In mybookFood Collection (edit)
Added to your food collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Business Details

22

years

in Business

Hours:
Mon: closed Tue: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9pm Wed: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9pm Thur: 11am-2pm, 5pm-9pm (Happy Hour 5pm-7pm) Fri: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9:30pm Sat: 11am-2pm, 5:30pm-9:30pm Sun: 11am-2:30pm, 5pm-9pm
Sponsored Links
Neighborhoods:
Central Houston, Neartown - Montrose
AKA:

Daily Review Cafe, LLC

Categories:
Coffee Shops, American Restaurants, Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch Restaurants, Cafeterias, Steak Houses, Restaurants
Other Information:

Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe, Omelets

Price Range : Average

More »

Less »

Reviews

Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Choisy

Posted: 5/8/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Too Busy to Seat Us

I love the Daily Review for its relaxing outdoor patio and I know it can get crowded. That's why we made a reservation for dinner Saturday night. When we showed up, we stood patiently at the door for 5 minutes before anyone even acknowledged our existence. Finally, a woman yelled at us from behind the bar that she'd be with us. In the meantime, she prepared silverware, answered the phone, and served customers sitting at the bar. After standing for close to 15 minutes, waiting to sit at one of the many tables labeled ""reserved"" - we gave up and left. On the car ride home, we called back to cancel our reservation and we were put on hold for another 5 minutes. We are a pretty laid back couple, and really don't mind waiting for good food. Houston is such a hot bed for great food - we couldn't justify spending our money at a place restaurant that clearly didn't have time for our reservation. FYI - We drove to Branchwater Tavern, where we were greeted and seated immediately. All three courses were phenomenal.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
DavRee

Posted: 2/5/2011Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
I'll be back

Houston is filled with wonderful restaurants, and Daily Review is definitely one. As a single man, this is one of my favorite spots to take a woman I'm really into. The atmosphere is casual, yet intimate. The food has a lot of flavor, is fresh and not doused in heavy sauces like you get at some places. Great spot.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
jab _1999

Posted: 9/4/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Fantastic Casual Dinner

We went there last night before heading to the movies and we had a fantastic dinner. We sat on the patio and it was gorgeous. I had a house salad to start with and my partner had the vegetarian black bean chili. Both were flavorful and fantastic. For entrees I had the Steak Frites, which was cooked to perfection and my partner had the mushroom Ravioli. Both were so good, we were sad when we came to the end. We ate everything on our plates.

As for service, it was wonderful. Our tea and water glasses never went empty. We were checked on several times. Our waiter was knowledgeable about menu items, especially which ones were best for vegetarians. I can't wait to go back.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
food snobs

Posted: 6/7/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Is our waiter on something?

The food was okay from what I remember, but the service was AWFUL. I think the waiter was on drugs, as he was all over the place. I know we went with another couple, and they tried to order a Jack and Coke, but were told there was no Jack. The creme brulee was sent back because it was cold and no taste, and the glasses definately stayed empty. It's unfortunate because I liked the menu selection and the location.

If you read the other reviews, they all say the same. The place used to be great, but now the service has ruined it. I will let know if we dare to venture there again...

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Mongol

Posted: 2/5/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Pool service and rude manager

We were there with small group of friends for my wife birthday. The service was bad and they also charge us for $1.5 cutting cake fee and other 18% tip on top that.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Markc

Posted: 2/5/2010Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
shocking

We went there very often because i is just cross street from where I am living. We have same problem like others had. The empty water glasses and poor service. I was shocking how the manager slap the check on our table after several times waving and trying to get their attention while they all stood around bar chatting. We have to speak load enough to get our check. She was very rude and didn't seem care about the customers. Will never go back again.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
kp1923

Posted: 11/28/2009Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Great outdoor brunch

I went for the first time last Sunday and I took my mother and we both loved it. The staff was very polite, great service and food. I wish they had served just a little more food on the plate. We sat outside and it was beautiful - it was like a mini-jungle but really nice. I definitely would go again.
Thanks.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse

Posted: 5/30/2009

Overall
B. Martin

This is a great place to eat. Food and service were excellant! It is a casual setting. Eat outside if you like. I always enjoy going there to eat.

Was this helpful?Yes
|
Flag Abuse
endame

Posted: 3/6/2009Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
great patio dining

i have driven by daily review cafe many times on my way home and finally decided to have dinner there. simply amazing,relaxed atmosphere and food was great. i had the mussels, filet and peach creme brulee. my friend had the fried goat cheese salad and grilled shrimp entree. i look forward to my next visit there and want to try the sunday brunch. go, you won't be disappointed!

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
MEDavis

Posted: 1/1/2009Provided by Citysearch - 

Overall
Great restaurant

My husband and I are from California and we visited friends in Houston during the holidays. They took us to this fabulous restaurant! We are retired and travel quite a bit and we were very impressed with the food and service. The steaks were absolutely some of the best we have ever had, extremely tender and juicy. Everything we had from our salads to dessert was excellent. It was a lovely way to celebrate the holidays with friends. We loved the ambiance of this restaurant and we will definitely return the next time we are in town.

Was this helpful?YesFlag Abuse
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Daily Review Cafe

3412 W Lamar StHoustonTX 77019

(713) 520-9217

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Daily Review Cafe

3412 W Lamar StHoustonTX 77019

(713) 520-9217

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback