In mybookHome Collection (edit)
Added to your home collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

47

years

in Business

Don't Make A Move Without Us
BBB Rating:
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Social Links:
Visit Twitter Page   |   Visit Facebook Page
Hours:

Regular Hours

SunClosed

General Info:
With everything you have on your mind, why not let "The Movers That Care" handle your move. Johnnie T. Melia Moving and Storage has been moving families like yours in Houston with care since 1969. Call us, and we'll dispatch a consultant to arrange the details of your move from start to finish. Johnnie T. Melia Moving and Storage is a full service moving company that is family owned and operated. We are a moving company that specializes in local moves, long distance moves, commercial moves and international moves. Pleasing our customers is our number one priority. Talk to the Houston movers that have been moving families and businesses in the greater Houston area including the suburbs like Sugarland, The Woodlands, Kingwood, Conroe, Montgomery, Katy, Willowbrook, Bellaire, Tomball, Galveston, Pearland, Pasadena, Missouri City, Cypress, Baytown, New Caney, Humble and as far as Spring since 1969. No job is too small or too big for us. If you need storage as well as a mover in Houston we can be the mover and the storage facility to accommodate your needs. Tx DMV No. 0000005457 Tx DMV Phone Number 1-888-368-4689
Services/Products:
Moving and storage services, Local & Long Distance Moving, International Moving,Packing and unpacking services, Packing material available to self-packers, Delivery of unlimited items to any location, Warehouse facilities for receiving and delivery of new products, Houston storage facilities for any length of time, Crating services for shipping of products to other locations via truck, air or sea, Free estimates for residential and commercial moves, Estimates are done on location, Any size vehicle necessary-10 Bobtail trucks, 2 Tractor Trailer units, International moving services-from packing to delivery to unpacking, Self-Haul capabilities, Loading and unloading of PODS (Portable On-Demand Storage)
Payment method:
debit, discover, visa, master card, check, cash
Neighborhoods:
Fairway Park, Northwest Houston, Spring Branch East
Amenities:
Free Estimates for Residential and Commercial moves. Estimates are done on location. Video Surveillanced storage warehouse.Packing Materials.
Accreditation:

American Moving & Storage Association

Member Better Business Bureau

Agent for National Van Lines, Inc.

Move for Hunger

Houston Movers Association

Associations:
Better Business Bureau,Southwest Movers Association Move for HungerNational Van Lines, Inc.Houston Movers AssociationAMSA (American Moving & Storage Association)
Categories:
Movers & Full Service Storage, Movers, Relocation Service, Moving Boxes, Packing & Crating Service, Storage Household & Commercial, Local Trucking Service, Moving Services-Labor & Materials

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

09/18/2012

Overall
Worst experience ever!

This company over charged and lied about their service procedures! Plus they use temp workers who don't care about your belongings. After they loaded the trucks they demanded to be paid with cash! Big Red Flag!

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2014

This is a false review. We never demand payment with cash to any of our customers. We take credit card, personal checks, cashier's checks, and cash. Plus, we do not ask for payment until the move is completed and the customer is happy with our service. This review is utterly false. Also, what service procedures are we not being honest about? We explain everything very well on the phone and when our estimators meet with each customer and our charges are even explained on our moving tickets when we do the moves and estimates.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

07/14/2012

Overall
Don't Contact

This is the worse mover in town! Very unprofessional and the owner used fowl language on the phone when we called in a complaint. Beware!

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2014

Thank you for the review. If this was actually done, we do apologize, but there are several people in our office and our men also come in and out of the office and it could have been anyone that made the comment. Once again, we do apologize for this, but please don't discredit our service and say that we are the worst mover in Houston. We do our very best to please our customers with our moving services as well as handling any complaints we receive. We have a lot of repeat business as well because we handle our moves with professionalism and respect for the customer.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

07/12/2012

Overall
Super helpful

I was really nervous moving from Houston to Illinois, but Brandon was super helpful, calling after every step to make sure everything went well. On moving day the movers were very friendly even after moving me out of my 3rd floor apartment in the summer. I would recommend them to anyone I know.

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2014

Thank you very much for the great review! We are glad that all was handled well and that we calmed your nerves! If you ever need any moving services again, please give us a call and we will try to calm those nerves again!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

02/07/2012

Overall
Great company for shipping lar...

Great company for shipping large household items. We had a king size mattress and box spring set and were moving from Houston to San Antonio for my new work. These items would not fit in a pickup truck and the cost to rent a truck or a trailer was not worth it for just those items. I called Johnnie T after seeing their FB page and made the arrangements, the pickup was at my house and on time. The delivery went as planned and on time. Over all I believe that I couldn't have gotten a better deal or service anywhere else. We would definitely contact Johnnie T. again.

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2014

Thank you very much for the great review and for the business! If you ever need anything moved, please give us a call!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

02/06/2012

Overall
Johnnie T. Melia gave me the b...

Johnnie T. Melia gave me the best price for my move from Kashmere Gardens to Houston Heights. They also provided us with a pretty great group of guys during the move. They were really nice and treated my wife and I as if we were the only clients for the day. You could tell they weren't from the states- but they were still really respectful of my belongings. Making sure i should repack some stuff that they knew werent packed well enough and helping us without charging extra. Everything was picked up and delivered on time and everything was just the way i sent it. No damaged goods. Great company and it was a good time. I appreciate Johnnie T. Melia for the service they provided us.

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2014

Thank you very much for the great review! If you ever need any help with moving again, please give us a call and we will make the move as successful as the last one!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

12/19/2011

Overall
PLEASE do not use these movers...

PLEASE do not use these movers. First, they under quote the job and then Rosemary calls once the guys are there to move you and charges extra fees that were "left off the quote". At which point you are stuck with either paying the extra fees or not moving that day. It's so wrong and they know it!!

Second, I had a friend who used them after I did and had her wedding ring stolen from her personal belongings that she alone packed and put away/hid. They had no reason to be in her bathroom as there was nothing in there for them to move, only her personal luggage that she was taking with her that night. Once the movers left that afternoon, she went to her bathroom to pick up her luggage and the personal items she had packed. She specifically went to put her wedding ring on and it and a family heirloom in the same holder were missing.. making it VERY obvious that the ring had been stolen. The owner has not only been uncooperative but extremely RUDE, suggesting she misplaced the ring.

Please don't use this company! There are plenty of other movers in the city of Houston who will do a good job and who do not employ workers that will steal from you.

claimed iconBusiness Response01/05/2012

We would like to know who this customer is because we are not able to respond well to this review unless we know who you are. As far as we know, we have never added charges to a move when the movers get to the job and usually the only way that the price may be more is if the move takes longer or there is more packing done than estimated. We do not add hidden charges to our moves. We do not do business in this way because we are a professional business. We know of many other moving companies that are doing this sort of business, but this is not our way of doing things. We have been in this business for many years and know how things are done. As to the claim of the friend missing her wedding ring, once again we do not know who you are talking about and this person has apparently not made a review or filed a claim with us on it yet. This review is simply to slander our business and destroy our reputation as a professional moving company. If we really have moved you and your friend, we can look at your job and see if there is any way to make things right with you.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

06/27/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Beware!

Be careful when thinking about storing items at Johnnie T. Melia. Insects totally destroyed three of my rugs at Melia's storage unit. All rugs were in excellent condition valued at more than $8,000. Plus, my other items in storage had insects crawling out of the boxes and wrappings when they were delivered. To top it all off, a delivery fee of $300 was charged in advance to my credit card! Melia's men delivered the boxes full of insects, but not the rugs, and couldn't wait to leave; they wouldn't even tell me what had happened to my rugs, but said that I needed to contact the office. Something happened at Melia's between July 2009, when I withdrew a rug and 2 mirrors from storage, which were in perfect condition, and March 2011, when my remaining furniture, blankets, china, and books were delivered. How could Melia's not have fumigated the remaining boxes or called me when the destroyed rugs were discovered? Johnnie T. Melia did not provide a safe, insect-free environment for my goods, which had been in storage there since 2004, and to whom I had paid more than $6,200. Now they have offered $360 (!) in settlement -- that doesn't even cover the cost of fumigation and delivery to fumigation! In addition to the rugs that have been destroyed, I will have the costs of reupholstering my furniture. Would you sit on a chair when you had seen bug carcasses and live bugs crawling all over it, a chair that had been fumigated??? Johnnie T. Melia presents itself as a highly professional, caring company that puts the customer first. Not in my experience.

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2014

We are very sorry that this happened to Mrs. Stobaugh's rugs. This is the first time this has ever happened to any customer of ours. We are not sure why this happened to her rugs because we have an exterminator spray our entire warehouse every quarter of the year (every 3 months). But the settlement that was offered was in accordance to the insurance that she took out. She only wanted the standard mover's liability, which is Sixty cents per pound per article, which is what we offered her for settlement on the rugs. If the rugs had so much value it is a wonder to us why she did not take out full replacement valuation which is offered to every customer of ours. Once again, we are very sorry that this happened to Mrs. Stobaugh's rugs, but this is the first time something like this has ever happened to any of our customer's goods while they were in storage. We have an exterminator come in regularly to spray and make sure that our warehouse is free of bugs so that things like this do not happen. As we mentioned, this is the first and only time this has ever happened to any of our customers in 45 years.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

07/24/2008

Overall
Estimaters Overcharge to Make $$'s

The estimate doubled the necessary manpower and vans. They only used one van - charged us for 2. Manpower was utilized for 5 hours - even with return trip to wharehouse - charged us 10 hours. Don't be fooled by this company.

claimed iconBusiness Response01/05/2012

When did we move you? We do not do this kind of work. There is no way that we could be in business for over 42 years handling business in this way. There are plenty of other companies that practice their business this way, but we do not do this to our customers. If we did move you, please contact us to see if there is any way we can discuss the move and the charges. If we did not do your move, please quit giving false negative reviews to hard-working businesses.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

07/24/2008

Overall
Melia "QUOTE MISTAKES"

Johnnie T. Melia came to our home and gave a binding quote to move us. Then 2 days before the move they called with "mistakes" to the quote. After telling us it would be an additional $2,000 .... we had a contract! They refused to honor it - DON'T USE THIS FIRM UNLESS YOU HAVE BIG DOLLARs LYING AROUND!!!

claimed iconBusiness Response01/05/2012

We normally do not give binding estimates unless it is an out of town move. But to claim that we have made a mistake on the estimate by $2,000.00 is very unlikely. We do not make mistakes that large, unless the customer failed to mention something that would effect the estimate that much from when the estimate was given. Such as needing something to come into storage or requiring packing services when there wasn't any packing quoted the first time because the customer said they would pack themselves. Once again, we do not make an estimating mistake of $2,000.00. It is unbelievable that we have been in business for so long that we would make that grand of a mistake. If we really did this, we would like to talk with you about this "mistake" you are claiming so we can see what happened.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Send to Phone
Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage

2527 Fairway Park DrHoustonTX 77092

(832) 463-5475

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Johnnie T Melia Moving & Storage

2527 Fairway Park DrHoustonTX 77092

(832) 463-5475

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback