In mybookHome Collection (edit)
Added to your home collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your home collection.

Mitchell, Norbert E Co Inc

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

71

years

in Business

BBB Rating:
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Social Links:
Visit Facebook Page
Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
One man with a truck envisioned a business devoted to serving the needs of the community ,and for three generations, the Mitchell family has been making that dream come true. Norbert E. Mitchell is a multi-faceted enterprise providing customers with a variety of petroleum products and services at both the wholesale and retail levels. The company also delivers home heating oils, propane, gasoline and other motor fuels, as well as designs and installs heating and cooling systems to maintain comfort. It is also a branded distributor for Citgo and Sunoco, featuring clean gas stations to care for the needs of the motoring public. Established in 1945, Norbert E. Mitchell has headquarters in Danbury, Conn.
Services/Products:
  • Tank Removal
  • Tank Installation
  • Propane
Brands:
Boilers, Diesel Fuel, Furnaces, Heating Oil, Water Heaters
Categories:
Gas-Liquefied Petroleum-Bottled & Bulk, Oil Burners, Fuel Oils, Propane & Natural Gas-Equipment & Supplies, Gas Companies, Utility Companies, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors & Specialties, Heating Equipment & Systems, Propane & Natural Gas, Tanks-Removal & Installation, Tanks-Repair, Kerosene

More »

Less »

Reviews

YP Insider badge
Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Posted: 5/17/2015

Overall

Would give 0 stars if option. Company does not treat people fairly. Dishonest and insulting, will be switching companies.

Helpful?Flag
Updated: 9/29/2014
Overall

i am suspicious of reviews on mitchell oil company on this website. check out "treycdiggins" review from 05/24/2011. he posts that he has been using mitchell oil for 6 years. so, if you check his other reviews, he posts a review of a rival oil company, just around the same time as the other review, and says he got deceived the past winter from the rival oil company. why would this consumer use 2 different oil companies in one season? i am currently a mitchell customer. not unhappy, but am feeling that their website is not transparent. i am looking for usage history for my home, and nowhere on my account profile or in my online account does it spell my usage out to me. frustrating.

claimed iconBusiness Response11/04/2014

Thank you for your feedback, Laura. We truly value all of our customers’ experiences with our company and encourage them to share them with others. However, we have no control over the reviews customers and non-customers post on the internet, or the timing of those reviews. If you are looking for more reviews regarding our company, we encourage consumers to visit Angie’s List, or other review/rating sites that tend to provide more detail about the customer’s experience. In regards to your request for usage information on the website, please call our office at (800) 237-3835, email us at info@nemitchell.com. Tell us what usage information you would like and even how often you would like it, and we will make it available to you in whatever format you prefer. Please know that any information that you ever need from us can be provided to you quickly. Thank you so much for your business and your feedback.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?Flag

Posted: 4/25/2013

Overall

This is by far the most unethical and unprofessional company I ever worked with. Get everything in writing because they do not keep their commitments, their customer service is extremely poor and the owners don't care.

claimed iconBusiness Response06/03/2013

As a company and a family, we are committed to providing honest and reliable service to our community. Of course, not every customer interaction is perfect and when we do not meet the expectations of our customers we do our best to resolve each situation to the customer's satisfaction. Its clear that we were not able to reach a resolution that this reviewer found acceptable, and providing a negative review about his experience with us is a fair reaction on his part if he is truly unhappy with our company. However, its unfortunate that he has decided to label the hardworking team at Mitchell as "unethical and unprofessional", with absolutely no reason to do so. Our company remains committed to serving its customers and its community, as we have been for the last 68+ years. Please see the reviews below, BBB or Angie's List regarding our company and you will likely get a much more honest report regarding our company and the good people on our team.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?Flag

Posted: 1/2/2013

Overall
Outstanding customer service. ...

Outstanding customer service. When I had a concern over my service, it was handled personally by the owner of Mitchell Oil. I wish more companies were as highly dedicated to the satisfaction of their customers. I highly recommend Mitchell Oil.

Helpful?Flag
Updated: 6/11/2015
Overall
My wife and I were encouraged ...

My wife and I were encouraged by our neighbors to go with Mitchell. And we're certainly glad we did. Had an emergency this holiday weekend with our system and the service guys at Mitchell were right there to mend the problem. Just in time for our family and friends to come over for Christmas Eve. Thank goodness for such quick responsetime or else this holiday could have been a disaster. Thanks a lot, Mitchell.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 10/21/2011

Overall
For as long as I can remember ...

For as long as I can remember Mitchell has been providing my family's oil and propane. We've moved homes a couple of times over the past 20 or so years, but no matter what we take Mitchell with us. Their service department always makes deliveries on time and if I ever have to call (which is rare) I'm always helped by someone who sounds like they genuinely love their job. You guys hired a great bunch of people. The past month or so I've been shopping around for prices just for curiosity's sake... but those other companies are not half as pleasant. They try to force information out of you before you even talk to a sales guy. And once you do they claim they have these great prices that no one can beat - all a bunch of crock to rope you in as a new customer. But Mitchell has treated me like a "new" customer ever since I signed up with them and that was years and years ago.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 7/8/2011

Overall
I can sleep soundly knowing I ...

I can sleep soundly knowing I have my propane through Mitchell. Last weekend our pool heater went down and I called Mitchell late Friday afternoon and they had service guys out fixing our system in no time. Everything was back up and running just in time for our son's graduation barbeque the next day. The misses almost had a panic attack, but Mitchell's speedy service had everything taken care of and there was no need to worry. I told all of my guests at the barbq how great an experience we had and will certainly continue to do business with Mitchell for years to come.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 5/24/2011

Overall
It's so nice to deal with a co...

It's so nice to deal with a company where everyone from who ever picks up the phone to the final delivery guy is polite, responsive, and does what they say they will in a timely fashion. I've been getting my heating oil through Mitchell for around 6 years now, and they haven't disappointed me once. Always reccomend you guys to my neighbors.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 5/12/2011

Overall
Mitchell's service guys will b...

Mitchell's service guys will bend over backwards for you. I use them for propane at my home, and for propane, oil, gasoline on a ton of my job sites. They accomodate my team no matter what we need, when we need it. Whenever it's something short notice that we're working on it's always nice to call the office and hear an actual person on the other end of the phone. When you're pressed for time nothing is worse than an automated voice message system - but with Mitchell you skip all that. They take care of you right away. And I am always happy to reccomend you guys to friends and business partners.

Helpful?Flag

Posted: 3/31/2011

Overall
15+ years & 110% satisfied

I can't say enough good things about Mitchell Oil. My husband and I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and season after seaon they never disappoint. At some points during this insane winter, their service guys were walking through snow up to their waists! But no matter what the weather they also go out of their way to please. Not only are the service guys always very pleasant, but any time I've ever had to call the office I'm always greeted right away by a friendly customer service person. Can't say enough good things about you Mitchell! Thanks for always being there over the years!

Helpful?Flag
Send to Phone
Mitchell, Norbert E Co Inc

7 Federal RdDanburyCT 06810

(203) 744-0600

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Mitchell, Norbert E Co Inc

7 Federal RdDanburyCT 06810

(203) 744-0600

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback