Write a Review

In mybook® Food Collection (edit)

Added to your food collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Billings Bald Butcher

(12 Reviews)

100 Star Shopping Ctr St, Covington, TN 38019

(901) 313-9078

Today: 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tomorrow: 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Sponsored Links

Regular Hours


Payment method
visa, mastercard, all major credit cards, amex, discover
Price Range
Star Shopping Ctr

B B Billings Butcher

American Restaurants, Take Out Restaurants, Caterers, Restaurants
Other Information

Parking: Lot, Free

Wi-Fi: No

Bike Parking: Yes

Attire: Casual

Good For Groups: Yes

Good for Kids: Yes

Wheelchair Accessible: Yes

Take Out: Yes

Alcohol: No

Cuisines: Caterers, American, Take Out

Takes Reservations: No

Outdoor Seating: No

Price Range : Average


No deals available. Claim this business to add deals.
Claim this business

Reviews (47)

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!



Fantastic!!! Everything was great!! I'm from Covington but reside in Mississippi. My sister took me there one Friday and I'm itching to go back! Thanks for something better than fast food!!



My mom and I love eating here on Fridays for the fish. Food is always good and pretty fresh. Great workers. Always friendly with a smile on there face.


I read the bad reviews on this...

I read the bad reviews on this site, and they really don't pass the smell test. That stuff about vomiting on the table and dishes "swimming " in water. I don't think so . I went there for the first time today with 4 others and we were all blown away with the great quality food. Try the lasagna, very cheesy and it tasted like it had some Italian spinach in it, which was a great idea. All 4 friends with me just raved about how good it was. I looked up this site because I want to forward it to a friend and take her there. I did not expect to run across the vomit lady and the "swimming in water" lady (probably the same lady) Whose husband probably said " Why can't you cook this good?"


Pleasant Experience

My first time at Bald Butcher (Feb.10) was great. Our waitress was very friendly and made sure everything was just right for us. Our food was really good! I've never had hamburger steak that tender in my life! I really liked the decor and enjoyed the gift shop.


Great place!

I ate at Bald Butcher a few times this fall/winter so far. So far I have only tried the buffet which is always excellent, everything home-cooked, hot, delicious and reasonably priced. Very nice decor and gift shop inside too and friendly service. This is a place great for the whole family or if you dine alone or bring a date, you must try and will keep you returning.



My husband and I went to eat there Saturday night to eat (November 21st) we had stuffed crab meat in Tilatia Fish. Awful buffalo wings. I threw up on the table and then we went home and we both werte sick all night long. This is monday and I still feel queasy to my stomach.

Van & Deborah Langford

claimed iconBusiness Response11/28/2009

Mr. and Mrs. Langford, I am one of the owners of The Bald Butcher Restaurant and want to respond to your comments regarding your visit Nov. 21. I am sorry if you did not like the food, but I want to make a few observations regarding your comments. I can understand you may not have found the talipia to your liking, but if you were thinking you may have gotten food poisoning from this meal, I can assure you vomiting and other symptoms would not have happened as instantaneously as you described. I have been a nurse for 25 years, and have never heard of such a rapid onset. Also I questioned our staff, and not one of them knew of anyone getting sick, and especially to the extent that they vomited on the table. I think that would have been brought to someone's attention or someone would have at least noticed this event. Next,you reported the Buffalo Wings were awful. Since we not longer have buffalo wings on our menu, I pulled our reports specifying each item sold on the date you listed, and we did not sell a single order of wings that day or the two days preceding. I am sorry for your confusion, and your dissatisfaction with the visit you say you had at our establishment, but I have to say that I feel you are not being truthful in your allegations. We try to provide quality service and food to our visitors and we respect and appreciate each person and their views and try to make ammends if there is a problem. I can not honestly read your review and feel that I can address this particular situation with my staff, because of all the inconsistencies. Thank you .

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


Never again

We decided to try this new restaurant, after an hour wait for food, my pasta was swimming in a small pool of water and my husbands steak was waterlogged, a telltale sign of soaking steaks in water to make them appear larger. The pasta had a watery flavor and my husbands steak was bland tasting. During the course of the meal, a waitress walking by dropped a pitcher of some liquid on the floor. It splashed up onto my husbands pants and my nieces diaper bag soaking it. No apologies were made and we had to clean that mess up ourselves. Although they did mop up the mess the waitress made, they made no effort to see to the mess on the members of our party. After this 2 and a half debacle, a member of our party went to ask a member of management about group pricing for a local church event, she over heard this manager saying in the back, "I dont have time to be talking to customers about booking parties". Well....needless to say, that party she so rudely brushed off cost her quite a bit of business. Dont waste your time or money dining here. When the food is bad and the attitudes are worse, its just best to spend your money somewhere else where people are thankful for your business because these people dont seem to care.

claimed iconBusiness Response10/30/2009

I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our restaurant and that you were left with a negative impression of us and our staff because of the apparent actions of one or two of our employees. I can not imagine anyone not apologizing for the incident you described with the spill, but I want to personally offer an apology to you and your party. I again can not imagine which manager would be so inconsiderate as to brush off business and not want to assist with booking parties. We book many parties, both within the restaurant and outside catering, and are very appreciative of the business. We also appreciate the business of all our guests, no matter what size the party. I want to assure you that we do not soak our steaks to make them appear larger. Frankly, I didn't know you could do this, and it would be very deceiving to use such a practice. We do sometimes use Au Jus on our steaks which may have caused you to think they had been soaked. We have also had some issues with our pasta in the past, but I thought those were resolved. Thank you for bringing it to my attention that we still have some work to do in this area. I wish you and your party would have asked to see me or my husband when you were here and having such a horrible night. Maybe we could have intervened to correct the problems instead of having you leave unhappy and upset. We have a lot invested in this business and are both committed to providing our guests with the highest quality and service possible. I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you regarding this matter. Please call me or my husband at the number listed at your earliest opportunity. I pray you have a forgiving nature and will give us another try. I would love to have the opportunity to change your opinion of us. Thank you for your feed back. We need to know what we are doing wrong so that we can make corrections. Again I sincerely apologize for the entire series of negative events. Thank you. Cathy Billings

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.


A Welcome Change

I tried the restaurant when it first opened and there were some wait time issues and some kinks that needed to be worked out but I went back a couple of weeks ago and everything was much better. The food is really good, there's a nice atmosphere and the service seems to get better each time. If you are from the Covington area it is really a trip down memory lane. The restaurant is in the old Super D building but before Super D it was Billings Big Star. I remember going to get groceries with my mom there and stopping in to get a piece of candy on the way home from school almost daily.

Sponsored Links
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!