In mybookPets Collection (edit)
Added to your pets collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Ark Of Cleveland

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

8

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

MonClosed
SunClosed

Sponsored Links
Categories:
Animal Shelters, Animal Shows & Organizations
Other Information:

Parking: Lot

More »

Less »

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

05/27/2014

Overall
Don't go there.!!

They are very rude.!! Tell you if u can adopt a dog or not. Or when your ready too.! They just need to be shut down prices are high and with there rude staff I won't adopt there....

06/18/2013

Overall

Despite some of these negative reviews, I and my family had a wonderful experience with the Ark and will they will definitely be a consideration when we adopt our next animal. We now have a beautiful feline addition to our home, and not only were the staff on duty extremely friendly and accommodating- when the cat showed signs of a potential acute health issue and I contacted them via Facebook, I dealt with Bob one-on-one. He actually contacted the vet for us and saw to it that the cat was seen quickly, which was above and beyond what I ever expected.



I'm uncertain of how the Ark is specifically run, but in my experience with several no-kill shelters, they do not take animals that are dropped off at random. Most have a limited amount of room and though many people have the best intentions, not every shelter has space for the animal you found. Animals in no-kill shelters often stay longer due to the lack of immediate threat to their life, and new animals are only moved in as they're adopted out. They are the only no-kill shelter in Bradley county and The Ark has a lot of work upon their shoulders, and passing them off as 'rude and uncaring' because they couldn't take your animal is ignorant.



Please do your research as to how the shelter operates before throwing accusations of poor behavior on their behalf.

12/11/2010

Overall
Thanks

I'd like to thank the Ark of Cleveland for helping me when my black lab was poisoned he was beyond help and they had the patience to let me say goodbye to him. I had Scooter for 12 years, he was my baby. This happened Febuary 17th 2010. I am now able to talk about it and share this with you. So glad that they were there to help me through this hard time. Just wanted to say thanks guys for giving me the time to say my goodbyes to part of my family...

11/19/2010

Overall
ark of cleveland

I have tried to find a home for several kittens and cats. I went to the ark 2 times and both times I was told they could not take them. I was also told to go stand outside petco at rush hour. What a joke!!

claimed iconBusiness Response03/12/2012

When I joined The Ark over ten years ago, like most area rescues, it did not take kittens or cats. After becoming President, felines were fostered in volunteer homes. This year we celebrate being the only NO KILL Shelter in Bradely County. So when full, we encourage people seeking helps for animals, to try other options. A look at our current pet census, both dog and cat, on Petfinder.com will show we stay at capacity all the time. We wish we could do more, but are limited in space, funds, and have an all VOLUNTEER staff to care for the pets we are able to help. We do take in new pets every week, as space allows. We we are full we have to hope the person asking for help is open to suggestions as to how they can try to help that pet.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Overall
Don't expect nice and caring people....

Took two abandoned puppies in hopes of finding them a good home. We were treated horribly and spoke to like we were incompetent. The president of Ark (Bob Caylor) told us in a snide tone, "Go sit outside of Petco."

Maybe they should get a president who actually has a heart since this is suppose to be a place to help and save animals.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/12/2012

It seems "horrible" is this reviewer's favorite word, since they used it for their former employer as well. As a not for profit, NO KILL Shelter, The Ark has limited access. Many dogs and cats we can and do help. However some pets are not taken due to space, fincances, and ALL Volunteer staffing. People who "rescue" animals that we aren't able to help are given several suggestions, in an effort to help the pets. Some, just want someone else to help the pet for them. All visitors to The Ark are treated in a kind and respectful manner. Nothing less is acceptable or tolerated. People often get upset and read things into a situation, we it isn't possible to do what they want you to do for them. Hopefully, this "rescuer" did take some of the advice given, and did not take the puppies to a kill shelter.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

03/07/2009

Overall
definitely NOT recommended

Let's just say, if you're trying to find a good home for a large breed dog, Good Luck! I've called twice for two different situations and all I got was, "We don't take large breed puppies. Why don't you sit outside of petco?" in a rude tone. So yeah, I wouldn't count on professional service or advice.

claimed iconBusiness Response03/12/2012

The Ark, in part due to being the ONLY listing under Animal Shelters, receives dozens of callers each day. Most of these callers want help. As with all NO KILL Shelters there is limited access to this tiny Volunteer staffed shelter. Many times callers have to be given suggestions to try and help pets. Some appreciate the suggestions and follow up, some complain that we can't do more for them. We wish we could do more, but are limited. On occasion someone hears why we can't help them at that time, and help the pet, and some have even joined to help our mission. We need more people who are part of the solution. The Ark is not the problem, people who do not spay and neuter their pets and create this traffic animal over population are.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Ark Of Cleveland

240 Oak St NWClevelandTN 37311

(423) 472-2744

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback