.Packing Materials.
Accreditation:

American Moving & Storage Association

Member Better Business Bureau

Agent for National Van Lines, Inc.

Move for Hunger

Houston Movers Association

Associations:
Better Business Bureau,Southwest Movers Association Move for HungerNational Van Lines, Inc.Houston Movers AssociationAMSA (American Moving & Storage Association)
Categories:
Movers & Full Service Storage, Movers, Relocation Service, Moving Boxes, Packing & Crating Service, Storage Household & Commercial, Local Trucking Service

More »

Less »

Reviews

Click to rate
Please give the business a star rating

Thanks!
Success! Thanks for posting your review of Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage. You’ve done the world some good today.

09/18/2012
Worst experience ever!

This company over charged and lied about their service procedures! Plus they use temp workers who don't care about your belongings. After they loaded the trucks they demanded to be paid with cash! Big Red Flag!

Like this review?Yes|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.07/10/2014

This is a false review. We never demand payment with cash to any of our customers. We take credit card, personal checks, cashier's checks, and cash. Plus, we do not ask for payment until the move is completed and the customer is happy with our service. This review is utterly false. Also, what service procedures are we not being honest about? We explain everything very well on the phone and when our estimators meet with each customer and our charges are even explained on our moving tickets when we do the moves and estimates.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
07/13/2012
Don't Contact

This is the worse mover in town! Very unprofessional and the owner used fowl language on the phone when we called in a complaint. Beware!

Like this review?Yes|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.07/10/2014

Thank you for the review. If this was actually done, we do apologize, but there are several people in our office and our men also come in and out of the office and it could have been anyone that made the comment. Once again, we do apologize for this, but please don't discredit our service and say that we are the worst mover in Houston. We do our very best to please our customers with our moving services as well as handling any complaints we receive. We have a lot of repeat business as well because we handle our moves with professionalism and respect for the customer.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
07/12/2012
Super helpful

I was really nervous moving from Houston to Illinois, but Brandon was super helpful, calling after every step to make sure everything went well. On moving day the movers were very friendly even after moving me out of my 3rd floor apartment in the summer. I would recommend them to anyone I know.

Like this review?Yes|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.07/10/2014

Thank you very much for the great review! We are glad that all was handled well and that we calmed your nerves! If you ever need any moving services again, please give us a call and we will try to calm those nerves again!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
02/07/2012
Great company for shipping lar...

Great company for shipping large household items. We had a king size mattress and box spring set and were moving from Houston to San Antonio for my new work. These items would not fit in a pickup truck and the cost to rent a truck or a trailer was not worth it for just those items. I called Johnnie T after seeing their FB page and made the arrangements, the pickup was at my house and on time. The delivery went as pl... view more

Like this review?Yes|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.07/10/2014

Thank you very much for the great review and for the business! If you ever need anything moved, please give us a call!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
02/06/2012
Johnnie T. Melia gave me the b...

Johnnie T. Melia gave me the best price for my move from Kashmere Gardens to Houston Heights. They also provided us with a pretty great group of guys during the move. They were really nice and treated my wife and I as if we were the only clients for the day. You could tell they weren't from the states- but they were still really respectful of my belongings. Making sure i should repack some stuff that they knew werent... view more

Like this review?Yes  (1)|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.07/10/2014

Thank you very much for the great review! If you ever need any help with moving again, please give us a call and we will make the move as successful as the last one!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
12/19/2011
PLEASE do not use these movers...

PLEASE do not use these movers. First, they under quote the job and then Rosemary calls once the guys are there to move you and charges extra fees that were "left off the quote". At which point you are stuck with either paying the extra fees or not moving that day. It's so wrong and they know it!! Second, I had a friend who used them after I did and had her wedding ring stolen from her personal belongin... view more

Like this review?Yes|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.01/05/2012

We would like to know who this customer is because we are not able to respond well to this review unless we know who you are. As far as we know, we have never added charges to a move when the movers get to the job and usually the only way that the price may be more is if the move takes longer or there is more packing done than estimated. We do not add hidden charges to our moves. We do not do business in this way because we are a professional business. We know of many other moving companies that are doing this sort of business, but this is not our way of doing things. We have been in this business for many years and know how things are done. As to the claim of the friend missing her wedding ring, once again we do not know who you are talking about and this person has apparently not made a review or filed a claim with us on it yet. This review is simply to slander our business and destroy our reputation as a professional moving company. If we really have moved you and your friend, we can look at your job and see if there is any way to make things right with you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
June Stobaugh
06/26/2011
Beware!

Be careful when thinking about storing items at Johnnie T. Melia. Insects totally destroyed three of my rugs at Melia's storage unit. All rugs were in excellent condition valued at more than $8,000. Plus, my other items in storage had insects crawling out of the boxes and wrappings when they were delivered. To top it all off, a delivery fee of $300 was charged in advance to my credit card! Melia's men delivered ... view more

Like this review?Yes|Flag AbuseProvided by CitysearchReview provided by: Citysearch
claimed iconBusiness Response.07/10/2014

We are very sorry that this happened to Mrs. Stobaugh's rugs. This is the first time this has ever happened to any customer of ours. We are not sure why this happened to her rugs because we have an exterminator spray our entire warehouse every quarter of the year (every 3 months). But the settlement that was offered was in accordance to the insurance that she took out. She only wanted the standard mover's liability, which is Sixty cents per pound per article, which is what we offered her for settlement on the rugs. If the rugs had so much value it is a wonder to us why she did not take out full replacement valuation which is offered to every customer of ours. Once again, we are very sorry that this happened to Mrs. Stobaugh's rugs, but this is the first time something like this has ever happened to any of our customer's goods while they were in storage. We have an exterminator come in regularly to spray and make sure that our warehouse is free of bugs so that things like this do not happen. As we mentioned, this is the first and only time this has ever happened to any of our customers in 45 years.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
07/24/2008
Estimaters Overcharge to Make $$'s

The estimate doubled the necessary manpower and vans. They only used one van - charged us for 2. Manpower was utilized for 5 hours - even with return trip to wharehouse - charged us 10 hours. Don't be fooled by this company.

Like this review?Yes  (1)|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.01/05/2012

When did we move you? We do not do this kind of work. There is no way that we could be in business for over 42 years handling business in this way. There are plenty of other companies that practice their business this way, but we do not do this to our customers. If we did move you, please contact us to see if there is any way we can discuss the move and the charges. If we did not do your move, please quit giving false negative reviews to hard-working businesses.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
07/24/2008
Melia "QUOTE MISTAKES"

Johnnie T. Melia came to our home and gave a binding quote to move us. Then 2 days before the move they called with "mistakes" to the quote. After telling us it would be an additional $2,000 .... we had a contract! They refused to honor it - DON'T USE THIS FIRM UNLESS YOU HAVE BIG DOLLARs LYING AROUND!!!

Like this review?Yes  (2)|Flag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.01/05/2012

We normally do not give binding estimates unless it is an out of town move. But to claim that we have made a mistake on the estimate by $2,000.00 is very unlikely. We do not make mistakes that large, unless the customer failed to mention something that would effect the estimate that much from when the estimate was given. Such as needing something to come into storage or requiring packing services when there wasn't any packing quoted the first time because the customer said they would pack themselves. Once again, we do not make an estimating mistake of $2,000.00. It is unbelievable that we have been in business for so long that we would make that grand of a mistake. If we really did this, we would like to talk with you about this "mistake" you are claiming so we can see what happened.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Map & Directions
More About the Business
Ad Banner
Don't Make A Move Without Us
Send to Phone
Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage

2527 Fairway Park DrHoustonTX 77092

(713) 683-8585

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage

2527 Fairway Park DrHoustonTX 77092

(713) 683-8585

  • Photos should be clear and in focus
  • Photos should be of the business, product or service, not an illustration or clip art
  • Photos should not be an advertisment or include contact information.
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback